Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 08/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryu et al.(KR 102715331 B1, hereafter Ryu).
Regarding Claim 1, Ryu discloses:
A reservoir(Fig. 27 [530]) that receives ink including a light emitting element(Fig. 27 [95]) and a solvent(fig. 27 [91]);
an element-movement-control module(Fig. 26), the element-movement control module(Fig. 26) including a pipe part(Fig. 26 [370]) defining an ink channel(See Fig. 26 [90]) fluidly connected to the reservoir(Fig. 27 [530]), and an electrode part(Fig. 27 [CE]) disposed on a surface of the pipe part(Fig. 26 [370]); and
a nozzle part(Fig. 27 [300]) that ejects the ink outward, wherein
the element-movement-control module(Fig. 26) operates in a first mode(off) or a second mode(on),
in case that the element-movement control module(Fig. 26) operates in the first mode, movement of the light emitting element(Fig. 27 [95]) is unrestricted, and
in case that the element-movement control module operates in the second mode, the electrode part(Fig. 27 [CE]) forms an electric field(Fig. 26 [IEL’]), and the movement of the light emitting element(Fig. 26 [95]) in the ink channel(Fig. 26 See figure below) is restricted at least in an area corresponding to a position at which the electrode part(Fig. 26 [CE]) is disposed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu.
Regarding Claim 2,
Ryu discloses a material(Fig. 26 [370]) that contains a transparent material. However, Ryu does not specifically disclose that this transparent material is comprised of a material that has non-conductivity. However, given the fact that Ryu discloses a pair of electrodes in the way that they do(See Fig. 26 [CE]), one of ordinary skill in the art could reasonably gather that the material of the pipe could not be conductive in order to provide for the electrodes in the way that Ryu shows in Fig. 26, or else the resulting electric field(Fig. 26 [IEL’]) would not be possible. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to comprise the pipe portion of Ryu’s apparatus as a non-conductive material as such a feature would be necessary to form Ryu’s device.
Regarding Claim 3,
Ryu discloses an electrode part(Fig. 26 [CE]) including a first side electrode(Fig. 26 [CE1]) and a second side electrode(Fig. 26 [CE2]) that form a pair and are spaced apart from each other.
However, Ryu does not show in this embodiment that the ink channel is disposed between the first side electrode and the second side electrode.
In another embodiment, Ryu shows a plurality of ink channels(See Fig. 5 [350]). Therefore, when applying the electrodes from Fig. 26 to the plurality of ink channels from Fig. 5, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at an apparatus wherein a pair of electrodes have an ink channel placed in between. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce an apparatus in accordance with the limitations of claim 3 by combining an embodiment of Fig. 26 with the embodiment of Fig. 5, producing an apparatus with a plurality of ink channels with electrodes placed therein.
Regarding Claim 4,
In the embodiment of Figs. 26/27, Ryu does not teach or disclose the plurality of unit areas as disclosed in Claim 4. However, in an alternate embodiment of Fig. 5, Ryu shows a plurality of unit areas(Fig. 5 [350]) in which when applied to the zoomed-in Fig. 26, would generate a structure wherein an electrode in disposed in a unit area among the plurality of unit areas, and a volume of the ink channel(Fig. 5 [350]) in the unit area among the plurality of unit areas corresponds to a drop volume of the ink(Fig. 5 [90]) in case that the ink is ejected from the nozzle part(Fig. 5 [300]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce an apparatus in accordance with the limitations of claim 4 by combining an embodiment of Fig. 26 with the embodiment of Fig. 5, producing an apparatus with a plurality of ink channels with electrodes placed therein.
Regarding Claim 12,
In an alternative embodiment, Ryu discloses a nozzle part(Fig. 4 [300]) and the element-movement control module(Fig. 4 [100]) are disposed in a print head part(Fig. 4 [100/300]),
The apparatus(Fig. 4) further comprises:
a main channel(Fig. 4 [IL1]) fluidly connecting the print head part(fig. 4 [100/300]) with the reservoir(Fig. 4 [530]); and
a body channel(Fig. 5 [330]) formed in the print head part(Fig. 4 [100/300]) and fluidly connecting the main channel(Fig. 4 [IL1]) with the ink channel(Fig. 5 [350]), and
the element-movement-control module(Fig. 5 See figure below) is not disposed in the body channel(Fig. 5 [330]).
