DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 and 18-20 in the reply filed on January 6, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 15-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki (US20130029489).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a polishing liquid (polishing slurry, abstract), comprising: abrasive grains containing cerium oxide (paragraph 0024) and an ammonium salt (ammonium persulfate, paragraphs 0045 and 0047), wherein a pH is 9.00 or more (paragraph 0024).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Suzuki discloses wherein a content of the ammonium salt is 0.5% by mass (Example 8, Table 1).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki discloses the polishing liquid further comprising ammonia (paragraphs 0030 and 0032).
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki discloses wherein the pH is 10 (Example 8, Table 1).
Regarding claim 19, Suzuki discloses wherein a content of the ammonium salt is 1000 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the abrasive grains (Example 8, Table 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Suzuki (US20130029489) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kitamura et al. (US20240263039).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki is silent about wherein the ammonium salt includes ammonium carbonate. However, Suzuki disclosed that the polishing composition comprises a pH adjusting agent such as potassium hydroxide (paragraph 0038). In addition, Kitamura teaches that both potassium hydroxide and ammonium carbonate are known pH adjusting agents for a polishing composition (paragraph 0102). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute potassium hydroxide in the polishing composition of Suzuki with ammonium carbonate, which is a known equivalent pH adjusting agent as taught by Kitamura, with a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is obvious. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki discloses wherein the ammonium salt includes ammonium persulfate (paragraph 0047).
Claims 1-2, 6-7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kitamura et al. (US20240263039).
Regarding claim 1, Kitamura discloses a polishing liquid (polishing composition, abstract), comprising: abrasive grains containing cerium oxide (paragraph 0071) and an ammonium salt (ammonium carbonate, paragraph 0077), wherein a pH is 9.00 or more (paragraph 0024), which overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 2, Kitamura discloses wherein the ammonium salt includes ammonium carbonate (paragraph 0077).
Regarding claim 6, Kitamura discloses the polishing liquid further comprising an ether compound having a hydroxy group (polyethylene glycol, paragraph 0080).
Regarding claim 7, Kitamura discloses wherein the ether compound includes an alkoxy alcohol (polyethylene glycol, paragraph 0080).
Regarding claim 10, Kitamura discloses wherein the ether compound includes a compound having two or more hydroxy groups (polyethylene glycol, paragraph 0080).
Regarding claim 11, Kitamura discloses wherein the ether compound further includes a polyether (polyethylene glycol, paragraph 0080).
Claims 1, 5-9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kondo et al. (US20200369918).
Regarding claim 1, Kondo discloses a polishing liquid (abstract), comprising: abrasive grains containing cerium oxide (ceria, paragraph 0082) and an ammonium salt (ammonium persulfate, paragraph 0129), wherein a pH is from 8.0 to 11.0 (paragraph 0132), which overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 5, Kondo discloses the polishing liquid further comprising ammonia (paragraph 0094).
Regarding claim 6, Kondo discloses the polishing liquid further comprising an ether compound having a hydroxy group (3-methoxy-3-methylbutanol, paragraph 0124).
Regarding claim 7, Kondo discloses wherein the ether compound includes an alkoxy alcohol (3-methoxy-3-methylbutanol, paragraph 0124).
Regarding claim 8, Kondo discloses wherein the alkoxy alcohol includes 3-methoxy-3-methyl-1-butanol (3-methoxy-3-methylbutanol, paragraph 0124).
Regarding claim 9, Kondo discloses wherein a content of the alkoxy alcohol is 0.5% by mass on the basis of the total mass of the polishing liquid (paragraph 0127).
Regarding claim 20, Kondo discloses wherein the ether compound includes a compound having one ether group (3-methoxy-3-methylbutanol, paragraph 0124).
Claims 1, 6-7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Sakanishi (US20210292602).
Regarding claim 1, Sakanishi discloses a polishing liquid (polishing composition, abstract), comprising: abrasive grains containing cerium oxide (ceria, paragraph 0093) and an ammonium salt (ammonium persulfate, paragraph 0085), wherein a pH is from 6 to 10 (paragraph 0115), which overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 6, Sakanishi discloses the polishing liquid further comprising an ether compound having a hydroxy group (polyglycerol, paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 7, Sakanishi discloses wherein the ether compound includes an alkoxy alcohol (polyglycerol, paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 10, Sakanishi discloses wherein the ether compound includes a compound having two or more hydroxy groups (polyglycerol, paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 11, Sakanishi discloses wherein the ether compound further includes a polyether (polyglycerol, paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 12, Sakanishi discloses wherein the polyether includes polyglycerol (paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 13, Sakanishi discloses wherein a content of the polyether is 0.3 to 3% by mass on the basis of the total mass of the polishing liquid (paragraph 0065), which encompasses the range recited in the instant claim.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1, 5-14 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 6-10, 13-14 and 20 of copending Application No. 18/686,053 (hereinafter, ‘053).
Regarding claim 1, ‘053 claims a polishing liquid (claim 1), comprising: abrasive grains containing cerium oxide (claim 1) and an ammonium salt (an ammonium cation, claim 13; an ammonium salt is an ionic compound formed by an ammonium cation with an anion), wherein a pH is 9.00 or more (9.00-11.00, claim 14).
Regarding claim 5, ‘053 claims the polishing liquid further comprising ammonia (claim 13).
Regarding claim 6, ‘053 claims the polishing liquid further comprising an ether compound having a hydroxy group (claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, ‘053 claims wherein the ether compound includes an alkoxy alcohol (claim 2).
Regarding claim 8, ‘053 claims wherein the alkoxy alcohol includes 3-methoxy-3-methyl-1-butanol (claim 6).
Regarding claim 9, ‘053 claims wherein a content of the alkoxy alcohol is 0.2 to 0.8% by mass on the basis of the total mass of the polishing liquid (claim 7).
Regarding claim 10, ‘053 claims wherein the ether compound includes a compound having two or more hydroxy groups (polyglycerol, claim 9).
Regarding claim 11, ‘053 claims wherein the ether compound further includes a polyether (claim 8).
Regarding claim 12, ‘053 claims wherein the polyether includes polyglycerol (claim 9).
Regarding claim 13, ‘053 claims wherein a content of the polyether is 0.5 to 3% by mass on the basis of the total mass of the polishing liquid (claim 10).
Regarding claim 14, ‘053 claims wherein the pH is 9.00 to 11.00 (claim 14).
Regarding claim 20, ‘053 claims wherein the ether compound includes a compound having one ether group (claim 20).
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713