DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant has cancelled claims 1-7 which belongs to Species 1. Therefore, applicant’s election of Species 2, Claims 8-20 with new claims 21-27 in the reply filed on 01/29/26 is acknowledged, and is considered as election without traverse.
Drawings/Specification/Claims
2. The drawings, specification filed on 05/31/24 and claims filed on 01/29/26 are objected because main elements in the specification and claims need to be described clearly in drawings. For example, the first optical splitting element, the second optical splitting element, and rotational axis are not in the drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
4. Claims 8-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Chou (U.S. Patent No. 12,038,389) in view of Bykanov et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0328868). Hereafter, “Chou ‘389” and “Bykanov”.
As to claim 8, Chou ‘389 claims
A wafer inspection apparatus, (claim 1, lines 1), comprising:
an optical module comprising a light source, (claim 1, lines 2), and a first optical splitting element, wherein a light emitted from the light source is split into a first light beam and a second light beam, (claim 1, lines 3-5);
a first wafer holder, comprising a first wafer stage for carrying a first wafer and a second wafer stage for carrying a second wafer, (claim 1, lines 7-9), wherein the first wafer stage is disposed on a first light path of the first light beam, and the second wafer stage is disposed on a second light path of the second light beam, (claim 1, lines 9-12), the first optical splitting element is disposed between the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage, (claim 1, lines 12-14);
a first optical sensor, configured to receive the first light beam reflected by the first wafer carried by the first wafer stage (claim 1, lines 15-17); and
a second optical sensor, configured to receive the second light beam reflected by the second wafer carried by the second wafer stage, (claim 1, lines 18-20).
However, Chou ‘389 does not claim the first wafer holder is rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a first receiving surface of the first wafer stage. Bykanov teaches the wafer holder being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage (figure 5, wafer holder 144 being rotatable about a rotation axis 153 along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage 144). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Chou ‘389 by having wafer holder being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage in order to rotate stage and wafer with respect to a specific direction for inspection, (Bykanov, [0083-0084]; Figure 5, elements 144, 153).
As to claim 9, Chou ‘389 claims the first wafer stage comprises a first electrostatic chuck and the second wafer stage comprises a second electrostatic chuck, and the first wafer and the second wafer are carried by the first electrostatic chunk and the second electrostatic chuck through electrostatic forces, respectively, (claim 2).
As to claim 10, Chou ‘389 claims the first wafer holder further comprises a connecting element, and the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage are connected to each other through the connecting element, (claim 3).
As to claim 11, Chou ‘389 claims the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage are disposed at opposite sides of the first optical splitting element, (claim 1, lines 12-14).
As to claim 12, Chou ‘389 does not claims the first wafer holder is rotatable about the rotation axis along the direction parallel with the first receiving surface of the first wafer stage and the second receiving surface of the second wafer stage. Bykanov teaches the wafer holder being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage (figure 5, wafer holder 144 being rotatable about a rotation axis 153 along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage 144). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Chou ‘389 by having wafer holder being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage in order to rotate stage and wafer with respect to a specific direction, (Bykanov, [0083-0084]; Figure 5, elements 144, 153).
As to claim 13, Chou ‘389 claims an optical directional element, wherein the optical directional element is configured to guide the light emitted from the light source to the first optical splitting element (claim 6).
As to claim 14, Chou ‘389 claims the optical directional element comprises at least one selected from a group of a reflector unit and an optical fiber (claim 7).
As to claim 15, Chou ‘389 claims an optical amplifier configured to modulate intensities of the first light beam and the second light beam (claim 8).
As to claim 16, Chou ‘389 claims a second wafer holder, wherein the second wafer holder comprises a third wafer stage for carrying a third wafer and a fourth wafer stage for carrying a fourth wafer, and the light emitted from the light source is split into a third light beam and a fourth light beam, wherein the third wafer stage is disposed on a third light path of first light beam, and the second wafer stage is disposed on a second light path of the second light beam, and the first optical splitting element is disposed between the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage (claim 9).
As to claim 17, Chou ‘389 claims an optical directional splitting unit configured to split the light emitted from the light source into a first portion and a second portion and direct the first portion to the first optical splitting element and direct the second portion to a second optical splitting element, wherein the first portion is split by the first optical splitting element into the first light beam and the second light beam, and the second portion is split by the second optical splitting element into a third light beam and a fourth light beam; and a second wafer holder, comprising a third wafer stage for carrying a third wafer and a fourth wafer stage for carrying a fourth wafer, wherein the third wafer is configured to reflect the third light beam, and the fourth wafer is configured to reflect the fourth light beam; a third optical sensor, configured to receive the third light beam reflected by the third wafer; and a fourth optical sensor, configured to receive the fourth light beam reflected by the fourth wafer (claim 10).
