DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending.
The foreign priority application No.2021-138091 filed on August 26, 2021 in Japan has been received and it is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anryu et al. (US 2019/0137873), as evidenced by Abdourazak et al. (US 2004/0175644).
With regard to claim 1, Anryu et al. teach a salt of formula (I):
wherein A- represents a counter anion, and a resist composition including the salt of formula (I)(abstract).
The cation of the salt of formula (I) may be represented by the formula:
(par.0056).
A salt of formula (I) above wherein the cation is represented of the formula (I-c-18) is a compound comprising a cation (C0) of formula (c0) in claim 1, wherein nx1=1, nx2=1, X01 is a fluorine atom, X02 is a hydroxyl group, n1=0, n2=0, and n3=0.
A hydroxyl group (-OH) is an electron withdrawing group (see par.0005 of Abdourazak et al.), and a fluorine atom (F) is an electron withdrawing group (see par.0034 of the specification of the instant application).
Anryu et al. further teach that the salt of formula (I) is used as acid generator (par.0210). Therefore, the resist composition meets the limitation of claim 1 for “a resist composition which generates an acid upon light exposure” in claim 1.
The resist composition comprises a resin with an acid-labile group, wherein an acid-labile group is a group which is eliminated by contact with an acid to convert the unit into a unit having a hydroxylic group (par.0262). This means that the solubility of the resist composition in an alkali developing solution is changed due to an action of the acid in claim 1.
Therefore, the resist composition of Anryu et al. anticipates the resist composition in claim 1 of the instant application.
With regard to claim 2, the resin having an acid-labile group, wherein an acid-labile group is a group which is eliminated by contact with an acid to convert the unit into a unit having a hydroxylic group (par.0262 of Anryu et al.) is the claimed “resin component (A1) whose solubility in a developing solution is changed due to the action of an acid”.
Anryu et al. further teach that the salt of formula (I) is used as acid generator (par.0210). This is equivalent to “an acid-generating agent component (B) which generates an acid upon light exposure, wherein the acid-generating agent component (B) contains a compound of General Formula (b0), wherein Mb+ is a cation (C0) and Xb- is a counter anion” in claim 2.
With regard to claim 3, the resin having an acid-labile group, wherein an acid-labile group is a group which is eliminated by contact with an acid to convert the unit into a unit having a hydroxylic group (par.0262 of Anryu et al.) is the claimed “resin component (A1) whose solubility in a developing solution is changed due to the action of an acid”.
A salt of formula (I) above wherein the cation is represented of the formula (I-c-18) is a compound of General Formula (d0), wherein nx1=1, nx2=1, X01 is a fluorine atom, X02 is a hydroxyl group, n1=0, n2=0, n3=0, and Xd- is a counter anion.
A hydroxyl group (-OH) is an electron withdrawing group (see par.0005 of Abdourazak et al.), and a fluorine atom (F) is an electron withdrawing group (see par.0034 of the specification of the instant application).
The salt of formula (I) above wherein the cation is represented of the formula (I-c-18) is a compound of General Formula (d0), so it may function as acid diffusion control agent.
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).. (MPEP 2112.I. SOMETHING WHICH IS OLD DOES NOT BECOME PATENTABLE UPON THE DISCOVERY OF A NEW PROPERTY)
With regard to claim 6, Anryu et al. teach a process comprising the steps of:
-applying the resist composition on a substrate and drying the applied composition to form a composition layer;
-exposing the composition layer to light;
-heating the exposed composition layer; and
-developing the heated composition layer to form a resist pattern (par.0651 and par.0654).
With regard to claims 7 and 8, Anryu et al. teach a salt of formula (I):
wherein A- represents a counter anion (abstract).
The cation of the salt of formula (I) may be represented by the formula:
(par.0056).
