DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, the Applicant has amended the claims to “the first pattern on the front side and the first/second pattern on the back side are configured to compensate interfacial stress between the porous graphite substrate and the silicon carbide coating layer during high-temperature semiconductor processing”, such that the scope of the claims has changed, thus requiring further search and consideration. This claim amendment is the basis for the remarks, as the Applicant argues that Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio does not expressly teach “compensates for interfacial stress”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner notes that when the language “configured to” when applied to a controller would mandate the express functionality of intended use of a controller, however, in the case of a pattern, that mandate no longer applies and the structure of the pattern would merely need to be capable of doing said function. Meaning, even if the structure is used for something else, if there are no structural limitations defining the structure to create the function as claimed, it would be capable of performing said functionality. For instance, in the case of the pattern, the positive physical limitations in the independent claim is that there is a first pattern and a second pattern, and that the patterns can be the same or different. As such, any pattern that fulfills those physical limitations would thus be capable of “the first pattern on the front side and the first/second pattern on the back side are configured to compensate interfacial stress between the porous graphite substrate and the silicon carbide coating layer during high-temperature semiconductor processing” and the arguments about the teachings of said functionality is not considered persuasive.
The Examiner notes that there is not a criticality of shape if the patterns on the front and the back can be the same or different in the claims and in the specification, and as such, modifications for the shape of the patterns would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention and would also implicitly be able to perform the function of compensating for interfacial stress.
The Examiner notes that the rejection of Claim 1 has been clarified for Ngo, which expressly teaches the same first pattern on both the top and bottom of the susceptor in Fig. 3A and Fig. 3C. The Examiner also notes that even though there is not the exact phrasing of “compensate interfacial stress”, Ngo teaches that the patterns formed on the susceptor are designed to increase absorption of the thermal energy or conduction of heat [0036-0038] to create precise control over heating which implicitly suggests that there is less stress as a result of precise temperature control. In other words, the patterns presented by Ngo below are not simply a teaching for a pattern, but that the use of a pattern for thermal control which is known in the art to reduce non-uniformities [0004-0008], which is implicitly a result of reduced thermal stress- a result effective variable that is closely related to interfacial stress such that even if the phrasing is not expressly present in the references it is suggested in the teachings of Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio. As such, the remarks presented by the Applicant are not considered persuasive and the rejection is FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2015/0368829 to Ngo in view of United States Patent Application No. 2003/0168174 to Foree and WO2019/133558 to Guercio et al. United States Patent Application No. 2021/0017029 to Guercio et al is relied upon for paragraph citation purposes for WO2019/133558.
In regards to Claim 1, Ngo teaches a susceptor 300 Fig. 3A, 3C for use in a processing chamber 100 Fig. 1 for supporting a wafer 108, the susceptor comprising: a susceptor substrate formed of graphite (106 formed of [0026, 0035]) and having a front side 312 Fig. 3A and a back side 314 Fig. 3C opposite the front side; and a coating layer formed of silicon-carbide (SiC) (as the susceptor is made out of SiC coated graphite [0026, 0035]) and deposited on the susceptor substrate, wherein the front side of the susceptor substrate has a pocket (recessed area 308) configured to hold a wafer 108 to be processed in a processing chamber 100, the pocket being textured with a first pattern (radial fins 310 Fig. 3A), and the back side of the susceptor substrate is textured with the first pattern (radial fins 335 Fig. 3C, the pattern having the same pattern as shown in the annotated copy of Fig. 3A and 3C below as well) [0022-0046].
Ngo does not expressly teach the thickness of the susceptor substrate is from 1-15 mm.
Foree teaches a susceptor 42 Fig. 2, 6, 7a, 7b (and more specifically, the top plate of 78 and the embodiment without gas holes in Fig. 7A, 7B) for use in a processing chamber 20 Fig. 2 for supporting a wafer, the susceptor comprising: a susceptor substrate (body of 42/78) having a front side (top side of 42/78 on which 44 is supported thereon) and a back side opposite the front side (bottom of 78), and a coating layer (thin coating of silicon carbide on a graphite susceptor body, [0050]) deposited on the susceptor substrate [0050], wherein the front side has a pocket 92 configured to hold a wafer to be processed in a processing chamber [0051], the pocket being textured with a first pattern (formed by the 222, 220 grid protrusions), and the back side is textured with a second pattern (coating of silicon carbide that has a lip as shown in Fig. 7A [0039-0084)).
