DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based upon an application filed in KOREA on 09/22/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/20/2024 and 02/26/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 12-13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20240290909A1; Uwe Kober; (hereinafter “Kober”) in view of KR20180083260A; Ueki Atsushi; (hereinafter “Atsushi”); see attached machine translation.
Regarding Claim 1, Kober teaches a method of transferring a plurality of light emitting elements using a stretching device ([0011-0012], method for transferring micro-functional elements using stretchable transfer film), comprising:
stretching a transfer film (#102/#250, Figures 2-3 or 6, [0059]) disposed on a support portion (#202) of the stretching device (#200) by a stretching portion (#110/#204);
disposing the plurality of light emitting elements (#450, Figure 5 or 10, [0066]) at a first gap on the transfer film (#250);
transferring the plurality of light emitting elements (#450, Figures 11-12) disposed on the transfer film (#250) to a substrate (#700).
Kober does not explicitly teach reducing an elongation of the transfer film so that the stretching portion disposes the plurality of light emitting elements at a second gap narrower than the first gap.
However, Atsushi teaches a method of transferring chips using a stretching device (Figures 3a-b, [0004]), comprising reducing an elongation of the transfer film so that the stretching portion disposes the plurality of light emitting elements at a second gap narrower than the first gap (Figures 3a-b, [0026-0028], frame holding means #20 move upward resulting elastic recovery of tape #T and a narrower gap #S2 between
chips #C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kober with the teaching of Atsushi in order to provide suitable interval between adjacent chips for subsequent pickup operation according to Atsushi, [0028].
Regarding Claim 2, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein Kober further teaches the disposing of the plurality of light emitting elements at the first gap on the transfer film (Figures 9-10) comprises:
disposing a first light emitting element emitting light of a first wavelength on the transfer film; disposing a second light emitting element emitting light of a second wavelength on the transfer film; and disposing a third light emitting element emitting light of a third wavelength on the transfer film ([0002] & [0065], micro-functional elements #450 on transfer substrate #250 comprise red, green and blue micro-LEDs).
Regarding Claim 3, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 2, wherein Kober further teaches disposing the plurality of light emitting elements at the first gap on the transfer film (Figures 9-10) comprises:
moving the plurality of light emitting elements (#450) from a donor substrate (#400) to the transfer film (#250) by a laser-induced forward transfer (LIFT) process ([0071]).
Regarding Claim 4, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 1.
Kober does not explicitly teach moving a film fixing portion in a direction to place a height of the film fixing portion lower than a height of a top surface of the support portion after fixing an outer periphery of the transfer film by the film fixing portion of the stretching portion.
However, Atsushi teaches moving a film fixing portion in a direction to place a height of the film fixing portion lower than a height of a top surface of the support portion after fixing an outer periphery of the transfer film by the film fixing portion of the stretching portion (Figures 3a or 4a, frame holders #20 move downward to a position lower than table #10 stretching fixed tape #T).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kober with the teaching of Atsushi, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (clamping device of Kober) for another (frame holding unit of Atsushi) to obtain predictable results (stretching of a transfer film). See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding Claim 5, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 4, wherein Kober further teaches the reducing of the elongation of the transfer film so that the stretching portion disposes the plurality of light emitting elements at the second gap narrower than the first gap comprises:
the stretching portion moving the film fixing portion in the direction to reduce a difference between a height of the film fixing portion and a height of the top surface of the support portion (see rejection of claim 1, Figures 3a-b or 4a-b, frame holders #20 move upward and closer to table #10 reducing elasticity of tape #T).
Regarding Claim 6, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein Kober further teaches the transferring of the plurality of light emitting elements disposed at the second gap on the transfer film to the substrate (Figures 11-12) comprises:
disposing the substrate (#700) on the transfer film (#250) on which the plurality of light emitting elements (#450) disposed at the second gap (see rejection of claim 1) are disposed;
contacting the substrate (#700, Figure 11) with upper portions of the plurality of light emitting elements (#450); and
irradiating a laser from a lower portion of the support portion to the transfer film (Figure 7 or 11, [0091], UV light irradiates from rear surface of transfer substrate #250).
