Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/20/2024, 05/21/2024, 10/24/2024 and 02/25/2025 was filed before the mailing date of the first action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 13-18, and 20-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al, US 2014/0183501 A1.
Kim teaches:
A display device comprising:
a circuit layer (111A-114A) disposed on a base substrate (110A); and
a display element layer (150A, 115A) disposed on the circuit layer, wherein
the display element layer includes:
a light emitting element (150 A);
a pixel defining layer (116A, 117A) defining a light emitting area of the light emitting element;
a separator (180A) disposed on the pixel defining layer; and
an auxiliary electrode (160A) disposed on the separator and including a reflective
material (162A),
the auxiliary electrode (160A) is electrically connected to an electrode (157 A) of the light emitting element,
a side surface of the separator (180A) is inclined toward the light emitting element (150A), and
the auxiliary electrode (160A) covers the side surface of the separator. Figure 1A and 1B
2. The display device of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary electrode (160A) includes:
an upper auxiliary electrode (165A) disposed on a top surface of the separator (180A); and
a side auxiliary electrode (164 A) disposed on the side surface of the separator (180A). Figure 1A and 1B
3. The display device of claim 2, wherein a thickness of the upper auxiliary electrode and a thickness of the side auxiliary electrode are different from each other. (para 048)
4. The display device of claim 3, wherein the thickness of the upper auxiliary
electrode is greater than the thickness of the side auxiliary electrode. (para 048)
5. The display device of claim 2, wherein a thickness of the side auxiliary electrode becomes smaller as the side auxiliary electrode gets closer to the pixel defining layer. (para 048)
6.The display device of claim 1, wherein the display element layer further includes a lower auxiliary electrode (163A) disposed between the separator (180A) and the pixel defining layer (115,116). Figure 1A and 1B
7. The display device of claim 6, wherein the auxiliary electrode and the lower auxiliary electrode include a same material. (para 51)
8. The display device of claim 7, wherein the auxiliary electrode and the lower auxiliary electrode are electrically connected to each other. (para 51)
9. The display device of claim 1, wherein the pixel defining layer (115A) includes: a first pixel defining layer (116A) surrounding the light emitting area in a plan view; and a second pixel defining layer (117A) surrounded by the light emitting area in a plan view. Figure 1A and 1B
13. The display device of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary electrode includes a metal. (para 51)
14. The display device of claim 1, wherein the light emitting element includes: a first electrode (151A);
an intermediate layer (152A) disposed on the first electrode; and
a second electrode (153A) electrically connected to the auxiliary electrode.
15.The display device of claim 14, wherein the intermediate layer (152A) is disconnected by the separator (180A). Figure 1A and 1B
16. The display device of claim 14, wherein the first electrode (151A) partially overlaps the pixel defining layer (115A) in a plan view. Figure 1A and 1B
17. The display device of claim 16, wherein the pixel defining layer includes a light- transmissive material. (para 083)
18. The display device of claim 1, wherein an angle between the side surface of the separator and a top surface of the pixel defining layer is in a range of about 70 to about 80. Figure 1A and 1B
20.A display device comprising:
a circuit layer (111A-114A) disposed on a base substrate (110A);
a light emitting element (150A) disposed on the circuit layer and corresponding to a light emitting area;
a partition wall (180A) disposed on the circuit layer (111A- 114A) and disposed to correspond to a non-light emitting area adjacent to the light emitting area; and
an auxiliary electrode (160A) disposed on the partition wall and including a reflective material (162A),
wherein the auxiliary electrode is electrically connected to an electrode of the light emitting element, (figure 1A)
the partition wall includes a first partition wall surrounding the light emitting element in a plan view (figure 1B) and a second partition wall surrounded by the light emitting element in a plan view (figure 1B), and
the auxiliary electrode (160A) is disposed on at least one of the first partition wall and the second partition wall. (figure 1A and 1B)
21. The display device of claim 20, wherein the partition wall (180A) further includes:
a pixel defining layer (115A) defining the light emitting area of the light emitting element; and a separator (180A) disposed on the pixel defining layer. Figure 1B
22. The display device of claim 21, wherein
a side surface of the separator is inclined toward the light emitting element, and
the auxiliary electrode covers (160A) the side surface of the separator (180A). (figure 1A and 1B)
23. The display device of claim 22, wherein an angle between the side surface of the separator and a top surface of the pixel defining layer is in a range of about 70 to about 80. (figure 1A and 1B)
