DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0203823 (Uzoh) in view of TW Publication No. 202403962 (Wang).
Uzoh discloses
1. A package structure, comprising:
an electronic device 102; and
a heat sink structure 108 disposed over the electronic device 102, and comprising:
a plurality of thermal vias 114; and
a thermally conductive layer 110 connecting to the plurality of thermal vias 114, wherein the plurality of thermal vias 114 are thermally connected to the electronic device 102 through the thermally conductive layer 110 so as to dissipate a heat generated from the electronic device 102 ([0044]-[0046]).
Uzoh fails to disclose
a heat sink structure comprising:
a base portion;
a plurality of thermal vias extending through the base portion;
a thermally conductive layer embedded in the base portion.
Wang teaches
A package structure, comprising:
a heat sink structure (at least Figure 2B), comprising:
a base portion 52;
a plurality of thermal vias (unlabeled area including T1 / T2) extending through the base portion 52;
a thermally conductive layer 66 embedded in the base portion 52.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat sink structure of Uzoh. The motivation would be to provide an enhanced thermal conduction path within the heat sink body, improve heat spreading from localized heat sources, and improve thermal transfer efficiency between the electronic device and the heat sink structure as taught by Wang.
Wang teaches
2. The package structure of Claim 1, wherein the heat sink structure (at least Fig. 9) is attached to the electronic device by hybrid bonding.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use hybrid bonding in Uzoh. The motivation would be to reduce thermal interference resistance, improve thermal conductivity between the electronic device and the heat sink structure, and provide a direct thermal conduction path as taught by Wang.
Wang teaches
11. The package structure of Claim 1, wherein the heat sink structure (at least Fig. 5) further comprises a dielectric layer 56 / 62 disposed on a first surface of the base portion 52, and surrounding the thermally conductive layer 66.
Wang teaches
12. The package structure of Claim 1, wherein a material of the base portion 52 includes silicon, and the thermally conductive layer 66 includes a conductive material 65C and a barrier layer 65B disposed between the conductive material 65C and the base portion 52.
Uzoh discloses ([0044])
13. The package structure of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of thermal vias 114 and the thermally conductive layer 110 are formed concurrently and integrally.
Wang teaches
14. The package structure of Claim 1, wherein the electronic device comprises:
a first semiconductor chip 150; and
an encapsulant 200 encapsulating the first semiconductor chip 150, wherein the thermally conductive layer 66 of the heat sink structure vertically overlaps the encapsulant 200 of the electronic device.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an encapsulant in Uzoh. The motivation would be an encapsulant is well-known in the package art as shown in Wang. See MPEP 2144.03.
Wang teaches
15. The package structure of Claim 14, wherein a lateral surface of the base portion 52 of the heat sink structure is substantially aligned with a lateral surface of the encapsulant 200 of the electronic device.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uzoh in view of Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0233901 (Or-Bach ‘901).
The combination of references fails to teach
3. The package structure of Claim 1, wherein the thermally conductive layer has a net shape.
Or-Bach ‘901 teaches (at least Figs. 9A, 9B, 11A-11K, 12A-12J)
A package structure, comprising:
wherein the thermally conductive layer 1157 has a net shape.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the optimal shape in the modified device of Uzoh. The motivation would be to provide thermal isolation as taught by Or-Bach ‘901. See MPEP 2144.04.
Or-Bach ‘901 teaches
4. The package structure of Claim 3, wherein the thermally conductive layer 1157 includes a plurality of lines crossed with each other to form a plurality of intersection portions.
Or-Bach ‘901 teaches ([0114], [0115])
5. The package structure of Claim 4, wherein the plurality of thermal vias are connected to the plurality of intersection portions of the thermally conductive layer 1157.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uzoh in view of Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,640,531 (Or-Bach ‘531).
The combination of references fails to teach
6. The package structure of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of thermal vias include a plurality of first thermal vias and a plurality of second thermal vias surrounding the plurality of first thermal vias, wherein a distribution density of the plurality of first thermal vias is greater than a distribution density of the plurality of second thermal vias.
