DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This office action is responsive to applicant’s amendment filed on 05/26/2026. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-21 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 5, 8 have been cancelled. Claims 13-14 are withdrawn claims. Claim 21 is new claim.
The applicant’s amendment raises new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 112(b), 112(d) and 103 as discussed below.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, 15-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The previous provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection based on copending application 18/370,486 is changed to nonstatutory double patenting rejection with respect to US Patent No. 12,692,414 B2 because application 18/370,486 now become US Patent No. 12,692,414 B2. Since, the applicants fail to point out the supposed errors in the double patenting rejection, the examiner still maintained the nonstatutory double patenting rejection with respect to US Patent No. 12,692,414 B2.
The applicant’s amendment necessitates new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 112(b), 112(d) and 103 as discussed below.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The phrase “poly alcohol (PVA)” in line 3 of claim 21 appears to be a typo for “polyvinyl alcohol (PVA)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-2, 4, 9-11, 15-16, 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,692,414 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of the current application is a combination of claims in US 12,692,414 B1. Specifically, claim 1 of the current application is the combination of claims 9 and 13 of US 12,692,414 B2.
The following table will match the claims of current application vs. US 12,692,414 B2
18/684,991 Claims US 12,692,414 B2 Claims
1 9 and 13
2 12
4 8
9 14
10 15
11 2
15 8
16 9
19 13
20 2
8. Claims 3, 6-7, 17-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 8-9, 12-15 of US Patent No. 12,692,414 B2 in view of Kamimura (WO 2019/181,399 A1) English translation is provided via Kamimura (US 2020/0354609 A1). Note: All paragraph numbers cited below are based on US 2020/0354609 A1.
As to claim 3, US Patent No 12,692,414 B2 claims 1 and 12 fail to disclose a pH is 2 or more and 4 or less. However, US Patent No 12,692,414 B2 claim 12 clearly discloses the pH is 6 or less. Kamimura discloses a pH between 2-6, preferably 2 to 5, including example of pH = 3 or 4 (abstract, paragraph 0138, Table 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify US Patent No 12,692,414 B2 in view of Kamimura by having a pH between 2 to 4 because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
As to claims 6 and 17, US Patent No 12,692,414 B2 claim 1 fails to disclose the composition comprises a defect reducing agent. As to claims 6 and 17, Kamimura discloses the composition further comprises a defect reducing agent to inhibit generation of defect (paragraph 0041, 0055, 0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify US Patent No 12,692,414 B2 claim 1 in view of Kamimura by using defect reducing agent because it will enhance the polishing process by inhibiting generation of defect (See paragraph 0041).
As to claims 7 and 18, US Patent No 12,692,414 B2 claim 1 fails to disclose the abrasive have a secondary particle diameter of 20 nm or more and 80 nm or less. However, US Patent No 12,692,414 B2 claim 15 clearly disclose to use colloidal silica. As to claims 7 and 18, Kamimura discloses the average primary particle size is between 15 nm to 100 nm, preferably 20 nm or more (See paragraph 0045). Kamimura further discloses degree of association is between 1 to 3, more preferably 1.5 to 2.5 (paragraph 0052), wherein
degree of association = average secondary particle size/average primary particle size (See paragraph 0053).
Base on the formula disclosed by Kamimura, any person can calculate the average secondary particle size using the following formula as shown below which is derived from Kamimura’s formula:
Average secondary particle size = degree of association * average primary particle size.
When the degree of association = 1 and average primary particle size = 20 nm, then
Average secondary particle size = degree of association * average primary particle size.
= 1 * 20 = 20 nm
When the degree of association = 1.5 and average primary particle size = 20 nm, then
Average secondary particle size = degree of association * average primary particle size.
= 1.5 * 20 = 30 nm
When the degree of association = 2.5 and average primary particle size = 20 nm, then
Average secondary particle size = degree of association * average primary particle size.
= 2.5 * 20 = 50 nm
When the degree of association = 3 and average primary particle size = 20 nm, then
Average secondary particle size = degree of association * average primary particle size.
