DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwabuchi et al. (US 2007/0063959 A1) in view of Spitzer et al. (US 2017/0236466 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Iwabuchi teaches a display device (display device in Figs. 1 & 13) comprising:
a first pixel (top left pixel 104 in Fig. 1), a second pixel (second pixel 104 in the same row but to the right of the first pixel), and a third pixel (first pixel 104 in the second row),
wherein the first pixel and the second pixel are adjacent to each other in a first direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 1 which is along the direction of gate line G1),
wherein the first pixel and the third pixel are adjacent to each other in a second direction (vertical direction in Fig. 1 which is along the direction of signal line S1) which is different from the first direction,
wherein each of the first pixel, the second pixel, and the third pixel (as shown in Fig. 13, each pixel 104 in Fig. 1 is a pixel 1305 in Fig. 1. Please note that axes in Fig. 13 is interchanged with those in Fig. 1) comprises a first subpixel (1306a in Fig. 1), a second subpixel (1306b), and a third subpixel (1306c),
But Iwabuchi does not teach that wherein the first subpixel of the first pixel is electrically connected to one terminal of a first switch through a first wiring, wherein the first subpixel of the second pixel is electrically connected to the other terminal of the first switch through a second wiring, wherein the second subpixel of the first pixel is electrically connected to one terminal of a second switch through a third wiring, wherein the second subpixel of the second pixel is electrically connected to the other terminal of the second switch through a fourth wiring, wherein the third subpixel of the first pixel is electrically connected to one terminal of a third switch through a fifth wiring, wherein the third subpixel of the second pixel is electrically connected to the other terminal of the third switch through a sixth wiring, wherein the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel of the first pixel are electrically connected to one terminal of a fourth switch through a seventh wiring, and wherein the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel of the third pixel is electrically connected to the other terminal of the fourth switch through an eighth wiring.
Spitzer teaches a display device with column and row combine logic (414 and 418 in Fig. 6 of Spitzer). The device comprises an array of pixels (404 in the foveal region 610) including a first pixel (any of the pixels 404 in the foveal region 610, for example, top left pixel), a second pixel (a pixel 404 on the right of the first pixel and in the same row), a third pixel (a pixel 404 beneath the first pixel 404); and a first switch (608 in Fig. 6 between the first and second pixel) and a second switch (602); wherein the first pixel is electrically connected to one terminal of the first switch and the second pixel is electrically connected to the other terminal of the second switch (see Fig. 6 and described in [0037]-[0038] of Spitzer); and wherein the first pixel is electrically connected to one terminal of the second switch (620) and the third pixel is electrically connected to the other terminal of the second switch (as described in [0038] of Spitzer). Spitzer further discloses that these logics allow the two paired pixels to emit light of the same color and intensity ([0038] of Spitzer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the column/row combine logics of Spitzer in order to reduce the amount of pixel data to be transmitted to the display panel ([0014] of Spitzer).
As incorporated, it would have been obvious to have paired the first/second/third subpixel (1306a in Fig. 13 of Iwabuchi) of the first pixel of Iwabuchi to the corresponding first/second/third subpixel of the second pixel since these emit the same color. The switches corresponding to transistor 608 between each pair of pixels, or subpixels, of Spitzer would be labeled first/second/third switch, accordingly. The switch corresponding to transistor 620 of Spitzer would be labeled fourth switch. As shown in Fig. 13 of Iwabuchi, the gates of all subpixels in each pixel is electrically connected to a scan line. Thus, the gates of all subpixels of the first pixel are connected to a terminal of a transistor 620 while the gates of all subpixels of the third pixel are connected to the other terminal of the transistor 620.
Regarding claim 3, Iwabuchi in view of Spitzer teaches all limitations of the display device according to claim 2, and also teaches wherein each of the first wiring, the second wiring, the third wiring, the fourth wiring, the fifth wiring, and the sixth wiring is configured to serve as a signal line (as shown in Fig. 13 of Iwabuchi), and wherein each of the seventh wiring and the eighth wiring is configured to serve as a scan line (as shown in Fig. 13 of Iwabuchi).
