DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II, claims 1-8, 10 in the reply filed on 5/22/26 is acknowledged. Claim 9 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 C.F.R. 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 7/12/24; 5/22/26 have been considered.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration filed on 2/16/24 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaVoie et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0308695) in view of Mohanty et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0329207).
LaVoie et al. teaches introducing a spacer material precursor and oxygen-containing reactant and igniting a first plasma to simultaneously remove the sacrificial layer and deposit a spacer material on the exposed surfaces of the mandrel (see figure 4a-4c).
However, the reference does not clearly teach depositing a sacrificial layer directly on exposed surfaces of a mandrel on a semiconductor substrate (in claim 1), the sacrificial layer is deposited conformally (in claim 4), the sacrificial layer is deposited to preferentially deposit thicker sacrificial layer material at or near the top of the mandrel than a bottom of the mandrel (in claim 5).
Referring to figures 1-12, Mohanty et al. teaches a method for processing substrates, the method comprising:
depositing a sacrificial layer (135) directly on exposed surfaces of a mandrel (130) on a semiconductor substrate (see paragraph# 15, figures 1-3, meeting claim 1), the sacrificial layer is deposited conformally (see figures 3, 8, meeting claim 4), the sacrificial layer is deposited to preferentially deposit thicker sacrificial layer material at or near the top of the mandrel than a bottom of the mandrel (see figures 3, meeting claim 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would depositing a sacrificial layer directly on exposed surfaces of a mandrel on a semiconductor substrate in LaVoie et al. as taught by Mohanty et al. because the process is known in the art to reduce multi-patterning costs.
Regarding to claim 2, the sacrificial layer comprises carbon (425, see figures 4a-4b).
Regarding to claim 3, the sacrificial layer is deposited by plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition (see paragraph# 32).
Regarding to claim 6, the sacrificial layer has a density less than a density of the mandrel (see paragraph# 53).
Regarding to claim 7, the sacrificial layer has a modulus less than a modulus of the mandrel (see paragraph# 53).
Regarding to claim 8, the sacrificial layer is deposited using a carbon- containing precursor (see paragraph# 32).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldasseroni et al (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0138036).
Baldasseroni et al. teaches a method for processing substrates, the method comprising:
providing a semiconductor substrate (102);
depositing one or more layers of spacer material (125) on the semiconductor substrate using atomic layer deposition, wherein atomic layer deposition is performed in cycles, a cycle comprising exposing the semiconductor substrate to a deposition precursor to adsorb the deposition precursor to a surface of the substrate to form an adsorbed deposition precursor and converting the adsorbed deposition precursor to spacer material using a first plasma ignited (see paragraph# 44-45) using a plasma power of less than about 500W; and
after at least one cycle atomic layer deposition, exposing the spacer material to a second plasma at a plasma energy of greater than about 25000J to form a densified spacer material (see paragraph# 57).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the specific plasma power and plasma energy.
In re claim 10, the specific plasma power and plasma energy is obvious because it is a matter of determining optimum process condition by routine experimentation with a limited number of species. ln re Jones, 162 USPQ 224 (CCPA 1955) (the selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious) and In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in a known process is obvious). In such a situation, applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to prior art range. See M.P.E.P 2144.05 III. In particular, Baldasseroni et al. suggests that the specific plasma power and plasma energy can be optimized (see tables 1-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was filed would form the spacer with specific plasma power and plasma energy in Baldasseroni et al. because choosing an optimum power and energy is known in the semiconductor art to form a conformal thickness layer.
Conclusion
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893