DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Substrate gripping members as recited in claims 1-20 where the functional language is substrate gripping and the generic placeholder is members
Sliding members as recited in claims 1-20 where the functional language is sliding and the generic placeholder is members
Operating members as recited in claims 1-20 where the functional language is operating and the generic placeholder is members
Guide structure as recited in claims 2 and 12-14 where the functional language is guide and the generic placeholder is structure.
Elevating body as recited in claims 4-9 and 17-20 where the functional language is elevating and the generic placeholder is body.
Substrate gripping members is interpreted as chuck members 112 according to [0021] of the original specification
Sliding members is interpreted as slider 120 according to [0040] of the original specification
Operating members is interpreted as a slider operating member 220 in the form of a pin according to [0049]. In claims 6-8 there are operating members for the cover member which are interpreted as cover operating member 230 see [0056] which can be a cylindrical cam mechanism. Claim 9 recites an operating target member or operating member for the operating target member which is interpreted as chuck operating member 210 see [0062].
Guide structure is interpreted as a guide member 121 according to [0047] of the original specification. It is a structure that guides the slider horizontally in the radial direction of the plate 111.
Elevating body is interpreted as ring shaped elevation body 304 according to [0036] of the original specification. A structure that vertically moves the lift pins 300 (substrate elevating members).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 10, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurusu et al (US 2015/0318194).
Regarding claim 1: The prior art of Kurusu et al teaches a substrate processing apparatus (liquid processing apparatus), comprising: a substrate holder, configured to hold a substrate (wafer W) horizontally, including a plate 23P positioned below the substrate when the substrate holder is holding the substrate; and multiple substrate gripping members (gripping unit 23A see [0118]) provided on a periphery of the plate and configured to hold the substrate, the plate having multiple notches (cutout parts 211 see [0125] see Fig. 10A) at the periphery thereof; a rotational driver (rotational shaft 23S) configured to rotate the substrate holder around a vertical axis; multiple lift pins (support members 520) configured to support a periphery of the substrate from below, and configured to be moved up and down through the notches 211 of the plate; multiple sliding members (holding pins 221 see [0118] – [0120]) provided on the plate of the substrate holder and configured to be slid in a horizontal direction, each of the multiple sliding members being configured to be moved between a closing position where the corresponding notch of the plate is at least partially closed and an opening position where the corresponding notch of the plate is opened to allow the corresponding lift pin to be moved up and down through the corresponding notch; and multiple operating members 223 see [0120] provided below the plate 23P of the substrate holder to be moved up and down and allowed to be respectively engaged with the sliding members, each of the multiple operating members 223 being configured to slide the corresponding sliding member 221 in the horizontal direction by being moved up and down while being engaged with the corresponding sliding member. See also Fig. 13 of Kurusu et al.
Regarding claim 2: The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 1, wherein each of the sliding members 221 is provided to the plate via a guide structure (support member 520) configured to guide the sliding member in the horizontal direction, and has an operating target inclined surface (see Fig. 13) inclined with respect to a horizontal plane, and the sliding member is moved in the horizontal direction by moving the operating member up and down while sliding the operating member along the operating target inclined surface in a state that the operating member is in contact with the operating target inclined surface.
Regarding claim 4: The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 1, further comprising: an elevating body (pushing-up plate 251) provided below the plate to support the multiple operating members 223 see [0120] for the sliding members; and an elevational driver configured to move the elevating body up and down between a raised position and a lowered position, wherein as the elevating body is moved up and down, the multiple operating members for the sliding members are also moved up and down.
Regarding claim 10: The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 1, further comprising: a gas supply (see Fig. 2 where nitrogen gas is supplied and [0028], [0029], [0047], [0058]) configured to supply a gas into a space between a bottom surface of the substrate held by the substrate holder and a top surface of the plate of the substrate holder, wherein the gas supplied into the space flows through the space between the top surface of the plate 23P and the bottom surface of the substrate, and then flows out from the space through a gap between the periphery of the plate and the periphery of the substrate.
