DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 14-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the transmittance of the first wavelength is less than that of the second wavelength. Fig. 6 and ¶ [104] describes the opposite. Similarly, claims 14-15, the spec (Fig. 6 and ¶ [104] supports the second wavelength being greater than the first wavelength. As such, the claims will be examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20250093987 A1) (hereinafter, Lee ‘987 and Lee et al. (US 2018/0374409 A1) (hereinafter, Lee ‘409), Kumar (US 20120158504 A1), Yanagawa (US 5694186 A) and Yan (CN 113488518 A)
Regarding claim 1, Lee ‘987 discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a light emitting device (300) disposed over an emission area (EA) of a substrate (100), the light emitting device comprising a pixel electrode (310), an emission layer (320), and an opposite electrode (330) (Fig. 3);
and a display panel (Fig. 3) comprising a color filter (820) disposed over the light emitting device (Fig. 3).
Lee ‘987 is silent regarding a transmittance of the color filter of light of a first wavelength is greater than a transmittance of the color filter of light of a second wavelength and the transmittance of the color filter of light of the second wavelength is about 0.5 or less, the first wavelength is in a range of about 380 nm to about 460 nm, the second wavelength is in a range of about 460 nm to about 780 nm, a wavelength-dependent transmittance graph of the color filter has a negative slope of less than about 0 at a wavelength of about 460 nm, an emission spectrum of the display panel in the emission area of the substrate has a tristimulus value Z in a range of about 0.82 to about 1, and an angle-dependent color change of the display panel in the emission area of the substrate at standard coordinates (0.1754, 0.1579) is within a MacAdams ellipse range of about 10 or less.
Lee ‘409, an analogous art, discloses (Fig. 18, ¶ [0089]) a blue color filter where a first wavelength (roughly 400nm-460nm) having greater transmittance than a second wavelength (>460nm); transmittance of the second wavelength is less than 0.5; and the slope at wavelength of 460nm is negative.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have adopted the blue filter function to pass blue light and block other lights as taught by Lee ‘409 to the display of Lee ‘987 for achieve the blue spectrum.
Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses above a display with a color filter. Lee ‘409 further discloses the peak value of a blue filter in the range of 440-500 nm (¶ [0080]). Lee ‘987 is silent regarding an emission spectrum of the display panel in the emission area of the substrate has a tristimulus value Z in a range of about 0.82 to about 1.
Kumar discloses (¶ [0068]-[0069]) colors affect the state of people and the modification of colors include changing the hue, brightness, contrast, saturation, and other attributes. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to enhance the blue dominance in the color filter of Lee ‘987 for user-friendly displays. The dominance of filtered blue light can equate a tristimulus high value of Z in a range of 0.82-1.
Lee ‘987’s color filter modified by Lee ‘409 and Kumar reveals the dominance of blue color but does not disclose an angle-dependent color change of the display panel in the emission area of the substrate at standard coordinates (0.1754, 0.1579) is within a MacAdams ellipse range of about 10 or less.
As of the standard blue coordinate of (1.0754, 0.1579), Yanagawa discloses it in Fig. 2, while Yan discloses the blue color at emission peak of 460 nm is stable with little shift in the spectrum though undergoing a large viewing angle (Yan: translation page 8, high-lighted text). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adopt the spectrum feature of blue color as disclosed by Yanagawa and Yan for the filter of Lee ‘981 to provide a stable blue hue to the display. A small shift in blue spectrum can equate a MacAdams ellipse range of less than 10.
Regarding claim 2, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses the display of claim 1. Lee ‘409 further discloses (Fig. 1, ¶ [0080] a peak wavelength (450nm-480nm) of the wavelength-dependent transmittance graph of the color filter is about 460 nm or less.
Regarding claim 3, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses the display of claim 1. Lee ‘409 further discloses (Fig. 10, ¶ [0113]) the emission layer comprises a material emitting light of the first wavelength.
