DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 10, 12-13, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG et al. US 2025/0261335 Al in view of Subrahmanya US 20200309429 A1.
Re claim 1, SHENG et al. teach a system comprising: one or more coolant distribution units (110, 111) having one or more swappable filters (114) coupled, to one or more isolation valves (112, 115) that control one or more coolant flows through the one or more swappable filters (para 59).
SHENG et al. fail to explicitly teach connectors and processor details.
Subrahmanya teach through one or more disconnectable connectors (para 51, 53, 55, 58), to one or more isolation valves (232)
and one or more processors to send one or more control signals to the one or more isolation valves to automatically turn off any coolant flow to the one or more swappable filters upon detecting the one or more swappable filters are removed (para 57) by disconnecting the one or more disconnectable connectors (para 84) from the one or more coolant distribution units ( in the instant combination) to provide filter information to a controller.
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of applicant’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably perti-nent to the particular problem with which the applicant was con-cerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. In the instant case Subrahmanya is reasonably perti-nent to the particular problem with which the applicant was con-cerned. Both, Subrahmanya and the applicant disclose removable filters connected to a cooling system, and a processor receiving information on the presence and/or status of the disconnectable filter being connected/disconnected from the loop. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention of SHENG et al. was made to incorporate connectors and processor details as taught by Subrahmanya in order to leak detection or other malfunctions at the filter connection assembly.
Re claim 3, the instant combination teach wherein one or more replacement filters are coupled to the one or more coolant distribution units through the one or more disconnectable connectors in place of the removed one or more swappable filters (see the rejections of claims 1 noting any filter whether it is original or replaced meet the limitation of a filter coupled to fluid circuit).
For clarity, the recitation “…in place of the removed one or more swappable filters …” has been considered a recitation of intended use. It has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114. In the instant case, the prior art meets all of the structural limitations, and is therefore capable of performing the claimed recitations set forth above.
The recitation of “in place of the removed one or more swappable filters” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. In product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” A process may entail using multiple replaced and different filters but in the apparatus claim any filter whether it is original or replaced meet the limitation of a filter coupled to fluid circuit.
Re claim 4, SHENG et al. teach wherein the one or more swappable filters are placed in parallel, and wherein a first filter of the one or more swappable filters is configured to filter a coolant flow within at least one of the one or more coolant distribution units upon removal of a second filter in parallel (fig 2, noting the prior art meets the configuration and is capable of performing the functional limitation).
Re claim 5, SHENG et al. teach wherein the one or more swappable filters are placed to filter the one or more coolant flows before the one or more coolant flows enter one or more pumps (103; noting a loop and “before “ being met in a loop process) that pump the one or more coolant flows out of the one or more coolant distribution units.
Re claim 6, SHENG et al. teach wherein the one or more swappable filters are placed to filter the one or more coolant flows after the one or more coolant flows are pumped out from one or more pumps (103; noting a loop and “after“ being met in a loop process) at one or more coolant return sides of the one or more coolant distribution units.
Re claim 10, SHENG et al. teach a coolant distribution apparatus (110, 111) comprising;
one or more swappable filters (114) coupled, to one or more isolation valves (112, 115) that control one or more coolant flows through the one or more swappable filters (para 59).
SHENG et al. fail to explicitly teach connectors and processor details.
Subrahmanya teach through one or more disconnectable connectors (para 51, 53, 55, 58), to one or more isolation valves (232)
and one or more processors to send one or more control signals to the one or more isolation valves to automatically turn off any coolant flow to the one or more swappable filters upon detecting the one or more swappable filters are removed (para 57) by disconnecting the one or more disconnectable connectors (para 84) from the one or more coolant distribution units ( in the instant combination) to provide filter information to a controller.
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of applicant’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably perti-nent to the particular problem with which the applicant was con-cerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. In the instant case Subrahmanya is reasonably perti-nent to the particular problem with which the applicant was con-cerned. Both, Subrahmanya and the applicant disclose removable filters connected to a cooling system, and a processor receiving information on the presence and/or status of the disconnectable filter being connected/disconnected from the loop. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention of SHENG et al. was made to incorporate connectors and processor details as taught by Subrahmanya in order to leak detection or other malfunctions at the filter connection assembly.
Re claim 12, see the rejection of claim 3.
Re claim 13, see the rejection of claim 4.
Re claim 21, SHENG et al. teach wherein the one or more swappable filters are placed
to filter the one or more coolant flows before the one or more coolant flows enter one or more pumps (103; noting a loop and “before “ being met in a loop) that pump the one or more coolant
flows out of the one or more coolant distribution units.
Re claim 22, SHENG et al. teach wherein the one or more swappable filters are placed to
filter the one or more coolant flows after the one or more coolant flows are pumped out from one
or more pumps (103; noting a loop and “after“ being met in a loop process) at one or more
coolant return sides of the one or more coolant distribution units.
Claim(s) 7, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG et al. , as modified by Subrahmanya , in view of HAMANO US 20240334664 A1.
Re claim 7, SHENG et al. , as modified fail to explicitly teach panel details.