Regarding claim 13: The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 2, further comprising: a gas supply (see Fig. 2 where nitrogen gas is supplied and [0028], [0029], [0047], [0058]) configured to supply a gas into a space between a bottom surface of the substrate held by the substrate holder and a top surface of the plate of the substrate holder, wherein the gas supplied into the space flows through the space between the top surface of the plate and the bottom surface of the substrate, and then flows out from the space through a gap between the periphery of the plate and the periphery of the substrate.
Regarding claim 17: The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 4, further comprising: a gas supply configured to supply a gas into a space between a bottom surface of the substrate held by the substrate holder and a top surface of the plate of the substrate holder, wherein the gas supplied into the space flows through the space between the top surface of the plate and the bottom surface of the substrate, and then flows out from the space through a gap between the periphery of the plate and the periphery of the substrate. See Fig. 2 where nitrogen gas is supplied and [0028], [0029], [0047], [0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5-9, 12, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurusu et al (US 2015/0318194) in view of Egashira (US 2013/0233361).
The teachings of Kurusu et al were discussed above.
The prior art of Kurusu et al fails to teach the sliding member is spring-biased. Namely, the prior art of Kurusu et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 3: The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the sliding member is spring-biased toward the closing position.
Regarding claim 12: The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 2, wherein the sliding member is spring-biased toward the closing position.
The prior art of Egashira teaches substrate processing apparatus with chuck members 31 having a link 57 which is biased against elevating tube member 50 by a biasing force of spring member 58 see Fig. 4 and [0057] of Egashira. The motivation to enhance the sliding member of Kurusu et al with a spring as suggested by Egashira is that the spring enhances the movement of the sliding member allowing it to smoothly move from open to closing position in the notch 211. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the application to modify the sliding member of Kurusu et al with a spring as suggested by Egashira is that the spring enhances the movement of the sliding member.
Regarding claim 15: The substrate processing apparatus of Kurusu et al further comprises a gas supply configured to supply a gas into a space between a bottom surface of the substrate held by the substrate holder and a top surface of the plate of the substrate holder, wherein the gas supplied into the space flows through the space between the top surface of the plate and the bottom surface of the substrate, and then flows out from the space through a gap between the periphery of the plate and the periphery of the substrate. See Fig. 2 of Kurusu et al where nitrogen gas is supplied and [0028], [0029], [0047], [0058])
The teachings of Kurusu et al were discussed above.
The prior art of Kurusu et al fails to teach the partition member. Namely, the prior art of Kurusu et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 5: The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 4, a partition member configured to separate at least a space in which an actuator configured to move the lift pins up and down and the rotational driver provided below the elevating body are disposed from a space in which the elevating body is disposed.
Regarding claim 6: The prior art of Kurusu further fails to teach cover members.
Recall the prior art of Egashira teaches a partition member (frame 13) as described above, wherein the partition member is provided with through holes through which the lift pins (lift rods 71) are allowed to pass therethrough configured to be moved between a closing position where the corresponding through hole is closed and an opening position where the corresponding through hole is opened, and wherein when located at the lowered position, the lift pin is positioned below the cover member located at the closing position, and when the lift pin is raised from the lowered position, the cover member is opened.
Regarding claim 7: The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 6, wherein the cover member (arm portion of 31 or 32 that opens/closes the hole 22a) is moved between the closing position where the through hole 22a see [0043] of Egashira is closed and the opening position where the through hole is opened by being operated with an operating member (pivot positions 31a, 32a) for the cover member supported by the elevating body.
Regarding claim 8: See Fig. of Egashira wherein the cover member includes a cylindrical base having a groove formed on an outer circumferential surface thereof and configured to be rotated about a rotation shaft extending in a vertical direction; and a cover main body provided to the base, the operating member for the cover member is engaged in the groove of the cylindrical base, the groove of the base and the operating member for the cover member constitute a cylindrical cam mechanism, and by moving the elevating body toward the lowered position, the base is rotated and the cover main body closes the through hole, and by moving the elevating body toward the raised position, the base is rotated and the cover main body opens the through hole.
