DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2025/0016921 (Jeong).
Jeong discloses, referring primarily to figures 4-6, a manufacturing method of circuit board structure, comprising: providing a temporary substrate (200, 210); forming a dielectric layer (220) having at least one through hole (232) on the temporary substrate; forming a surface treatment layer (141) on the temporary substrate in the at least one through hole; forming at least one pad (142) on the surface treatment layer; forming a built-up structure (111, 112) on the dielectric layer; assembling the built-up structure to a substrate (150); removing the temporary substrate (figure 6; [0070]); and removing the dielectric layer. (figure 6; [0072]) [claim 1].
Similarly, Jeong discloses, a manufacturing method of circuit board structure, comprising: providing a temporary substrate (200, 210); forming a dielectric layer (220) having at least one through hole (232) on the temporary substrate; forming a surface treatment layer (141) on the temporary substrate in the at least one through hole; and forming at least one pad (142) on the surface treatment layer [claim 4].
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0103288 A1 (Cho).
Cho discloses, referring primarily to figures 3-5(c), a circuit board structure, comprising: a built-up structure (110; [0068]); at least one pad (121), disposed on the built-up structure; and a surface treatment layer (122,123, 130), disposed on the at least one pad; and wherein, the surface treatment layer and the at least one pad are not overlapped with each other in a horizontal direction, and the horizontal direction is perpendicular to a stacking direction of the surface treatment layer and the at least one pad [claim 5], wherein the surface treatment layer comprises a first metal layer (123; [0110]) and a second metal layer (130; [0088]), the second metal layer is disposed on the at least one pad, and the first metal layer is disposed on the second metal layer (figure 3) [claim 6], wherein a material of the first metal layer (123, [0110]) is different from a material of the second metal layer (130; [0088]) [claim 7], wherein the surface treatment layer further comprises a third metal layer (122) disposed between the second metal layer and the at least one pad [claim 8].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of 2021/0120677 A1 (Hwang)
Regarding claim 2, Jeong discloses the claimed invention as described above with respect to claim 1 including wherein the temporary substrate comprises a base (201), a release layer (202) and a seed layer (210), the release layer is disposed on the base, the seed layer is disposed on the release layer, the surface treatment layer is formed on the seed layer (figure 5). Jeong does not specifically state that the base is a ceramic substrate, a glass substrate, a silicon substrate or a stainless substrate [claim 2]. However, Jeong teaches that the base may comprise insulating material. Glass is a well known insulating material as evidenced by Hwang ([0113]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to use glass as the insulating material in the invention of Jeong as is known in the art and evidenced by Hwang. The motivation for doing so would have been to use a known material to prevent unwanted shorting.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8, 10, and 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 3 states the limitation “further comprising: forming a seed layer on the surface treatment layer after forming the surface treatment layer; and removing a part of the seed layer after removing the dielectric layer.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claim 8 states the limitation “wherein a material of the first metal layer is identical to a material of the second metal layer.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claim 10 states the limitation “wherein a material of the first metal layer is different from a material of the second metal layer, and the material of the first metal layer is identical to a material of the third metal layer.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claims 11 and 12 state the limitation “wherein the surface treatment layer further comprises a fourth metal layer disposed between the first metal layer and the second metal layer.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claims 13 and 14 state the limitation “wherein the at least one pad comprises a buried part and a protruding part, the buried part is buried in the built-up structure, the protruding part protrudes from the buried part, and at least a part of the protruding part is located outside the built-up structure.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
JEREMY C. NORRIS
Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/JEREMY C NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847