DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The examiner proposes QUANTUM TRANSISTORS WITH NONLINEAR ARRANGEMENT OF PLUNGER AND BARRIER GATES
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the fourth straight axis S4”, which lacks antecedent basis. For present purposes the examiner will assume that this is the same as the “fourth straight axis” recited in claim 3.
Claim 18 recites “[a] manufacturing method for a semiconductor device, further comprising ….” This is the preamble of an independent claim, so it is not clear what “further” means here.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected based on their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Clarke, US 2019/0252377 A1.
Claim 1: Clarke discloses:
a substrate;
“the layers of the quantum well stacks 146 may be grown on a substrate (e.g., a silicon or germanium wafer)” [0063].
and a quantum dot transistor (100) disposed on the substrate and comprising:
a first barrier gate stack (150, FIG. 3);
a second barrier gate stack (150);
and a first plunger gate stack (160) disposed between the first barrier gate stack and the second barrier gate stack;
wherein the first barrier gate stack and the first plunger gate stack are arranged in a first straight axis, the first plunger gate stack and the second barrier gate stack are arranged in a second straight axis, and there is a first angle between the first straight axis and the second straight axis is not equal to 180° (FIG. 3).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leipold, US 2024/0113240 A1.
Claim 1: Leipold discloses
a substrate;
and a quantum dot transistor disposed on the substrate and comprising:
a first barrier gate stack (196, FIG. 12; 174, portion between 32 and 31, FIG. 11);
a second barrier gate stack (174, portion between 32 and 33);
and a first plunger gate stack (172 (#32), FIG. 11; 184, FIG. 12) disposed between the first barrier gate stack and the second barrier gate stack;
wherein the first barrier gate stack and the first plunger gate stack are arranged in a first straight axis, the first plunger gate stack and the second barrier gate stack are arranged in a second straight axis, and there is a first angle between the first straight axis and the second straight axis is not equal to 180° (FIG. 11).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li, US 2023/0389346 A1.
Claim 1: Li discloses
a substrate (10);
and a quantum dot transistor disposed on the substrate and comprising:
a first barrier gate stack (135);
a second barrier gate stack (137);
and a first plunger gate stack (127) disposed between the first barrier gate stack and the second barrier gate stack;
wherein the first barrier gate stack and the first plunger gate stack are arranged in a first straight axis, the first plunger gate stack and the second barrier gate stack are arranged in a second straight axis, and there is a first angle between the first straight axis and the second straight axis is not equal to 180° (FIG. 12B).
Claims 1-4 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pillarisetty, US 2020/0321436 A1.
Claim 1: Pillarisetty discloses
a substrate;
“quantum dot devices as described herein may be provided over any substrate” [0027]
and a quantum dot transistor disposed on the substrate and comprising:
a first barrier gate stack (160);
a second barrier gate stack (160);
and a first plunger gate stack (150) disposed between the first barrier gate stack and the second barrier gate stack;
wherein the first barrier gate stack and the first plunger gate stack are arranged in a first straight axis, the first plunger gate stack and the second barrier gate stack are arranged in a second straight axis, and there is a first angle between the first straight axis and the second straight axis is not equal to 180° (FIG. 3).
Claim 2: the quantum dot transistor further comprises:
a second plunger gate stack;
and a third barrier gate stack;
wherein the second plunger gate stack is disposed between the second barrier and the third barrier gate stack, the second plunger gate stack and the third barrier gate stack are arranged in a third straight axis, and there is a second angle between the second straight axis and the third straight axis is not equal to 180°.
Claim 3: the quantum dot transistor further comprises:
a second plunger gate stack;
and a fourth barrier gate stack;
wherein the second plunger gate stack is disposed between the second barrier and the fourth barrier gate stack, the second plunger gate stack and the fourth barrier gate stack are arranged in a fourth straight axis, and there is a third angle between the second straight axis and the fourth straight axis is not equal to 180°.
Claim 4: the third angle is 60°.