24.The display device of claim 21, wherein the light emitting element includes:
a first electrode (151A);
an intermediate layer (152A) disposed on the first electrode; and
a second electrode (153A) electrically connected to the auxiliary electrode. (figure 1A and 1B)
25. The display device of claim 24, wherein the intermediate layer (152A) is disconnected by the separator. (figure 1A and 1B)
26.The display device of claim 24, wherein the first electrode (151A) partially overlaps the pixel defining layer in a plan view. (figure 1A and 1B)
27. The display device of claim 26, wherein the pixel defining layer includes a light-transmissive material. (para 083)
28. The display device of claim 20, wherein the auxiliary electrode (160A) includes:
a first auxiliary electrode (161A) disposed on the first partition wall; and
a second auxiliary electrode (161A) disposed on the second partition wall, and the first auxiliary electrode and the second auxiliary electrode are electrically connected to each other. (figure 1A and 1B)
29. A display device comprising:
a circuit layer (111A-114A) disposed on a base substrate (110A);
a light emitting element (150A) disposed on the circuit layer and corresponding to a light emitting area; (figure 1A and 1B)
a partition wall (180A) disposed on the circuit layer, disposed corresponding to a non-light emitting area adjacent to the light emitting area, (figure 1A and 1B) and including a first portion and a second portion having a greater thickness than a thickness of the first portion; (para 048) and
an auxiliary electrode (160A) disposed on the second portion of the partition wall and including a reflective material (162A), (figure 1A and 1B)
wherein the auxiliary electrode is electrically connected to an electrode of the light emitting element. (figure 1A and 1B)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al.
Kim fails to teach:
10. The display device of claim 9, wherein the separator includes: a first separator disposed on the first pixel defining layer; and a second separator disposed on the second pixel defining layer.
11. The display device of claim 10, wherein the auxiliary electrode is disposed on at least one of the first separator and the second separator.
12. The display device of claim 11, wherein the auxiliary electrode includes:
a first auxiliary electrode disposed on the first separator; and
a second auxiliary electrode disposed on the second separator, and the first auxiliary electrode and the second auxiliary electrode are electrically connected to each other.
In regards to claims 10-12,
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.)
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shin, KWANGHOON EP 3840052 A1.
Kim fails to teach:
19. The display device of claim 1, wherein the circuit layer includes an auxiliary wire that applies a driving voltage to the light emitting element, and
the auxiliary electrode and the auxiliary wire are electrically connected to each other.
Shin teaches:
The circuit element layer is formed on the substrate 100 and may include circuit elements (e.g., transistors and capacitors) and wires constituting the pixel PX.
A first conductive layer 120 may be disposed on the substrate 100. The first conductive layer 120 may include a light blocking layer 121, a lower electrode 122 of the storage capacitor Cst, and an auxiliary wire 123. See Figure 3 and para 0063
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shin, with the primary reference of Kim, because [t]he auxiliary wire 123 may be connected to a second power line PL2 to which the low potential driving voltage ELVSS is applied. Para 0063
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/271115 A1 HARADA, KENJI teaches:
in fig. 4 an OLED panel comprising a PDL (1212) with an auxiliary electrode CAW on top of it. The CAW is a three layer laminate formed of metal such as Ti/Al/Ti, see para. 68. Ti and Al are reflective metals. The auxiliary electrode is electrically connected to the cathode E2 via layer UL. The layer 1212, which correspond to the partition wall, has different heights. A first portion can be defined at an outer region and a second portion at a region where layer 1212 is highest.
And: US 2021/104587 A1 MOON, JUNHWAN et al teaches:
a circuit layer TFT disposed on a base substrate 100;
a light emitting element (see figure, three OLEO shown) disposed on the circuit layer TFT and corresponding to a light emitting area;
a partition wall 182 disposed on the circuit layer, disposed corresponding to a non-light emitting area adjacent to the light emitting area, and including a first portion (outer portion with less height, can be chosen arbitrarily) and a second portion (center portion where barrier layer 1212 has maximum height) having a greater thickness than a thickness of the first portion; and
an auxiliary electrode disposed on the second portion of the partition wall and including a reflective material,
wherein the auxiliary electrode 192 is electrically connected to an electrode 230 of the light emitting element.
MICHAEL . LEBENTRITT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2893
/MICHAEL LEBENTRITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893