Regarding claim 4, Iwabuchi in view of Spitzer teaches all limitations of the display device according to claim 2, and also teaches wherein the first subpixel is configured to emit a first color (color emitted by 1306a, which is red, for example, as described in [0023] of Iwabuchi), wherein the second subpixel is configured to emit a second color (color emitted by 1306b, which is green, for example, as described in [0023] of Iwabuchi) which is different from the first color, and wherein the third subpixel is configured to emit a third color (color emitted by 1306c, which is blue, for example, as described in [0023] of Iwabuchi) which is different from the first color and the second color.
Regarding claim 5, Iwabuchi teaches a display device (display device in Figs. 1 & 13) comprising:
a first pixel (a pixel 104 in Fig. 1) and a second pixel (second pixel 104 in the same row but to the right of the first pixel),
wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel (as shown in Fig. 13, each pixel 104 in Fig. 1 is a pixel 1305 in Fig. 1. Please note that axes in Fig. 13 is interchanged with those in Fig. 1) comprises a first subpixel (1306a in Fig. 13), a second subpixel (1306b), and a third subpixel (1306c).
But Iwabuchi does not teach that wherein the first subpixel of the first pixel is electrically connected to one terminal of a first switch through a first wiring, wherein the first subpixel of the second pixel is electrically connected to the other terminal of the first switch through a second wiring, wherein the second subpixel of the first pixel is electrically connected to one terminal of a second switch through a third wiring, wherein the second subpixel of the second pixel is electrically connected to the other terminal of the second switch through a fourth wiring, wherein the third subpixel of the first pixel is electrically connected to one terminal of a third switch through a fifth wiring, and wherein the third subpixel of the second pixel is electrically connected to the other terminal of the third switch through a sixth wiring.
Spitzer teaches a display device with column and row combine logic (414 and 418 in Fig. 6 of Spitzer). The device comprises an array of pixels (404 in the foveal region 610) including a first pixel (any of the pixels 404 in the foveal region 610, for example, top left pixel), a second pixel (a pixel 404 on the right of the first pixel and in the same row), a third pixel (a pixel 404 beneath the first pixel 404); and a first switch (608 in Fig. 6 between the first and second pixel) and a second switch (602); wherein the first pixel is electrically connected to one terminal of the first switch and the second pixel is electrically connected to the other terminal of the second switch (see Fig. 6 and described in [0037]-[0038] of Spitzer); and wherein the first pixel is electrically connected to one terminal of the second switch (620) and the third pixel is electrically connected to the other terminal of the second switch (as described in [0038] of Spitzer). Spitzer further discloses that these logics allow the two paired pixels to emit light of the same color and intensity ([0038] of Spitzer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the column/row combine logics of Spitzer in order to reduce the amount of pixel data to be transmitted to the display panel ([0014] of Spitzer).
As incorporated, it would have been obvious to have paired the first/second/third subpixel (1306a in Fig. 13 of Iwabuchi) of the first pixel of Iwabuchi to the corresponding first/second/third subpixel of the second pixel since these emit the same color. The switches corresponding to transistor 608 between each pair of pixels, or subpixels, of Spitzer would be labeled first/second/third switch, accordingly. The switch corresponding to transistor 620 of Spitzer would be labeled fourth switch.
Regarding claim 6, Iwabuchi in view of Spitzer teaches all limitations of the display device according to claim 5, and also teach wherein each of the first wiring, the second wiring, the third wiring, the fourth wiring, the fifth wiring, and the sixth wiring is configured to serve as a signal line (as shown in Fig. 6 of Spitzer and Fig. 13 of Iwabuchi).
Regarding claim 7, Iwabuchi in view of Spitzer teaches all limitations of the display device according to claim 5, and also teaches
wherein the first subpixel is configured to emit a first color (color emitted by 1306a, which is red, for example, as described in [0023] of Iwabuchi), wherein the second subpixel is configured to emit a second color (color emitted by 1306b, which is green, for example, as described in [0023] of Iwabuchi) which is different from the first color, and wherein the third subpixel is configured to emit a third color (color emitted by 1306c, which is blue, for example, as described in [0023] of Iwabuchi) which is different from the first color and the second color.
Conclusion
/Tuan A Hoang/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898