Claim 13: Pillarisetty discloses
a substrate;
“quantum dot devices as described herein may be provided over any substrate” [0027]
and a quantum dot transistor disposed on the substrate and comprising:
a plurality of barrier gate (160) stacks;
and a plurality of plunger gate (150) stacks;
wherein the barrier gate stacks and the plunger gate stacks are arranged in a line, and the line is composed of a straight axis, a curved axis or a combination thereof (FIG. 1).
Claim 14: the line is a polygonal shape (FIG. 1A).
Claim 15: the line is a circular shape (FIG. 1A).
Claim 16: the line is an elliptical shape (FIG. 3B).
Claim 17: the semiconductor device comprises a plurality of the quantum dot transistors (cells 170), and the quantum dot transistors share one or some of the barrier gate stacks and one or some of the plunger gate stacks (FIG. 1A).
Claim 18: Pillarisetty discloses
providing a substrate;
“quantum dot devices as described herein may be provided over any substrate” [0027]
and forming a quantum dot transistor on the substrate, wherein the quantum dot transistor comprises a plurality of barrier gate stacks (160) and a plurality of plunger gate stacks (150),
wherein the barrier gate stacks and the plunger gate stacks are arranged in a line, and the line is composed of a straight axis, a curved axis or a combination thereof (FIG. 1A).
Claim 19 in forming the quantum dot transistor on the substrate, the barrier gate stacks and the plunger gate stacks are arranged in a polygonal shape (FIG. 1A).
Claim 20: in forming the quantum dot transistor on the substrate, a plurality of the quantum dot transistors (cells 170), share one or some of the barrier gate stacks and one or some of the plunger gate stacks (FIG. 1A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pillarisetty in view of Gorman, US 2024/0420004 A1, or vice versa. Pillarisetty discloses a hexagonal arrangement with three quantum dots (FIGS. 1A and 1B). However, it was known in the art to have a hexagonal arrangement with six quantum dots (306, FIG. 3). It would have been obvious to have this arrangement as known in the art, particularly as it was known to have various different configurations of quantum dots in a transistor (e.g. Gorman FIG. 3). Alternatively, Gorman discloses barriers between the quantum dots that can allow for tunneling (see t, FIG. 2, [0055]). These can fall within the broadest reasonable interpretation of barrier gate, or it would have been obvious to have used a barrier gate such as Pillarisetty discloses as known to control the tunneling of the barrier height and thus the tunneling.
Claim 5: Gorman (combined with Pillarisetty) discloses that the quantum dot transistor further comprises:
a third plunger gate stack;
and a fifth barrier gate stack;
wherein the third plunger gate stack is disposed between the fourth barrier gate stack and the fifth barrier gate stack, the third plunger gate stack and the fifth barrier gate stack are arranged in a fifth straight axis, and there is a fourth angle between the fourth straight axis S4 and the fifth straight axis is not equal to 180°.
Claim 6: the fourth angle is 60°.
Claim 7: the quantum dot transistor further comprises:
a fourth plunger gate stack;
and a sixth barrier gate stack;
wherein the fourth plunger gate stack is disposed between the fifth barrier gate stack and the sixth barrier gate stack, the fourth plunger gate stack and the sixth barrier gate stack are arranged in a sixth straight axis, and there is a fifth angle between the fifth straight axis and the sixth straight axis is not equal to 180°.
Claim 8: the fifth angle is 60°.
Claim 9: the quantum dot transistor further comprises: a fifth plunger gate stack; and a seventh barrier gate stack; wherein the fifth plunger gate stack is disposed between the sixth barrier gate stack and the seventh barrier gate stack, the fifth plunger gate stack and the seventh barrier gate stack are arranged in a seventh straight axis, and there is a sixth angle between the sixth straight axis and the seventh straight axis is not equal to 180°.
Claim 10: the sixth angle is 60°.
Claim 11: the quantum dot transistor further comprises: a sixth plunger gate stack; and an eighth barrier gate stack; wherein the sixth plunger gate stack is disposed between the seventh barrier gate stack and the eighth barrier gate stack, the sixth plunger gate stack and the eighth barrier gate stack are arranged in an eighth straight axis, and there is a seventh angle between the seventh straight axis and the eighth straight axis is not equal to 180°.
Claim 12: the seventh angle is 60°.
Conclusion
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897