A salt of formula (I) above wherein the cation is represented of the formula (I-c-18) is a compound of General Formula (M0) in claim 7, wherein nx1=1, nx2=1, X01 is a fluorine atom, X02 is a hydroxyl group, n1=0, n2=0, n3=0, and X- is a counter anion.
Anryu et al. further teach that the salt of formula (I) is used as acid generator (par.0210). Therefore, a salt of formula (I) above wherein the cation is represented of the formula (I-c-18) is an acid-generating agent comprising a compound of General Formula (B0) in claim 8, wherein nx1=1, nx2=1, X01 is a fluorine atom, X02 is a hydroxyl group, n1=0, n2=0, n3=0, and Xb- is a counter anion.
A hydroxyl group (-OH) is an electron withdrawing group (see par.0005 of Abdourazak et al.), and a fluorine atom (F) is an electron withdrawing group (see par.0034 of the specification of the instant application).
With regard to claim 9, Anryu et al. teach a salt of formula (I):
wherein A- represents a counter anion (abstract).
The cation of the salt of formula (I) may be represented by the formula:
(par.0056).
A salt of formula (I) above wherein the cation is represented of the formula (I-c-18) is a compound of General Formula (D0) in claim 9, wherein nx1=1, nx2=1, X01 is a fluorine atom, X02 is a hydroxyl group, n1=0, n2=0, n3=0, and Xd- is a counter anion.
A hydroxyl group (-OH) is an electron withdrawing group (see par.0005 of Abdourazak et al.), and a fluorine atom (F) is an electron withdrawing group (see par.0034 of the specification of the instant application).
The salt of formula (I) above wherein the cation is represented of the formula (I-c-18) is a compound of General Formula (D0) in claim 9, so it may function as acid diffusion control agent (MPEP 2112.I. SOMETHING WHICH IS OLD DOES NOT BECOME PATENTABLE UPON THE DISCOVERY OF A NEW PROPERTY).
Claims 1, 2, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komuro et al. (JP 2021-151989 A, with attached machine translation).
With regard to claims 1 and 2, Komuro et al. teach a resist composition comprising the resin A-2 and the compound I-734:
(resin A-2 in par.0233, compound I-734 in par.0229, Example 10 in Table 2, par.0236).
The resin A-2 comprises acid-labile groups (par.0096), so the resist composition has the solubility in a developing solution changed due to the action of an acid, as required in claim 1. The resin A-2 is a “resin (A-1) whose solubility in a developing solution changed due to the action of an acid” in claim 2 of the instant application,
The compound I-734 is an acid generator (abstract), so the resist composition generates an acid upon light exposure as required in claim 1.
The compound I-734 comprises a cation (C0) of General Formula (c0) in claim 1 wherein nx1=1, nx2=2, X01 is iodine (I), X02 is fluorine (F), n1=0, n2=0, and n3=0.
Fluorine (F) and iodine (I) atoms are electron-withdrawing groups, as defined in par.0034 of the specification of the instant application.
The compound I-734 is an acid generating agent component (B) of Genera Formula (b0), wherein Mb+ is a cation (C0) and Xb- is a counter anion.
Therefore, the resist composition in Example 10 of Komuro et al. anticipates the resist compositions in claims 1 and 2 of the instant application.
With regard to claim 6, Komuro et al. teach a process comprising the steps of:
-applying the resist composition on a substrate and drying the applied composition to form a composition layer;
-exposing the composition layer to light;
-heating the exposed composition layer; and
-developing the heated composition layer to form a resist pattern (par.0216).
With regard to claims 7 and 8, Komuro et al. teach the compound I-734:
(par.0229).
The compound I-734 is a compound of General Formula (M0) in claim 7, wherein nx1=1, nx2=2, X01 is iodine (I), X02 is fluorine (F), n1=0, n2=0, n3=0, and X- is a counter anion.
The compound I-734 is an acid-generating agent of General Formula (B0) in claim 8, wherein nx1=1, nx2=2, X01 is iodine (I), X02 is fluorine (F), n1=0, n2=0, n3=0, and Xb- is a counter anion.
