Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2016/0060787) in view of Nagai et al (US 6,402,834) and Hiroshi (JPH 038791).
The Park teaches an apparatus for crystal growth comprising an ingot puller for manufacturing a single crystal ingot note entire reference. The ingot puller 1 comprising: a crucible 3 for holding a crystal melt; a crystal puller housing 2 that defines a growth chamber for pulling the ingot from the melt, the crucible 3 being disposed within the growth chamber 2 (Fig 2; [0059]-[0063]); and a polycrystalline feed system 20 for supplying chunk polycrystalline to the crucible, the polycrystalline feed system comprising: a feed tube 29 having an outer sidewall, an inlet end and an outlet end ([0001]-[0002], [0054]- [0064]; Fig 2-21 show the feed apparatus with supply tube 29 for supplying raw material, such as polysilicon for silicon single crystal growth). There is a heat shield means between the feeder and the melt, note, fig 1 number 9. The difference between the instant claim and the prior art is a cooling jacket surrounding the outer sidewall of the feed tube at the outlet end of the feed tube, the cooling jacket for cooling the outlet end during operation of the ingot puller. However, the Nagai et al teaches a cooling jacket 11/81 comprising a coolant inlet and outlet surrounding the outer sidewall of feed tube 9/79 which supplies powdery raw material to a crucible, wherein the cooling jacket 11 is arranged to surround the circumference of the transferring tube 9, and causes the inside of the transferring tube 9 to be kept below the melting temperature of a raw material of a crystal against the heat from the electric furnace 10 by cooling the transferring tube 9 from the outside with a cooling medium passing inside it (Fig 1, 4-5; col 9, In 1-67; col 13, In 1 to col 14, In 67). The Hiroshi reference teaches the cooling jacket surrounding the tube but cooling done indirectly via coolant inside tubes, note fig1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Park by the teachings of the Nagai et al and Hiroshi reference by providing a cooling jacket surrounding the outer sidewall of the feed tube at the outlet end of the feed tube, the cooling jacket for cooling the outlet end during operation of the ingot puller, as taught by Nagai et al, to keep the inside of the transfer tube below the melting temperature of the raw material, and prevent the feeding pipe from being overheated and damaged.
With regards to claim 2, the Park reference shows the heat shield at the end of the feeder, note figure 1.
With regards to claims 10 and 13, the Park reference shows the heat shield sized to receive feed at end of tube, note figure 1.
Claim(s) 3 to 5, 8, 9 and 14 to 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2016/0060787) in view of Nagai et al (US 6,402,834) and Hiroshi (JPH 038791)..
The Park, Hiroshi and Nagai et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claims in the means to attach the heat shield. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention, to modify the combined references to employ support rings and cables in order to properly and stably mount the heat shield in relation to the feeder not stopping the growth process.
With regards to claim 8 and 19, the Park reference teaches the heat shield to be separate, note fig 1.
With regards to claim 18, the Park reference teaches the heat shield having a radial gap between it and the feeder, note fig 1.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2016/0060787) in view of Nagai et al (US 6,402,834) and Hiroshi (JPH 038791).
The Park, Hiroshi and Nagai et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claims in the heat shield heat exchanger arrangement. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention, to modify the combined references to have the feeder heat exchanger and heat shield connected in order to increase control over the temperature of the feed stock and not have melting.
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not teach nor render obvious the instantly claimed invention. The art does not show the reflector arranged with the heat exchanger and feeding means.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 to 11 and 13 to 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714