DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 06 July 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that:
FIG. 4 is not necessarily directed towards performing simulation of the expected measurements (Species A);
There is not a serious search or examination burden because the claims share a common inventive concept; and
The different CPC classifications and the mutually exclusive characteristics of the species does not establish a serious search or examination burden.
This is not found persuasive because of the following:
The mapping of Species A to FIG. 4 is based on the instant specification at paragraphs 0083-0084, which state that “[s]uch relationship waveforms can be constructed in different ways. By way of example, in some cases, it can be created by performing simulation of the expected measurements…the four waveforms illustrated in FIG. 4 represent such four functions. By way of another example, alternative to simulation, the relationship can be derived by actual experiments. FIG. 3…” Upon further review, it appears that the reference to FIG. 4 in paragraph 0082 is likely a typographical error meant to refer to FIG. 6. Ultimately, the disclosure clearly establishes simulation (Species A) and measurements (Species B) as mutually exclusive approaches for deriving the claimed relationship.
The evaluation of claims to determine if there is a common inventive concept is a practice specific to national stage applications submitted under 35 U.S.C. 371. See MPEP § 1893.03(d). The present application is not a national stage application submitted under 35 U.S.C. 371. Furthermore, restriction between species is proper if the species are independent or distinct, and species are distinct if each species, as claimed, requires a mutually exclusive characteristic not required for the other species, and the species, as claimed are not obvious variants of each other. In this case, the species recite the mutually exclusive characteristics that the relationship is either derived through simulation, i.e., not empirically (Species A), or the relationship is derived through measurements, i.e., empirically (Species B); and the species are not obvious variants of each other. See MPEP § 806.04.
“[A] serious search burden on the examiner may be prima facie shown by appropriate explanation of separate classification, or separate status in the art, or a different field of search” (MPEP § 803, emphasis added). Furthermore, separate classification “shows that each invention has attained recognition in the art as a separate subject for inventive effort, and also a separate field of search” (MPEP § 808.02). In this case, Species A is classified in CPC G01N 2223/305 (computer simulations), and Species B is classified in CPC G01N 23/203 (measuring back scattering). Therefore, the separate classifications show that the species are directed to separate subjects for inventive effort (simulations vs measurements) which require a separate field of search.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
FIG. 6: Graph 600 should include X and Y axis labels.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is as follows:
Claim 1:
“an examination tool configured to scan the semiconductor specimen…”
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for performing the claimed function is:
Claim 1:
“scanning electron microscopes (SEM), atomic force microscopes” (paragraph 0027), “Transmission Electron Microscope (TEM)” (paragraph 0052)
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 15 recites “The computerized method according to claim 1.” Claim 1 is directed to a computerized system, not a computerized method. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted claim 15 as being meant to depend from claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-12, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0109695 A1), hereinafter Zhu.
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses a computerized system (paragraph 0091) of examining a defect buried (paragraph 0094) in a semiconductor specimen (paragraph 0033), the system comprising:
an examination tool (paragraph 0033, SEM 100) configured to scan the semiconductor specimen (paragraph 0093) using an electron beam with a given landing energy (LE) (paragraph 0092), and generate image data (paragraph 0049) by collecting backscattered electrons (BSEs) emitted from the specimen at a specific escape energy (EE) (paragraph 0060, last sentence), wherein the specific EE is selected from a series of EEs (paragraph 0076) corresponding to the given LE (paragraphs 0078-0079) based on a relationship representative of expected measurements obtained at the series of EEs for different expected depths of the defect in the specimen (paragraph 0074); and
a processing circuitry operatively connected to the examination tool (paragraph 0110), and configured to obtain a measurement related to the defect based on the image data (paragraph 0102, “target feature”), and estimate an actual depth of the defect in the specimen based on the measurement and the relationship (paragraph 0077, last sentence).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu as applied to claim 1 discloses the computerized system according to claim 1.
In addition, Zhu discloses that the specific EE is selected from the series of EEs as an EE that provides a relatively large separation between the expected measurements for the different expected depths of the defect (paragraph 0088, highest Δyield calculated from yield at “locations with and without a target features, such as a buried DOI”).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu as applied to claim 1 discloses the computerized system according to claim 1.
In addition, Zhu discloses that the examination tool is configured with a band pass filter operatively connected to a BSE detector (paragraph 0074, lines 15-20), wherein the band pass filter is configured to filter out BSEs emitted with one or more EEs other than the specific EE (paragraph 0075), thereby enabling the BSE detector to collect BSEs emitted only at the specific EE (paragraph 0075).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu as applied to claim 1 discloses the computerized system according to claim 1.