Regarding Claim 12, Kober teaches a method of transferring a plurality of light emitting elements using a stretching device ([0011-0012], method for transferring micro-functional elements using stretchable transfer film), comprising:
disposing the plurality of light emitting elements (#450, Figures 5 or 10) at a first gap on a transfer film (#250) that is stretched (Figures 2-3, [0033] or [0059]);
disposing a substrate (#700, Figure 11) on the transfer film (#250) on which the plurality of light emitting elements (#450) are disposed;
contacting the substrate (#700) with a top surface of the plurality of light emitting elements (#450);
bonding the plurality of light emitting elements (#450, [0089]) to the substrate (#700) by irradiating a laser from a bottom surface of the transfer film toward the plurality of light emitting elements (Figure 8 or 11, [0091], UV light irradiates from rear surface of transfer substrate #250) and separating the transfer film (#250, Figure 12) and the plurality of light emitting elements (#450).
Kober does not teach disposing a stretching portion to space the plurality of light emitting elements at a second gap narrower than the first gap.
However, Atsushi teaches a method of transferring chips using a stretching device (Figures 3a-b, [0004]), comprising disposing a stretching portion to space the plurality of light emitting elements at a second gap narrower than the first gap (Figures 3a-b, [0026-0028], frame holding means #20 move upward resulting elastic recovery of tape #T and a narrower gap #S2 between chips #C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kober with the teaching of Atsushi in order to provide suitable interval between adjacent chips for subsequent pickup operation according to Atsushi, [0028].
Regarding Claim 13, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 12, wherein Kober further teaches before disposing the plurality of light emitting elements at the first gap on the transfer film that is stretched:
disposing the transfer film (#102/#250, Figures 2-3 or 6, [0059]) on a support (#202).
Kober does not explicitly teach moving the stretching portion of the stretching device in a direction to stretch the transfer film disposed on a support portion.
However, Atsushi teaches moving the stretching portion of the stretching device in a direction to stretch the transfer film disposed on a support portion (Figures 3a or 4a, frame holders #20 move downward to a position lower than table #10 stretching fixed tape #T).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kober with the teaching of Atsushi, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (clamping device of Kober) for another (frame holding unit of Atsushi) to obtain predictable results (stretching of a transfer film). See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding Claim 15, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 12, wherein Kober further teaches the disposing of the plurality of light emitting elements at the first gap on the transfer film that is stretched (Figures 9-10) comprises: disposing a first light emitting element emitting light of a first wavelength on the transfer film; disposing a second light emitting element emitting light of a second wavelength on the transfer film; and disposing a second light emitting element emitting light of a third wavelength on the transfer film ([0002] & [0065], micro-functional elements #450 disposing on transfer substrate #250 comprise red, green and blue micro-LEDs).
Regarding Claim 16, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 15, wherein Kober further teaches the disposing of the plurality of light emitting elements at the first gap on the transfer film (Figures 9-10) comprises:
moving the plurality of light emitting elements (#450) from a donor substrate (#400) to the transfer film (#250) by a laser-induced forward transfer (LIFT) process ([0071]).
Regarding Claim 17, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 13.
Kober does not teach the stretching portion comprises: a fixing frame having a circular or polygonal panel or frame structure with a circular or polygonal opening; and a film fixing portion including the fixing frame and a lower fixing portion disposed below an upper and lower driving portion.
However, Atsushi teaches a stretching portion (#20, Figures 1-2, frame holding means) comprises:
a fixing frame (#F, ring frame) having a circular or polygonal panel or frame structure (Figure 1) with a circular or polygonal opening (#23-24, [0017], circular openings); and
a film fixing portion (#21-22) including the fixing frame and a lower fixing portion disposed below an upper and lower driving portion (#26-27, [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kober with the teaching of Atsushi, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (clamping device of Kober) for another (frame holding unit of Atsushi) to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding Claim 18, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 17.
Kober does not teach fixing an outer periphery of the transfer film by the film fixing portion and disposing a height of the film fixing portion to be lower than a height of a top surface of the support portion.
