DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 8 and 10 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda (US 2020/0126688 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ikeda (US 2020/0126688 A1) discloses an insulated wire (Fig 1,4), comprising: an assembled conductor (10) obtained by assembling (see Fig 1 shown assembled) or twisting a plurality of strands (11); an insulating layer (14) coating an outer periphery (outer region or perimeter of the stack of 11 is coated with 14) of the assembled conductor (stack of 11); and a filler region (13; note that this claimed region or area or portion is not structurally limited nor structurally defined in the claim language) that fills a space between the strands (11) and a space (area between 11 includes 13) between the strands (11) and the insulating layer (14) and includes a thermoplastic resin ([0049]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ikeda further discloses the insulated wire (Fig 1,4) according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of voids occupying a cross-sectional area ([0058] “a volume ratio of the voids 8 inside the strand insulating layer 13 after being collapsed is preferably between 0.1% and 80%”, “volume ratio of the voids 8 can be calculated from an area ratio of the voids 8 that can be found by obtaining a several enlarged images of cross sections”; note that this claimed area is not structurally limited in the claim language) of the assembled conductor is 0.55% or less ([0058]).
Regarding Claim 3, Ikeda further discloses the insulated wire (Fig 1,4) according to claim 1, wherein the filler region includes at least one kind of polyetherimide (Table 2; [0070] “PEI”) and polyphenylsulfone.
Regarding Claim 4, Ikeda further discloses the insulated wire (Fig 1,4) according to claim 1, wherein the insulating layer (14) includes at least one kind of polyetheretherketone ([0051]), polyphenylene sulfide ([0051]), polyethylene terephthalate ([0051]), 66 nylon, polyamideimide, and polyimide ([0051]).
Regarding Claim 5, Ikeda further discloses the insulated wire (Fig 1,4) according to claim 1, wherein the assembled conductor (10) has a center strand (central 11 in Fig 1), and an average thickness of a filler region (region between central 11 and neighboring 11 above or below; note that this claimed region or area or portion is not structurally limited nor structurally defined in the claim language) on an outer periphery of the center strand is thicker than (central 11 would have two layers of 13 whereas the outer 11 has singular layer of 13 adjacent 14) an average thickness of a filler region (region or portion of 13 contacting 14; note that this claimed region or area or portion is not structurally limited nor structurally defined in the claim language) other than the filler region on the outer periphery of the center strand.
Regarding Claim 8, Ikeda further discloses the insulated wire (Fig 1,4) according to claim 1, wherein the filler region is formed by a filler layer (layer of 13) coated on the outer periphery of the strand (11) (flowing by heating [0053,0075]), and a film thickness of the filler layer (13) is 3.0 to 15 μm ([0050] 0.1 μm to 10 μm).
The Claim states a “flowing by heating” but “flowing by heating” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layers are formed. Thus the Claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of flowing by heating, and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 10, Ikeda further discloses a coil (Fig 4; [0059-0063] “coil”), using the insulated wire (10) according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, Ikeda further discloses a rotating electrical machine (Fig 1,4; [0003] “rotational frequency of the motor”), comprising the coil (Fig 4; [0059-0063] “coil”) according to claim 10.
Regarding Claim 12, Ikeda further discloses an electrical or electronic equipment (Fig 1,4; [0003] “rotational frequency of the motor”), comprising the coil (Fig 4; [0059-0063] “coil”) according to claim 10.
Claim(s) 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda (US 2020/0126688 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ikeda (US 2020/0126688 A1) discloses an insulated wire (Fig 8A), comprising: an assembled conductor (7) obtained by assembling (see Fig 8A shown assembled) or twisting a plurality of strands (11); an insulating layer (14) coating an outer periphery of the assembled conductor; and a filler region (13) that fills a space between the strands (11) and a space between the strands (11) and the insulating layer (14) and includes a thermoplastic resin ([0049]).
Regarding Claim 9, Ikeda further discloses the insulated wire (Fig 8A) according to claim 1, wherein the assembled conductor is formed (by twisting) 7 (see Fig 8A showing seven strands 11) to 37 strands.