The motivation to modify the apparatus of Kurusu et al with partition of Egashira is that the it provides more stability for the movement of the sliding members and lift pins see [0041]. Note both Kurusu et al and Egashira provide cover members to open and close the notches/cutouts to ensure their stable movement while sealing the plate from contaminants. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the apparatus of Kurusu et al with the partition suggested by Egashira and use it is conjunction with the covers of either Kurusu et al or Egashira to enhance movement of the structures (lift pins and sliding members) contacting the wafer for support while maintaining flow of gas to the wafer from the bottom of the wafer and sealing the notches to minimize contamination of the chamber.
Regarding claim 9: See the prior art of Kurusu et al wherein the substrate gripping member 23A of the substrate holder is rotatably provided to the periphery of the plate, and is configured to be moved between a gripping position where the substrate is gripped and a releasing position where the substrate is released, the substrate gripping member includes a gripper configured to grip the periphery of the substrate, and an operating target member configured to move the gripper; the elevating body 251 comprises an operating member for the operating target member configured to push up the operating target member of the substrate gripping member, and the operating member for the operating target member is configured as a member supported by the elevating body or the elevating body itself, and by locating the elevating body at the lowered position, the substrate gripping member is placed at the gripping position, and by locating the elevating body at the raised position, the substrate gripping member is placed at the releasing position. See the Figures of Kurusu et al above.
Regarding claim 19. Recall Fig. 2 of Kurusu et al where nitrogen gas is supplied and [0028], [0029], [0047], [0058]): a gas supply configured to supply a gas into a space between a bottom surface of the substrate held by the substrate holder and a top surface of the plate of the substrate holder, wherein the gas supplied into the space flows through the space between the top surface of the plate and the bottom surface of the substrate, and then flows out from the space through a gap between the periphery of the plate and the periphery of the substrate.
Claims 11, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurusu et al (US 2015/0318194) in view of Mouri et al (US 2017/0278727A).
The teachings of Kurusu et al were discussed above.
The apparatus of Kurusu et al fails to teach that the periphery of the top surface of the plate has a peripheral inclined surface. Namely Kurusu et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 11: The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 10, wherein a periphery of the top surface of the plate has a peripheral inclined surface that becomes higher as approaching the periphery of the plate, and the peripheral inclined surface of the plate diverts the gas flowing horizontally after passing through the space towards the bottom surface of the substrate, an end inclined surface is provided at an end portion of the top surface of each sliding member, and the end inclined surface is formed so as to be continuous with the peripheral inclined surface of the plate when the sliding member is placed at the closing position, when viewed from a circumferential direction of the plate.
Regarding claim 14: The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 13, wherein a periphery of the top surface of the plate has a peripheral inclined surface that becomes higher as approaching the periphery of the plate, and the peripheral inclined surface of the plate diverts the gas flowing horizontally after passing through the space towards the bottom surface of the substrate, an end inclined surface is provided at an end portion of the top surface of each sliding member, and the end inclined surface is formed so as to be continuous with the peripheral inclined surface of the plate when the sliding member is placed at the closing position, when viewed from a circumferential direction of the plate.
Regarding claim 18. The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 17, wherein a periphery of the top surface of the plate has a peripheral inclined surface that becomes higher as approaching the periphery of the plate, and the peripheral inclined surface of the plate diverts the gas flowing horizontally after passing through the space towards the bottom surface of the substrate, an end inclined surface is provided at an end portion of the top surface of each sliding member, and the end inclined surface is formed so as to be continuous with the peripheral inclined surface of the plate when the sliding member is placed at the closing position, when viewed from a circumferential direction of the plate.