However, Atsushi teaches fixing an outer periphery of the transfer film by the film fixing portion (Figure 3a or 4a, outer portion of tape# T is fixed frame holders #20) and disposing a height of the film fixing portion to be lower than a height of a top surface of the support portion moving a film fixing portion in a direction to place a height of the film fixing portion lower than a height of a top surface of the support portion after fixing an outer periphery of the transfer film by the film fixing portion of the stretching portion (frame holders #20 move downward to a position lower than table #10 stretching fixed tape #T).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kober with the teaching of Atsushi for reason set forth in rejection of claim 17.
Claims 7, 9-11, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kober in view of Atsushi, and further in view of US20210111148A1; Chen et al.; (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding Claim 7, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 6, wherein Kober further teaches the support portion has an opening in a center, and a laser transmitting member is disposed in the opening (Figure 8 of Kober annotated, inner ring #202 comprises opening that transmits laser), the method further comprising:
irradiating a laser from a lower portion of the support portion to the transfer film ([0091], UV light irradiates from rear surface of transfer substrate #250); and
irradiating the laser and adhering the plurality of light emitting elements to the substrate ([0089-0091], UV irradiation bonds micro-LEDs #450 to display #700 using such as adhesive, see also Figures 11-12).
Kober in view of Atsushi does not teach irradiating the laser to melt a connection electrode disposed on a top surface of the plurality of light emitting elements.
However, Chen teaches a method of transferring LEDs ([0007]), comprising irradiating a laser to melt a connection electrode disposed on a top surface of the plurality of light emitting elements (Figures 5A-B, [0066], laser irradiation melts and bonds electrodes #221 of LEDs #22 to conductive portions #51 of target substrate #5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kober in view of Atsushi with the teaching of Chen, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (bonding method of Kober) for another (electrode melting bonding method of Chen) to obtain predictable results (bonding LED components to substrate). See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding Claim 9, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 1.
Kober in view of Atsushi does not teach disposing a transfer head on the transfer film on which the plurality of light emitting elements disposed at the second gap are disposed; moving the transfer head to adhere the plurality of light emitting elements to a stamp of the transfer head; moving the transfer head to place the plurality of light emitting elements adhered to the stamp on the substrate; and melting bonding a connection electrode disposed at an end of the plurality of light emitting elements to the substrate.
However, Chen teaches disposing a transfer head (#4, Figure 2F, conductive substrate) on the transfer film (#3, UV tape) on which the plurality of light emitting elements (#22, LEDs) disposed at the second gap are disposed;
moving the transfer head (#4) to adhere the plurality of light emitting elements (#22) to a stamp (#42, buffer layer) of the transfer head ([0045]);
moving the transfer head (#4, Figures 5A-B) to place the plurality of light emitting elements (#22) adhered to the stamp (#42) on the substrate (#5, [0062], target substrate); and
melting bonding a connection electrode disposed at an end of the plurality of light emitting elements to the substrate ([0066], laser irradiation melts and bonds electrodes #221 of LEDs #22 to conductive portions #51 of substrate #5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kober in view of Atsushi with the teaching of Chen in order to enable pickup, transfer and heat-assisted release/bonding that efficiently handle batch of devices simultaneously according to Chen, [0064-0066].
Regarding Claim 10, Kober in view of Atsushi and Chen teaches the method as described in claim 9, wherein Kober further teaches the moving of the transfer head to adhere the plurality of light emitting elements to the stamp of the transfer head comprises: attaching a viscous member disposed on a side of the stamp to the plurality of light emitting elements (see rejection of claim 9, [0045] of Chen, buffer #42 of substrate #4 comprises an adhesive material such as silica gel to adhere LEDs #22).
Regarding Claim 11, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 2.
Kober in view of Atsushi does not explicitly teach the plurality of light emitting elements are at least one of vertical light emitting elements and flip-chip light emitting elements.