Foree teaches that the susceptor 42 has a thickness of 0.30 inches or 7.62 mm.
Foree teaches the first pattern is a grid pattern (formed by grid protrusions and grid grooves) having a width of between 0.20 mm and 3.00 mm (0.20X0.20 mm [0066)), a pitch of between 0.80 mm and 3.00 mm (1.0-1.5 mm [0067]), and a depth of between 0.10 mm and 5.00 mm (0.35-0.55 mm [0067]).
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus Ngo and its generic susceptor thickness, with the specific thickness of a susceptor of 7.62 mm, as per the teachings of Foree, for a known analogous susceptor thickness. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
Ngo in view of Foree does not expressly teach the coating layer has a thickness of 40-300µm or that the porous graphite has an impurity level below 5ppm and having pores into which SiC tendrils are formed.
Guercio teaches a purified graphite member for susceptors [0002] that is coated with SiC (50µm-75µm [0466]), the graphite member [0098] being porous and having impurities of 5 ppm [0208, 0272], with tendrils therein that are formed from the SiC coating into the pores of the porous graphite [0282], [0058-0571]. Guercio teaches expressly that the purification of the graphite susceptor substrate allows for surface cleaning, thereby removing dust and loose particles [0210] but also allows for chlorination treatment of the porous graphite to give a desired porosity to form a desired SiC coating to improve the strength of the substrate support/susceptor [0122-280].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have made the susceptor substrate of Ngo in view of Foree out of porous graphite with a impurity level of less than 5 ppm and coated with SiC to form SiC tendrils in the pores, as per the teachings of Guercio. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of remove dust and loose particles to provide for the chlorination of the substrate to create a desired porosity such that the SiC tendrils are formed for mechanical strengthening of the susceptor can be performed.
It has also been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make a susceptor porous graphite substrate of Ngo in view of Foree out of porous graphite that has an impurity level of less than 5 ppm as taught by Guercio with SiC coating of 50-75µm, a range that fulfills the claimed coating thickness range, in order to form SiC tendrils in the porous carbon substrate for a desired material for a susceptor, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so, especially with the added motivation of strengthening the susceptor substrate from this material formation.
It can be argued that Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio do not expressly teach that the first pattern on the front side and the first pattern on the back side are configured to compensate interfacial stress between the porous graphite substrate and the silicon carbide coating layer during high-temperature semiconductor processing. However, the Examiner notes that this is a functional limitation that is conditional to when there is high temperature semiconductor processing and does not positively limit the structure to be different from the teachings of Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio. It has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP 2115. As the apparatus of Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio is substantially the same as the claimed apparatus, the apparatus of Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio would be capable of fulfilling the limitations of the claim and thus be able to “compensate interfacial stress between the porous graphite substrate and the silicon carbide coating layer during high-temperature semiconductor processing”, there being no structural difference between the apparatus of Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio and that of the claim.
Furthermore, the Examiner notes that the patterns are a limitation of shape, It has been held that change of shape is generally recognized as being within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. It is noted that Applicant has not made any showing of criticality in the shape of the shape of the patterns that would tend to point toward the non-obviousness of freely selecting any first pattern or any second pattern, as the independent claims and the specification indicate that the patterns can be the same or different. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claims 2-3, Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio do not expressly teach the thickness of the susceptor substrate 6.35 mm or the thickness of the susceptor substrate is about 3.7 mm.
Foree does expressly teach that the thickness is dependent on the overall size of the susceptor [0050], which is also implicitly dependent on the overall size of the wafer.
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. As the teachings of Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio expressly teach a thickness within 1-15 mm, as per limitations of the independent claim, and as Foree teaches that changing the susceptor thickness is obvious dependent on the overall size of the susceptor which is dependent on the size of the substrate, the thickness of the susceptor is thus a result effective variables for creating a thickness for a susceptor dependent on the size of the substrate, such that the optimization is known within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation, with an articulated rationale supporting the rejection, changing the susceptor thickness is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
See MPEP 2144.05 II. A, B. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claims.
In regards to Claim 4, Ngo does not expressly teach wherein the first pattern is a grid pattern having a depth of between 0.10 mm and 5.00 mm, a width of between 0.20 mm and 3.00 mm, and a pitch of between 0.80 mm and 3.00 mm.
