DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “in the first direction, a positioning groove is formed on a side, away from the abutment portion, of the insulating sleeve, the positioning groove is configured for accommodating the fastener, and the positioning groove is located on the side of the adsorption head that is away from the abutment portion in the first direction”. The portion “and the positioning groove is located on the side of the adsorption head that is away from the abutment portion in the first direction” of this limitation is redundant with the rest of the limitation and should be omitted for clarity.
Claim 20 recites a similar limitation and should be amended accordingly.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
First drive member (e.g. claim 1) - e.g. electric push rod, linear motor, or cylinder (paragraph 78)
Connecting mechanism (e.g. claim 9) - e.g. a base and a second drive unit (paragraph 117)
Second drive unit (e.g. claim 11) - e.g. a bidirectional cylinder or two electric push rods (paragraph 120); a screw rod, 2nd drive member, and two screw rod sleeves (paragraph 122)
Second drive member (e.g. claim 12) - e.g. an electric motor, hydraulic motor, etc. (paragraph 124)
Feeding mechanism (e.g. claim 14) - e.g. a conveyor belt, plate chain conveyor, vibrating disk, etc. (paragraph 132)
Positioning assemblies (e.g. claim 16) - e.g. a clamp or block with a port (paragraph 142)
Third drive member (e.g. claim 17) - e.g. a cylinder, electric push rod, etc. (paragraph 149)
Vibrating members (e.g. claim 19) - e.g. a linear vibration feeder (paragraph 155)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN208913063, cited in IDS, with reference to translation) in view of Liu et al. (CN114571223, cited in IDS, with reference to translation), Xiong (CN212496378, cited in IDS, with reference to translation), and Haruna (U.S. PGPub 2021/0107106).
Claim 1: Li discloses an assembly mechanism, configured for assembling a fastener (a rivet), the assembly mechanism comprising: an actuator (7); a first drive unit (comprising motor 14, screw 12, lifting plate 15, and box 3) connected to the actuator, wherein the first drive unit is configured for driving the actuator (via lifting plate 15 and box 3) to move in a first direction (up and down - paragraph 31), so that the actuator assembles the fastener in the first direction, and the first drive unit comprises a movable seat (e.g. box 3) and a first drive member (linear actuator comprising screw 12 and nut - paragraph 32) configured for driving the movable seat to move in the first direction (as previously cited); and a first detector (pressure sensor 21) configured for obtaining a magnitude of a pressure acting on the fastener by the actuator and generating a pressure signal (implied in paragraph 37), wherein the first drive unit is configured for responding to the pressure signal (Id.); wherein: the actuator (7) is disposed on the movable seat (3) in the first direction (below it axially via seat 6); the movable seat has an abutment portion (generally its bottom) provided opposite to (axially across from) the actuator in the first direction (Fig. 4); in the first direction, the actuator has a detection end (e.g. upper end where 21 is generally located) and an execution end (e.g. lower end) that are provided opposite to each other, the detection end is provided opposite to the abutment portion (vertically across from the bottom of box 3), and the first detector is in contact with (mounted within) the detection end; and the first drive member (12 and the nut), the abutment portion (bottom of 3), the first detector (21), and the actuator (7) are arranged in sequence from top to bottom in the first direction (noting the first driver member 12/nut, while being to the side of the other members, is also generally at a higher elevation).
Li does not necessarily disclose wherein projections of the first drive member, the abutment portion, the first detector, and the actuator on a plane perpendicular to the first direction overlap with each other. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arranged the components as claimed since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Such may also alternatively apply in conjunction with the sequential arrangement as claimed. For example, it does not appear that the Li device would necessarily function differently having the claimed arrangement. Please note that in the instant application, e.g. paragraph 72, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed sequence, and offers alternative sequences.
The manner of mounting the detector within the detection end is not specified. However, Applicant admits (see unaddressed Official Notice in previous Office Action and MPEP 2144.03 C.) that bolt connections, clamping, and bonding each represent common means for assembling components of a machine together, and so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used such connection means to assemble the detector within the detection end.
While Li implicitly uses the pressure detector 21 to detect pressure and generate a corresponding signal (it is connected to the control box and is used to control the riveting), Li does not explicitly disclose generating a pressure signal, wherein the first drive unit is configured for responding to the pressure signal to control the magnitude of the pressure acting on the fastener by the actuator within a preset range. However, Liu teaches a similar device whereby a detector (72) measures a pressure applied by the fastening and feeds (implicitly a signal) back to the actuator to maintain the pressure within range (paragraph 67). It thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the first detector as taught by Liu for the purpose of maintaining a desired fastening force/pressure.
