Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/4/24 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8-9, 11, 14-16, 20, 25, and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2021/0076481.
Regarding claim 1, ‘481 discloses an article comprising a first layer comprising lithium (Fig. 5, Item 110) and a support structure (Fig. 5 Item 120) comprising one or more channels (122) defining a continuous fluid channel therein with an inlet and outlet (204, 208) the one or more channels comprising non-planar (Note 3D aspect of channels in Fig. 4-5) following curved paths (Note the curved paths defined by the channels in Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, ‘481 shows in Fig. 4 that the one or more channels are continuously curving and fluidly coupled.
Regarding claim 5, ‘481 does not show blaze or weld joints and shows a monolithic support structure in Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 8, ‘481 teaches a support structure coupled to water inlet and outlets 204,208.
Regarding claim 9, ‘481 teaches a lithium layer bonded to a support structure by an interlayer which supports intermaterial diffusion [0043].
Regarding claim 11, the article of ‘481 is a neutron generating target (Abstract).
Regarding claims 14 and 16, ‘481 discloses a support structure composed of copper which has a thermal conductivity of about 400 W/(mK).
Regarding claim 20, ‘481 discloses using a first layer comprising lithium and discloses that the lithium to be relied on is 7Li [0005-0006].
Regarding claim 25, the support structure of claim 1 functions as a heat transfer unit and comprises substantially similar claimed structure as disclosed in ‘481.
Regarding claim 39, in addition to the article of claim 1 noted above, ‘481 teaches an ion source (22) and a tandem accelerator (40).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 10, 12, 13, 17-18, and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to teach or suggest the article of claim 1 wherein the support structure comprises a monolithic structure that is formed in an additive manufacturing operation.
The prior art fails to teach or suggest the article of claim 1 wherein the article has a rectangular shape, and a length of the article is from 5 centimeters (cm) to 20 cm.
The prior art fails to teach or suggest the article of claim 1 wherein a weight of the article is from 500 grams to 1,000 grams.
The prior art fails to teach or suggest the article of claim 1 wherein the article has a circular shape and the diameter of the article is from 5 centimeters (cm) to 20 cm.
The prior art fails to teach or suggest the article of claim 1 wherein: a thickness of the plate is from 1 millimeter (mm) to 8 mm, and the plate is 2 times, 5 times, 10 times, 20 times, 50 times, 60 times, 70 times, 80 times, 90 times, or 100 times thicker than the first layer.
The prior art fails to teach or suggest the article of claim 1 wherein the thickness of the plate is selected from 2 mm, 3 mm, 4 mm, 5 mm, 6 mm, or 7 mm.
The prior art fails to teach or suggest the article of claim 1 wherein: a thickness of the first layer is from 15 micrometers (pm) to 180 pm, and a thickness of the support structure is from 10 mm to 50 mm.
The prior art fails to teach or suggest the article of claim 1 wherein the thickness of the first layer is from 90 pm to 100 pm.
Conclusion
DAVID A. VANORE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/DAVID A VANORE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878