Foree teaches the first pattern is a grid pattern (formed by grid protrusions and grid grooves) having a width of between 0.20 mm and 3.00 mm (0.20X0.20 mm [0066)), a pitch of between 0.80 mm and 3.00 mm (1.0-1.5 mm [0067]), and a depth of between 0.10 mm and 5.00 mm (0.35-0.55 mm [0067]).
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 Il. Thus It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the support surface of Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio and Shepard, Jr., with the support surface of Foree, as an art analogous component of a substrate support surface for a susceptor.
It has been held that change of shape is generally recognized as being within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. It is noted that Applicant has not made any showing of criticality in the shape of substrate support surface that would tend to point toward the non-obviousness of freely selecting the grid as per the teachings of Foree. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claim 5, Ngo does not expressly teach the susceptor substrate is a disc-shaped plate having a diameter of between 150 mm and 400 mm, but does expressly teach that the diameter of the susceptor can be sized slightly larger than the diameter [0039-0040].
Foree teaches the diameter of the susceptor can be sized to wafers having a diameter of 150 mm, 200 mm, and 300 mm with a thickness of 0.725-0.775 mm [0005].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Ngo to make the susceptor have a diameter that can accommodate the substrate/wafer diameters of 150-300 mm, as per the teachings of Foree. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A. The resulting apparatus would have a diameter that is slightly larger than the diameter of the substrate/wafer, and thus would overlap the range of 150-400mm, would fulfill the claimed limitations.
In regards to Claim 6, Ngo teaches the substrate pocket/recess is sized to be slightly larger than the diameter of the substrate and about half the thickness of the substrate/wafer, but does not expressly the recess/pocket has a diameter 150 mm and 300 mm, and a depth of between 0.30 mm and 1.00 mm.
Foree teaches the diameter of the susceptor can be sized to wafers having a diameter of 150 mm, 200 mm, and 300 mm with a thickness of 0.725-0.775 mm [0005].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Ngo to make the susceptor have a diameter that can accommodate the substrate/wafer diameters of 150-300 mm and 0.725-0.775 mm thick, as per the teachings of Foree. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A. The resulting apparatus would have a recess/pocket diameter that is slightly larger than the diameter of the substrate/wafer and pocket/recess depth of about half the thickness the substrate, and thus would overlap the range of 150-300mm and about 0.35mm, would fulfill the claimed limitations.
Furthermore, it has been held that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235; In re Rishoi, 94 USPQ 71; In re Young, 25 USPQ 69; In re Dulberg, 129 USPQ 348; and Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Thus the type of substrate/wafer and its size would be accounted for in the apparatus of Ngo in view of Foree, Guercio and Shepard, Jr. would be capable of processing a size of substrate/wafer and adjust the pocket/recess therein, based on user selection of the type of substrate, there being no structural limitations in the claims to prevent this otherwise.
In regards to Claim 8, Ngo teaches a susceptor 300 Fig. 3A, 3B for use in a processing chamber 100 Fig. 1 for supporting a wafer 108, the susceptor comprising: a susceptor substrate formed of graphite (106 formed of [0026, 0035]) and having a front side 312 Fig. 3A and a back side 314 Fig. 3B opposite the front side; and a coating layer formed of silicon-carbide (SiC) (as the susceptor is made out of SiC coated graphite [0026, 0035]) and deposited on the susceptor substrate, wherein the front side of the susceptor substrate has a pocket (recessed area 308) configured to hold a wafer 108 to be processed in a processing chamber 100, the pocket being textured with a first pattern (ridges 310 Fig. 3A), and the back side of the susceptor substrate is textured with a second pattern (ridges 315 Fig. 3B) comprising an array of portions having a cut therebetween (as shown in the arcuate and concentric raised fins, [0022-0046]).
Ngo does not expressly teach the thickness of the susceptor substrate is from 1-15 mm.
Foree teaches a susceptor 42 Fig. 2, 6, 7a, 7b (and more specifically, the top plate of 78 and the embodiment without gas holes in Fig. 7A, 7B) for use in a processing chamber 20 Fig. 2 for supporting a wafer, the susceptor comprising: a susceptor substrate (body of 42/78) having a front side (top side of 42/78 on which 44 is supported thereon) and a back side opposite the front side (bottom of 78), and a coating layer (thin coating of silicon carbide on a graphite susceptor body, [0050]) deposited on the susceptor substrate [0050], wherein the front side has a pocket 92 configured to hold a wafer to be processed in a processing chamber [0051], the pocket being textured with a first pattern (formed by the 222, 220 grid protrusions), and the back side is textured with a second pattern (coating of silicon carbide that has a lip as shown in Fig. 7A [0039-0084)).