Li does not disclose the actuator comprises an adsorption head configured for adsorbing the fastener and a vacuum suction tube connected to a first drive unit (221/222). However, Xiong teaches a similar device wherein the actuator comprises an adsorption head (233/234) configured for adsorbing the fastener (paragraph 29) and a vacuum suction tube (233, having opening 236) connected to a first drive unit (221/222). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the actuator with an adsorption head and vacuum suction tube in order to have helped maintain the fastener in position during fastening.
Li, Liu, and Xiong do not teach an insulating sleeve fixedly connected to the one end of the vacuum suction tube at the adsorption head in the first direction, wherein the insulating sleeve is sleeved over an outer side of the adsorption head to isolate the vacuum suction tube from the fastener, and in the first direction, a positioning groove is formed on a side, away from the abutment portion, of the insulating sleeve, the positioning groove is configured for accommodating the fastener. However, Haruna teaches a vacuum adsorption actuator for picking up items comprising an insulating sleeve (7) fixedly connected to the one end (lower end) of a vacuum suction tube (3) at an adsorption head (8/16) in the first direction, wherein the insulating sleeve is sleeved over an outer side of the adsorption head (Fig. 1) to isolate the vacuum suction tube from a fastener (intended use), and in the first direction, a positioning groove is formed on a side (lower side), away from the abutment portion, of the insulating sleeve, the positioning groove is configured for accommodating the fastener (the grooved shape of pad 7 would be capable of accommodating a fastener depending on the fastener shape, for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an insulating sleeve as claimed in order to have aided the picking of fasteners, for example.
Claim 2: Referring to Li, the first detector (21, as modified by Liu) is configured for detecting the magnitude of the pressure between the actuator and the movable seat in the first direction (implied since it is located between them), and generating the pressure signal; and the first drive member (linear actuator comprising screw 12 and nut - paragraph 32) is connected to the movable seat (via 15).
Claim 4: The execution end (generally the lower end of 7) is configured for assembling the fastener (as shown).
Claim 5: The first drive unit further comprises: a mounting seat (2), wherein the movable seat is movably disposed on the mounting seat (via slide rail 4 and slider 5) in the first direction, and the first drive member is configured for driving the movable seat to move relative to the mounting seat in the first direction (paragraphs 32 and 34); and a second detector (photoelectric sensor 20) disposed on the mounting seat (Fig. 2 and paragraph 35), wherein the second detector is configured for detecting a position of the movable seat on the mounting seat and generating a first position signal, wherein the first drive member is configured for responding to the first position signal (paragraph 37).
Claim 7: Xiong further teaches the first drive unit is configured for driving the vacuum suction tube to move in the first direction (by virtue of the tube being integral with the actuator).
Claim 23: Referring to Li, the movable seat (3) comprises a first end surface and a second end surface opposite with each other in the first direction (any surfaces, such as top and bottom, generally on one end or the other end in the first direction), and an output end (e.g. top end at the nut) of the first drive member is ultimately connected to the first end surface (e.g. via 15). Under a broad interpretation, one of the "first end surface of the movable seat" or the "output end" of the first drive member could arguably be 15, in which case these are directly connected. Otherwise, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made 3 and 15 integral, for example (thus making 15 a “first end surface” of 3, for example), since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). Please note that in the instant application, paragraphs 78 and 91, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the direct connection.
Claim 20: Li discloses an assembly mechanism, configured for assembling a fastener (a rivet), the assembly mechanism comprising: an actuator (7); a first drive unit (comprising motor 14, screw 12, lifting plate 15, and box 3) connected to the actuator, wherein the first drive unit is configured for driving the actuator (via lifting plate 15 and box 3) to move in a first direction (up and down - paragraph 31), so that the actuator assembles the fastener in the first direction, and the first drive unit comprises a movable seat (e.g. box 3) and a first drive member (linear actuator comprising screw 12 and nut - paragraph 32) configured for driving the movable seat to move in the first direction (as previously cited); and a first detector (pressure sensor 21) configured for obtaining a magnitude of a pressure acting on the fastener by the actuator and generating a pressure signal (implied in paragraph 37), wherein the first drive unit is configured for responding to the pressure signal (Id.); the actuator (7) is disposed on the movable seat (3) in the first direction (below it axially via seat 6); the movable seat has an abutment portion (generally its bottom) provided opposite to (axially across from) the actuator in the first direction (Fig. 4); and the first drive member (12 and the nut), the abutment portion (bottom of 3), the first detector (21), and the actuator (7) are arranged in sequence from top to bottom in the first direction (noting the first driver member 12/nut, while being to the side of the other members, is also generally at a higher elevation).
