DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as amended/presented in the response received [date response was filed], is as follows:
- Claims 1-4, 6-15 are pending.
- Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 13, 14 have been amended.
- Claim 15 has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (see remarks filed 12/4/2025) with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 14 under 35 USC 102 and/or 103 or the applicability of the prior art references to the claims as amended have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the US Patent No. 9,097,740 by Kister.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4, 6-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
- In claim 1, line 14, the recitation “between the first metal portions” lack antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will consider the claim as reciting “between metal layers of the first metal portion”
Claims 2-4 and 6-13 are also objected as they inherit the deficiencies in claim 1 note above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US Patent Application Publication PGPub 2019/0064215 by Park (Park hereafter) in view of the US Patent US 9,097,740 by Kister, (Kister hereafter).
In terms of claim(s) 1, Park teaches in Figure(s) 2, an electro-conductive contact pin comprising:
a first plunger (110) positioned at a first end side of the electro-conductive contact pin and having an end serving as a first contact point;
a second plunger (130) positioned at a second side of the electro-conductive contact pin and having an end serving as a second contact point; and
an elastic portion (120) having a repetitive bending pattern and configured to elastically displace the first plunger and the second plunger in a length direction of the electro-conductive contact pin,
wherein the second plunger comprises a first metal portion (conductive plating layers 100A-100E within 130, see paragraph 0027);
wherein the first metal portion is provided by stacking a plurality of metal layer in a thickness direction of the second plunger (as illustrated in Figure 2, the layers are alternately stacked – see paragraph 0029, lines 1-3).
Park substantially teaches all of the elements disclosed above, except for the second plunger comprising a second metal portion in contact with a side surface of the first metal portion, wherein the first metal portion surrounds at least three side surfaces of the second metal portion, wherein in a widthwise cross-section of the second plunger, the second metal portion is positioned between the first metal portions.
Kister teaches in Figure 39, a multilayered probe tip comprising a first metal portion (4002+4004+4002 made of NiCo and Cu - see col. 19, lines 21-47) and a second metal portion (4006 made of harder metals such as Rh or Cr), the second metal portion in contact with a side surface of the first metal portion (sides of 4002 facing 4006), wherein the first metal portion surrounds at least three side surface of the second metal portion (4006 is surrounded on the left side, right side and top side by the first metal portion 4002+4004+4002), wherein in a widthwise cross-section of the probe tip, the second metal portion (4006) is positioned between the first metal portions, and the second metal portion is provided by a single metal layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to apply the teaching of second metal portions in probe tips as taught by Kister, and include a second metal portion surrounded and held in place by the first metal portion layers of the second plunger in Park’s probe, in order to provide a harder contacting material (compared to the flexible materials making up the rest of the probe) that increases durability and resist abrasion.
As to claim(s) 2, Park in view of Kister teaches in Figure(s) 2, wherein in a width direction of the second plunger (direction of the stacking of the first metal portions 100A-100E), the first metal portions are respectively positioned on left and right sides of the second metal portion (as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, including a second metal portion as taught by Kister would the first metal portions positioned on left and right sides of the second metal portion).
Although Kister doesn’t explicitly mention a width preference for the second metal portion, a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed, would have found it obvious to resize the second metal portion so as to be wider than any of its surrounding first metal portions in order to meet a manufacturing requirement, a design standard, or simply to include more of the harder metal in the probe, making it more durable. It has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
As to claim 3, Park in view of Kister teaches wherein the first metal portion (100A-100E) is provided by stacking at least three metal layers, and the second metal portion (4006 as taught by Kister) is in contact with the first metal portion at least one interface (see the rejection of claim 1 above where it’s explained the combination yields a second metal portion is surrounded by the first metal portion).
As to claim 4, Kister teaches that a side surface of the second metal portion (surface of 4006 facing away from the probe body – Figure 39 of Kister) not surrounded by the first metal portion serves as the second contact point.
As to claim 6, Kister teaches that the single metal layer constituting the second metal portion (4006) is made of a material (Rh or Cr) different from that of a metal layer constituting the first metal portion (4002+4004+4002, made of NiCo or Cu - see col. 19, lines 21-47).
As to claim(s) 7, Park teaches in Figure(s) 2, the first plunger (110) and the elastic portion (120) are provided by stacking a plurality of metal layers the same as a metal layer constituting the first metal portion.
As to claim 11, Park teaches the elastic portion (120) has a uniform cross-sectional shape in a thickness direction of the electro-conductive contact pin, and the elastic portion has a uniform thickness throughout.
As to claim(s) 13, Park teaches in Figure(s) 2, the electro-conductive contact pin of claim 1, wherein the elastic portion (120) comprises:
a first elastic portion (a first of the elastic plating layers within 100A-100E in the elastic portion 120) connected to the first plunger (110);
a second elastic portion (a second of the elastic plating layers within 100A-100E in the elastic portion 120) connected to the second plunger (130); and
an intermediate fixing portion (a first of the conductive plating layers within 100A-100E in the elastic portion 120) connected to the first elastic portion and the second elastic portion between the first elastic portion and the second elastic portion (the plating layers 100A-100E comprise elastic plating layers and conductive plating layers alternately stacked, see paragraph 0029, lines 1-3) and provided integrally with a support portion (a second of the conductive plating layers within 100A-100E in the elastic portion 120).
