DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 8-14 in the reply filed on 07/24/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is not sufficient burden to search both groups. This is not found persuasive because the process / controller steps are distinct in that the Group III actually requires depositing bulk metal on the doped hard mask which is not required by Group II, and Group II does not require etching the doped hard mask specifically of Groups I and II, neither of the groups require the specific carbon hard mask of Group I. The groups are sufficiently different that it would be a burden to examine all three.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: it does not end with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
As a matter of interpretation, there is no specific order of steps between the first “deposit” and the “etch” steps. There is also no specific requirement that the carbon-containing gas source in claim 8 is used for the process claimed in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (2022/0392765) in view of Hsu (2021/0125877).
Han teaches a processing chamber comprising:
- a substrate support assembly disposed in a process volume of a chamber, see Fig. 6 and related text, particularly [0092] wherein the system includes a controller to control the process steps and a substrate support, 610
- the system as noted includes a gas flow control system 620 and is understood to have various gas sources,
- depositing a hard mark with a dopant, see wherein a hard mask 142 is deposited, see [0028-47], the second hard mask includes the same materials as the first and includes such materials as tungsten-based compounds and also silicon films, see also Fig. 1H,
- and the teachings further include various etch steps in the process, see particularly [0030, 34, 35 and 43], the claim is not particularly limiting as to an exact order or exactly what is etched – it is understood per the Figs. 1A-L that the etch process produces the trench features and
- thereafter depositing a bulk metal – see Fig. 1L and [0047].
All elements of the claim are taught except for the hard mask being doped. Hsu, however, teaches that a functional hard mask is one of tungsten carbide and/or silicon and combinations of those [0050]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to apply the tungsten carbide / silicon hard mask of Hsu in the process (controller steps) of Han as an operable alternative to the “tungsten-based compounds and/or silicon films” of Han. The teachings are not limiting on the combination of tungsten carbide and silicon and wherein all elements are taught, reasonably includes silicon-doped tungsten carbide – wherein the doping is a matter of the amount of silicon combined with the tungsten carbide. In combination of the teachings, it would be understood that the gas delivery system would further include a metal precursor gas source (to deposit the metal fill of Han and/or the tungsten), a carbon-containing gas source (to deposited the carbide material) and a dopant source gas, to deposit the silicon dopant.
In further regard to the use of silicon-doped tungsten carbide, wherein both references teach silicon films and tungsten films, and Hsu teaches tungsten carbide specifically, to form a doped film as argued is a mere matter of forming a third composition for the same purpose as the described compositions. As per MPEP 2144.06: "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 9, the doped hard mask is tungsten carbide doped with silicon as argued above.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Hsu teaches using CVD [0050] therefore it would be understood that the claimed gases are flowed towards a substrate; Han also teaches CVD [0032], and, as argued above, the dopant is silicon.
Regarding claims 12 and 14, the teachings do not include any tungsten or silicon precursors, but the Office takes Official notice that the claimed precursors would have been obvious selections as they are pervasive in the industry for the noted purpose.
Regarding claim 13, the teachings are silent on the amount of dopant material, however, because it is well settled that "where the principal difference between the claimed process and that taught by the reference is a temperature difference, it is incumbent upon applicant to establish criticality of that temperature difference", see Ex Parte Khusid 174 USPQ 59. This principle clearly is analogous to other process parameters such as dopant material in a doped layer. Absent evidence showing such criticality, use of the claimed dopant amount would have been prima facie obvious – it is particularly noted that, as above, the teachings include a non-limited combination of the claimed materials.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A MILLER, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712