As to claim 18, Chou ‘389 claims
A wafer inspection method, (claim 11, line1), comprising:
loading a first wafer and a second wafer to a wafer holder, wherein the wafer holder comprises a first wafer stage for carrying the first wafer and a second stage for carrying the second wafer, (claim 11, lines 2-5);
providing a light through a light source, (claim 11, line 6);
splitting the light into a first light beam and the second light beams through an optical splitting element disposed between the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage, (claim 11, lines 7-10), such that the first light beam is irradiated on the first wafer and the second light beam is irradiated on the second wafer, (claim 11, lines 12-14); and
receiving the first light beam reflected by the first wafer and the second light beam reflected by the second wafer through optical sensors, (claim 11, lines 15-17).
However, Chou ‘389 does not claim the wafer holder is rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a first receiving surface of the first wafer stage. Bykanov teaches the wafer holder being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage (figure 5, wafer holder 144 being rotatable about a rotation axis 153 along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage 144). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Chou ‘389 by having wafer holder being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage in order to rotate stage and wafer with respect to a specific direction for inspection, (Bykanov, [0083-0084]; Figure 5, elements 144, 153).
As to claim 19, Chou ‘389 claims loading the first wafer and the second wafer to the wafer holder comprises: loading the first wafer to the first wafer stage; rotating the wafer holder, such that the wafer holder is flipped upside down; and loading the second wafer to the second wafer stage (claim 12).
As to claim 20, Chou ‘389 claims during inspecting the first wafer and the second wafer, with the first and second light beams irradiating on the first and second wafers, the first and second wafers move simultaneously as the wafer holder rotates, (claim 13).
As to claim 21, Chou ‘389 claims a wafer inspection apparatus, (claim 14, line 1), comprising:
an optical module comprising a light source and a first optical splitting element, wherein a light emitted from the light source is split into a first light beam and a second light beam, (claim 14, lines 2-5);
a first movable wafer holder, (claim 18. Rotatable wafer holder is not different from movable wafer holder), comprising a first wafer stage for carrying a first wafer and a second wafer stage for carrying a second wafer (claim 14, lines 6-8), wherein the first movable wafer holder is configured to move relative to the optical module along a direction, (claim 18. Rotatable wafer holder is not different from movable wafer holder); and
optical sensors, wherein the first light beam is reflected by the first wafer carried by the first wafer stage, the second light beam is reflected by the second wafer carried by the second wafer stage, and the first light beam reflected by the first wafer and the second light beam reflected by the second wafer are received by the optical sensors, (claim 14, lines 11-17).
As to claim 22, Chou ‘389 claims the first wafer stage comprises a first electrostatic chuck and the second wafer stage comprises a second electrostatic chuck, and the first wafer and the second wafer are carried by the first electrostatic chunk and the second electrostatic chuck through electrostatic forces, respectively, (claim 15).
As to claim 23, Chou ‘389 claims the first movable wafer holder further comprises a connecting element, and the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage are connected to each other through the connecting element (claim 16).
As to claim 24, Chou ‘389 claims a first receiving surface of the first wafer stage faces a second receiving surface of the second wafer stage (claim 17).
As to claim 25, Chou ‘389 claims the first movable wafer holder is rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with the first receiving surface of the first wafer stage and the second receiving surface of the second wafer stage (claim 18).
As to claim 26, Chou ‘389 claims an optical directional element, wherein the optical directional element is configured to guide the light emitted from the light source to the first optical splitting element, (claim 19).
As to claim 27, Chou ‘389 claims an optical directional splitting unit configured to split the light emitted from the light source into a first portion and a second portion and direct the first portion to the first optical splitting element and direct the second portion to a second optical splitting element, wherein the first portion is split by the first optical splitting element into the first light beam and the second light beam, and the second portion is split by the second optical splitting element into a third light beam and a fourth light beam; a second movable wafer holder, comprising a third wafer stage for carrying a third wafer and a fourth wafer stage for carrying a fourth wafer, wherein the third wafer is configured to reflect the third light beam, and the fourth wafer is configured to reflect the fourth light beam, and the second movable wafer holder is configured to move relative to the optical module along the direction; a third optical sensor, configured to receive the third light beam reflected by the third wafer; and a fourth optical sensor, configured to receive the fourth light beam reflected by the fourth wafer, (claim 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 8, 10-13, 15, 18-21, 23-26, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0213364), in view of Bykanov et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0328868). Hereafter, “Matsui” and “Bykanov”.
