DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi et al. (US 20080107802 A1, “Kawaguchi”) in view of Nishida et al. (US 20090046183 A1, “Nishida”).
Regarding claim 1, Kawaguchi discloses (Fig. 1 – 4 and 9 – 12) a method for producing a multilayered wiring board, the method comprising: a step of heating and pressurizing a first wiring member having a first electrode portion on a surface thereof, a second wiring member having a second electrode portion on a surface thereof (See para [0215], [0230]), and a filmy adhesive (60) containing conductive particles (69) and a curable adhesive composition in a state where the first electrode portion and the second electrode portion are disposed to face each other with the filmy adhesive interposed therebetween, to electrically connect the first electrode portion and the second electrode portion (See para [0232] – [0233]),
Kawaguchi is silent on wherein when a thermal expansion coefficient and a glass transition temperature of the resin cured product are designated as
C
T
E
0
(
p
p
m
/
℃
)
and
T
g
0
(
℃
)
, respectively, the following conditions (A) and (B) are all satisfied: (A)
5
≤
C
T
E
0
≤
270
(B)
140
≤
T
g
0
≤
280
However, Nishida discloses wherein when a thermal expansion coefficient and a glass transition temperature of the resin cured product (7) are designated as
C
T
E
0
(
p
p
m
/
℃
)
and
T
g
0
(
℃
)
, respectively, the following conditions (A) and (B) are all satisfied: (A)
5
≤
C
T
E
0
≤
270
(B)
140
≤
T
g
0
≤
280
(See para [0051], [0053] and [0172])
Kawaguchi and Nishida are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wiring board. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawaguchi to incorporate the teachings of Nishida and provide wherein when a thermal expansion coefficient and a glass transition temperature of the resin cured product (7) are designated as
C
T
E
0
(
p
p
m
/
℃
)
and
T
g
0
(
℃
)
, respectively, the following conditions (A) and (B) are all satisfied: (A)
5
≤
C
T
E
0
≤
270
(B)
140
≤
T
g
0
≤
280
(See para [0051], [0053] and [0172]). Doing so would reduce the thermal stress between the wiring members (para [0051]) and also create a proper temperature cycle (para [0053])
Regarding claim 2, Kawaguchi discloses (Fig. 1 – 4 and 9 – 12) a curable adhesive composition used for bonding a wiring member constituting a multilayered wiring board (See para [0124], [0135] – [0136]),
Kawaguchi is silent on wherein when a thermal expansion coefficient and a glass transition temperature of the resin cured product are designated as
C
T
E
0
(
p
p
m
/
℃
)
and
T
g
0
(
℃
)
, respectively, the following conditions (A) and (B) are all satisfied: (A)
5
≤
C
T
E
0
≤
270
(B)
140
≤
T
g
0
≤
280
However, Nishida discloses wherein when a thermal expansion coefficient and a glass transition temperature of the resin cured product (7) are designated as
C
T
E
0
(
p
p
m
/
℃
)
and
T
g
0
(
℃
)
, respectively, the following conditions (A) and (B) are all satisfied: (A)
5
≤
C
T
E
0
≤
270
(B)
140
≤
T
g
0
≤
280
(See para [0051], [0053] and [0172])
Kawaguchi and Nishida are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wiring board. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawaguchi to incorporate the teachings of Nishida and provide wherein when a thermal expansion coefficient and a glass transition temperature of the resin cured product (7) are designated as
C
T
E
0
(
p
p
m
/
℃
)
and
T
g
0
(
℃
)
, respectively, the following conditions (A) and (B) are all satisfied: (A)
5
≤
C
T
E
0
≤
270
(B)
140
≤
T
g
0
≤
280
(See para [0051], [0053] and [0172]). Doing so would reduce the thermal stress between the wiring members (para [0051]) and also create a proper temperature cycle (para [0053])
Regarding claim 3, Kawaguchi discloses a filmy adhesive (26) comprising the curable adhesive composition (See para [0125] – [0126]) according to claim 2 (discloses by Kawaguchi in view of Nishida) and conductive particles (See para [0135]).
Regarding claim 4, Kawaguchi discloses (Fig. 1 – 4 and 9 – 12) a multilayered wiring board comprising: a first wiring member having a first electrode portion (20); a second wiring member having a second electrode portion (40); and a connection portion containing conductive particles electrically connecting the first electrode portion and the second electrode portion and a resin cured product bonding the first wiring member and the second wiring member (See para [0109] and [0110]), the connection portion being provided between the first wiring member and the second wiring member (See annotated figure below),
Kawaguchi is silent on wherein when a thermal expansion coefficient and a glass transition temperature of the resin cured product are designated as
C
T
E
0
(
p
p
m
/
℃
)
and
T
g
0
(
℃
)
, respectively, the following conditions (A) and (B) are all satisfied: (A)
5
≤
C
T
E
0
≤
270
(B)
140
≤
T
g
0
≤
280
However, Nishida discloses wherein when a thermal expansion coefficient and a glass transition temperature of the resin cured product (7) are designated as
C
T
E
0
(
p
p
m
/
℃
)
and
T
g
0
(
℃
)
, respectively, the following conditions (A) and (B) are all satisfied: (A)
5
≤
C
T
E
0
≤
270
(B)
140
≤
T
g
0
≤
280
(See para [0051], [0053] and [0172])
Kawaguchi and Nishida are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wiring board. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawaguchi to incorporate the teachings of Nishida and provide wherein when a thermal expansion coefficient and a glass transition temperature of the resin cured product (7) are designated as
C
T
E
0
(
p
p
m
/
℃
)
and
T
g
0
(
℃
)
, respectively, the following conditions (A) and (B) are all satisfied: (A)
5
≤
C
T
E
0
≤
270
(B)
140
≤
T
g
0
≤
280
(See para [0051], [0053] and [0172]). Doing so would reduce the thermal stress between the wiring members (para [0051]) and also create a proper temperature cycle (para [0053])
Regarding claim 5, Kawaguchi in view of Nishida discloses an electronic component (See Kawaguchi para [0072], [0094]) comprising the multilayered wiring board according to claim 4.
Conclusion
/SIDI M MAIGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847