= 3 * 20 = 60 nm
When the degree of association = 2.5 and average primary particle size = 15 nm, then
Average secondary particle size = degree of association * average primary particle size.
= 2.5 * 15 = 37.5 nm
When the degree of association = 3 and average primary particle size = 15 nm, then
Average secondary particle size = degree of association *average primary particle size.
= 3 * 15 = 45 nm
Therefore, Kamimura implicitly discloses the abrasives have the secondary particles size/diameter of 20 nm, 30 nm, 37.5 nm, 45 nm, 50 nm, or 60 nm (within applicant’s range of 20 nm to 80 nm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify US Patent No 12,692,414 B2 in view of Kamimura by having a secondary particle diameter of 20 nm or more and 80 nm or less because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claims 4, 9-10, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 depends on claim 1. In claim 1, applicants recite “wherein the cationic surfactant contains dimethyl amine oxide” (emphasis added). In claim 4, applicants recite “wherein the cationic surfactant contains amine oxide”. The limitation “amine oxide” in claim 4 is broader than “dimethyl amine oxide” as recited in claim 1. Once the applicants recite wherein the cationic surfactant contains dimethyl amine oxide” in claim 1, applicants cannot broaden the claim by reciting “wherein the cationic surfactant contains amine oxide” in dependent claim 4.
Claim 9 is indefinite because it depends on canceled claim 8.
Claim 10 is indefinite because it depends on canceled claim 8
Claim 15 indirectly depends on claim 1. In claim 1, applicants recite “wherein the cationic surfactant contains dimethyl amine oxide” (emphasis added). In claim 15, applicants recites recite “wherein the cationic surfactant contains amine oxide”. The limitation “amine oxide” in claim 15 is broader than “dimethyl amine oxide” as recited in claim 1. Once the applicants recite wherein the cationic surfactant contains dimethyl amine oxide” in claim 1, applicants cannot broaden the claim by reciting “wherein the cationic surfactant contains amine oxide” in dependent claim 15.
12. Claims 16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
In claim 16 depends on claim 2, and claim 2 depends on claim 1. Therefore, claim 16 indirectly depends on claim 1. In claim 1, the applicants recite “wherein the cationic surfactant contains dimethyl amine oxide”. Therefore, the limitation “wherein the cationic surfactant contains dimethyl amine oxide” in claim 16 fails to further limitation the subject matter of claim 1 and/or claim 2.
In claim 19 depends on claim 2, and claim 2 depends on claim 1. Therefore, claim 19 indirectly depends on claim 1. In claim 1, the applicants recite “wherein the abrasive contains anion-modified silica”. Therefore, the limitation “wherein the abrasive contains anion-modified silica” in claim 19 fails to further limitation the subject matter of claim 1 and/or claim 2.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamato (US 2017/0081552), herein after refer as Yamato (‘552) in view of Tsuchiya (WO 2019/049610 A1).
Note:
As to claim 1, Yamato (‘552) discloses a polishing comprising:
abrasive having a zeta potential of -10 mV or less or -15 mV or less (paragraph 0041, within applicant’s range of “-5 mV or less”);
a cationic surfactant (paragraph 0088, 0090)
wherein the cationic surfactant contains
As to claim 1, Yamato (‘552) fails to disclose the wherein the cationic surfactant contains dimethyl amine oxide. However, Yamato (‘552) clearly discloses the cationic surfactant comprises alkyl amine salt or amphoteric surfactant comprises alkylamine oxide (paragraph 0090-0091; Note: Amphoteric surfactant comprises both cationic ion anionic ion. Therefore, amphoteric surfactant read on cationic surfactant; See evidence reference Sanyo Chemical, “Introduction of Amphoteric Surfactant” via https://sanyo-chemical-solutions.com/technology/2024/08/102502/ ).