Regarding Claim(s) 8, Matsui teaches a wafer inspection apparatus, (figure 1), comprising
an optical module comprising a light source, (figures 9A-B, light source 11), and a first optical splitting element, wherein a light emitted from the light source is split into a first light beam and a second light beam, (figures 9A-B, splitter 14, dividing optics 41, beams 21, 22);
a first wafer holder, comprising a first wafer stage for carrying a first wafer, (figures 9A-B, first element 101 is not different from wafer holder. First stages 103, 104, 105, are not different from a first wafer stage), and a second wafer stage for carrying a second wafer (figures 9A-B, second stages 103, 104, 105, are not different from a second wafer stage), wherein the first wafer stage is disposed on a first light path of the first light beam, (figure 9A, a first light path of the first light beam 21. First stages 103, 104, 105, are not different from a first wafer stage) and the second wafer stage is disposed on a second light path of the second light beam, (figure 9A, a second light path of the second light beam 22. Second stages 103, 104, 105, are not different from a second wafer stage), the first optical splitting element is disposed between the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage (figures 9A-B, dividing optics 41, 14, 16, are not different from optical splitting element, and are between the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage 100);
a first optical sensor, configured to receive the first light beam reflected by the first wafer carried by the first wafer stage, (figures 9A-B, first photodetector 7 configured to receive the first light beam 21 reflected by the first wafer 100 via first measurement unit 110); and
a second optical sensor, configured to receive the second light beam reflected by the second wafer carried by the second wafer stage, (figures 9A-B, second photodetector 7 configured to receive the second light beam 22 reflected by the second wafer 100 via second measurement unit 111).
However, Matsui does not teach the first wafer holder is rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a first receiving surface of the first wafer stage. Bykanov teaches the wafer holder being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage (figure 5, wafer holder 144 being rotatable about a rotation axis 153 along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage 144). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Matsui by having wafer holder being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage in order to rotate stage and wafer with respect to a specific direction for inspection, (Bykanov, [0083-0084]; Figure 5, elements 144, 153).
Regarding Claims 10, 23, Matsui teaches the first wafer holder further comprises a connecting element, and the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage are connected to each other through the connecting element, (Figures 9A-B, elements 104, 105, 106, are not different from the connecting element).
Regarding Claim 11, Matsui teaches the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage are disposed at opposite sides of the first optical splitting element (figures 9A-B, dividing optics 41, 14, 16, are not different from optical splitting element, and are between the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage 100. In the other words, the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage 100 are disposed at opposite sides of the dividing optics 41, 14, 16).
Regarding Claim 12, Matsui does not teach the first wafer holder is rotatable about the rotation axis along the direction parallel with the first receiving surface of the first wafer stage and the second receiving surface of the second wafer stage. Bykanov teaches the wafer holder being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage (figure 5, wafer holder 144 being rotatable about a rotation axis 153 along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage 144). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Matsui by having wafer holder being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage in order to rotate stage and wafer with respect to a specific direction, (Bykanov, [0083-0084]; Figure 5, elements 144, 153).
Regarding Claims 13, 26, Matsui teaches an optical directional element, wherein the optical directional element is configured to guide the light emitted from the light source to the first optical splitting element, (Figures 9A-B, driving optics 41 is not different from an optical directional element).
Regarding Claim 15, Matsui teaches an optical amplifier configured to modulate intensities of the first light beam and the second light beam. (Figures 9A-B, light adjustment element 40 is not different from an optical amplifier configured to modulate intensities of the light beam).
Regarding Claim(s) 18, Matsui teaches a wafer inspection method, ([0094], lines 1-4) comprising:
loading a first wafer and a second wafer to a wafer holder, wherein the wafer holder comprises a first wafer stage for carrying the first wafer and a second stage for carrying the second wafer (figures 9A-B, first and second wafers 100, elements 101 are not different from wafer holders, stages 103, 102, 104, 105);
providing a light through a light source (figures 9A-B, light source 11);
splitting the light into a first light beam and the second light beams through an optical splitting element disposed between the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage (figures 9A-B, dividing optics 41, 14, 16, are not different from optical splitting element, and are between the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage 100), wherein the first light beam is irradiated on the first wafer (figure 9A, a first light path of the first light beam 21, first wafer 100) and the second light beam is irradiated on the second wafer (figure 9A, a second light path of the second light beam 22, second wafer 100); and
receiving the first light beam reflected by the first wafer and the second light beam reflected by the second wafer through optical sensors (figures 9A-B, first photodetector 7 configured to receive the first light beam 21 and second light beam 22 reflected by the first and second wafers 100 via first and second measurement units 110, 111);
However, Matsui does not teach the first wafer holder is rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a first receiving surface of the first wafer stage. Bykanov teaches the wafer holder being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage (figure 5, wafer holder 144 being rotatable about a rotation axis 153 along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage 144). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Matsui by having wafer holder being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage in order to rotate stage and wafer with respect to a specific direction for inspection, (Bykanov, [0083-0084]; Figure 5, elements 144, 153).
