DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received on May 21, 2024 for application number 18/670,387. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on {May 21, 2024} and {February 24, 2025} were submitted in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2023-087955 filed on May 29, 2023.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-6 are pending in this application.
Claims 1-6 are rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting enough structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“First reaction force control circuit”, “Second reaction force control circuit”, “First turning control circuit” and “Second turning control circuit” in claim 4.
“Reaction force control circuit” and “Turning control circuit” in claim 5.
“First assistance control circuit” and “Second assistance control circuit” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (NAKAMURA – US 2020/0207408 A1).
Regarding claim 1, NAKAMURA (Figs. 1-7) discloses:
A vehicle control device (steering system 90 or steering system 300: Figs. 1-7 and [0090, 0101]) comprising:
a plurality of control circuits (first detection circuit 130 and second detection circuit 230: Fig. 4) of a plurality of systems each configured to calculate a current command value according to a torque to be generated by a motor (motor 80 or reaction force motor 313 or turning motor 322: Figs. 1 and 7) that has winding sets (first motor winding 180 and a second motor winding 280 respectively as a winding set: [0020, 0023, 0025, 0027]) of the plurality of systems, and to independently control power supply to the winding set of a corresponding one of the plurality of systems based on the calculated current command value, wherein:
the control circuits (first detection circuit 130 and second detection circuit 230: Fig. 4) are each configured to drive the motor (motor 80 or reaction force motor 313 or turning motor 322: Figs. 1 and 7) in one of driving modes that are switched according to an operation state of the control circuit of a system other than an own system;
the driving modes include an own-system shutdown mode (OFF mode) in which the power supply to the winding set of the own system is stopped when the operation state of the control circuit of a system other than the own system is abnormal (operation abnormality: [0047-0050, 0057, 0060-0061, 0067-0068, 0071, 0073-0085, 0089, 0092, 0103, 0105-0107, 0109-0113], 0118-0123); and
the control circuits (first detection circuit 130 and second detection circuit 230: Fig. 4) are each configured such that, even when the operation state of the control circuit of a system other than the own system is abnormal (operation abnormality: [0047-0050, 0057, 0060-0061, 0067-0068, 0071, 0073-0085, 0089, 0092, 0103, 0105-0107, 0109-0113], 0118-0123), the control circuit does not shift the driving mode to the own-system shutdown mode (OFF mode) when an own operation state is a “specific operation state in which safety problems are deemed unlikely” ([0039-0040, 0053-0054]).
Examiner Notes:
The limitation “…a specific operation state in which safety problems are deemed unlikely…” is defined and have support in Present Application Written Specification Paragraph [0121]:
“According to this configuration, even when the operation state of the first turning control circuit 51A that is the control circuit of the system other than the own system is abnormal, the first reaction force control circuit 41A does not shift the driving mode to the own-system shutdown mode when the own operation state is the specific operation state in which safety problems are deemed unlikely. Therefore, the first reaction force control circuit 41A can appropriately respond to an abnormality of the first turning control circuit 51A according to the own operation state. Even when the operation state of the first reaction force control circuit 41A that is the control circuit of the system other than the own system is abnormal, the first turning control circuit 51A does not shift the driving mode to the own-system shutdown mode when the own operation state is the specific operation state in which safety problems are deemed unlikely. Therefore, the first turning control circuit 51A can appropriately respond to an abnormality of the first reaction force control circuit 41A according to the own operation state. The same applies to the second reaction force control circuit 42A and the second turning control circuit 52A”.
Regarding claim 2, NAKAMURA discloses the vehicle control device according to claim 1, and further on NAKAMURA also discloses:
wherein: the control circuits (first detection circuit 130 and second detection circuit 230: Fig. 4) are each configured to
execute a start-up process and an initial check (Using self-diagnosis unit 145: [0043, 0047-0054]) as a vehicle power source is turned on ([0039-0040, 0053-0054]), and to
monitor the operation state of the control circuit of a system other than the own system from a viewpoint of controlling the driving of the motor in synchronization with the control circuit of the other system ([0039-0040, 0053-0054]); and the specific operation state is a state of executing the start-up process or the initial check ([0039-0040, 0053-0054]).
Regarding claim 3, NAKAMURA discloses the vehicle control device according to claim 1, and further on NAKAMURA also discloses:
wherein: the plurality of control circuits (first detection circuit 130 and second detection circuit 230: Fig. 4) is configured to synchronize the driving modes with one another, and to communicate with a vehicle controller configured to control a vehicle; and the control circuits are each configured such that, when, while the control circuit is controlling the driving of the motor, the operation state of the control circuit of a system other than the own system is abnormal (operation abnormality: [0047-0050, 0057, 0060-0061, 0067-0068, 0071, 0073-0085, 0089, 0092, 0103, 0105-0107, 0109-0113], 0118-0123), the control circuit shifts the driving mode to the own-system shutdown mode, and such that, when the driving modes of the plurality of control circuits have all shifted to the own-system shutdown mode through the synchronization ([0039-0040, 0053-0054]), the control circuit transmits a notification signal (Notification Process: [0079, 0122]) showing that effect to the vehicle controller {[0079]: “In FIG. 5, although the process ends when the negative determination is made in step S103, the process may be ended after the following process is performed. For example, {{{a notification process}}} of occurrence of abnormality to the system (for example, a sensor element, a detection circuit, an external sensor) which obtains the rotation angle determined as abnormal among the rotation angles θm1 to θm3, an invalidation process of the obtained rotation number information and the steer angle information, and an operation restriction process for the relevant system and the like may be performed. Specifically, for example, when the rotation angle m1 is determined as abnormal, {{{a process notifying the occurrence of abnormality}}} to the first control unit 170 of the first system L1, or a process invalidating the detection value obtained from the first detection circuit 130, and/or a process restricting or prohibiting the control of the motor 80 by the first control unit 170 may be performed”}.