Li does not necessarily disclose wherein projections of the first drive member, the abutment portion, the first detector, and the actuator on a plane perpendicular to the first direction overlap with each other. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arranged the components as claimed since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Such may also alternatively apply in conjunction with the sequential arrangement as claimed. For example, it does not appear that the Li device would necessarily function differently having the claimed arrangement. Please note that in the instant application, e.g. paragraph 72, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed sequence, and offers alternative sequences.
While Li implicitly uses the pressure detector 21 to detect pressure and generate a corresponding signal (it is connected to the control box and is used to control the riveting), Li does not explicitly disclose generating a pressure signal, wherein the first drive unit is configured for responding to the pressure signal to control the magnitude of the pressure acting on the fastener by the actuator within a preset range. However, Liu teaches a similar device whereby a detector (72) measures a pressure applied by the fastening and feeds (implicitly a signal) back to the actuator to maintain the pressure within range (paragraph 67). It thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the first detector as taught by Liu for the purpose of maintaining a desired fastening force/pressure.
Li does not disclose the actuator comprising an absorption head and a vacuum suction tube as claimed. However, Xiong teaches a similar device wherein the actuator comprises an adsorption head (233/234) configured for adsorbing the fastener (paragraph 29) and a vacuum suction tube (233, having opening 236) connected to a first drive unit (221/222); the vacuum suction tube comprises a first (lower) end and a second (upper) end in the first (vertical) direction, the first end being opposite to the second end (Fig. 4); the adsorption head is connected to the first end of the vacuum suction tube (Id.) and configured to adsorb the fastener (paragraph 29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the actuator with an adsorption head in order to have helped maintain the fastener in position during fastening. It is further submitted that if the actuator of Li were to possess a similar suction tube, then the first detector, provided generally near the top of the actuator, would consequently be mounted at the second (upper) end of the vacuum suction tube.
Li, Liu, and Xiong do not teach an insulating sleeve fixedly connected to the one end of the vacuum suction tube at the adsorption head in the first direction, the insulating sleeve being sleeved over an outer side of the adsorption head to isolate the vacuum suction tube from the fastener, and in the first direction, a positioning groove is formed on a side, away from the abutment portion, of the insulating sleeve, the positioning groove is configured for accommodating the fastener. However, Haruna teaches a vacuum adsorption actuator for picking up items comprising an insulating sleeve (7) fixedly connected to the one end (lower end) of a vacuum suction tube (3) at an adsorption head (8/16) in the first direction, wherein the insulating sleeve is sleeved over an outer side of the adsorption head (Fig. 1) to isolate the vacuum suction tube from a fastener (intended use), and in the first direction, a positioning groove is formed on a side (lower side), away from the abutment portion, of the insulating sleeve, the positioning groove is configured for accommodating the fastener (the grooved shape of pad 7 would be capable of accommodating a fastener depending on the fastener shape, for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an insulating sleeve as claimed in order to have aided the picking of fasteners, for example.
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Liu et al., Xiong, Haruna, and Tan et al. (CN215200589, cited in IDS, with reference to translation).
Claim 9: Li, Liu et al., Xiong, and Haruna teach an assembly mechanism according to claim 1 (see above). Tan, in turn, discloses a manipulator (10), comprising: a connecting mechanism (base 100 and second drive unit 310) configured for being connected to a robot (paragraph 37); and a plurality of assembly mechanisms (200), wherein the plurality of assembly mechanisms are arranged spacedly on the connecting mechanism in a second direction (horizontally - see Fig. 1), the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have implemented the assembly mechanism of Li and Liu in a manipulator system as taught by Tan et al. in order to have made the device mobile, and to have improved the efficiency by allowing installation of multiple fasteners at once (e.g. Tan et al. - paragraph 9).
Claim 10: Referring to Tan, the manipulator comprises two assembly mechanisms (200), and the connecting mechanism is configured for adjusting a distance between the two assembly mechanisms in the second direction (paragraph 36).
Claim 11: The connecting mechanism comprises: a base (generally 100) configured for being connected to the robot (as cited previously), wherein the plurality of assembly mechanisms (200) are movably disposed on the base in the second direction (paragraph 36); and a second drive unit (motor 310, screw 320) disposed on the base and connected to the two assembly mechanisms, wherein the second drive unit is configured for driving the two assembly mechanisms to approach or move away from each other in the second direction, so as to adjust the distance between the two assembly mechanisms (paragraph 40).
