DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 16-19, 21, 23-27, and 30-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goorden et al. (WO 2020/057900 A1)-cited by applicant.
As for claims 16 and 31 (treating claim 16 as the apparatus for the practice of claim 31), Goorden in a metrology sensor for position metrology discloses/suggests the following: a metrology system (Fig. 1: 240 and Fig. 2: 300; paragraphs 0046-0054) comprising: an illumination system (Fig. 2: 300; paragraph 0052) configured to: generate a radiation beam (Fig. 2: 320, 330; paragraph 0052) and direct the radiation beam toward a region of a surface of a substrate (Fig. 2: 354; paragraph 0052); a detection system (Fig. 2: 365; paragraph 0052) configured to: measure an observable from the region in response to an illumination of the region by the radiation beam (paragraph 0052 with Fig. 2), and generate a measurement signal indicative of the measured observable (Fig. 4: paragraphs 0064,0065); and a controller configured to determine a correction to a measurement value based on the measurement signal (Fig. 2: 380 with paragraphs 0052 and 0094-0096).
As for claims 17 and 32, Goorden discloses/suggests everything as above (see claims 16 and 31). In addition, Goorden discloses/suggests the detection system is further configured to: measure an interference between radiation diffracted from the region in response to the illumination of the region by the radiation beam, and generate the measurement signal comprising interference fringe pattern data indicative of the measured interference; and the controller is further configured to determine the correction to the measurement value based on the interference fringe pattern data (Figs. 4-5 with paragraphs 0061-0066).
As for claims 18 and 33, Goorden discloses/suggests everything as above (see claims 17 and 32). In addition, Goorden discloses/suggests wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a change in a periodicity value of the interference fringe pattern data; and determine the correction to the measurement value based on the change in the periodicity value (Fig. 8 with paragraphs 0081-0082)
As for claims 19 and 33, Goorden discloses/suggests everything as above (see claims 17 and 32). In addition, Goorden discloses/suggests wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a change in an orientation value of the interference fringe pattern data; and determine the correction to the measurement value based on the change in the orientation value (Fig. 8 with paragraphs 0081-0082).
As for claim 21, Goorden discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 17). In addition, Goorden discloses/suggests wherein: the region comprises an alignment mark; and the interference fringe pattern data corresponds to a portion of the alignment mark (Fig. 5 with paragraphs 0065, 0066).
As for claims 23, 34, and 35, Goorden discloses/suggests everything as above (see claims 16 and 32). In addition, he discloses wherein the correction comprises: a first correction to an alignment measurement of an alignment sensor; or a second correction to an overlay error of an overlay sensor (paragraphs 0065,0066,0095, and Fig. 5).
As for claim 24, Goorden discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 23). In addition, he discloses wherein the controller is further configured to optimize a lithography step during an exposure of an alignment mark based on the observable (paragraphs 0094-0096).
As for claim 25, Goorden discloses/suggests everything as above (note the limitations of claim 16). In addition, Goorden discloses a lithographic apparatus (Fig. 1: paragraphs 0035-0051, comprising: a radiation source configured to illuminate a pattern of a patterning device; a projection system configured to project an image of the pattern onto a target portion of a substrate (Fig. 1: paragraphs 0035-0051); and a metrology system comprising: an illumination system configured to: generate a radiation beam, and direct the radiation beam toward a region of a surface of a substrate; a detection system configured to measure an observable from the region in response to an illumination of the region by the radiation beam, and generate a measurement signal indicative of the measured observable; and a controller configured to determine a correction to a measurement value based on the measurement signal (refer to claim 16 above),
As for claim 26, Goorden discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 25). In addition, Goorden discloses/suggests wherein the detection system is further configured to: measure an interference between radiation diffracted from the region in response to the illumination of the region by the radiation beam, and generate the measurement signal comprising interference fringe pattern data indicative of the measured interference; and the controller is further configured to determine the correction to the measurement value based on the interference fringe pattern data (Figs. 4-5 with paragraphs 0061-0066).
As for claim 27, Goorden discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 26). In addition, Goorden discloses/suggests wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a change in a periodicity value of the interference fringe pattern data; and determine the correction to the measurement value based on the change in the periodicity value (Fig. 8 with paragraphs 0081-0082)
As for claim 28, Goorden discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 26). In addition, Goorden discloses/suggests wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a change in an orientation value of the interference fringe pattern data; and determine the correction to the measurement value based on the change in the orientation value (Fig. 8 with paragraphs 0081-0082).
As for claim 30, Goorden discloses/suggests everything as above (see claim 26). In addition, Goorden discloses/suggests wherein the correction comprises: a first correction to an alignment measurement of an alignment sensor; or a second correction to an overlay error of an overlay sensor (paragraphs 0065,0066,0095, and Fig. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 20, 22, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but appear to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: please refer to the attached PTO-892.
Fax/Telephone Numbers
The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 10:00 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.
supervisor, Kara Geisel, can be reached at 571-272-2416. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GORDON J STOCK JR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877