HAMANO teach wherein the one or more coolant distribution units contain one or more rotatable user interface panels (21, figs) that are configured to rotate to a user-desired orientation to incorporate specific electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include panel details as taught by HAMANO in the SHENG et al. , as modified invention in order to advantageously allow for a conductive panel including a first opening, a display to display an image, and an electrically insulating spacer fixed to the panel.
Re claim 15, see the rejection of claim 7.
Claim(s) 8, 16, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG et al. , as modified by Subrahmanya, in view of Gupta US 20230363117 A1.
Re claim 8, SHENG et al. teach wherein the one or more coolant distribution units contain one or more coolant health monitor sensors (106-110) that are configured to collect one or more coolant health measurements and one or more bypass coolant lines that conduct the one or more coolant flows upon detachment of the one or more detachable coolant health monitor sensors (noting the lines in between structure on either parallel unit is considered a bypass line relative to the other unit, and the structure is capable of performing the functional limitations).
SHENG et al. , as modified fail to explicitly teach sensor details.
Gupta teach one or more detachable coolant health monitor sensors to provide quick disconnect fittings to sensors (para 85).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include sensor details as taught by Gupta in the SHENG et al. , as modified invention in order to advantageously allow for facilitating a servicing and replacement of a pressure sensor.
Re claim 16, SHENG et al. teach one or more coolant health monitor sensors that are configured to collect one or more coolant health measurements (106-110; noting the lines in between structure on either parallel unit is considered a bypass line relative to the other unit).
SHENG et al. fail to explicitly teach sensor details.
Gupta teach one or more detachable coolant health monitor sensors to provide quick disconnect fittings to sensors (para 85).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include sensor details as taught by Gupta in the SHENG et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for facilitating a servicing and replacement of a pressure sensor.
Re claim 23, SHENG et al., as modified, teach further comprising one or more bypass coolant lines that conduct the one or more coolant flows upon detachment of the one or more detachable coolant health monitor sensors are detached (noting the lines in between structure on either parallel unit is considered a bypass line relative to the other unit, figs, and the structure is capable of performing the functional limitations in the instant combiantion).
Claim(s) 9, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG et al. , as modified by Subrahmanya, in view of BEAN US 20240251531 A1.
Re claim 9, SHENG et al. , as modified fail to explicitly teach PID.
BEAN teach the one or more coolant distribution units contain one or more Proportional-Integral-Derivative (PID) control circuits that receive one or more real-time measurements of one or more computing hardware and/or the one or more coolant flows, and generate, by one or more neural network models, one or more control signals indicating one or more cooling settings based at least in part on the one or more real-time measurements (para 46) to create a feedback loop.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include PID as taught by BEAN in the SHENG et al. , as modified invention in order to advantageously allow to adjust coolant exit flow rates.
Re claim 17, SHENG et al. , as modified fail to explicitly teach PID.
BEAN teach one or more Proportional-Integral-Derivative (PID) control circuits that receive one or more real-time heat load measurements of one or more computing hardware, and generate one or more control signals indicating one or more cooling settings based at least in part on the one or more real-time heat load measurements (para 46) to create a feedback loop.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include PID as taught by BEAN in the SHENG et al. , as modified invention in order to advantageously allow to adjust coolant exit flow rates.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG et al. , as modified by Subrahmanya, in view of Enright US 20220400584 A1.
Re claim 14, SHENG et al. , as modified fail to explicitly teach pump details.
Enright teach comprising one or more bi-directional pumps configured to fill or drain a coolant from the coolant distribution apparatus (it is noted that the italicized limitation is a functional limitation which the reference is capable of performing) to allow connections to different reservoir types (para 58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include pump details as taught by Enright in the SHENG et al. , as modified invention in order to advantageously allow so that the pump can draw the fluid and transfer it to the tank .
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG et al. , as modified by Subrahmanya, in view of GAO US 20220272874 A1.
Re claim 24, SHENG et al. , as modified fail to explicitly teach blind-mate.
GAO teach the one or more disconnect able connectors are one or more blind-mate quick connectors to provide a connector well known in the art (para 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include blind-mate as taught by GAO in the SHENG et al. , as modified invention in order to advantageously allow for including such connectors that may be engaged and disengaged without fluid leaks.
Re claim 25, SHENG et al. , as modified fail to explicitly teach blind-mate.
GAO teach the one or more disconnect able connectors are one or more blind-mate quick connectors to provide a connector well known in the art (para 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include blind-mate as taught by GAO in the SHENG et al. , as modified invention in order to advantageously allow for including such connectors that may be engaged and disengaged without fluid leaks.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that SHENG et al. fails to teach newly amended scope to the independent claims (automatically turn off). However, the scope of the independent claims has been changed in the latest reply and therefore the examiner is now relying on Subrahmanya to teach the recited “automatically turn off” (see detailed rejection above). Therefore, the applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the claims dependent on the independent claim(s) are allowable based upon their dependence from an independent claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 10 have been addressed above. Thus, the rejections are proper and remain.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GORDON A JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763