Or-Bach ‘531 teaches
A package structure, comprising:
wherein the plurality of thermal vias 445 include a plurality of first thermal vias and a plurality of second thermal vias surrounding the plurality of first thermal vias, wherein a distribution density of the plurality of first thermal vias is greater than a distribution density of the plurality of second thermal vias (column 15, line 5 to column 16, line 52).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the optimum distribution density in the modified device of Uzoh. The motivation would be to routine engineering design considerations as taught by Or-Bach ‘531. See MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uzoh in view of Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,768,122 (Oda).
The combination of references fails to teach
7. The package structure of Claim 1, wherein the heat sink structure further comprises a plurality of conductive elements covering the plurality of thermal vias.
Oda teaches
A package structure, comprising:
wherein the heat sink structure (Fig. 2) further comprises a plurality of conductive elements 12 / 22 covering the plurality of thermal vias 11 / 21.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide conductive elements in the modified device of Uzoh. The motivation would be to provide a continuous, low-resistance thermal path directly to the heat sink. This prevents solder wicking, protects the vias from contaminants, and ensures structural consistency as taught by Oda.
Oda teaches
8. The package structure of Claim 7, wherein the plurality of conductive elements 12 / 22 include a center conductive element 12 and a periphery conductive element 22, and a width of the center conductive element 12 is greater than a width of the periphery conductive element 22.
Wang teaches
9. The package structure of Claim 7, wherein the heat sink structure (at least Fig. 4) further comprises a protection material 80 disposed on a second surface of the base portion 52, and encapsulating the plurality of conductive elements 72 / 76.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a protection material in the modified device of Uzoh. The motivation would be to protect the underlying features from harmful chemicals and moisture during subsequent processing as taught by Wang.
Uzoh discloses (at least Fig. 4)
10. The package structure of Claim 9, wherein a top surface of one of the plurality of conductive elements 316 / 412 / 424 is exposed by the protection material 104, and a lateral surface of one of the plurality of conductive elements 316 / 412 / 424 includes a curved surface.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uzoh in view of Wang as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0078980 (Choi).
The combination of references fails to teach
16. The package structure of Claim 14, wherein the electronic device further comprises:
a second semiconductor chip stacked on and electrically connected to the first semiconductor chip;
wherein the encapsulant further encapsulates the second semiconductor chip.
Choi teaches
A package structure, comprising:
wherein the electronic device further comprises:
a second semiconductor chip 330 stacked on and electrically connected to the first semiconductor chip 320;
wherein the encapsulant 350 further encapsulates the second semiconductor chip 330.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to stack chips in the modified device of Uzoh. The motivation would be stacked chips are well-known in the package art as taught by Choi. See MPEP 2144.03.
Choi teaches
17. The package structure of Claim 16, wherein a bottom surface of the second semiconductor chip 330 contacts a top surface of the first semiconductor chip 320.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide additional stacked chips in the modified device of Uzoh based on their suitability for the intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07.
18. The package structure of Claim 16, wherein the electronic device further comprises:
a third semiconductor chip stacked on and electrically connected to the second semiconductor chip;
wherein the encapsulant further encapsulates the third semiconductor chip.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide additional stacked chips in the modified device of Uzoh based on their suitability for the intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07.
19. The package structure of Claim 18, wherein a bottom surface of the third semiconductor chip contacts a top surface of the second semiconductor chip.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide additional stacked chips in the modified device of Uzoh based on their suitability for the intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07.
20. The package structure of Claim 18, wherein the electronic device further comprises:
a fourth semiconductor chip stacked on and electrically connected to the third semiconductor chip; wherein the encapsulant further encapsulates the fourth semiconductor chip.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN Publication No. 104733406 (Cai), JP Publication No. 4360577 (Takanori), TW Publication No. I744411 (Yu) teach a semiconductor package having thermal vias in a silicon substrate.
/TERESA M. ARROYO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893