DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention Group II, claims 8-20, without traverse, in the reply filed on 05/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicants cancelled the non-elected Group II claims 1-7. As a result, no claims are currently withdrawn from examination.
Claim Interpretations
The following (bold-faced portion) are considered an intended use of the apparatus:
The “a polishing module configured to perform a CMP process on patterned device structures formed on a substrate, the CMP process removing portions of an interconnect material disposed on a field region of a dielectric layer formed over the substrate and exposing pads within interconnect structures of the patterned device structures etched into the dielectric layer;
a passivation layer deposition module, the passivation layer deposition module configured to deposit a passivation layer on the exposed pads of the patterned device structures" of clam 8,
The “a cleaning module configured to perform at least one cleaning process on the patterned device structures prior to depositing a passivation layer on the exposed pads of the patterned device structures” of claim 9,
The “wherein the passivation layer is a self-assembling monolayer (SAM)” of claim 10,
The “a cleaning module configured to perform at least one cleaning process on patterned device structures formed on a substrate;
a polishing module configured to perform a CMP process on the patterned device structures formed on the substrate, the CMP process removing portions of an interconnect material disposed on a field region of a dielectric layer formed over the substrate and exposing pads within interconnect structures of the patterned device structures etched into the dielectric layer; and
a passivation layer deposition module, the passivation layer deposition module configured to deposit a passivation layer on the exposed pads of the patterned device structures” of claim 16,
“wherein the passivation layer is a self-assembling monolayer (SAM)” of claim 17,
An apparatus that is capable of performing the above functions is considered read into the claim.
It has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter, 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2111.02). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-11, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shaviv et al. (US 20220108917, from IDS, hereafter ‘917).
‘917 teaches all limitations of:
Claim 8: the second metallization layer 220 is deposited to overfill the feature 211 and form an overburden on the surface of the substrate 200. The overburden is then removed by any suitable technique (e.g., etching, chemical-mechanical planarization (CMP)) (Fig. 3E, [0073], requires the clamed “A chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) processing system, comprising: a polishing module” and the “configured to perform a CMP process on patterned device structures formed on a substrate, the CMP process removing portions of an interconnect material disposed on a field region of a dielectric layer formed over the substrate and exposing pads within interconnect structures of the patterned device structures etched into the dielectric layer” is an intended use of the apparatus, see claim interpretation above, ‘917 also teaches interconnect metal lines, [0004] and dielectric insulating layer 28, therefore, 220 of Fig. 3E is the same as Applicants’ pads 109 in Fig. 1B);
utilize a planar hydrocarbon to form a blocking layer on metallic surfaces (abstract), wherein selectively depositing the barrier layer comprises forming a blocking layer on the metal layer and not the insulating layer (claim 2 of ‘917), The cluster tool 900 comprises a plurality of processing chambers 902, 904, 906, 908, 910, 912, 914, 916, and 918, also referred to as process stations, connected to the central transfer station. The various processing chambers provide separate processing regions isolated from adjacent process stations. The processing chamber can be any suitable chamber including, but not limited to, a selective metal deposition chamber; a barrier metal deposition chamber … ([0092]), a blocking layer formation station ([0101], includes the claimed “a passivation layer deposition module”, and using the barrier metal deposition chamber to form a blocking layer on the metal interconnect 220 after CMP reads into the claimed “the passivation layer deposition module configured to deposit a passivation layer on the exposed pads of the patterned device structures”, note this portion is also an intended use of the apparatus);
the system controller 990 as a software routine that, when executed by the processor, causes the process chamber to perform processes of the present disclosure ([0100, includes the claimed “and a controller configured to control the polishing module and the passivation layer deposition module”).