Claim(s) 1, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US Patent US 10,877,067 by Chen et al., (Chen hereafter) in view of Park.
In terms of claim(s) 1 and 8, Chen teaches in Figure(s) 6A-6B, an electro-conductive contact pin comprising:
a first plunger (202T) positioned at a first end side of the electro-conductive contact pin and having an end (248) serving as a first contact point;
a second plunger (202B) positioned at a second side of the electro-conductive contact pin and having an end serving as a second contact point;
an elastic portion (206) having a repetitive bending pattern and configured to elastically displace the first plunger and the second plunger in a length direction of the electro-conductive contact pin; and
a support portion (sheath 204) configured to guide the elastic portion to be compressed and extended in the length direction of the electro-conductive contact pin and configured to prevent the elastic portion from being buckled when compressed, is provided outside the elastic portion along the length direction of the electro-conductive contact pin.
Chen substantially teaches all of the elements disclosed above, except for explicitly mentioning the second plunger comprises a first metal portion and a second metal portion, and the second metal portion is in contact with a side surface of the first metal portion, wherein the first metal portion surrounds at least three side surfaces of the second metal portion, wherein in a widthwise cross-section of the second plunger, the second metal portion is positioned between the first metal portions and wherein the first metal portion is provided by stacking a plurality of metal layers in a thickness direction of the second plunger, the second metal portion being provided by a single metal layer
Kister teaches in Figure 39, a multilayered probe tip comprising a first metal portion (4002+4004+4002 made of NiCo and Cu - see col. 19, lines 21-47) and a second metal portion (4006 made of harder metals such as Rh or Cr), the second metal portion in contact with a side surface of the first metal portion (sides of 4002 facing 4006), wherein the first metal portion surrounds at least three side surface of the second metal portion (4006 is surrounded on the left side, right side and top side by the first metal portion 4002+4004+4002, wherein in a widthwise cross-section of the probe tip, the second metal portion (4006) is positioned between the first metal portions, and the second metal portion is provided by a single metal layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to apply the teaching of second metal portions in probe tips as taught by Kister, and construct Chen’s second plunger using with a first and second metal portions, with the first metal portion constructed of a plurality of layers and the second metal between the first metal portion layer, in order to provide a harder contacting material (compared to the flexible materials making up the rest of the probe) that increases durability and resist abrasion.
As to claim(s) 9, Chen teaches in Figure(s) 2, an actual width of a plate constituting the support portion is equal to an actual width of a plate constituting the elastic portion. As illustrated for example in Figure 8A and 8C, the sheath 204 comprises four sides or “plates” surrounding the elastic portion. The width of top and bottom plates is the same as the width of the plate constituting the elastic portion.
As to claim(s) 10, Chen teaches in Figure(s) 2, the electro-conductive contact pin of claim 8, wherein the first plunger (202T), the second plunger (202B), the elastic portion (206), and the support portion (sheath 204) are integrally connected to each other to form a body (the body of probe unit 200).
Although Chen teaches the recited parts as mentioned above, it doesn’t explicitly mention that the parts form an integral single body. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to design the parts as one piece (single unit) by for example, allow a connection of the elastic portion to the support portion (sheath) midway along the length of the elastic portion, in order to secure the elastic portion in place and allow a better alignment of the elastic portion with respect to the support potion. Moreover, it has been held that the use of a one-piece construction instead of separate pieces would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice, In reLarson:
In reLarson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.”).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kister and further in view of the US Patent Application Publication PGPub 2002/0048973 by Zhou et al., (Zhou hereafter).
In terms of claim(s) 14, Chen teaches in Figure(s) 20-21C, a vertical probe card that is used in a test process of testing a chip manufactured on a wafer during a semiconductor manufacturing process and is capable of coping with a narrower pitch, the vertical probe card comprising:
a space transformer having a connection pad (not explicitly shown in the Figures but discussed in col. 12, lines 49-56);
an electro-conductive contact pin (shown in detail in Figures 6A-6B, element 200), wherein the electro-conductive contact pin comprises:
a first plunger (202T) positioned at a first end side of the electro-conductive contact pin and having an end (248) serving as a first contact point;
a second plunger (202B) positioned at a second side of the electro-conductive contact pin and having an end serving as a second contact point;
an elastic portion (206) having a repetitive bending pattern and configured to elastically displace the first plunger and the second plunger in a length direction of the electro-conductive contact pin.