Regarding claim 4, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses (Fig. 3, ¶ [0054]) the display of claim 1, and the pixel electrode (310) comprises a lower transparent electrode, a metal electrode disposed over the lower transparent electrode, and an upper transparent electrode, and the opposite electrode comprises a metal layer (conductive material, ¶ [0057]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses the display of claim 1. Lee ‘409 further discloses (Fig. 10, ¶ [0108]) the emission layer comprises: a first emission layer (EML1); and a second emission layer (EML2) disposed over the first emission layer and vertically spaced apart from the first emission layer, and the light emitting device further comprises a first charge generation layer (25) disposed between the first emission layer and the second emission layer.
Regarding claim 6, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses the display of claim 1. Lee ‘409 further discloses (Fig. 10, ¶ [0108]) the emission layer further comprises a third emission layer (EML3) disposed between the second emission layer and the opposite electrode (50), and the light emitting device further comprises a second charge generation layer (35) disposed between the second emission layer and the third emission layer.
Regarding claim 7, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses the display of claim 1. Lee ‘409 further discloses (Fig. 10) the light emitting device further comprises: a lower common layer (HTL1) disposed on a lower surface of the emission layer and comprising at least one of a hole transport layer and a hole injection layer; and an upper common layer (ETL3) disposed on an upper surface of the emission layer and comprising at least one of an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer.
Regarding claim 8, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses (Fig. 3, ¶ [0060] the display of claim 1 and a first inorganic encapsulation layer (410) disposed over the light emitting device; an organic encapsulation layer (420) disposed over the first inorganic encapsulation layer; and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (430) disposed over the organic encapsulation layer.
Regarding claim 9, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses (Fig. 3, ¶ [0063] the display of claim 8 and a touch sensor layer (500, 510, 520, 600) disposed over the second inorganic encapsulation layer, wherein the color filter is disposed over the touch sensor layer.
Regarding claim 10, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses (Fig. 3, ¶ [0079] the display of claim 9 and a light blocking pattern (810) disposed over the touch sensor layer and including an upper opening (opening where 820 takes place) exposing an upper surface of the touch sensor layer, wherein the color filter is disposed on the exposed upper surface of the touch sensor layer and in the upper opening of the light blocking pattern.
Regarding claim 11, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses (Fig. 3, ¶ [0072] the display of claim 10 and a cover window (900) disposed over the color filter; and a window adhesive layer (901) disposed between the color filter and the cover window, the window adhesive layer comprising an optically clear adhesive.
Regarding claim 12, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses (Fig. 3, ¶ [0042] the display of claim 11 and a pixel circuit layer (layer between 110 and 120) disposed over the substrate, the pixel circuit layer comprising a thin film transistor (200), wherein the thin film transistor comprises a semiconductor layer (210), a gate electrode (230), a source electrode (250), and a drain electrode (260), and the pixel electrode (310) is electrically connected to the thin film transistor.
Regarding claim 13, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses (Fig. 3, ¶ [0049] the display of claim 12 and a buffer layer (110) disposed between the substrate and the thin film transistor; a gate insulating layer (220) disposed between the semiconductor layer and the gate electrode; and an interlayer insulating layer (240) disposed over the gate electrode, wherein the source electrode and the drain electrode are disposed on the interlayer insulating layer.
Claim(s) 14-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20250093987 A1) (hereinafter, Lee ‘987 and Lee et al. (US 2018/0374409 A1) (hereinafter, Lee ‘409), Yanagawa (US 5694186 A) and Yan (CN 113488518 A)
Regarding claim 14-15, Lee ‘987 discloses (Fig. 3) A display apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a light emitting device (300) disposed over an emission area (EA) of a substrate (100) and emitting light of a first wavelength (blue); and
a display panel comprising a color filter (820) disposed over the light emitting device,
Lee ‘987 is silent regarding a transmittance of the color filter of light of the first wavelength is greater than a transmittance of the color filter of light of a second wavelength and the second wavelength is greater than the first wavelength, wherein the first wavelength comprises a visible light wavelength of about 460 nm or less, and the second wavelength comprises a visible light wavelength of about 460 nm or more.
