DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file, as electronically retrieved 07/25/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/28/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (PG
Pub 2021/0376292; hereinafter Choi) and Zhang et al. (CN 202120866580; hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, refer to Fig. 3 and the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 7 provided above, Choi teaches a display apparatus 10 comprising:
a first substrate 101 comprising a component region (CA) and a main display region (MDA) surrounding at least a portion of the component region (see Fig. 3);
a second substrate 103 disposed on the first substrate and comprising a component region (portion of CA above 103) and a main display region (portion of MDA above 103) surrounding at least a portion of the component region (see Fig. 3);
a first-1 electrode 102 disposed on one surface (top surface) of the first substrate (see Fig. 7); and
a second-1 electrode 105 disposed on one surface (top surface) of the second substrate (see Fig. 7). Choi teaches the material composition of the first and second substrate as comprising a polymer material, he does not explicitly teach that polymer comprises an electrochromic material.
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 10, Zhang teaches a display panel comprising: an electrochromic film 522 is made of organic conductive polymer material.
electrochromic film 522 so that the electrochromic film 522 becomes black, so that the electrochromic layer 5 is in a light blocking state; The light from the photosensitive element 9 is prevented from reflecting and the light reflected by the photosensitive element 9 is prevented from entering the array substrate 20.
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the polymer material composition of Choi, for that of Zhang’s organic conductive polymer material, to prevent undesired light from entering or leaving the device
Regarding claim 3, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Choi and Zhang, Zhang teaches at least a portion of the first-1 electrode 102 and at least a portion of the second-1 electrode 105 overlap each other (see fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Choi and Zhang, Zhang teaches a first-2 electrode G1 disposed on a surface (top) opposite to the one surface of the first substrate 101, on which the first-1 electrode 102 is disposed (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Choi and Zhang, Zhang teaches a second-2 electrode G2 disposed on a surface (top) opposite to the one surface of the second substrate 103, on which the second-1 electrode is disposed (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Choi and Zhang, Zhang teaches each of the first substrate 101 and the second substrate 103 comprises a peripheral region(Are outside of DA) surrounding the main display region MDA, and a portion of the first-1 electrode 102 and a portion of the second-1 electrode 105 are each arranged in the peripheral region (see Figh. 3 and Fig. 7) to bypass the main display region.
The recited “to bypass the main display region” (i.e., function) does not structurally distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus see In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 838 (CCPA 1959) (apparatus claims must distinguish in terms of structure rather than function). The only structural limitation that appears to be required for the prior art apparatus to be capable of performing the aforementioned function is having the first substrate 101 and the second substrate 103 comprises a peripheral region(Are outside of DA) surrounding the main display region MDA, and a portion of the first-1 electrode 102 and a portion of the second-1 electrode 105 are each arranged in the peripheral region (see Figh. 3 and Fig. 7) to bypass the main display region, which Choi clearly shows or in other words, the prior art appears to inherently possess the capability of performing the recited functions. "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210 (CCPA 1971) to emphasize that “where the Patent [and Trademark] Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may, in fact be an inherent characteristic of the prior art, it possesses the authority to require the applicant to prove that the subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on.").
Regarding claim 9, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Choi and Zhang, Zhang teaches the material composition of the first 101 and second substrate 103 as being electrochromic (see claim 1) the limitation “transmittance of each of the first substrate and the second substrate increases when a voltage is applied thereto” would be an inherent characteristic to that material composition.
Prior Art
2. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
a.
b.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 11-20 are allowable.
Claims 2, 7-8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 2, in a plan view, at least one of the first-1 electrode and the second-1 electrode surrounds at least a portion of the component region.
Claim 7 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 7, the second substrate comprises an opening arranged in the peripheral region and penetrating the second substrate.
Claim 8 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 8, the first-1 electrode and the second-1 electrode are connected to each other in a portion of the peripheral region.
Claim 10 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 10, a barrier layer arranged between the first substrate and the second substrate.
Claim 11 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 11, a substrate comprising a first substrate, a second substrate, a component region, and a main display region surrounding at least a portion of the component region; a first electrode disposed on one surface of the first substrate; and a second electrode disposed on one surface of the second substrate, wherein transparency of at least one of the first substrate and the second substrate varies according to a voltage applied to the first electrode or the second electrode. Claims 12-20 would be allowable, because they depend on allowable claim 11.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A SYLVIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817