Regarding Claim 19, Matsui teaches loading the first wafer and the second wafer to the wafer holder comprises: loading the first wafer to the first wafer stage; rotating the wafer holder, and loading the second wafer to the second wafer stage (figures 9A-B, first and second wafer 100, rotating the wafer holder 103). Although Matsui does not teach the first wafer holder is flipped upside down; the shape and loading differences are considered obvious and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes. Additionally, the Applicant has presented no discussion in the specification, which convinces the Examiner that the particular shape of the support means to hold the wafer is anything more than one of numerous shapes a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing support. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious.
Regarding Claim 20, Matsui teaches during inspecting the first wafer and the second wafer, with the first and second light beams irradiating on the first and second wafers, the first and second wafers move simultaneously as the wafer holder rotates (figures 9A-B, first light beam 21, second light beam 22, two wafer stages 102-105 are configured to be simultaneously movable).
Regarding Claim(s) 21, Matsui teaches a wafer inspection apparatus, (figure 1), comprising:
an optical module comprising a light source, (figures 9A-B, light source 11), and a first optical splitting element, wherein a light emitted from the light source is split into a first light beam and a second light beam, (figures 9A-B, splitter 14, dividing optics 41, beams 21, 22);
a first movable wafer holder, comprising a first wafer stage for carrying a first wafer, (figures 9A-B, first element 101 is not different from a first movable wafer holder. First stages 103, 104, 105, are not different from a first wafer stage for carrying a first wafer 100), and a second wafer stage for carrying a second wafer, (figures 9A-B, second stages 103, 104, 105, are not different from a second wafer stage for carrying a second wafer 100), and
optical sensors, wherein the first light beam is reflected by the first wafer carried by the first wafer stage, the second light beam is reflected by the second wafer carried by the second wafer stage, and the first light beam reflected by the first wafer and the second light beam reflected by the second wafer are received by the optical sensors.
Matsui teaches the first movable wafer holder is configured to move relative to the optical module along a direction, (figure 1, first element 101 is not different from a first movable wafer holder which is located on and moved with translation stage 104 and a Z-stage 105). Further, Bykanov also teaches the wafer holder being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage (figure 5, wafer holder 144 being rotatable about a rotation axis 153 along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage 144. Note: being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction is not different from being movable relative along a direction). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Matsui by having movable wafer holder to move relative to the optical module along a direction in order to move stage and wafer with respect to a specific direction for inspection, (Bykanov, [0083-0084]; Figure 5, elements 144, 153).
Regarding Claim(s) 24, Matsui discloses all elements of the claimed invention, as is noted above. The difference between the claimed invention and the Matsui device is the shape of the wafer stages. Claim 24 recites that a first receiving surface of the first wafer stage faces a second receiving surface of the second wafer stage, whereas Matsui discloses a first receiving surface of the first wafer stage is on a side of a second receiving surface of the second wafer stage. Although the Matsui device does not teach the exact shape of the wafer stages as that claimed by Applicant, the shape differences are considered obvious and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes. Additionally, the Applicant has presented no discussion in the specification which convinces the Examiner that the particular shape of the wafer stages is anything more than one of numerous shapes a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing support. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious.
Regarding Claim(s) 25, Matsui does not teach the first wafer holder is rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a first receiving surface of the first wafer stage. Bykanov teaches the wafer holder being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage (figure 5, wafer holder 144 being rotatable about a rotation axis 153 along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage 144). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Matsui by having wafer holder being rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a receiving surface of the wafer stage in order to rotate stage and wafer with respect to a specific direction for inspection, (Bykanov, [0083-0084]; Figure 5, elements 144, 153).
7. Claim(s) 9, 22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0213364), in view of Bykanov et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0328868) further in view of Muhr et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0178808). Hereafter, “Matsui”, “Bykanov”, “Muhr”.