Lee ‘409, an analogous art, discloses (Fig. 18, ¶ [0089]) a blue color filter where a first wavelength (roughly 400nm-460nm) having greater transmittance than a second wavelength (>460nm);
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have adopted the blue filter function to pass blue light and block other lights as taught by Lee ‘409 to the display of Lee ‘987 for achieve the blue spectrum.
Lee ‘987 is also silent regarding an angle-dependent color change of the display panel in the emission area of the substrate at standard coordinates (0.1754, 0.1579) is within a MacAdams ellipse range of about 10 or less.
As of the standard blue coordinate of (1.0754, 0.1579), Yanagawa discloses it in Fig. 2, while Yan discloses the blue color at emission peak of 460 nm is stable with little shift in the spectrum though undergoing a large viewing angle (Yan: Description). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adopt the spectrum feature of blue color as disclosed by Yanagawa and Yan for the filter of Lee ‘981 to provide a stable blue hue to the display. A small shift in blue spectrum can equate a MacAdams ellipse range of less than 10.
Regarding claim 16, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses the display of claim 14-15. Lee ‘409 further discloses (Fig. 18) and a wavelength-dependent transmittance graph of the color filter has a negative slope at a wavelength of about 460 nm, and a peak wavelength of the wavelength-dependent transmittance graph of the color filter is less than about 460 nm.
Regarding claim 17, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses the display of claim 14-15 and the light emitting device comprises a transparent pixel electrode (310, ¶ [0054]), an emission layer (320) disposed over the transparent pixel electrode, and a transparent opposite electrode (330, ¶ [0057]).
Regarding claim 20, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses (Fig. 3) the display of claim 14-15 and a thin film encapsulation layer (410) disposed over the light emitting device and encapsulating the light emitting device.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20250093987 A1) (hereinafter, Lee ‘987 and Lee et al. (US 2018/0374409 A1) (hereinafter, Lee ‘409), and Kumar (US 20120158504 A1)
Regarding claim 18, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses the display of claim 17, but is silent regarding an emission spectrum of the display panel in the emission area of the substrate has a tristimulus value Z in a range of about 0.8 to about 1.
Kumar discloses (¶ [0068]-[0069]) colors affect the state of people and the modification of colors include changing the hue, brightness, contrast, saturation, and other attributes.. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to enhance the blue dominance in the color filter of Lee ‘987 for user-friendly displays. The dominance of filtered blue light can equate a tristimulus high value of Z in a range of 0.82-1.
Regarding claim 19, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses (Fig. 3) the display of claim 14-15, and the light emitting device comprises:
a pixel electrode (300) comprising a lower transparent electrode, a metal electrode disposed over the lower transparent electrode, and an upper transparent electrode (¶ [0054]);
an emission layer (320) disposed over the pixel electrode; and an opposite electrode (330) comprising a metal layer (¶ [0057]).
Lee ‘987 is silent regarding an emission spectrum of the display panel in the emission area of the substrate has a tristimulus value Z in a range of about 0.82 to about 1.
Kumar discloses (¶ [0068]-[0069]) colors affect the state of people and the modification of colors include changing the hue, brightness, contrast, saturation, and other attributes.. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to enhance the blue dominance in the color filter of Lee ‘987 for user-friendly displays. The dominance of filtered blue light can equate a tristimulus high value of Z in a range of 0.82-1.
Regarding claim 20, Lee ‘987 in view of Lee ‘409 discloses (Fig. 3) the display of claim 14-15 and a thin film encapsulation layer (410) disposed over the light emitting device and encapsulating the light emitting device.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seo (US 20160043338 A1) discloses a display device having transmittance of a first wavelength (400nm-460nm) greater than that of a second wavelength (>460nm) (Fig. 4). Lim (US 20170117331 A1) discloses a display having multiple emission layers in the light emitting device.
Conclusion
/DTH/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898