In addition, Zhu discloses that the given LE used to scan the specimen is selected by deriving a set of relationships corresponding to a set of LEs (paragraph 0089, lines 1-2), and selecting a LE of which the specific EE selected therefor provides the best separation between the expected measurements for the different expected depths of the defect (paragraph 0089, highest Δyield).
Regarding claim 9, Zhu as applied to claim 1 discloses the computerized system according to claim 1.
In addition, Zhu discloses that the semiconductor specimen consists of a single layer (FIG. 9A, Bulk Si) and the defect is expected to be located at different depth levels in the single layer (FIG. 9A, depth levels 910, 920, 930).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu as applied to claim 1 discloses the computerized system according to claim 1.
In addition, Zhu discloses that the estimation of the actual depth of the defect based on the measurement and the relationship has improved throughput and accuracy with respect to estimation based on measurements obtained by scanning the specimen multiple times using multiple LEs (paragraphs 0025, 0082).
Regarding claim 11, Zhu discloses a computerized method (paragraph 0091) of examining a defect buried (paragraph 0094) in a semiconductor specimen (paragraph 0033), the method comprising:
scanning, by an examination tool, the semiconductor specimen (paragraph 0093) using an electron beam with a given landing energy (LE) (paragraph 0092), and generating image data (paragraph 0049) by collecting backscattered electrons (BSEs) emitted from the specimen at a specific escape energy (EE) (paragraph 0060, last sentence), wherein the specific EE is selected from a series of EEs (paragraph 0076) corresponding to the given LE (paragraphs 0078-0079) based on a relationship representative of expected measurements obtained at the series of EEs for different expected depths of the defect in the specimen (paragraph 0074); and
obtaining, by a processing circuitry operatively connected to the examination tool (paragraph 0110), a measurement related to the defect based on the image data (paragraph 0102, “target feature”), and estimating an actual depth of the defect in the specimen based on the measurement and the relationship (paragraph 0077, last sentence).
Regarding claim 12, Zhu as applied to claim 11 discloses the computerized method according to claim 11.
In addition, Zhu discloses that the specific EE is selected from the series of EEs as an EE that provides a relatively large separation between the expected measurements for the different expected depths of the defect (paragraph 0088, highest Δyield calculated from yield at “locations with and without a target features, such as a buried DOI”).
Regarding claim 15, Zhu as applied to claim 11 discloses the computerized method according to claim 11.
In addition, Zhu discloses that the BSEs emitted at the specific EE are collected by configuring the examination tool with a band pass filter operatively connected to a BSE detector (paragraph 0074, lines 15-20), and using the band pass filter to filter out BSEs emitted with one or more EEs other than the specific EE (paragraph 0075), thereby enabling the BSE detector to collect BSEs emitted only at the specific EE (paragraph 0075).
Regarding claim 16, Zhu as applied to claim 11 discloses the computerized method according to claim 11.
In addition, Zhu discloses that the given LE used to scan the specimen is selected by deriving a set of relationships corresponding to a set of LEs (paragraph 0089, lines 1-2), and selecting a LE of which the specific EE selected therefor provides the best separation between the expected measurements for the different expected depths of the defect (paragraph 0089, highest Δyield).
Regarding claim 19, Zhu as applied to claim 11 discloses the computerized method according to claim 11.
In addition, Zhu discloses that the specimen consists of a single layer (FIG. 9A, Bulk Si) and the defect is expected to be located at different depth levels in the single layer (FIG. 9A, depth levels 910, 920, 930).
Regarding claim 20, Zhu discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium tangibly embodying a program of instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform a method (paragraph 0110) of examining a defect buried (paragraph 0094) in a semiconductor specimen (paragraph 0033), the method comprising:
causing an examination tool to scan the semiconductor specimen (paragraph 0093) using an electron beam with a given landing energy (LE) (paragraph 0092), and generating image data (paragraph 0049) by collecting backscattered electrons (BSEs) emitted from the specimen at a specific escape energy (EE) (paragraph 0060, last sentence), wherein the specific EE is selected from a series of EEs (paragraph 0076) corresponding to the given LE (paragraphs 0078-0079) based on a relationship representative of expected measurements obtained at the series of EEs for different expected depths of the defect in the specimen (paragraph 0074); and
obtaining a measurement related to the defect based on the image data (paragraph 0102, “target feature”), and estimating an actual depth of the defect in the specimen based on the measurement and the relationship (paragraph 0077, last sentence).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu as respectively applied to claims 1 and 11 above, in view of Bizen et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0213695 A1), hereinafter Bizen.
Regarding claim 3, Zhu as applied to claim 1 discloses the computerized system according to claim 1.
Zhu fails to disclose that the relationship is derived by performing simulation of the expected measurements at the series of EEs based on material and structural properties of the semiconductor specimen.