However, Chen teaches the plurality of light emitting elements are at least one of vertical light emitting elements and flip-chip light emitting elements ([0038] or [0040], LED chips #22 can be flip-chip or vertical type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kober with the teaching of Atsushi, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (micro-LEDs of Kober) for another (flip-chip LED of Chen) to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding Claim 14, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 13, wherein Kober further teaches the support portion has an opening in a center, and a laser transmitting member is disposed in the opening (Figure 8 of Kober annotated, inner ring #202 comprises opening that transmits laser), the method further comprising:
bonding the plurality of light emitting elements (#450, [0089]) to the substrate (#700) by irradiating the laser from a lower portion of the support portion to the transfer film (Figure 7 or 11, [0091], UV light irradiates from a lower portion of inner ring #202) and separating the transfer film (#250, Figure 12) and the plurality of light emitting elements (#450); and
irradiating the laser and adhering the plurality of light emitting elements to the substrate ([0089-0091], UV irradiation bonds micro-LEDs #450 to display #700 using such as adhesive, see also Figures 11-12).
Kober in view of Atsushi does not teach irradiating the laser to melt a connection electrode disposed on a top surface of the plurality of light emitting elements.
However, Chen teaches irradiating a laser to melt a connection electrode disposed on a top surface of the plurality of light emitting elements (Figures 5A-B, [0066], laser irradiation melts and bonds electrodes #221 of LEDs #22 to conductive portions #51 of target substrate #5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kober in view of Atsushi with the teaching of Chen, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (bonding method of Kober) for another (electrode melting bonding method of Chen) to obtain predictable results (bonding LED components to substrate). See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding Claim 20, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 14.
Kober in view of Atsushi does not explicitly teach the plurality of light emitting elements are at least one of vertical light emitting elements and flip-chip light emitting elements.
However, Chen teaches the plurality of light emitting elements are at least one of vertical light emitting elements and flip-chip light emitting elements ([0038] or [0040], LED chips #22 can be flip-chip or vertical type).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kober with the teaching of Atsushi, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (micro-LEDs of Kober) for another (flip-chip LED of Chen) to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kober in view of Atsushi, and further in view of US20140326780A1; Han et al.; (hereinafter “Han”).
Regarding Claim 8, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 6.
Kober does not explicitly teach confirming an alignment of the plurality of light emitting elements and the substrate by an image captured by a vision member and photographing the plurality of light emitting elements.
However, Atsushi teaches confirming an alignment of the plurality of light emitting elements and the substrate by an image captured by a vision member and photographing the plurality of light emitting elements ([0040-0041], imaging means #48 output images of adjacent chips on table #10 for image processing and measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kober with the teaching of Atsushi in order to monitor the spacing of adjacent chips for suitable adjustments according Atsushi, [0041].
Kober in view of Atsushi does not explicitly teach the vision member disposed at a lower end of the support portion.
However, Han teaches a supporting structure in display unit ([0008]), comprising a vision member disposed at a lower end of the support portion (#270-370, Figures 3-4, alignment detection unit #270-370 disposes on lower end of support frame #310).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kober in view of Atsushi with the teaching of Han in order to detect and capture image of the alignment state of components on a substrate according to Han, [0060].
Regarding Claim 19, Kober in view of Atsushi teaches the method as described in claim 14.
Kober does not explicitly teach confirming an alignment of the plurality of light emitting elements and the substrate by an image captured by a vision member and photographing the plurality of light emitting elements.
However, Atsushi teaches confirming an alignment of the plurality of light emitting elements and the substrate by an image captured by a vision member and photographing the plurality of light emitting elements ([0040-0041], imaging means #48 output images of adjacent chips on table #10 for image processing and measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kober with the teaching of Atsushi in order to monitor the spacing of adjacent chips for suitable adjustments according Atsushi, [0041].
Kober in view of Atsushi does not explicitly teach the vision member disposed at a lower end of the support portion.
However, Han teaches a supporting structure in display unit ([0008]), comprising a vision member disposed at a lower end of the support portion (#270-370, Figures 3-4, alignment detection unit #270-370 disposes on lower end of support frame #310).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kober in view of Atsushi with the teaching of Han in order to detect and capture image of the alignment state of components on a substrate according to Han, [0060].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20180358256A1 – Figures 1-4
JP2024033292A – Figure 5
US20250079204A1 – Paragraphs [0026-0030]
JP2022128756A – Figures 3-6
/TIEN TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812