Tsuchiya teaches a polishing composition comprises cationic surfactant includes alkylamine salts, or lauryl dimethyl amine oxide (paragraph 0060, read on applicant’s limitation dimethyl amine oxide). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yamato (‘552) in view of Tsuchiya by using cationic surfactant contains dimethyl amine oxide because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
As to claim 2, Yamato (‘552) discloses a pH is 6 or lower (abstract, paragraph 0018-0019; 0044, 0072; within applicant’s range of “7 or less).
As to claim 3, Yamato (‘552) discloses the pH is 4 or lower (paragraph 0072, read on applicant’s range of 2 or more and 4 or less).
As to claim 4, Yamato (‘552) discloses the cationic surfactant contains amine oxide (See paragraph 0091; Note: alkyl amine oxide in Yamato (‘552) read on applicant’s limitation “amine oxide”).
As to claim 6, Yamato (‘552) discloses the composition a defect reducing agent (i.e. reduce scratches, paragraph 0049, 0054, 0057, 0096; e.g. polyvinyl alcohol or polyacrylic acid; or polystyrene sulfonic acid).
As to claim 7, Yamato (‘552) discloses the abrasive have a secondary particle diameter of 80 nm or less (paragraph 0047).
As to claim 9, Yamato (‘552) discloses the silica is silica having surface on which the organic acid is immobilized (See paragraph 0037-0041, 0058).
As to claim 10, Yamato (‘552) discloses the silica is colloidal silica (See paragraph 0035-0038; 0058).
As to claim 11, Yamato (‘552) discloses the polishing composition is used in application of polishing an object to be polished containing a silicon nitride film (See Table 1, paragraph 0129).
As to claim 15, Yamato (‘552) discloses the cationic surfactant contains amine oxide (See paragraph 0091).
As to claim 16, Yamato (‘552) fails to disclose the wherein the cationic surfactant contains dimethyl amine oxide. However, Yamato (‘552) clearly discloses the cationic surfactant comprises alkyl amine salt or amphoteric surfactant comprises alkylamine oxide (paragraph 0090-0091; Note: Amphoteric surfactant comprises both cationic ion anionic ion. Therefore, amphoteric surfactant read on cationic surfactant; See evidence reference Sanyo Chemical, “Introduction of Amphoteric Surfactant” via https://sanyo-chemical-solutions.com/technology/2024/08/102502/ ).
Tsuchiya teaches a polishing composition comprises cationic surfactant includes alkylamine salts, or lauryl dimethyl amine oxide (paragraph 0060, read on applicant’s limitation dimethyl amine oxide). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yamato (‘552) in view of Tsuchiya by using cationic surfactant contains dimethyl amine oxide because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
As to claim 17, Yamato (‘552) discloses the composition a defect reducing agent (agent to reduce scratch, e.g. polyvinyl alcohol or polyacrylic acid; or polystyrene sulfonic acid; See paragraph 0049, 0054, 0057; 0096).
As to claim 18, Yamato (‘552) discloses the abrasive have a secondary particle diameter of 80 nm or less (paragraph 0047).
As to claim 19, Yamato (‘552) discloses the abrasive contains anion-modified silica (paragraph 0035-0041; silica particle modified with sulfonic acid or carboxylic acid).
As to claim 20, Yamato (‘552) discloses the polishing composition is used in application of polishing an object to be polished containing a silicon nitride film (See Table 1, paragraph 0129).
As to claim 21, Yamato (‘552) discloses the polishing composition further contains a defect reducing agent including at least one selected from poly alcohol (PVA), polyacrylic acid, polystyrene sulfonic acid (See paragraph 0096).
17. Claim 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (WO 2021/095412 A1), English transition via Yamada et al. (US 2022/0389280 A1) in view of Tsuchiya (WO 2019/049610 A1).
Note:
Note: All paragraphs number cited below in Yamada reference are based on Yamada et al. (US 2022/0389280 A1).
As to claim 1, Yamada discloses a polishing comprising:
abrasive having a zeta potential of -10 mV or less (paragraph 0036, within applicant’s range of “-5 mV or less”);
a cationic surfactant (paragraph 0058-0059)
wherein the cationic surfactant contains -M+; Note: COO- is an anion).
