DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16,18,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Yang US 2023/0157036.
Regarding claim 1, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate (100)[0033]; a bottom insulating layer (102)[0033] positioned on the substrate (100); a bit line contact structure comprising: a bit line contact (DC) [0027] positioned penetrating the bottom insulating layer (102) and extending to the substrate (100), with two parallel first sides along a first direction in a top-view perspective, and two parallel second sides along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and two contact-isolating spacers (141)[0028] positioned on the two first sides of the bit line contact; and a bit line structure (131,132)[0026] positioned on the bit line contact structure (DC) and on the bottom insulating layer (102) and extending along the first direction in a top-view perspective.
Regarding claim 2, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, wherein a width of the two contact-isolating spacers (141) and a width of the bit line contact (DC) are substantially the same.
Regarding claim 3, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, wherein a width of the bit line contact structure (DC) and a width of the bit line structure (131,132) are substantially the same.
Regarding claim 4, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, further comprising a common source region (112a) positioned in the substrate (100), wherein the bit line contact (DC) penetrates the bottom insulating layer (102) and extends to the common source region (112a).
Regarding claim 5, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, further comprising two word line structures (WL) [0026] positioned in the substrate (100), parallel to each other with the common source region (112) in between, and extending along the second direction in a top-view perspective.
Regarding claim 6, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, wherein the bit line structure comprises: a bit line bottom conductive layer (131) positioned on the bit line contact structure (DC) and the bottom insulating layer (102); a bit line top conductive layer (132) [0055] positioned on the bit line bottom conductive layer; and a bit line capping layer (137)[0055] positioned on the bit line top conductive layer.
Regarding claim 7, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, further comprising two spacer structures (SPS)(21,23,25, on each side)[0032] positioned on the bottom insulating layer (102) and covering sides of the bit line structure (131,132).
Regarding claim 8, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, wherein the two spacer structures (SPS)[0032] respectively comprises: an inner spacer (25) covering the side of the spacer structure; a middle spacer (23) covering the inner spacer; and an outer spacer (21) covering the middle spacer.
Regarding claim 9, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, further comprising two cell contact layers (BC)[0029] positioned adjacent to the two spacer structures (SPS), separated from each other with the bit line structure (131,132) in between, penetrating the bottom insulating layer, and extending to the substrate.
Regarding claim 10, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, further comprising two drain regions (112b) positioned in the substrate (100), wherein the two drain regions (112b) are separated from each other with the common source region (112a) in between, and the two cell contact layers are positioned on the two drain regions.
Regarding claim 11, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, wherein the middle spacer comprises silicon oxide [0032].
Regarding claim 12, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, wherein the inner spacer and the outer spacer comprise the same material [0032].
Regarding claim 13, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, wherein the bit line bottom conductive layer (131) comprises doped polycrystalline silicon, doped polycrystalline germanium, doped polycrystalline silicon germanium, or a combination thereof [0055].
Regarding claims 14,15, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, wherein the bit line top conductive layer (132) comprises titanium, nickel, platinum, tantalum, cobalt, silver, copper, or aluminum [0055]; wherein the bit line contact comprises tungsten, cobalt, zirconium, tantalum, titanium, aluminum, ruthenium, copper, metal carbides, metal nitrides, transition metal aluminides, or a combination thereof [0055].
Regarding claim 16, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, wherein the contact-isolating spacers (141) comprise silicon nitride [0028].
Regarding claim 18, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, further comprising two buried insulating layers (SPS) covering the two contact-isolating spacers (141).
Regarding claim 19, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, wherein a height of the two contact-isolating spacers (141) is less than a height of the two buried insulating layers (SPS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang.
Regarding claim 17, Yang shows in FIG. 2, and discloses a semiconductor device, a ratio of a width of the two contact-isolating spacers (141) to a width of the bit line contact (DC).
As for the ratio being between about 0.90 and 1.00, Applicant did not show criticality of the particular optimum value of the ratio. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range or optimum value, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
MARC - ANTHONY ARMAND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/MARC-ANTHONY ARMAND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813