Claim 12: The second drive unit comprises: a screw rod (320) rotatably disposed on the base and extending in the second direction, wherein the screw rod has two threaded segments with opposite threads (paragraph 40), and the two threaded segments are arranged spacedly in the second direction (on opposite ends); a second drive member (motor 310) connected to the screw rod, wherein the second drive member is configured for driving the screw rod to rotate relative to the base (paragraph 40); and two screw rod sleeves sleeved over outer sides of the two threaded segments respectively and connected to the two assembly mechanisms respectively (noting the “sleeves” would be the requisite female threaded portions which would engage with the threaded rod to allow relative movement of the assemblies 200).
Claim 13: Tan further teaches that the manipulator visually detects the positions of the mounting holes of the workpiece and adjusts the assemblies 200 accordingly (e.g. paragraph 34, 36, 37). Tan does not explicitly disclose a third detector disposed on the base, wherein the third detector is configured for detecting a position of the assembly mechanism on the base and generating a second position signal, and the second drive unit is configured for responding to the second position signal. However, in view of the above, the examiner submits that a position detector meeting the requirements of the third detector would be obvious, if not necessary, in order to position the assemblies as claimed, since the device would need to know the current positions of the assemblies in order to locate them as desired according to the desired spacing, which would require some form of positional detection and feedback control in an automated system.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Liu et al., Xiong, Haruna, Tan et al., and Wang et al. (CN211661452, cited in IDS, with reference to translation).
Claim 14: Li, Liu et al., Xiong, Haruna, and Tan et al. teach the manipulator according to claim 9 (see above). Tan et al. further alludes to a feeder (240) and the connecting mechanism of the manipulator is connected to a robot (paragraph 37). A fastener assembly line comprising a feeding mechanism configured for providing at least one fastener, as interpreted under 112(f), is not disclosed in detail. However, Wang et al. discloses a fastener assembly line comprising a feeding mechanism (a vibratory bowl feeder 1 with conveying channel 2 and distribution 3) configured for providing at least one fastener (200). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a feeding mechanism as taught by Wang et al. since it is reliable and efficient (paragraph 38).
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Liu et al., Xiong, Haruna, Tan et al., and Wang et al., as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Glueck (U.S. PGPub 2019/0232361).
Claim 15: Referring to Wang, the feeding mechanism comprises: a feeder (1) having a feed port (generally the transition from 1 to 2) configured for providing the at least one fastener (200); and a distribution track (2), wherein the distribution track has a feeding channel (defined by 2 and 21) configured for conveying the at least one fastener, an end of the feeding channel of the distribution track connected to the feed port (Fig. 3), and the feeding channel is configured for conveying the at least one fastener from an end of the feeding channel near the feed port to an end of the feeding channel away from the feed port (toward 3) to allow the corresponding assembly mechanism to pick up the at least one fastener. Wang does not teach a plurality of distribution tracks, wherein the distribution tracks correspond to the assembly mechanisms one to one, one end [of each] of the feeding channels of the plurality of distribution tracks are all connected to the feed port. However, Glueck teaches a feeding mechanism (61 - e.g. Figs. 13) comprising a plurality of distribution tracks (65), one end [of each] of the feeding channels of the plurality of distribution tracks are all connected to the feed port (exit of feeder 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a plurality of tracks in one-to-one relationship with the assembly mechanisms from the feed port in order to have distributed fasteners according to the array of fastening locations fastened by the assembly mechanisms.
Claim 16: Referring to Wang, the feeding mechanism further comprises: a positioning assembly (3), wherein the positioning assembly corresponds to the distribution track, the positioning assembly is disposed at the end of the corresponding feeding channel away from the feed port (Fig. 3), and the positioning assembly is configured for positioning the at least one fastener (paragraph 33). In view of multiple tracks, it further stands to reason that one would have provided a corresponding number of positioning assemblies, each to function as otherwise taught by Wang, in order to distribute the fasteners at the end of each track.
Claim 17: Referring to Wang, the positioning assemblies each comprises: a fixed seat (31) disposed at the end of the corresponding feeding channel away from the feed port; a positioning seat (321) provided with a positioning notch (3212/3213) configured for positioning the at least one fastener, wherein the positioning seat is movably disposed on the fixed seat (paragraph 35), and the positioning seat has a receiving position and a loading position (Id.); and a third drive member (322) connected to the positioning seat, wherein the third drive member is configured for driving the positioning seat to switch between the receiving position and the loading position (Id.), wherein when the positioning seat is located at the receiving position, the positioning notch is aligned with the feeding channel of the corresponding distribution track to receive the at least one fastener conveyed by the feeding channel; and when the positioning seat is located at the loading position, the positioning notch is staggered with the feeding channel of the corresponding distribution track to allow the assembly mechanism to pick up the at least one fastener (paragraph 37).
