DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 05/26/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims. Claims 1-10 are currently examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Magras et al (US 20020166503 A1, “Magras”).
Regarding claim 1, Magras teaches a method of producing a single crystal silicon ingot from a silicon melt, the method comprising providing a susceptor assembly 15 comprising a base 15b (susceptor base), an upper portion 15a (tubular sidewall) connected to the susceptor base 15a (fig 1, 0064-0068), and a removable member 15c (sacrifice ring) interposed between the susceptor base15b and the sidewall 15a (fig 1, 0067), each of the susceptor base and the sidewall being formed of a carbon- containing material (0067); positioning a crucible 14 in an interior of the susceptor assembly 15 defined by the susceptor base and the sidewall (fig 1, 0066-0068); adding polycrystalline silicon to the crucible 14 (0073); heating the polycrystalline silicon to cause a silicon melt 16 to form in the crucible (0063-0066); pulling a single crystal silicon ingot 17 from the melt 16 (fig 1, 0064-0066), wherein silicon carbide (SiC) deposits accumulate on the sacrifice ring during the pulling the single crystal silicon ingot from the melt (fig 1, 0067); and after the pulling the single crystal silicon ingot from the melt, removing the sacrifice ring having the accumulated SiC deposits from the susceptor base (0067).
Regarding claim 2, Magras teaches after removing the sacrifice ring having the accumulated SiC deposits from the susceptor base, replacing the ring 15c (installing a second sacrifice ring) onto the susceptor base (0034, 0067).
Regarding claim 9, Magras teaches rotating the crucible and the susceptor assembly while pulling the single crystal silicon ingot from the melt (0062-0064).
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magras as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Magras teaches the sacrifice ring and removing the sacrifice ring having the accumulated SiC deposits from the susceptor base as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach the sacrifice ring being segmented into two or more segments and independently removing one or more of the segments. However, it is well established that the court has held that making the structure separable or integral would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. See MPEP 2144.04 V. It is also noted that the susceptor is easily repaired by the replacement of parts/components of the susceptor which greatly decreased cost of the susceptor as compared to the replacement of the susceptor as a whole (0020, 0022, 0024, 0034, 0067, 0081). Furthermore, regarding the sacrifice ring being segmented into two or more segments limitation, it is an apparatus limitation in a process claim. Unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Tarczy-Hornoch 158 USPQ 141, 150; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
Regarding claim 4, Magras teaches replacing the independently replaced (removed) one or more of the component/parts/segments with a corresponding number of replacement segments of the sacrifice ring (0020, 0022, 0024, 0034, 0067). It is well established that the court has held that making the structure separable or integral would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. See MPEP 2144.04 V. Furthermore, regarding one or more of the segments with a corresponding number of replacement segments of the sacrifice ring limitation, it is an apparatus limitation in a process claim. Unless the apparatus limitations affect the process in a manipulative sense, they may have little weight in the process claims. In re Leeson Corp. 185 USPQ 156; In re Tarczy-Hornoch 158 USPQ 141, 150; In re Edwards 128 USPQ 387; Stalego v. Heymes 120 USPQ 473, 478 (CCPA); Ex parte Hart 117 USPQ 193; In re Freeman 44 USPQ 116 (CCPA); In re Sweeney 72 USPQ 501 (CCPA).
Regarding claim 5, Magras teaches replacing the sacrifice ring having the accumulated SiC deposits and the susceptor being easily repaired by the replacement of parts/components of the susceptor which greatly decreased cost of the susceptor as compared to the replacement of the susceptor as a whole as addressed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Magras by independently removed one or more of the segments have a greater amount of the accumulated SiC deposits than remaining segments of the sacrifice ring for the benefit of greatly decreasing the cost of the susceptor while producing high quality single crystals (Magras 0007, 0008, 0022, 0024, 0081).
Regarding claim 6, Magras teaches replacing/removing the sacrifice ring having the accumulated SiC deposits from the susceptor base is performed after one or more uses (producing multiple single crystal silicon ingots) (0067). Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Magras as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Agostini et al (US 20210032769 A1, “Agostini”).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Magras teaches the single crystal silicon ingot is pulled from the melt according to a Czochralski process (0001), but does not explicitly teach a batch Czochralski process and/or a continuous Czochralski process. However, it is a conventionally known that either a batch Czochralski process or a continuous Czochralski process is used for pulling a single crystal silicon ingot as taught by Agostini (0002, 0003, 0006, 0017). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Magras per teachings of Agostini in order to provide suitable conditions for pulling silicon single crystal ingots widely used in electronic device fabrications (0002, 0003, 0006, 0017).
Allowable claims
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art of record to Magras et al (US 20020166503 A1, “Magras”) teaches a method of producing a single crystal silicon ingot from a silicon melt, but does not teach, disclose, anticipate or reasonably suggest that installing the sacrifice ring onto the susceptor base such that the sacrifice ring surrounds an annular wall of the susceptor base extending from an upper edge to a shoulder; and connecting the tubular sidewall to the susceptor base by inserting the annular wall of the susceptor base into the sidewall such that the sidewall engages the sacrifice ring and the sacrifice ring is interposed between the sidewall and each of the annular wall and the shoulder, as recited in claim 10.
Conclusion
/HUA QI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714