Fluorine (F) and iodine (I) atoms are electron-withdrawing groups, as defined in par.0034 of the specification of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2021/0116808) in view of Anryu et al. (US 2019/0137873) and as evidenced by Abdourazak et al. (US 2004/0175644).
With regard to claims 1 and 10, Hatakeyama et al. teach a positive resist composition comprising a base polymer comprising a base polymer comprising recurring units (b1) having acid labile group-substituted carboxyl group (abstract). The base polymer may further comprise recurring units of formulas (d2) or (d3):
, wherein RA is a hydrogen atom or methyl, R23-R28 are C1-C20 hydrocarbyl which may contain a heteroatom, R23 and R24 or R26 and R27 may bond together to form a ring with the sulfur atom to which they are attached (par.0019).
The recurring units (d2) and (d3) have the function of acid generator(par.0090).
Therefore, the positive resist composition of Hatakeyama et al. is a “resist composition which generates an acid upon light exposure and whose solubility in a developing solution is due to an action of an acid” in claim 1 of the instant application.
Hatakeyama et al. fail to teach that the repeating units (d2) and (d3) comprise a cation (C0) of General Formula (c0) in claim 1 or a constitutional unit (a0) of General Formula (A0-1) in claim 10.
Anryu et al. teach a salt of formula (I):
wherein A- represents a counter anion such as an organic sulfonic acid anion, and a resist composition including the salt of formula (I) as acid generator (abstract, par.0010, par.0210).The cation of the salt of formula (I) may be represented by the formula:
(par.0056).
The cation of formula (I-c-18) of Anryu et al. is a cation of formula:
in the repeating unit (d2) of Hatakeyama et al. wherein R23 and R24 are bonded to form a ring, and R25 is a C6 hydrocarbon group substituted with a fluorine atom (F) and a hydroxyl group (-OH), and a cation of formula:
in the repeating unit (d3) of Hatakeyama et al. wherein R26 and R27 are bonded to form a ring, and R28 is a C6 hydrocarbon group substituted with a fluorine atom (F) and a hydroxyl group (-OH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use a cation of formula (I-c-18) of Anryu et al. as the cation in the repeating units (d2) and (d3) of Hatakeyama et al.
Therefore, the repeating units (d2) and (d3) of Hatakeyama modified by Anryu comprise a cation (C0) of formula (c0) in claim 1, wherein nx1=1, nx2=1, X01 is a fluorine atom, X02 is a hydroxyl group, n1=0, n2=0, and n3=0.
The repeating units (d2) and (d3) of Hatakeyama modified by Anryu are constitutional units (a0) of General Formula (A0-1) in claim 10, wherein R is hydrogen or methyl (alkyl group with 1 carbon atom), Rx0 is a group having an anion, nx1=1, nx2=1, X01 is a fluorine atom, X02 is a hydroxyl group, n1=0, n2=0, and n3=0.
A hydroxyl group (-OH) is an electron withdrawing group (see par.0005 of Abdourazak et al.), and a fluorine atom (F) is an electron withdrawing group (see par.0034 of the specification of the instant application).
With regard to claim 4, the repeating units (d2) and (d3) of Hatakeyama modified by Anryu are constitutional units (a0) of General formula (a0-1) wherein R is hydrogen or methyl (alkyl group with 1 carbon atom), Rx0 is a group having an anion, Ma+ is a cation of formula (C0).
With regard to claim 5, Hatakeyama et al. teach that the base polymer comprises recurring units (b1) having acid labile group-substituted carboxyl group (abstract).
With regard to claim 6, Hatakeyama et al. teach a process comprising the steps of:
-applying the resist composition on a substrate and drying the applied composition to form a composition layer;
-exposing the composition layer to light;
-heating the exposed composition layer; and
-developing the heated composition layer to form a resist pattern (par.0161-0164).
Conclusion
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722