Regarding Claim(s) 9, 22, Matsui teaches the first wafer stage comprises a first chuck (figures 9A-B, first chuck 101 of the first beam 21) and the second wafer stage comprises a second chuck, (figures 9A-B, second chuck 101 of the second beam 22), and the first wafer and the second wafer are carried by the first chunk and the second chuck through forces, respectively, (figures 9A-B, first wafer 100 of the first beam 21 and second wafer 100 of the second beam 22). However, Matsui does not teach electrostatic. Muhr teaches electrostatic forces, ([0166]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Matsui by having electrostatic forces in order to implement inspection system more easily.
8. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0213364), in view of Bykanov et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0328868) further in view of Stevens et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0038910). Hereafter, “Matsui”, “Bykanov”, “Stevens”.
Regarding Claim 14, Matsui teaches the optical directional element comprises at least one selected from a group of a reflector unit and an optical fiber, (Figures 9A-B, driving optics 41 is not different from an optical directional element, which comprises reflector 16). Although Matsui does not teach fiber optics, Stevens teaches this limitation, ([0056, 0099]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Matsui by having fiber optics in order to transmit light beam efficiently.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 16, 17, 27, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if rewritten or amended to overcome the Double Patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action.
10. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: there was no prior art found by the examiner that suggested modification or combination with the cited art so as to satisfy the combination of all the limitations in claims 16, 17, 27.
11. As claim 16, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a wafer inspection apparatus, comprising a first wafer holder comprising a light emitted from the light source is split into a first light beam and a second light beam; the first wafer stage is disposed on a first light path of the first light beam, and the second wafer stage is disposed on a second light path of the second light beam, the first optical splitting element is disposed between the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage, and the first wafer holder is rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a first receiving surface of the first wafer stage; a second wafer holder, comprising a third wafer stage for carrying a third wafer and a fourth wafer stage for carrying a fourth wafer, and the light emitted from the light source is split into a third light beam and a fourth light beam, wherein the third wafer stage is disposed on a third light path of first light beam, and the second wafer stage is disposed on a second light path of the second light beam, and the first optical splitting element is disposed between the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage; in combination with the rest of the limitations of claims 8 and 16.
12. As claim 17, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a wafer inspection apparatus, comprising a first wafer holder comprising a light emitted from the light source is split into a first light beam and a second light beam; the first wafer stage is disposed on a first light path of the first light beam, and the second wafer stage is disposed on a second light path of the second light beam, the first optical splitting element is disposed between the first wafer stage and the second wafer stage, and the first wafer holder is rotatable about a rotation axis along a direction parallel with a first receiving surface of the first wafer stage; an optical directional splitting unit configured to split the light emitted from the light source into a first portion and a second portion and direct the first portion to the first optical splitting element and direct the second portion to a second optical splitting element, wherein the first portion is split by the first optical splitting element into the first light beam and the second light beam, and the second portion is split by the second optical splitting element into a third light beam and a fourth light beam; and a second wafer holder, comprising a third wafer stage for carrying a third wafer and a fourth wafer stage for carrying a fourth wafer, wherein the third wafer is configured to reflect the third light beam, and the fourth wafer is configured to reflect the fourth light beam; in combination with the rest of the limitations of claims 8 and 17.
13. As claim 27, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a wafer inspection apparatus, comprising a light emitted from the light source is split into a first light beam and a second light beam; a first wafer stage for carrying a first wafer and a second wafer stage for carrying a second wafer, wherein the first movable wafer holder is configured to move relative to the optical module along a direction; and the first light beam is reflected by the first wafer carried by the first wafer stage, the second light beam is reflected by the second wafer carried by the second wafer stage, and are received by the optical sensors; and an optical directional splitting unit configured to split the light emitted from the light source into a first portion and a second portion and direct the first portion to the first optical splitting element and direct the second portion to a second optical splitting element, wherein the first portion is split by the first optical splitting element into the first light beam and the second light beam, and the second portion is split by the second optical splitting element into a third light beam and a fourth light beam; a second movable wafer holder, comprising a third wafer stage for carrying a third wafer and a fourth wafer stage for carrying a fourth wafer, wherein the third wafer is configured to reflect the third light beam, and the fourth wafer is configured to reflect the fourth light beam, and the second movable wafer holder is configured to move relative to the optical module along the direction; a third optical sensor, configured to receive the third light beam reflected by the third wafer; and a fourth optical sensor, configured to receive the fourth light beam reflected by the fourth wafer; in combination with the rest of the limitations of claims 21 and 27.
Fax/Telephone Information
February 12, 2026
/Tri T Ton/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2877