DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 & 4-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maekawa (US 20060151840).
Regarding claim 1, Maekawa discloses that a method for fabricating semiconductor device, comprising:
forming a gate dielectric layer 22 on a substrate 11 (Fig. 3A);
forming a gate electrode 23 on the gate dielectric layer 22;
forming a first spacer 25 adjacent to the gate electrode 23;
forming a lightly doped drain (LDD) 21 in the substrate adjacent to the first spacer 25;
forming a second spacer 26 adjacent to the first spacer (Fig. 4D); and
removing part of the gate dielectric layer (Fig. 5A).
Reclaim 2, Maekawa discloses that forming a gate material layer on the gate dielectric layer (Fig. 3A); and patterning the gate material layer to form the gate electrode (Fig. 3A).
Reclaim 4, Maekawa discloses that a sidewall of the gate dielectric layer comprises an inclined sidewall (Fig. 5A).
Reclaim 5, Maekawa discloses that a thickness of the gate dielectric layer under the second spacer is equal to a thickness of the gate dielectric layer under the gate electrode (Fig. 5A).
Reclaim 6, Maekawa discloses that a width of the LDD 21 is greater than a bottom surface of second spacer 46 (Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 7, Maekawa discloses that a semiconductor device, comprising:
a gate dielectric layer 22 on a substrate 11;
a gate electrode 23 on the gate dielectric layer 21;
a first spacer 25 adjacent to the gate electrode 23;
a lightly doped drain (LDD) 21 in the substrate adjacent to the first spacer 25; and
a second spacer 46 adjacent to the first spacer 25 and on the gate dielectric layer 22 (Fig. 5A).
Reclaim 8, Maekawa discloses that a source/drain region 24 & 21 in the substrate 11 adjacent to two sides of the second spacer 46 (Fig. 5A).
Reclaim 9, Maekawa discloses that a sidewall of the gate dielectric layer comprises an inclined sidewall (Fig. 5A).
Reclaim 10, Maekawa discloses that a thickness of the gate dielectric layer under the second spacer is equal to a thickness of the gate dielectric layer under the gate electrode (Fig. 5A).
Reclaim 11, Maekawa discloses that a width of the LDD 21 is greater than a bottom surface of second spacer 46 (Fig. 5A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maekawa (US 20060151840) in view of Chang et al. (US 9922881).
Reclaim 3, Maekawa fails to teach that forming a source/drain region in the substrate after removing part of the gate dielectric layer.
However, Chang suggests that forming a source/drain region in the substrate after removing part of the gate dielectric layer (claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant(s) claimed invention was made to provide Maekawa with forming a source/drain region in the substrate after removing part of the gate dielectric layer as taught by Chang in order to enhance variation of process and also, the claim would have been obvious because a particular know technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Conclusion
/SU C KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899