DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on January 23, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 11,959,174 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: each magnet retention member in claims 1, 7, and 12.
Paragraph [0059] of the specification indicates that a magnet retention member 302
can be in the form of, e.g., apertures, protrusions, indentations, cavities, holes, etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (U.S. 2019/0244754) in view of Miyata (J.P. 2004/014541A).
Referring to Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0020]-[0040], Yang et al. discloses a magnet holding structure for a plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) chamber, the magnet holding structure comprising: a top piece 84 having a plurality of magnet retention members, the top piece having a first inside edge and a first outside edge (Fig. 2, pars.[0035]-[0036]); a bottom piece 81 having a plurality of magnet retention members, the bottom piece having a second inside edge and a second outside edge (Fig. 2, pars.[0035]-[0036]); and a plurality of magnets 101 (par.[0023]), each magnet positioned between a magnet retention member of the top piece and a magnet retention member of the bottom piece. Additionally, the plurality of magnets can be arranged vertically as an alternate arrangement (par.[0032]).
Yang et al. is silent on wherein the top piece and the bottom piece are configured to at least partially surround an outer sidewall of the PECVD chamber; however, it is still obvious.
Referring to paragraphs [0027]-[0028], Yang et al. teach that it is conventionally known in the art to size the magnet holding structure (i.e. top piece and bottom piece) in order to achieve the chamber conditions for the desired substrate processing. Hence, the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. is capable of sizing up to surround the outer sidewall or it could be used in a smaller chamber that would surround the outer sidewall (MPEP 2144.04 IVA). Additionally, referring to Figure 2, Miyata shows an arrangement wherein the top piece 13 and the bottom piece 13 are configured to at least partially surround an outer sidewall of the PECVD chamber 12. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to size the top piece and the bottom piece of Yang et al. to surround an outer sidewall of the PECVD chamber as taught by Miyata in order to achieve the chamber conditions for the desired substrate processing.
Yang et al. is silent on wherein each magnet retention member of the plurality of magnet retention members of the top piece and each magnet retention member of the plurality of magnet retention members of the bottom piece are configured to engage one of the plurality of magnets to prevent the magnet from moving within the top piece and the bottom piece.
Referring to Figures 2 above and 5 and page 3, lines 1-8, Miyata teaches a magnet arrangement wherein the plurality of magnet retention members of the top and bottom pieces 13 are configured to engage one of the plurality of magnets 20, 22 to prevent the magnet from moving (i.e. mount) within the top piece and the bottom piece. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Yang et al. with wherein the plurality of magnet retention members of the top and bottom pieces are configured to engage one of the plurality of magnets as taught by Miyata to prevent the magnet from moving within the top piece and the bottom piece.
The resulting apparatus of Yang et al. in view of Miyata would yield wherein each magnet retention member of the plurality of magnet retention members of the top piece and each magnet retention member of the plurality of magnet retention members of the bottom piece are configured to engage one of the plurality of magnets to prevent the magnet from moving (i.e. mount) within the top piece and the bottom piece.
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (U.S. 2019/0244754) in view of Miyata (J.P. 2004/014541A) as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Vesci et al. (U.S. 2005/0116392).
The teachings of Yang et al. in view of Miyata have been discussed above.
With respect to claim 2, Yang et al. in view of Miyata fail to teach wherein the top piece and the bottom piece are made of a material comprising steel, copper, brass, zinc, aluminum, magnesium, iron, manganese, nickel, ceramic, quartz, polystyrene, divinylbenzene, silicon, polytetrafluoroethylene, or combinations thereof.
Referring to paragraph [0007], Vesci et al. teach a magnet holding structure wherein the top piece and the bottom piece are made of a material comprising steel, copper, brass, zinc, aluminum, magnesium, iron, manganese, nickel, ceramic, quartz, polystyrene, divinylbenzene, silicon, polytetrafluoroethylene, or combinations thereof since it conventionally known non-magnetic material used to protect a magnet. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the material of a top piece and a bottom piece of Yang et al. to be made of a material comprising steel, copper, brass, zinc, aluminum, magnesium, iron, manganese, nickel, ceramic, quartz, polystyrene, divinylbenzene, silicon, polytetrafluoroethylene, or combinations thereof as taught by Vesci et al. since it is a conventionally known non-magnetic material used to protect a magnet.
