DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 08/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a nonelected invention. Applicant is invited to amend the nonelected claims during prosecution for possible rejoinder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (CN 103165416) (see English Translation) in view of Sims et al. (2020/0066987).
He teaches a preparation method of a MOS device in which silicon nitride is formed on a substrate by plasma enhanced atomic layer deposition using dichlorosilane and ammonia using a radio frequency power of 20-500W in a chamber (p.3 paragraphs 5-8). However, the reference fails to teach the appropriate frequency or duty cycle.
Sims teaches a PEALD method of depositing a silicon nitride film (0083) in which the pulsing frequency can be between 2 Hz and about 100 kHz and duty cycles between 1 and 95% (0107). To utilize the frequency or duty cycle of Sims in the process of He would have been obvious because Sims teaches of using a pulsing frequency and duty cycle to deposit a silicon nitride film.
Regarding claim 2, Sims teaches trimethylsilane (0094).
Regarding claim 3, He teaches ammonia (p.3 paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 4, He teaches 450oC (p.3 paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 5, He teaches 20 Torr (p.3 paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 6, Sims teaches 2 Hz (0107).
Regarding claim 7, Sims teaches 1% (0107).
Regarding claim 9, Sims teaches a density of less than about 2.5 g/cm3 (0023).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (CN 103165416) (see English Translation) in view of Sims et al. (2020/0066987) and further in view of Leedy (7,307,020). The combination of He/Sims fails to teach the appropriate dielectric constant.
Leedy teaches that the dielectric constant of silicon nitride can range upward from 3.5 (col.12 lines 1-22). It would have been obvious to utilize silicon nitride with a dielectric constant of 3.5 in the combination with the expectation of success because Leedy teaches of using a dielectric constant of 3.5 with silicon nitride.
Claims 8, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (CN 103165416) (see English Translation) in view of Sims et al. (2020/0066987) and further in view of Lei et al. (2018/0245215). The combination of He/Sims fails to teach appropriate dielectric constant.
Lei teaches of forming silicon nitride dielectric film (abstract) in which the dielectric constant can be 4 or less (0048). It would have been obvious to utilize silicon nitride with a dielectric constant of 4.0 in the combination with the expectation of success because Lei teaches of using a dielectric constant of 4.0 with silicon nitride.
Regarding claim 10, Lei teaches silicon carbonitride (0029).
Regarding claim 11, Lei teaches a breakdown voltage of 6 MV/cm (0029).
/BRET P CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718 09/04/2026