Claim 18: The positioning assembly further comprises a fourth detector (4) disposed on the fixed seat (paragraph 34), wherein the fourth detector is configured for detecting the at least one fastener in the positioning notch of the positioning seat located at the loading position (paragraphs 34-35).
Claim 19: The feeding mechanism further comprises a vibrating member (22), wherein the vibrating member corresponds to the distribution track, and the vibrating member is configured for driving the corresponding distribution track to vibrate, so as to convey the at least one fastener from the end of the feeding channel near the feed port to the end of the feeding channel away from the feed port (paragraph 33). In view of multiple tracks and similarly as discussed above, it further stands to reason that one would have provided a corresponding number of vibrating members, each to function as otherwise taught by Wang, for the purpose of conveying fasteners through each track.
Claims 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Liu et al.
Li discloses an assembly mechanism, configured for assembling a fastener (a rivet), the assembly mechanism comprising: an actuator (7); a first drive unit (comprising motor 14, screw 12, lifting plate 15, and box 3) connected to the actuator, wherein the first drive unit is configured for driving the actuator (via lifting plate 15 and box 3) to move in a first direction (up and down - paragraph 31), so that the actuator assembles the fastener in the first direction, the first drive unit comprises a movable seat (e.g. box 3) and a first drive member (linear actuator comprising screw 12 and nut - paragraph 32) configured for driving the movable seat to move in the first direction (as previously cited); and a first detector (pressure sensor 21) configured for obtaining a magnitude of a pressure acting on the fastener by the actuator and generating a pressure signal (implied in paragraph 37), wherein the first drive unit is configured for responding to the pressure signal (Id.); wherein: the actuator (7) is disposed on the movable seat (3) in the first direction (below it axially via seat 6); the movable seat has an abutment portion (generally its bottom) provided opposite to (axially across from) the actuator in the first direction (Fig. 4); in the first direction, the actuator has a detection end (e.g. upper end where 21 is generally located) and an execution end (e.g. lower end) that are provided opposite to each other, the detection end is provided opposite to the abutment portion (vertically across from the bottom of box 3), and the first detector is in contact with (mounted within) the detection end; and the first drive member (12 and the nut), the abutment portion (bottom of 3), the first detector (21), and the actuator (7) are arranged in sequence from top to bottom in the first direction (noting the first driver member 12/nut, while being to the side of the other members, is also generally at a higher elevation).
Li does not necessarily disclose wherein projections of the first drive member, the abutment portion, the first detector, and the actuator on a plane perpendicular to the first direction overlap with each other. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arranged the components as claimed since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Such may also alternatively apply in conjunction with the sequential arrangement as claimed. For example, it does not appear that the Li device would necessarily function differently having the claimed arrangement. Please note that in the instant application, e.g. paragraph 72, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed sequence, and offers alternative sequences.
The manner of mounting the detector within the detection end is not specified. However, Applicant admits (see unaddressed Official Notice in previous Office Action and MPEP 2144.03 C.) that bolt connections, clamping, and bonding each represent common means for assembling components of a machine together, and so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used such connection means to assemble the detector within the detection end.
Referring to Li, the movable seat (3) comprises a first end surface and a second end surface opposite with each other in the first direction (any surfaces, such as top and bottom, generally on one end or the other end in the first direction), and an output end (e.g. top end at the nut) of the first drive member is ultimately connected to the first end surface (e.g. via 15). Under a broad interpretation, one of the "first end surface of the movable seat" or the "output end" of the first drive member could arguably be 15, in which case these are directly connected. Otherwise, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made 3 and 15 integral, for example (thus making 15 a “first end surface” of 3, for example), since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). Please note that in the instant application, paragraphs 78 and 91, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the direct connection.
While Li implicitly uses the pressure detector 21 to detect pressure and generate a corresponding signal (it is connected to the control box and is used to control the riveting), Li does not explicitly disclose generating a pressure signal, wherein the first drive unit is configured for responding to the pressure signal to control the magnitude of the pressure acting on the fastener by the actuator within a preset range. However, Liu teaches a similar device whereby a detector (72) measures a pressure applied by the fastening and feeds (implicitly a signal) back to the actuator to maintain the pressure within range (paragraph 67). It thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the first detector as taught by Liu for the purpose of maintaining a desired fastening force/pressure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding Applicant’s traversal of the interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), Applicant has still not shown that the limitations as claimed recite sufficient structure, or how they would connote sufficient structure to one of ordinary skill.
Applicant’s arguments essentially rely on amendments to the claim to overcome the prior art of record. The examiner has addressed the amendments, and the new claims, with the new grounds of rejection above.
Contact Information
/Matthew P Travers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726