Regarding claim 4, NAKAMURA discloses the vehicle control device according to claim 1, and further on NAKAMURA also discloses:
wherein: the motor includes:
a reaction force motor (reaction force motor 313: Fig. 7) having winding sets of two systems, the reaction force motor being configured to generate a steering reaction force to be applied to a steering wheel (steering wheel 311: Fig. 7) from which power transmission to a turning wheel (wheels 316: Fig. 7) is cut off; and
a turning motor (turning motor 322: Fig. 7) having winding sets of two systems, the turning motor being configured to generate a turning force for turning the turning wheel (wheels 316: Fig. 7);
the plurality of control circuits (first detection circuit 130 and second detection circuit 230: Fig. 4) includes:
a first reaction force control circuit (reaction force detection circuit 341 configured to have the first detection circuit 130: Figs. 4 and 7) configured to control power supply to the reaction force motor (reaction force motor 313: Fig. 7);
a second reaction force control circuit (reaction force detection circuit 341 configured to have the second detection circuit 230: Figs. 4 and 7) configured to control the power supply to the reaction force motor (reaction force motor 313: Fig. 7);
a first turning control circuit (turning detection circuit 346 configured to have the first detection circuit 130: Figs. 4 and 7) configured to control power supply to the turning motor (turning motor 322: Fig. 7); and
a second turning control circuit (turning detection circuit 346 configured to have the second detection circuit 230: Figs. 4 and 7) configured to control the power supply to the turning motor (turning motor 322: Fig. 7); and
the first reaction force control circuit (reaction force detection circuit 341 configured to have the first detection circuit 130: Figs. 4 and 7) and the first turning control circuit (turning detection circuit 346 configured to have the first detection circuit 130: Figs. 4 and 7) are in a relationship of monitoring each other's operation state, while the second reaction force control circuit (reaction force detection circuit 341 configured to have the second detection circuit 230: Figs. 4 and 7) and the second turning control circuit (turning detection circuit 346 configured to have the second detection circuit 230: Figs. 4 and 7) are in a relationship of monitoring each other's operation state ([0039-0040, 0053-0054]).
NAKAMURA (Figs. 1-7) discloses that the steering ECU 340 and the turning ECU 345 can be configured to have two systems, similarly to the ECU 10 of the steering device 8 in the above-described embodiments. The configurations shown in FIG. 4 may be applicable to the steering ECU 340 and the steering ECU 345, by replacing the motor 80 with the reaction force motor 313 or the turning motor 322 and replacing the ECU 10 with the steering ECU 340 or the steering ECU 345 ([0101]).
Regarding claim 5, NAKAMURA discloses the vehicle control device according to claim 1, and further on NAKAMURA also discloses:
wherein: the motor includes:
a reaction force motor (reaction force motor 313: Fig. 7) having a winding set of one system, the reaction force motor (reaction force motor 313: Fig. 7) being configured to generate a steering reaction force to be applied to a steering wheel (Steering Wheel 311: Fig. 7) from which power transmission to a turning wheel (wheel 316: Fig. 7) is cut off; and
a turning motor (turning motor 322: Fig. 7) having a winding set of one system, the turning motor (turning motor 322: Fig. 7) being configured to generate a turning force for turning the turning wheel (wheel 316: Fig. 7); and
the plurality of control circuits (first detection circuit 130 and second detection circuit 230: Fig. 4) includes:
a reaction force control circuit (reaction force detection circuit 341: Fig. 7) configured to control power supply to the reaction force motor (reaction force motor 313: Fig. 7); and
a turning control circuit (turning detection circuit 346: Fig. 7) configured to control power supply to the turning motor (turning motor 322: Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, NAKAMURA discloses the vehicle control device according to claim 1, and further on NAKAMURA also discloses:
wherein: the motor is an assistance motor (“motor 80 is a so-called steering control assist motor”: [0018]) configured to
generate an assistive force for assisting operation of a steering wheel (Steering Wheel 311: Fig. 7);
the assistance motor (“motor 80 is a so-called steering control assist motor”: [0018]) has a winding set of a first system and a winding set of a second system; and
the plurality of control circuits (first detection circuit 130 and second detection circuit 230: Fig. 4) includes:
a first assistance control circuit configured to control power supply to the winding set of the first system ([0039-0040, 0053-0054]); and
a second assistance control circuit configured to control power supply to the winding set of the second system ([0039-0040, 0053-0054]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
JP 2021078340 A – SUZUKI
DE 102019117222 A1 – Schäfer
CN 109757126 A - GHADERI
Conclusion
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747