The teachings of Yang et al. in view of Miyata have been discussed above.
With respect to claim 3, the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Miyata fail to teach further comprising a plurality of casings, each casing of the plurality of casings configured to at least partially encapsulate each magnet, wherein one or more casings of the plurality of casings is made of a material having a relative magnetic permeability value of 50,000 or greater.
Referring to Figures 2-3 and paragraph [0007], Vesci et al. teach it is conventionally known in the art for a magnet holding structure to comprise a plurality of casings, each casing of the plurality of casings configured to at least partially encapsulate each magnet, wherein one or more casings of the plurality of casings is made of a material (i.e. stainless steel) having a relative magnetic permeability value of 50,000 or greater since it is a known means to individually encapsulate a magnet for better protection. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus to provide the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Miyata with a plurality of casings, each casing of the plurality of casings configured to at least partially encapsulate each magnet, wherein one or more casings of the plurality of casings is made of a material having a relative magnetic permeability value of 50,000 or greater since it is a known means to individually encapsulate a magnet for better protection.
With respect to claim 4, the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Miyata and Vesci et al. further includes wherein one or more casings of the plurality of casings is made of a material comprising nickel, iron, copper, chromium, molybdenum, silicon, or combinations thereof (i.e. stainless steel, Vesci et al.-par.[0007]).
With respect to claim 5, the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Miyata and Vesci et al. further includes wherein one or more casings of the plurality of casings has an opening, and wherein at least a portion of each opening is configured to face the PECVD chamber (Vesci et al.-Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 6, the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Miyata and Vesci et al. further includes wherein the top piece and the bottom piece are made of a material comprising stainless steel, and one or more casings of the plurality of casings is made of a material having a relative magnetic permeability value of about 80,000 to about 100,000 (Note. i.e. stainless steel, Vesci et al.-par.[0007]-Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll C. v. Interchemcial Corp. 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (U.S. 2019/0244754) in view of Miyata (J.P. 2004/014541A) and Shin (U.S. 2008/0277063).
Referring to Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0020]-[0040], Yang et al. discloses a magnet holding structure for a plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) chamber, the magnet holding structure comprising: a top piece 84 having a plurality of magnet retention members, the top piece having a first inside edge and a first outside edge (Fig. 2, pars.[0035]-[0036]); a bottom piece 81 having a plurality of magnet retention members, the bottom piece having a second inside edge and a second outside edge (Fig. 2, pars.[0035]-[0036]); and a plurality of magnets 101 (par.[0023]), each magnet positioned between a magnet retention member of the top piece and a magnet retention member of the bottom piece. Additionally, the plurality of magnets can be arranged vertically as an alternate arrangement (par.[0032]).
Yang et al. is silent on wherein the top piece and the bottom piece are configured to at least partially surround an outer sidewall of the PECVD chamber; however, it is still obvious.
Referring to paragraphs [0027]-[0028], Yang et al. teach that it is conventionally known in the art to size the magnet holding structure (i.e. top piece and bottom piece) in order to achieve the chamber conditions for the desired substrate processing. Hence, the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. is capable of sizing up to surround the outer sidewall or it could be used in a smaller chamber that would surround the outer sidewall (MPEP 2144.04 IVA). Additionally, referring to Figure 2, Miyata shows an arrangement wherein the top piece 13 and the bottom piece 13 are configured to at least partially surround an outer sidewall of the PECVD chamber 12. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to size the top piece and the bottom piece of Yang et al. to surround an outer sidewall of the PECVD chamber as taught by Miyata in order to achieve the chamber conditions for the desired substrate processing.
Yang et al. is silent on the top and bottom piece are coupled to a drive system.
Referring to Figures 2-4, 10-11 and paragraphs [0018]-[0050], Shin discloses chamber for processing a substrate, comprising: a chamber body 200 (par.[0024]); and a drive system 462 configured to surround an outer sidewall of the PECVD chamber to enhance plasma uniformity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the magnet housing structure of Yang et al. to have the top piece and the bottom piece that are each provided within a rotational magnetic housing system configured to surround an outer sidewall of the PECVD chamber as taught by Shin since it is a known means to enhance plasma uniformity in a plasma chamber.