Claim 16: the second metallization layer 220 is deposited to overfill the feature 211 and form an overburden on the surface of the substrate 200. The overburden is then removed by any suitable technique (e.g., etching, chemical-mechanical planarization (CMP)) (Fig. 3E, [0073], requires the clamed “a polishing module configured to perform a CMP process on the patterned device structures formed on the substrate” and the “the CMP process removing portions of an interconnect material disposed on a field region of a dielectric layer formed over the substrate and exposing pads within interconnect structures of the patterned device structures etched into the dielectric layer” is an intended use of the apparatus, see claim interpretation above, ‘917 also teaches interconnect metal lines, [0004] and dielectric insulating layer 28, therefore, 220 of Fig. 3E is the same as Applicants pads 109 in Fig. 1B);
the method 100 includes a pre-cleaning operation 102 ([0033]), a blocking layer deposition chamber … a pre-clean chamber ([0092], includes the claimed “a cleaning module configured to perform at least one cleaning process on patterned device structures formed on a substrate”);
utilize a planar hydrocarbon to form a blocking layer on metallic surfaces (abstract), wherein selectively depositing the barrier layer comprises forming a blocking layer on the metal layer and not the insulating layer (claim 2 of ‘917), The cluster tool 900 comprises a plurality of processing chambers 902, 904, 906, 908, 910, 912, 914, 916, and 918, also referred to as process stations, connected to the central transfer station. The various processing chambers provide separate processing regions isolated from adjacent process stations. The processing chamber can be any suitable chamber including, but not limited to, a selective metal deposition chamber; a barrier metal deposition chamber ([0092]), a blocking layer formation station ([0101], includes the claimed “a passivation layer deposition module”, and using the barrier metal deposition chamber to form a blocking layer on the metal interconnect 220 after CMP reads into the claimed “the passivation layer deposition module configured to deposit a passivation layer on the exposed pads of the patterned device structures”, note this portion is also an intended use of the apparatus).
Claim 9: the method 100 includes a pre-cleaning operation 102 ([0033]), a blocking layer deposition chamber … a pre-clean chamber ([0092], includes the claimed “further comprising a cleaning module configured to perform at least one cleaning process on the patterned device structures prior to depositing a passivation layer on the exposed pads of the patterned device structures”, note “prior to” is an intended use of the apparatus).
Claims 10-11 and 17-18: utilize a planar hydrocarbon to form a blocking layer on metallic surfaces (abstract), the compound of the planar hydrocarbon is a liquid at the operating temperature ([0055], includes the claimed “wherein the passivation layer is a self-assembling monolayer (SAM)” of claims 10 and 17, “wherein the SAM is deposited using a wet deposition process” of claims 11 and 18, note a planar hydrocarbon is capable of forming SAM).
Claim 20: the system controller 990 as a software routine that, when executed by the processor, causes the process chamber to perform processes of the present disclosure ([0100, includes the claimed “further comprising a controller configured to control the cleaning module, the polishing module and the passivation layer deposition module”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Alternatively, claims 8-11, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over ‘917, in view of Kwon et al. (US 20230061418, from IDS, hereafter ‘418).
In case Applicants argue that “the CMP process removing portions of an interconnect material disposed on a field region of a dielectric layer formed over the substrate and exposing pads within interconnect structures of the patterned device structures etched into the dielectric layer“ of clams 8 and 16 is not an intended use of the apparatus claim and ‘917 does not specifically teach this limitation.
‘418 is an analogous art in the field of forming a blocking layer on a metallic material layer including a first portion covering a concaved portion of the metallic material layer and a second portion covering a non-concaved portion of the metallic material layer, performing a first planarization process to remove the second portion of the blocking layer while the first portion of the blocking layer remains, performing a second planarization process to remove the non-concaved portion of the metallic material layer and expose the barrier layer on the insulating layer (abstract). ‘418 teaches that Referring to FIGS. 7 and 9G, the second planarization process may be performed to remove the non-concaved portion 132p2 of the metallic material layer 132b and expose the barrier layer 132a on the insulating layer 131 (S170). After the second planarization process, a portion of the surface of the metallic material layer 132b below the first portion 135p1 of the blocking layer 135 may not be exposed. However, since the first portion 135p1 of the blocking layer 135 covers a central surface of the concave portion 132p1 of the metallic material layer 132b, a surface of the metallic material layer 132b close to an edge of the opening OP may be exposed by a second planarization process. During the second planarization, a central region of the surface of the metallic material layer 132b (i.e., a portion relatively more susceptible to the dishing phenomenon) may be protected by the first portion 135p1 of the blocking layer 135 ([0070], see also Figs. 9E-9F), for the purpose of improved electrical performance and improved reliability ([0004]).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted the CMP and blocking/passivation layer deposition cluster tool of ‘917 to perform the specific process of Fig. 9G ‘481, for the purpose of improved electrical performance and improved reliability, as taught by ‘481 ([0004]).