As to claim 1, Yamada fails to disclose the wherein the cationic surfactant contains dimethyl amine oxide. However, Yamada clearly discloses the cationic surfactant comprises aliphatic alkyl amine salt (paragraph 0059). Tsuchiya teaches a polishing composition comprises cationic surfactant includes alkylamine salts, or lauryl dimethyl amine oxide (paragraph 0060, read on applicant’s limitation dimethyl amine oxide). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yamada in view of Tsuchiya by using cationic surfactant contains dimethyl amine oxide because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
As to claim 2, Yamada discloses a pH is 2 or more and 5 or less; more preferably 2 or more and 4 or less (paragraph 0072-0073, within applicant’s range of “7 or less).
As to claim 3, Yamada discloses a pH is 2 or more and 4 or less (paragraph 0072-0073).
As to claim 4, Yamada fails to disclose the wherein the cationic surfactant contains amine oxide. However, Yamada clearly discloses the cationic surfactant comprises aliphatic alkyl amine salt (paragraph 0059). Tsuchiya teaches a polishing composition comprises cationic surfactant includes alkylamine salts, or lauryl dimethyl amine oxide (paragraph 0060, read on applicant’s limitation “amine oxide”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yamada in view of Tsuchiya by using cationic surfactant contains amine oxide because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
As to claim 6, Yamada discloses the composition comprises a defect reducing agent (i.e. polyacrylic acid; poly vinyl alcohol; See paragraph 0063; 0167; Table 1 Example 9).
As to claim 7, Yamada discloses the abrasive have a secondary particle diameter of 30 nm or more (lower limit value); and 70 nm or less (upper limit value) (See paragraph 0035; within applicant’s range of 20 nm or more and 80 nm or less).
As to claim 9, Yamada discloses the silica is silica having surface on which the organic acid is immobilized (See paragraph 0031, the functional group in general formula (1) is fixed on the surface thereof of silica via covalent bond).
As to claim 10, Yamada discloses the silica is colloidal silica (See paragraph 0033, 0103).
As to claim 11, Yamada discloses the polishing composition is used in application of polishing an object to be polished containing a silicon nitride film (See paragraph 0077).
As to claim 15, Yamada fails to disclose the cationic surfactant contain amine oxide. However, Yamada clearly discloses the cationic surfactant comprises aliphatic alkyl amine salt (paragraph 0059). Tsuchiya teaches a polishing composition comprises cationic surfactant includes alkylamine salts, or lauryl dimethyl amine oxide (paragraph 0060, read on applicant’s limitation “amine oxide”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yamada in view of Tsuchiya by using cationic surfactant contains amine oxide because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
As to claim 16, Yamada fails to disclose the wherein the cationic surfactant contains dimethyl amine oxide. However, Yamada clearly discloses the cationic surfactant comprises aliphatic alkyl amine salt (paragraph 0059). Tsuchiya teaches a polishing composition comprises cationic surfactant includes alkylamine salts, or lauryl dimethyl amine oxide (paragraph 0060, read on applicant’s limitation dimethyl amine oxide). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Yamada in view of Tsuchiya by using cationic surfactant contains dimethyl amine oxide because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
As to claim 17, Yamada discloses the composition a defect reducing agent (i.e. polyvinyl alcohol; or polyacrylic acid; See paragraph 0063, 0168, Table 1 Example 9).
As to claim 18, Yamada discloses the abrasive have a secondary particle diameter of 30 nm or more (lower limit value); and 70 nm or less (upper limit value) (See paragraph 0035; within applicant’s range of 20 nm or more and 80 nm or less).
As to claim 19, Yamada discloses the abrasive contains anion-modified silica (paragraph 0026-0034).
As to claim 20, Yamada discloses the polishing composition is used in application of polishing an object to be polished containing a silicon nitride film (See paragraph 0077).
As to claim 21, Yamada discloses the polishing composition further contains a defect reducing agent including at least one selected from poly alcohol (PVA), polyacrylic acid (see paragraph 0063, 0168, Table 1 example 9).
Conclusion
18. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713