DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II: Claims 7-10 and 17-20 in the reply filed on 08/12/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-6 and 11-16 of non-elected Group I were withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0328547 A1 to Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses a sensor package structure having a wireless configuration, comprising:
a carrying base including:
a substrate having a chip-bonding region and a molding region that surrounds the chip-bonding region (sensor package structure 100 capable of operating wirelessly and having carrying base defined by substrate 1 having chip-bonding region 111 and carrying region 212 where package body 52 surrounds region 111; Fig. 2; paragraphs [0017], [0020], [0022], [0030]); and
a ring-shaped molding frame formed on the molding region of the substrate, wherein the ring-shaped molding frame has a connection end arranged away from the substrate (body 52 surrounding region 111 formed in molding region where body 52 has top surface defined as connection end and disposed away from substrate 1; Fig. 2; paragraph [0020]);
a sensing module including an interposer stacked and mounted on the chip-bonding region and a sensor chip that is stacked and mounted on the interposer (sensing module defined as portion of structure 100 having interposer substrate disposed directly upon region 111, where region 111 has sensor chip 2 disposed thereon; Fig. 2; paragraph [0022]), wherein the sensing module and the substrate are jointly formed as a CoWoS component (sensing module and substrate 1 formed as a chip on wafer on substrate structure; Fig. 2); and
a light-permeable sheet adhered and fixed to the connection end of the carrying base, wherein the carrying base and the light-permeable sheet jointly define an enclosed space that receives the sensing module therein (light permeable layer 4 affixed via colloid 5 to top surface of carrying base defined by substrate 1, where carrying base and layer 4 enclose space E that receives components of the sensing module; Fig. 2; paragraphs [0017], [0024]).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses a sensor package structure having a wireless configuration, comprising:
a substrate having a chip-bonding region and a connection region that surrounds the chip-bonding region (sensor package structure 100 capable of operating wirelessly and having carrying base defined by substrate 1 having chip-bonding region 111 and carrying region 212 where package body 52 surrounds region 111; Fig. 2; paragraphs [0017], [0020], [0022], [0030]);
a sensing module including an interposer mounted on the chip-bonding region and a sensor chip that is stacked and mounted on the interposer (sensing module defined as portion of structure 100 having interposer substrate disposed directly upon region 111, where region 111 has sensor chip 2 disposed thereon; Fig. 2; paragraph [0022]), wherein the sensing module and the substrate are jointly formed as a CoWoS component (sensing module and substrate 1 formed as a chip on wafer on substrate structure; Fig. 2); and
a cap including:
a light-permeable sheet; and
a ring-shaped molding frame formed on the light-permeable sheet, wherein the ring-shaped molding frame has a connection end arranged away from the light-permeable sheet (cap defined by light permeable layer 4 and a body 52 formed thereon, where body 52 has top surface defined as connection end and disposed away from layer 4; Fig. 2; paragraph [0020]);
wherein the connection end of the light-permeable sheet is adhered and fixed to the connection region of the substrate, and wherein the substrate and the cap jointly define an enclosed space that receives the sensing module therein (light permeable layer 4 affixed via colloid 5 to top surface of carrying base defined by substrate 1, where carrying base and cap enclose space E that receives components of the sensing module; Fig. 2; paragraphs [0017], [0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Lee discloses the sensor package structure according to claims 7 and 17, respectively. Lee further discloses wherein the carrying base defines a height direction perpendicular to the chip-bonding region, an inner side surface of the ring-shaped molding frame and the height direction have a slanting angle therebetween, and an outer side surface of the ring-shaped molding frame is coplanar with an outer edge of the substrate (height direction of carrying base and inner side surface of body 52 have angle alpha formed therebetween, with outer side surface coplanar with outer edge of substrate 1; Fig. 2; paragraphs [0027], [0029]).
Lee fails to explicitly disclose a slanting angle therebetween that is within a range from 5 degrees to 7 degrees.
However, Fig. 2 of Lee discloses angle alpha that varies depending upon where the angle is measured given that the slope of the body 52 is variable, which would provide an angle of between 5 and 7 degrees near an uppermost portion of the body 52 as shown in Fig. 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee in this manner in order to potentially provide easier mold release and assembly, better sealing and reduced overflow into the sensor’s active area, and self-alignment of structures during placing.
Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of US 2023/0064356 A1 to Lin et al. (hereinafter “Lin”).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Lee discloses the sensor package structure according to claims 7 and 17. Lee fails to disclose wherein the sensing module includes a plurality of micro-bumps and an underfill layer, the micro-bumps and the underfill layer are arranged between the sensor chip and the interposer, the sensor chip and the interposer are electrically coupled to each other through the micro-bumps, and the micro-bumps are embedded in the underfill layer.
However, Lin discloses wherein the sensing module includes a plurality of micro-bumps and an underfill layer, the micro-bumps and the underfill layer are arranged between the sensor chip and the interposer, the sensor chip and the interposer are electrically coupled to each other through the micro-bumps, and the micro-bumps are embedded in the underfill layer (image sensor die 110 bonded and electrically connected to interposer 130 via micro-bumps 114 embedded in underfill 117 disposed therebetween; paragraphs [0033], [0049]).
Lee and Lin are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field sensor package structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teaching of Lin in order to potentially provide mechanical reinforcement and structural reliability and protection of the interconnects from air, moisture and contaminants.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Lee discloses the sensor package structure according to claims 7 and 17. Lee further discloses wherein connection pads of the sensor chip and contacts of the interposer are fixed and electrically coupled to each other (connection pads 213 of sensor chip 2 and related contacts of interposer are fixed and electrically coupled together; Fig. 2; paragraphs [0022]-[0023]).
Lee fails to disclose connection pads of the sensor chip and contacts of the interposer are fixed and electrically coupled to each other in a hybrid bonding manner.
However, Lin discloses connection pads of the sensor chip and contacts of the interposer are fixed and electrically coupled to each other in a hybrid bonding manner (die 110 hybrid bonded to interposer 130; paragraph [0048]).
Lee and Lin are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field sensor package structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teaching of Lin in order to potentially provide a significantly higher interconnect density, lower electrical parasitics and better electrical performance, and a thinner lower-profile overall structure.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2016/0013235 A1 to Yee et al. and US 6,140,144 A to Najafi et al. disclose related sensor package structures with similar bump and underfill arrangements between sensor chip and interposer.
/IAN DEGRASSE/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818