The rejection of claims 9-11, 17-18, and 20 are discussed above.
Claims 12-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over ‘917 (optionally with ‘418), as being applied to claims 8 and 16 rejection above, further in view of RANGARAJAN et al. (US 20210323117, from IDS, hereafter ‘117).
‘917 (optionally with ‘418) does not teach the limitations of:
Claims 12 and 19: wherein the polishing module comprises:
a transfer station configured to receive the substrate; and
one or more polishing stations comprising:
a carrier head configured to receive the substrate from the transfer station and retain the substrate during the CMP process; and
a polishing pad configured to polish each of the patterned device structures.
Claim 13: wherein the polishing pad is situated on a rotatable disk-shaped platen.
Claim 14: wherein the one or more polishing stations further comprise a dispensing arm configured to dispense a polishing liquid, onto the polishing pad.
Claim 15: wherein the one or more polishing stations further comprise a conditioner head configured to maintain the polishing pad at a consistent surface roughness.
‘117 is an analogous art in the field of HIGH THROUGHPUT POLISHING MODULES AND MODULAR POLISHING SYSTEMS (title), high throughput density chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) modules (abstract). ‘117 teaches that substrates 180 from the first portion 220 are loaded into the transfer station 216 by the second robot 226. The substrates 180 are then picked up from the transfer station 216 by the third robot 314 to be moved to one of the carrier loading stations 140 (Fig. 2B, [0062], last sentence), The polishing station 150 features a platen 151, a polishing pad 152, a polishing fluid dispense arm 153, an actuator 154 coupled to the fluid dispense arm 153, a pad conditioner arm 155, an actuator 156 coupled to a first end of the pad conditioner arm 155, and a pad conditioner 157. The pad conditioner 157 is coupled to a second end of the pad conditioner arm 155 that is distal from the first end. To reduce visual clutter the fluid dispense arm 153, the pad conditioner arm 155, the actuators 154, 156 respectively coupled thereto, and the pad conditioner 157 are not shown in FIG. 1A but are shown in FIG. 1B. In other embodiments, the fluid dispense arm 153 may be disposed in a fixed position relative to the rotational center of the polishing platen 151, i.e., disposed in a fixed position relative to the platen axis D. In some embodiments, the fluid dispense arm 153 may be curved so as to avoid interference with the carrier heads 131 as the carrier heads 131 are swung about the support shaft axis A (Fig. 1A, [0047]), The pad conditioner arm 155 comprises a first end coupled to the actuator 156 and a second end coupled to the pad conditioner 157. The actuator 156 swings the pad conditioner 157 about an axis F disposed through the first end and simultaneously urges the pad conditioner 157 toward the surface of the polishing pad 152 disposed therebeneath. The pad conditioner 157 is typically one of a brush or a fixed abrasive conditioner, e.g., a diamond embedded disk, which is used to abrade and rejuvenate the polishing surface of the polishing pad 152 (Fig. 1B, [0051], i.e. for surface roughness).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adopted the CMP system of ‘117, including the transfer station, polishing pad, polish fluid dispense arm, rotatable polishing platen, carrier heads, and pad conditioner, to the deposition cluster tool of ‘917, for the purpose of high throughput, as taught by ‘117 (title).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20240014036 is cited for CMP with passivation agent including hexanethiol ([0028]-[0029], same as instant application, [0024]). The examiner noticed NPL by Fan J. et al. teaching CMP using SAM.
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716