While Ryu does not explicitly teach or disclose that the body channel has a diameter greater than the diameter of the ink channel. However, given that the body channel serves a plurality of ink channels, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that in order to properly eject ink from each of the plurality of ink channels, one would need to provide a body channel with a sufficiently large flow of liquid, by which doing so would be possible with a larger body channel diameter. Therefore, in the creation of Ryu’s device, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider the possibility of expanding the body channel to accommodate the plurality of ink channels extending out from the body channel. Producing this device would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Ryu’s device.
Regarding Claim 13, Ryu further discloses
The print head part(Fig. 4 [300/100]) comprises a body pipe(Fig. 5 [310]) forming a recycle channel(Fig. 4 [IL2]) fluidly connected to the ink channel(Fig. 5 [350]),
The recycle channel(Fig. 4 [IL2]) is fluidly connected to the reservoir(Fig. 4 [530]), and
The body pipe(Fig. 5 [310]) forms a space in which the element-movement-control module(Fig. 5 See figure below) is disposed.
Claims 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Ryu in view of Byun et al.(US 20200357661 A1, hereafter Byun).
Regarding Claim 5, Ryu further discloses:
The electrode part(Fig. 26 [CE]) includes a plurality of electrode parts(Fig. 26 [CE1/CE2]) spaced apart from each other in a longitudinal direction of the pipe part(Fig. 26 [370]), and
the plurality of electrode parts(Fig. 26 [CE1/CE2]) comprises a first edge electrode part(fig. 26 [CE1]) adjacent to a first end of the unit area among the plurality of unit areas, a second edge electrode part(Fig. 26 [CE2]) adjacent to a second end of the unit area among the plurality of unit areas.
Ryu does not teach or disclose an inner electrode part disposed between the first edge electrode part and the second edge electrode part.
In the same field of endeavor, Byun discloses an inner electrode part(Fig. 10 [455]) disposed between a first and second edge electrode(Fig. 10 [452]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the apparatus disclosed by Ryu along the lines of Byun. One might have been motivated to provide an additional inner electrode in order to assist the induction of the electric field producing electrodes in Ryu’s apparatus. Producing this device would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Ryu’s apparatus with an additional electrode interposed between their first and second edge electrodes.
Regarding Claim 6,
Ryu further discloses:
The unit area(Fig. 5 See figure below) among the plurality of unit areas comprises a plurality of sub-unit areas and
The plurality of electrode parts(Fig. 26 [CE1/CE2])adjacent to each other with the plurality of sub-unit areas disposed between the plurality of electrode parts(Fig. 26 [CE1/CE2]).
Regarding Claim 7, Ryu further discloses:
A number of the plurality of sub-unit areas is an even number of 4 or more.
Regarding Claim 8,
Ryu does not specifically lay out how the apparatus is operated. However, as the apparatus disclosed by Ryu would be capable of turning on and off at a specific time interval, the functional limitation laid out in claim 8 does not provide any additional structural limitations by which the structure of the apparatus is further limited. See MPEP 2114 Paragraph II.
Regarding Claim 9,
Ryu does not specifically lay out how the apparatus is operated. However, as the apparatus disclosed by Ryu would be capable of turning on and off at a specific time interval, the functional limitation laid out in claim 9 does not provide any additional structural limitations by which the structure of the apparatus is further limited. See MPEP 2114 Paragraph II.
Regarding Claim 10,
Ryu discloses an inspection part(Fig. 26 [400]) that is spaced apart from the electrode part(Fig.26 [CE]) in the longitudinal direction of the pipe part(Fig. 26 [370]) and that acquires information about the movement of the light emitting elements(Fig. 26 [95]) in the ink channel(Fig. 26 See figure below).
Regarding Claim 11,
Ryu does not specifically lay out how the apparatus is operated. However, as the apparatus disclosed by Ryu would be capable of turning on and off at a specific time interval, the functional limitation laid out in claim 11 does not provide any additional structural limitations by which the structure of the apparatus is further limited. See MPEP 2114 Paragraph II.
Above: Fig. 26 of Ryu with Ink Channel denoted by examiner.
Above: Unit area, element-movement control module, and unit sub-areas denoted by examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Byun et al.(US 20240376330 A1) discloses an inkjet head with electrodes on either side. Jo et al.(US 20240042753 A1) discloses a printing apparatus. Lee et al.(US 20220254753 A1) discloses an inkjet printing apparatus.
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/MARSHALL MU-NUO HATFIELD/Examiner, Art Unit 2897