Yang et al. is silent on wherein each magnet retention member of the plurality of magnet retention members of the top piece and each magnet retention member of the plurality of magnet retention members of the bottom piece are configured to engage one of the plurality of magnets to prevent the magnet from moving within the top piece and the bottom piece.
Referring to Figures 2 above and 5 and page 3, lines 1-8, Miyata teaches a magnet arrangement wherein the plurality of magnet retention members of the top and bottom pieces 13 are configured to engage one of the plurality of magnets 20, 22 to prevent the magnet from moving (i.e. mount) within the top piece and the bottom piece. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Yang et al. with wherein the plurality of magnet retention members of the top and bottom pieces are configured to engage one of the plurality of magnets as taught by Miyata to prevent the magnet from moving within the top piece and the bottom piece.
The resulting apparatus of Yang et al. in view of Miyata would yield wherein each magnet retention member of the plurality of magnet retention members of the top piece and each magnet retention member of the plurality of magnet retention members of the bottom piece are configured to engage one of the plurality of magnets to prevent the magnet from moving (i.e. mount) within the top piece and the bottom piece.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (U.S. 2019/0244754) in view of Shin (U.S. 2008/0277063) and Miyata (J.P. 2004/014541A) as applied to claims 7 above, and further in view of Vesci et al. (U.S. 2005/0116392).
The teachings of Yang et al. in view of Shin and Miyata have been discussed above.
With respect to claim 8, Yang et al. in view of Shin and Miyata fail to teach wherein the top piece and the bottom piece are made of a material comprising steel, copper, brass, zinc, aluminum, magnesium, iron, manganese, nickel, ceramic, quartz, polystyrene, divinylbenzene, silicon, polytetrafluoroethylene, or combinations thereof.
Referring to paragraph [0007], Vesci et al. teach a magnet holding structure wherein the top piece and the bottom piece are made of a material comprising steel, copper, brass, zinc, aluminum, magnesium, iron, manganese, nickel, ceramic, quartz, polystyrene, divinylbenzene, silicon, polytetrafluoroethylene, or combinations thereof since it conventionally known non-magnetic material used to protect a magnet. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the material of a top piece and a bottom piece of Yang et al. in view of Shin and Miyata to be made of a material comprising steel, copper, brass, zinc, aluminum, magnesium, iron, manganese, nickel, ceramic, quartz, polystyrene, divinylbenzene, silicon, polytetrafluoroethylene, or combinations thereof as taught by Vesci et al. since it is a conventionally known non-magnetic material used to protect a magnet.
The teachings of Yang et al. in view of Shin and Miyata have been discussed above.
With respect to claim 9, the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Shin and Miyata fail to teach further comprising a plurality of casings, each casing of the plurality of casings configured to at least partially encapsulate each magnet includes wherein one or more casings of the plurality of casings is made of a material comprising nickel, iron, copper, chromium, molybdenum, silicon, or combinations thereof.
Referring to Figures 2-3 and paragraph [0007], Vesci et al. teach it is conventionally known in the art for a magnet holding structure to comprise a plurality of casings, each casing of the plurality of casings configured to at least partially encapsulate each magnet, includes wherein one or more casings of the plurality of casings is made of a material comprising nickel, iron, copper, chromium, molybdenum, silicon, or combinations thereof since it is a known means to individually encapsulate a magnet for better protection. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus to provide the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Shin and Miyata with a plurality of casings, each casing of the plurality of casings configured to at least partially encapsulate each magnet includes wherein one or more casings of the plurality of casings is made of a material comprising nickel, iron, copper, chromium, molybdenum, silicon, or combinations thereof since it is a known means to individually encapsulate a magnet for better protection.