However, Bizen discloses that the relationship is derived by performing simulation (paragraph 0044, lines 1-2) of the expected measurements (paragraph 0044, lines 7-9; the expected measurements are the number of electrons) at the series of EEs (paragraph 0048) based on material and structural properties of the semiconductor specimen (paragraph 0045, lines 9-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Zhu to include that the relationship is derived by performing simulation of the expected measurements at the series of EEs based on material and structural properties of the semiconductor specimen, based on the teachings of Bizen that this derivation produces a highly accurate relationship in a reduced period of time (Bizen, paragraph 0047).
Regarding claim 13, Zhu as applied to claim 11 discloses the computerized method according to claim 11.
Zhu fails to disclose that the relationship is derived by performing simulation of the expected measurements at the series of EEs based on material and structural properties of the semiconductor specimen.
However, Bizen discloses that the relationship is derived by performing simulation (paragraph 0044, lines 1-2) of the expected measurements (paragraph 0044, lines 7-9; the expected measurements are the number of electrons) at the series of EEs (paragraph 0048) based on material and structural properties of the semiconductor specimen (paragraph 0045, lines 9-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Zhu to include that the relationship is derived by performing simulation of the expected measurements at the series of EEs based on material and structural properties of the semiconductor specimen, based on the teachings of Bizen that this derivation produces a highly accurate relationship in a reduced period of time (Bizen, paragraph 0047).
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu as respectively applied to claims 1 and 11 above, in view of Zhao et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0221149 A1), hereinafter Zhao.
Regarding claim 7, Zhu as applied to claim 1 discloses the computerized system according to claim 1.
Zhu fails to disclose that the semiconductor specimen comprises multiple layers and the defect is expected to be located at a set of candidate layers of the multiple layers.
However, Zhao discloses that the semiconductor specimen comprises multiple layers (FIG. 9C) and the defect is expected to be located at a set of candidate layers of the multiple layers (FIG. 9C, defects 916, 918, 920).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Zhu to include that the semiconductor specimen comprises multiple layers and the defect is expected to be located at a set of candidate layers of the multiple layers, based on the teachings of Zhao that defects across multiple layers must be detected to minimize detrimental impacts to device performance (Zhao, paragraph 0084).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu in view of Zhao as applied to claim 7 discloses the computerized system according to claim 11.
In addition, Zhao discloses that the semiconductor specimen is a Gate-all-around (GAA) transistor (paragraph 0028), and the defect is a residue expected to be located at a plurality of etching layers (FIG. 9C, etch residues 920).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Zhu in view of Zhao to include that the semiconductor specimen is a Gate-all-around (GAA) transistor, and the defect is a residue expected to be located at a plurality of etching layers, based on the additional teachings of Zhao that etch residue detection is critical in minimizing detrimental effects to device performance and yield (Zhao, paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 17, Zhu as applied to claim 11 discloses the computerized method according to claim 11.
Zhu fails to disclose that the semiconductor specimen comprises multiple layers and the defect is expected to be located at a set of candidate layers of the multiple layers.
However, Zhao discloses that the semiconductor specimen comprises multiple layers (FIG. 9C) and the defect is expected to be located at a set of candidate layers of the multiple layers (FIG. 9C, defects 916, 918, 920).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Zhu to include that the semiconductor specimen comprises multiple layers and the defect is expected to be located at a set of candidate layers of the multiple layers, based on the teachings of Zhao that defects across multiple layers must be detected to minimize detrimental impacts to device performance (Zhao, paragraph 0084).
Regarding claim 18, Zhu in view of Zhao as applied to claim 17 discloses the computerized method according to claim 17.
In addition, Zhao discloses that the semiconductor specimen is a Gate-all-around (GAA) transistor (paragraph 0028), and the defect is a residue expected to be located at a plurality of etching layers (FIG. 9C, etch residues 920).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Zhu in view of Zhao to include that the semiconductor specimen is a Gate-all-around (GAA) transistor, and the defect is a residue expected to be located at a plurality of etching layers, based on the additional teachings of Zhao that etch residue detection is critical in minimizing detrimental effects to device performance and yield (Zhao, paragraph 0030).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Girmonsky et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0256687 A1), hereinafter Girmonsky, teaches a semiconductor specimen consisting of a single layer and a defect is expected to be located at different depth levels in the single layer.
Liao (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0161188 A1), hereinafter Liao, teaches that the semiconductor specimen is a Gate-all-around (GAA) transistor, and the defect is a residue expected to be located at a plurality of etching layers.
Dotan (U.S. Patent No. 6,353,222 B1), hereinafter Dotan, teaches a semiconductor specimen comprising multiple layers and the defect is expected to be located at a set of candidate layers of the multiple layers.
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/ROBERT H KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2881