Foree teaches that the susceptor 42 has a thickness of 0.30 inches or 7.62 mm.
Foree teaches the first pattern is a grid pattern (formed by grid protrusions and grid grooves) having a width of between 0.20 mm and 3.00 mm (0.20X0.20 mm [0066)), a pitch of between 0.80 mm and 3.00 mm (1.0-1.5 mm [0067]), and a depth of between 0.10 mm and 5.00 mm (0.35-0.55 mm [0067]).
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus Ngo and its generic susceptor thickness, with the specific thickness of a susceptor of 7.62 mm, as per the teachings of Foree, for a known analogous susceptor thickness. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
Ngo in view of Foree does not expressly teach the coating layer has a thickness of 40-300µm or that the porous graphite has an impurity level below 5ppm and having pores into which SiC tendrils are formed.
Guercio teaches a purified graphite member for susceptors [0002] that is coated with SiC (50µm-75µm [0466]), the graphite member [0098] being porous and having impurities of 5 ppm [0208, 0272], with tendrils therein that are formed from the SiC coating into the pores of the porous graphite [0282], [0058-0571]. Guercio teaches expressly that the purification of the graphite susceptor substrate allows for surface cleaning, thereby removing dust and loose particles [0210] but also allows for chlorination treatment of the porous graphite to give a desired porosity to form a desired SiC coating to improve the strength of the substrate support/susceptor [0122-280].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have made the susceptor substrate of Ngo in view of Foree out of porous graphite with a impurity level of less than 5 ppm and coated with SiC to form SiC tendrils in the pores, as per the teachings of Guercio. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of remove dust and loose particles to provide for the chlorination of the substrate to create a desired porosity such that the SiC tendrils are formed for mechanical strengthening of the susceptor can be performed.
It has also been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Therefore, because it is known to make a susceptor porous graphite substrate of Ngo in view of Foree out of porous graphite that has an impurity level of less than 5 ppm as taught by Guercio with SiC coating of 50-75µm, a range that fulfills the claimed coating thickness range, in order to form SiC tendrils in the porous carbon substrate for a desired material for a susceptor, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to do so, especially with the added motivation of strengthening the susceptor substrate from this material formation.
It can be argued that Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio do not expressly teach that the first pattern on the front side and the first pattern on the back side are configured to compensate interfacial stress between the porous graphite substrate and the silicon carbide coating layer during high-temperature semiconductor processing. However, the Examiner notes that this is a functional limitation that is conditional to when there is high temperature semiconductor processing and does not positively limit the structure to be different from the teachings of Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio. It has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP 2115. As the apparatus of Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio is substantially the same as the claimed apparatus, the apparatus of Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio would be capable of fulfilling the limitations of the claim and thus be able to “compensate interfacial stress between the porous graphite substrate and the silicon carbide coating layer during high-temperature semiconductor processing”, there being no structural difference between the apparatus of Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio and that of the claim.
Furthermore, the Examiner notes that the patterns are a limitation of shape, It has been held that change of shape is generally recognized as being within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. It is noted that Applicant has not made any showing of criticality in the shape of the shape of the patterns that would tend to point toward the non-obviousness of freely selecting any first pattern or any second pattern, as the independent claims and the specification indicate that the patterns can be the same or different. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claim 9, Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio does not expressly teach the thickness of the susceptor substrate 6.35 mm.
Foree does expressly teach that the thickness is dependent on the overall size of the susceptor [0050], which is also implicitly dependent on the overall size of the wafer.
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. As the teachings of Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio expressly teach a thickness within 1-15 mm, as per limitations of the independent claim, and as Foree teaches that changing the susceptor thickness is obvious dependent on the overall size of the susceptor which is dependent on the size of the substrate, the thickness of the susceptor is thus a result effective variables for creating a thickness for a susceptor dependent on the size of the substrate, such that the optimization is known within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation, with an articulated rationale supporting the rejection, changing the susceptor thickness is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
See MPEP 2144.05 II. A, B. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claims.