With respect to claim 10, the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Shin, Miyata, and Vesci et al. further includes wherein one or more casings of the plurality of casings has an opening, and wherein at least a portion of each opening is configured to face the PECVD chamber (Vesci et al.-Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 11, the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Shin, Miyata, and Vesci et al. further includes wherein the top piece and the bottom piece are made of a material comprising stainless steel, and one or more casings of the plurality of casings is made of a material having a relative magnetic permeability value of about 80,000 to about 100,000 (Note. i.e. stainless steel, Vesci et al.-par.[0007]-Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll C. v. Interchemcial Corp. 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)).
Claim(s) 12 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Yang et al. (U.S. 2019/0244754) in view of Shin (U.S. 2008/0277063) and Miyata (J.P. 2004/014541A).
Referring to Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0020]-[0040], Yang et al. discloses a magnet holding structure for a plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) chamber, the magnet holding structure comprising: a top piece 84 having a plurality of magnet retention members, the top piece having a first inside edge and a first outside edge (Fig. 2, pars.[0035]-[0036]); a bottom piece 81 having a plurality of magnet retention members, the bottom piece having a second inside edge and a second outside edge (Fig. 2, pars.[0035]-[0036]); and a plurality of magnets 101 (par.[0023]), each magnet positioned between a magnet retention member of the top piece and a magnet retention member of the bottom piece.
Yang et al. is silent on wherein the top piece and the bottom piece are each provided within a rotational magnetic housing system configured to surround an outer sidewall of the PECVD chamber.
Referring to paragraphs [0027]-[0028], Yang et al. teach that it is conventionally known in the art to size the magnet holding structure (i.e. top piece and bottom piece) in order to achieve the chamber conditions for the desired substrate processing. Hence, the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. is capable of sizing up to surround the outer sidewall or it could be used in a smaller chamber that would surround the outer sidewall (MPEP 2144.04 IVA).
Referring to Figures 2-4, 10-11 and paragraphs [0018]-[0050], Shin discloses chamber for processing a substrate, comprising: a chamber body 200 (par.[0024]); and a rotational magnetic housing system 462 configured to surround an outer sidewall of the PECVD chamber to enhance plasma uniformity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the magnet housing structure of Yang et al. to have the top piece and the bottom piece that are each provided within a rotational magnetic housing system configured to surround an outer sidewall of the PECVD chamber as taught by Shin since it is a known means to enhance plasma uniformity in a plasma chamber.
Yang et al. is silent on wherein each magnet retention member of the plurality of magnet retention members of the top piece and each magnet retention member of the plurality of magnet retention members of the bottom piece are configured to engage one of the plurality of magnets to prevent the magnet from moving within the top piece and the bottom piece.
Referring to Figures 2 above and 5 and page 3, lines 1-8, Miyata teaches a magnet arrangement wherein the plurality of magnet retention members of the top and bottom pieces 13 are configured to engage one of the plurality of magnets 20, 22 to prevent the magnet from moving (i.e. mount) within the top piece and the bottom piece. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Yang et al. with wherein the plurality of magnet retention members of the top and bottom pieces are configured to engage one of the plurality of magnets as taught by Miyata to prevent the magnet from moving within the top piece and the bottom piece.
The resulting apparatus of Yang et al. in view of Miyata would yield wherein each magnet retention member of the plurality of magnet retention members of the top piece and each magnet retention member of the plurality of magnet retention members of the bottom piece are configured to engage one of the plurality of magnets to prevent the magnet from moving (i.e. mount) within the top piece and the bottom piece.
With respect to claim 19, the magnetic holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Shin and Miyata further includes wherein the rotational magnetic housing comprises: an upper plate (i.e. top of 462); an outer sidewall (outer sidewall of 462); an inner sidewall defining a round central opening (inner sidewall 462); a lower plate (bottom of 462); and a plurality of retaining brackets disposed in the rotational magnetic housing (i.e. each magnet 422 are fixedly installed at the inner side surface of housing 462-par.[0034]).
Shin is silent on the retaining means being a bracket; however, “fixedly installed” is an alternate and equivalent means for securing the magnets to the magnetic housing. Hence, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus to alternatively use retaining brackets in Shin since it is an alternate and equivalent means to secure the magnet to the magnetic housing.
