Detailed Action
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election of Invention I (Claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 8/27/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jee (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0056101).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 27 of Jee discloses a semiconductor package structure, comprising: a first die (200) having a first bonding surface; a second die (100) having a second bonding surface, wherein the second bonding surface faces the first bonding surface; and an intermediate structure (240) between the first bonding surface and the second bonding surface, wherein the intermediate structure comprises a plurality of traces (242) over the first bonding surface, a plurality of microbumps (170) over the second bonding surface, and a plurality of joint parts (244) between the traces and the microbumps, wherein the plurality of joint parts comprises an intermetallic compound.
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 27 of Jee discloses the intermetallic compound in the plurality of joint parts is a copper-rich compound [0081].
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 27 of Jee each of the plurality of joint parts contains 50 vol. % or more of the intermetallic compound based on a total volume of each of the plurality of joint parts.
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 27 of Jee each of the plurality of joint parts contains substantially 100 vol. % of the intermetallic compound based on a total volume of each of the plurality of joint parts.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 18 of Jee discloses in a plan view, each of the plurality of microbumps has an oblong shape, a rectangle shape, or a round shape [0165].
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 27 of Jee discloses one of the traces bonds to one of the microbumps via one of the joint parts [0081].
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 27 of Jee discloses a width of each of the plurality of microbumps is larger than a width of at least one of the traces.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 27 of Jee discloses a thickness of at least one of the joint parts is thicker than a thickness of each of the plurality of traces.
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shih (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0305223).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 1 of Jee discloses a semiconductor package structure, comprising: a first die (13) having a first bonding surface; a second die (100) having a second bonding surface, wherein the second bonding surface faces the first bonding surface; and an intermediate structure between the first bonding surface and the second bonding surface, wherein the intermediate structure comprises a plurality of traces over the first bonding surface, a plurality of microbumps over the second bonding surface, and a plurality of joint parts (22) between the traces and the microbumps, wherein the plurality of joint parts comprises an intermetallic compound.
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0141071).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 1 of Choi discloses a semiconductor package structure, comprising: a first die (210) having a first bonding surface; a second die (110) having a second bonding surface, wherein the second bonding surface faces the first bonding surface; and an intermediate structure between the first bonding surface and the second bonding surface, wherein the intermediate structure comprises a plurality of traces over the first bonding surface, a plurality of microbumps (116) over the second bonding surface, and a plurality of joint parts (213) between the traces and the microbumps, wherein the plurality of joint parts comprises an intermetallic compound.
Claims 10-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lv (CN 217007767, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 29 of Lv discloses a semiconductor package structure, comprising: a first die (110) having a first bonding surface with a plurality of first traces (24, FIG. 23); a protective layer (280), formed over the first traces, wherein the protective layer has at least one opening exposing a first portion (100) of the first traces; at least one under-ball metallurgy (UBM) pad (210), formed on the protective layer and penetrating through the protective layer to electrically connect with a second portion (beyond 100) of the first traces; a second die (90) having a second bonding surface facing the first bonding surface, wherein the second bonding surface has a plurality of second traces (94); a plurality of microbumps (92), formed on a first portion of the second traces; and a plurality of joint parts (212), disposed between the first portion of the first traces and the plurality of microbumps, wherein the plurality of joint parts comprises an intermetallic compound.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 29 of Lv discloses the microbumps are further disposed between the at least one UBM pad and a second portion of the second traces, and the joint parts are further disposed between the microbumps and the at least one UBM pad.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 24 of Lv discloses a thickness of the microbumps below the first portion of the first traces is thicker than a thickness of the microbumps below the second portion of the first traces.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jee, in view of Kang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0102485).
Regarding Claim 3
Jee discloses Claim 1.
Jee is silent with respect to “the intermetallic compound in the plurality of joint parts comprises Cu.sub.6Sn.sub.5 or Cu.sub.3Sn”.
FIG. 7 of Kang discloses a similar intermetallic compound, wherein the intermetallic compound (440) in the plurality of joint parts comprises Cu.sub.6Sn.sub.5 or Cu.sub.3Sn [0158].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jee, as taught by Kang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jee in the above manner for purpose of excellent electric connection and high reliability ([0158] of Kang).
Claims 10, 11 and 14-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0023883), in view of Kwon (KR 20160004065, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 7 of Chung discloses a semiconductor package structure, comprising: a first die (500) having a first bonding surface with a plurality of first traces (556); a protective layer (410), formed over the first traces, wherein the protective layer has at least one opening exposing a first portion (between 200a and 200b) of the first traces; at least one under-ball metallurgy (UBM) pad (330), formed on the protective layer and penetrating through the protective layer to electrically connect with a second portion (beyond 100) of the first traces; a second die (200) having a second bonding surface facing the first bonding surface, wherein the second bonding surface has a plurality of second traces (254); and a plurality of joint parts (340), wherein the plurality of joint parts comprises an intermetallic compound.
Chung is silent with respect to “a plurality of microbumps, formed on a first portion of the second traces” and “a plurality of joint parts, disposed between the first portion of the first traces and the plurality of microbumps”.
FIG. 9 of Kwon discloses a similar intermetallic compound, comprising a plurality of microbumps (113), formed on a first portion of the second traces (111); and a plurality of joint parts (320), disposed between the first portion of the first traces (211) and the plurality of microbumps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chung, as taught by Kwon. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chung in the above manner for purpose of maintaining the minimum spacing distance between the semiconductor chip and the package board during thermocompression of an underfill process (Abstract of Kwon).
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 9 of Kwon discloses the microbumps (113) are further disposed between the at least one UBM pad (330) and a second portion (111b) of the second traces, and the joint parts (320) are further disposed between the microbumps and the at least one UBM pad.
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 7 of Chung discloses each of the plurality of joint parts contains 50 vol. % or more of the intermetallic compound based on a total volume of each of the plurality of joint parts.
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 7 of Chung discloses each of the plurality of joint parts contains substantially 100 vol. % of the intermetallic compound based on a total volume of each of the plurality of joint parts.
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 3 of Chung discloses in a plan view, each of the plurality of microbumps has an oblong shape, a rectangle shape, or a round shape.
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung and Kwon, in view of Kim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0194643).
Regarding Claim 12
Chung as modified by Kwon discloses Claim 10.
Chung as modified by Kwon is silent with respect to “a thickness of the microbumps below the first portion of the first traces is thicker than a thickness of the microbumps below the second portion of the first traces”.
FIG. 3 of Kim discloses a similar intermetallic compound, wherein a thickness of the microbumps (T2) below the first portion of the first traces is thicker than a thickness of the microbumps (T1) below the second portion of the first traces [0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chung, as taught by Kim. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chung in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipation ([0051] of Kim).
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung and Kwon, in view of Kang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0102485).
Regarding Claim 13
Chung as modified by Kwon discloses Claim 10.
Chung as modified by Kwon is silent with respect to “the intermetallic compound in the plurality of joint parts comprises Cu.sub.6Sn.sub.5 or Cu.sub.3Sn”.
FIG. 7 of Kang discloses a similar intermetallic compound, wherein the intermetallic compound (440) in the plurality of joint parts comprises Cu.sub.6Sn.sub.5 or Cu.sub.3Sn [0158].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chung, as taught by Kang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chung in the above manner for purpose of excellent electric connection and high reliability ([0158] of Kang).
Pertinent Art
Chen (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0058632), Huang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0203300), 20190131284, 20230207506, 20150270232, 20250125273.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897