In regards to Claim 10, Ngo does not expressly teach wherein the first pattern is a grid pattern having a depth of between 0.10 mm and 5.00 mm, a width of between 0.20 mm and 3.00 mm, and a pitch of between 0.80 mm and 3.00 mm.
Foree teaches the first pattern is a grid pattern (formed by grid protrusions and grid grooves) having a width of between 0.20 mm and 3.00 mm (0.20X0.20 mm [0066)), a pitch of between 0.80 mm and 3.00 mm (1.0-1.5 mm [0067]), and a depth of between 0.10 mm and 5.00 mm (0.35-0.55 mm [0067]).
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 Il. Thus It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the support surface of Ngo, with the support surface of Foree, as an art analogous component of a substrate support surface for a susceptor.
It has been held that change of shape is generally recognized as being within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. It is noted that Applicant has not made any showing of criticality in the shape of substrate support surface that would tend to point toward the non-obviousness of freely selecting the grid as per the teachings of Foree. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claim 10, Ngo does not expressly teach wherein the first pattern is a grid pattern having a depth of between 0.10 mm and 5.00 mm, a width of between 0.20 mm and 3.00 mm, and a pitch of between 0.80 mm and 3.00 mm.
Foree teaches the first pattern is a grid pattern (formed by grid protrusions and grid grooves with intersecting stripes) having a width of between 0.20 mm and 3.00 mm (0.20X0.20 mm [0066)), a pitch of between 0.80 mm and 3.00 mm (1.0-1.5 mm [0067]), and a depth of between 0.10 mm and 5.00 mm (0.35-0.55 mm [0067]).
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 Il. Thus It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the second surface of Ngo, with the support surface dimensions (width, depth and pitch) of Foree, as an art analogous component of a substrate support surface for a susceptor.
It has been held that change of shape, and thus implicitly the size, is generally recognized as being within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. It is noted that Applicant has not made any showing of criticality in the shape of substrate support surface that would tend to point toward the non-obviousness of freely selecting the grid as per the teachings of Foree. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claims 11-12, Ngo teaches the second pattern is concentric stripes, as shown in Fig. 3B, but does not expressly teach a depth of between 0.10 mm and 5.00 mm or a width of between 0.50 mm and 30.00 mm, and a pitch of between 0.50 mm and 3.00 mm.
In regards to Claim 13, Ngo does not expressly teach the susceptor substrate is a disc-shaped plate having a diameter of between 150 mm and 400 mm, but does expressly teach that the diameter of the susceptor can be sized slightly larger than the diameter [0039-0040].
Foree teaches the diameter of the susceptor can be sized to wafers having a diameter of 150 mm, 200 mm, and 300 mm with a thickness of 0.725-0.775 mm [0005].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Ngo to make the susceptor have a diameter that can accommodate the substrate/wafer diameters of 150-300 mm, as per the teachings of Foree. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A. The resulting apparatus would have a diameter that is slightly larger than the diameter of the substrate/wafer, and thus would overlap the range of 150-400mm, would fulfill the claimed limitations.
In regards to Claim 14, Ngo teaches the substrate pocket/recess is sized to be slightly larger than the diameter of the substrate and about half the thickness of the substrate/wafer, but does not expressly the recess/pocket has a diameter 150 mm and 300 mm, and a depth of between 0.30 mm and 1.00 mm.
Foree teaches the diameter of the susceptor can be sized to wafers having a diameter of 150 mm, 200 mm, and 300 mm with a thickness of 0.725-0.775 mm [0005].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Ngo to make the susceptor have a diameter that can accommodate the substrate/wafer diameters of 150-300 mm and 0.725-0.775 mm thick, as per the teachings of Foree. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A. The resulting apparatus would have a recess/pocket diameter that is slightly larger than the diameter of the substrate/wafer and pocket/recess depth of about half the thickness the substrate, and thus would overlap the range of 150-300mm and about 0.35mm, would fulfill the claimed limitations.
Furthermore, it has been held that expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235; In re Rishoi, 94 USPQ 71; In re Young, 25 USPQ 69; In re Dulberg, 129 USPQ 348; and Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Thus the type of substrate/wafer and its size would be accounted for in the apparatus of Ngo in view of Foree and Guercio would be capable of processing a size of substrate/wafer and adjust the pocket/recess therein, based on user selection of the type of substrate, there being no structural limitations in the claims to prevent this otherwise.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIFFANY Z NUCKOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716