With respect to claim 20, the magnetic holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Shin and Miyata further includes wherein: each retaining bracket of the plurality of retaining brackets is disposed in the rotational magnetic housing with a distance d between each retaining bracket; and the plurality of magnets are configured to travel in a circular path when the rotational magnetic housing is rotated around the round central opening (Figs. 2-4, 10-11).
Claim(s) 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (U.S. 2019/0244754) in view of Shin (U.S. 2008/0277063) and Miyata (J.P. 2004/014541A) as applied to claims 12 and 19-20 above, and further in view of Vesci et al. (U.S. 2005/0116392).
The teachings of Yang et al. in view of Shin and Miyata have been discussed above.
With respect to claim 13, Yang et al. in view of Shin and Miyata fail to teach wherein the top piece and the bottom piece are made of a material comprising steel, copper, brass, zinc, aluminum, magnesium, iron, manganese, nickel, ceramic, quartz, polystyrene, divinylbenzene, silicon, polytetrafluoroethylene, or combinations thereof.
Referring to paragraph [0007], Vesci et al. teach a magnet holding structure wherein the top piece and the bottom piece are made of a material comprising steel, copper, brass, zinc, aluminum, magnesium, iron, manganese, nickel, ceramic, quartz, polystyrene, divinylbenzene, silicon, polytetrafluoroethylene, or combinations thereof since it conventionally known non-magnetic material used to protect a magnet. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the material of a top piece and a bottom piece of Yang et al. in view of Shin and Miyata to be made of a material comprising steel, copper, brass, zinc, aluminum, magnesium, iron, manganese, nickel, ceramic, quartz, polystyrene, divinylbenzene, silicon, polytetrafluoroethylene, or combinations thereof as taught by Vesci et al. since it conventionally known non-magnetic material used to protect a magnet.
The teachings of Yang et al. in view of Shin and Miyata have been discussed above.
With respect to claim 14, the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Shin and Miyata fail to teach further comprising a plurality of casings, each casing of the plurality of casings configured to at least partially encapsulate each magnet, wherein one or more casings of the plurality of casings is made of a material having a relative magnetic permeability value of 50,000 or greater.
Referring to Figures 2-3 and paragraph [0007], Vesci et al. teach it is conventionally known in the art for a magnet holding structure to comprise a plurality of casings, each casing of the plurality of casings configured to at least partially encapsulate each magnet, wherein one or more casings of the plurality of casings is made of a material (i.e. stainless steel) having a relative magnetic permeability value of 50,000 or greater since it is a known means to individually encapsulate a magnet for better protection. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Shin and Miyata with a plurality of casings, each casing of the plurality of casings configured to at least partially encapsulate each magnet, wherein one or more casings of the plurality of casings is made of a material having a relative magnetic permeability value of 50,000 or greater since it is a known means to individually encapsulate a magnet for better protection.
With respect to claim 15, the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Shin, Miyata, and Vesci et al. further includes wherein one or more casings of the plurality of casings is made of a material comprising nickel, iron, copper, chromium, molybdenum, silicon, or combinations thereof (i.e. stainless steel, Vesci et al.-par.[0007]).
With respect to claim 16, the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Shin, Miyata, and Vesci et al. further includes wherein one or more casings of the plurality of casings has an opening, and wherein at least a portion of each opening is configured to face the PECVD chamber (Vesci et al.-Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 17, the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Shin, Miyata, and Vesci et al. further includes wherein the top piece and the bottom piece are made of a material comprising stainless steel (Vesci et al.-par. [0007]).
With respect to claim 18, the magnet holding structure of Yang et al. in view of Shin, Miyata, and Vesci et al. further includes one or more casings of the plurality of casings is made of a material having a relative magnetic permeability value of about 80,000 to about 100,000 (Note. i.e. stainless steel, Vesci et al.-par.[0007]-Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll C. v. Interchemcial Corp. 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new reference Miyata teaches wherein each magnet retention member of the plurality of magnet retention members of the top piece and each magnet retention member of the plurality of magnet retention members of the bottom piece are configured to engage one of the plurality of magnets to prevent the magnet from moving within the top piece and the bottom piece.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michelle CROWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716