Chen substantially teaches all of the elements disclosed above, except for explicitly mentioning the second plunger comprises a first metal portion and a second metal portion, and the second metal portion is in contact with a side surface of the first metal portion, wherein the first metal portion surrounds at least three side surfaces of the second metal portion, wherein in a widthwise cross-section of the second plunger, the second metal portion is positioned between the first metal portions and wherein the first metal portion is provided by stacking a plurality of metal layers in a thickness direction of the second plunger, the second metal portion being provided by a single metal layer
Kister teaches in Figure 39, a multilayered probe tip comprising a first metal portion (4002+4004+4002 made of NiCo and Cu - see col. 19, lines 21-47) and a second metal portion (4006 made of harder metals such as Rh or Cr), the second metal portion in contact with a side surface of the first metal portion (sides of 4002 facing 4006), wherein the first metal portion surrounds at least three side surface of the second metal portion (4006 is surrounded on the left side, right side and top side by the first metal portion 4002+4004+4002, wherein in a widthwise cross-section of the probe tip, the second metal portion (4006) is positioned between the first metal portions, and the second metal portion is provided by a single metal layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to apply the teaching of second metal portions in probe tips as taught by Kister, and construct Chen’s second plunger using with a first and second metal portions, with the first metal portion constructed of a plurality of layers and the second metal between the first metal portion layer, in order to provide a harder contacting material (compared to the flexible materials making up the rest of the probe) that increases durability and resist abrasion.
Finally, Chen in view of Kister teaches all of the elements disclosed above, except for explicitly mentioning a guide plate provided under the space transformer, the electro-conductive contact pin installed into a hole of the guide plate. Zhou teaches in Figure 5, a guide plate (22+24) configured to hold flexible contact elements (37). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to apply the teaching of guide plates as taught by Zhou, in the device/system/method of Chen, in order to gain the advantage of alignment of the contact pins with respect to the contacting surface.
As to claim 15, Chen shows in Figure 6A-6B, a support portion (sheath 204) configured to guide the elastic portion to be compressed and extended in the length direction of the electro-conductive contact pin and configured to prevent the elastic portion from being buckled when compressed, is provided outside the elastic portion along the length direction of the electro-conductive contact pin).
Chen doesn’t mention a locking portion configured to allow the support portion (212C) to be caught and fixed to the guide plate. Zhou however, teaches the use of locking portions (34) configured to allow the flexible contact element (37) to be locked with respect to the guide plate (22+24).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to apply the teaching of locking portions as taught by Zhou, and add a locking structure to the surface of the support portion in the device/system/method of Chen in view of Kister, in order to gain the advantage of securing the contact elements in place, preventing their accidental removal.
Claim(s) 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by the US Patent Application Publication PGPub 2012/0187971 by Huang et al., (Huang hereafter) in view of Kister.
In terms of claim(s) 1 and 12, Huang teaches in Figure(s) 3-5, an electro-conductive contact pin comprising:
a first plunger (21) positioned at a first end side of the electro-conductive contact pin and having an end serving as a first contact point;
a second plunger (22) positioned at a second side of the electro-conductive contact pin and having an end serving as a second contact point;
an elastic portion (23) having a repetitive bending pattern and configured to elastically displace the first plunger and the second plunger in a length direction of the electro-conductive contact pin;
wherein the second plunger (22) comprises a first metal portion (portion making up the contacting tip of 22), and
wherein a fine trench (formed by the space created between first and second portions 2, where there doesn’t exist a portion of the intermediate layer 3 in-between, as illustrated in Figure 5) is provided in a side surface of each of the first plunger, the second plunger, and the elastic portion.
Huang substantially teaches all of the elements disclosed above, except for explicitly mentioning the second plunger comprises a second metal portion, and the second metal portion is in contact with a side surface of the first metal portion, wherein the first metal portion surrounds at least three side surfaces of the second metal portion, wherein in a widthwise cross-section of the second plunger, the second metal portion is positioned between the first metal portions and wherein the first metal portion is provided by stacking a plurality of metal layers in a thickness direction of the second plunger, the second metal portion being provided by a single metal layer.
Kister teaches in Figure 39, a multilayered probe tip comprising a first metal portion (4002+4004+4002 made of NiCo and Cu - see col. 19, lines 21-47) and a second metal portion (4006 made of harder metals such as Rh or Cr), the second metal portion in contact with a side surface of the first metal portion (sides of 4002 facing 4006), wherein the first metal portion surrounds at least three side surface of the second metal portion (4006 is surrounded on the left side, right side and top side by the first metal portion 4002+4004+4002, wherein in a widthwise cross-section of the probe tip, the second metal portion (4006) is positioned between the first metal portions, and the second metal portion is provided by a single metal layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to apply the teaching of second metal portions in probe tips as taught by Kister, and construct Huang’s second plunger using with a first and second metal portions, with the first metal portion constructed of a plurality of layers and the second metal between the first metal portion layer, in order to provide a harder contacting material (compared to the flexible materials making up the rest of the probe) that increases durability and resist abrasion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD ISLA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 January 8, 2026