The prior art of Mouri et al teaches substrate support apparatus with a rotation plate 23P that has an inclined surface 62 see Figs. 5, 6 and 11-15. According to [0079] of Mouri et al when the wafer W is brought into contact with and directly supported by the inclined surface 62a of the inclined portion 62, and a path from the top surface side of the wafer W to the bottom surface side thereof is blocked by the inclined surface. With this configuration, it is possible to obtain an effect suppressing the entrance of a processing liquid L toward the bottom surface side of the wafer W. If the wafer W is bent, however, the processing liquid may flow toward the bottom surface side of the wafer W through a minute gap which is formed between the wafer W and the inclined surface. Note the plate 23P of Kurusu et al is provided with a support unit 51 that has an inclined surface 51B. The motivation to modify the plate of Kurusu et al with the plate of Mouri et al which has the inclined surface is provided as part of the plate which simplifies construction of the plate and is an alternative design to the plate of Kurusu et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to further modify the plate in the apparatus of Kurusu et al with an inclined surface as a part of the plate as Mouri et al suggests.
Claims 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurusu et al (US 2015/0318194) in view of Egashira (US 2013/0233361) as applied to claims 3, 5-9, 12, 15, and 19 above, and in further view of Mouri et al (US 2017/0278727A).
The combined teachings of Kurusu et al and Egashira were discussed above.
The apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Kurusu et al and Egashira fails to teach that the periphery of the top surface of the plate has a peripheral inclined surface. Namely the combined teachings of Kurusu et al and Egashira fails to teach:
Regarding claim 16: The substrate processing apparatus of Kurusu et al further comprise a periphery of the top surface of the plate has a peripheral inclined surface that becomes higher as approaching the periphery of the plate, and the peripheral inclined surface of the plate diverts the gas flowing horizontally after passing through the space towards the bottom surface of the substrate, an end inclined surface is provided at an end portion of the top surface of each sliding member, and the end inclined surface is formed so as to be continuous with the peripheral inclined surface of the plate when the sliding member is placed at the closing position, when viewed from a circumferential direction of the plate.
Regarding claim 20: The substrate processing apparatus of Claim 19, wherein a periphery of the top surface of the plate has a peripheral inclined surface that becomes higher as approaching the periphery of the plate, and the peripheral inclined surface of the plate diverts the gas flowing horizontally after passing through the space towards the bottom surface of the substrate, an end inclined surface is provided at an end portion of the top surface of each sliding member, and the end inclined surface is formed so as to be continuous with the peripheral inclined surface of the plate when the sliding member is placed at the closing position, when viewed from a circumferential direction of the plate.
The prior art of Mouri et al teaches substrate support apparatus with a rotation plate 23P that has an inclined surface 62 see Figs. 6 and 11-15. According to [0079] of Mouri et al when the wafer W is brought into contact with and directly supported by the inclined surface 62a of the inclined portion 62, and a path from the top surface side of the wafer W to the bottom surface side thereof is blocked by the inclined surface. With this configuration, it is possible to obtain an effect suppressing the entrance of a processing liquid L toward the bottom surface side of the wafer W. If the wafer W is bent, however, the processing liquid may flow toward the bottom surface side of the wafer W through a minute gap which is formed between the wafer W and the inclined surface. Note the plate 23P of Kurusu et al is provided with a support unit 51 that has an inclined surface 51B. The motivation to further modify the plate in the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Kurusu et al and Egashira with the plate of Mouri et al is that the inclined surface is provided as part of the plate which simplifies construction of the plate and is an alternative design to the plate of Kurusu et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to further modify the plate in the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Kurusu et al and Egashira with an inclined surface as a part of the plate as Mouri et al suggests.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 5015870B2 (referring to the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith) illustrates a holder (turntable 30) with a holding member 50 with holding portion 51 (gripper member). See spring 56 is provided in Fig. 5b, 6, and 7.
Ishida US 2016/0225644 teaches an elevating body 350, lift pins 520, gripper members 344, operating members 343 see Figures and [0064] – [0069]. See Fig. 12 where the plate 90 has an inclined surface.
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716