The Claim states a “formed by twisting” but “formed by twisting” does not represent product structure but only refers to the process by which the layers are formed. Thus the Claim is a product claim that recites a process step(s) of twisting, and is thus treated as a product-by-process claim. See MPEP 2113.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda (US 2020/0126688 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saito (US 2018/0254120 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Ikeda discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Ikeda does not explicitly disclose the insulated wire according to claim 1, wherein when a cross-sectional shape of the assembled conductor is rectangular, a width of the rectangle is 1.0 to 5.0 mm and a thickness of the rectangle is 0.4 to 3.0 mm, and when the cross-sectional shape of the assembled conductor is circular, an outer diameter of the circle is 0.25 to 2.0 mm, and wherein a thickness of the insulating layer coating the outer periphery of the assembled conductor is 20 to 250 μm.
Saito (US 2018/0254120 A1) teaches of an insulated wire (Fig 1), wherein when a cross-sectional shape of the assembled conductor is rectangular ([0050] “rectangular”), a width of the rectangle is 1.0 to 5.0 mm ([0050]) and a thickness of the rectangle is 0.4 to 3.0 mm ([0050]), and when the cross-sectional shape of the assembled conductor is circular, an outer diameter of the circle is 0.25 to 2.0 mm, and wherein a thickness of an insulating layer (14) coating the outer periphery of the assembled conductor is 20 to 250 μm ([0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wire as disclosed by Ikeda, wherein when a cross-sectional shape of the assembled conductor is rectangular, a width of the rectangle is 1.0 to 5.0 mm and a thickness of the rectangle is 0.4 to 3.0 mm, and when the cross-sectional shape of the assembled conductor is circular, an outer diameter of the circle is 0.25 to 2.0 mm, and wherein a thickness of the insulating layer coating the outer periphery of the assembled conductor is 20 to 250 μm as taught by Saito, in order to increase a space factor, provide sufficient fixing strength, and provide densification (Saito, [0048,0079,0108]) and furthermore discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, in order to increase a space factor, provide sufficient fixing strength, provide densification, provide a desired conduction and provide a desired insulation thickness to meet environmental protections. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 8 [0013]; pages 12-13 [0023], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 7, Ikeda discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Ikeda does not explicitly disclose the insulated wire according to claim 1, wherein the strand has an insulating layer including a thermosetting resin on an outer periphery of a conductive wire, a film thickness of the insulating layer is 0.5 to 30 μm, and the thermosetting resin includes at least one kind of polyamideimide, polyimide, polyester, and polyurethane.
Saito (US 2018/0254120 A1) teaches of an insulated wire (Fig 2), wherein a strand (21) has an insulating layer (22) including a thermosetting resin ([0081]) on an outer periphery of a conductive wire (21), a film thickness of the insulating layer is 0.5 to 30 μm ([0088]), and the thermosetting resin includes at least one kind of polyamideimide ([0082]), polyimide ([0082]), polyester ([0082]), and polyurethane ([0082]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wire as disclosed by Ikeda, wherein the strand has an insulating layer including a thermosetting resin on an outer periphery of a conductive wire, a film thickness of the insulating layer is 0.5 to 30 μm, and the thermosetting resin includes at least one kind of polyamideimide, polyimide, polyester, and polyurethane as taught by Saito, in order to increase a space factor, provide sufficient fixing strength, and provide densification (Saito, [0048,0079,0108]) and furthermore discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, in order to increase a space factor, provide sufficient fixing strength, provide densification, provide a desired conduction and provide a desired insulation thickness to meet environmental protections. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 8 [0013]; pages 9-1 [0016-0020], applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Nakayama (US 2005/0006135 A1) teaches of an insulated wire (Fig 7-8), comprising: an assembled conductor (211) obtained by assembling (see Fig 7 shown assembled) or twisting (see Fig 7 shown twisted) a plurality of strands (203,209); an insulating layer (213) coating an outer periphery of the assembled conductor; and a filler region (205) that fills a space between the strands (203,209). This could be useful for a future 103 Rejection.
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896