DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites, “for photo via formation”. It appears the language should be clearer, as “for” is similar to “used for”, and language such as “capable of” since the claim is drawn to a composition not a method, and claim 10 is claiming a use. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaguchi et al (JP 2019-066511 and its machine translation).
Kaguchi et al disclose a photosensitive resin composition comprising:
Photopolymerizable compound having an ethylenically unsaturated group which is an acid-modified epoxy (meth)acrylate having a carboxyl group (instant (A))
A photopolymerization initiator (instant (D))
An epoxy resin
Polyfunctional maleimide compound (instant (C))
A curing accelerator
An organic peroxide (instant (E))
Regarding component (B), the reference includes a combination of compounds (A) in the inventive examples, one being the acid-modified epoxy, and A-2 is dipentaerythritol pentaacrylate, a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate having five (meth)acryloyl groups meeting the limitations of the instant component (B). Therefore, the composition of the reference teaches a composition comprising each of the claimed components and meets the limitations of the instant claims 1-3. The reference further includes in examples as (C), C-3 an epoxidized polybutadiene (PB3600), having both epoxy, butadiene, and vinyl groups (instant claims 1, 2, 6, and 7).
Examples further include an inorganic filler (G), [0011], examples), meeting the limitations of the instant claim 8 for component (F).
The composition is used in a photolithographic process (instant claim 10, 12; composition is capable for use in a via formation step, [0006], [0009], [0036]), preferably as an insulating film having a thickness of 1 to 100 microns ([0001], [0042], 25 microns in examples [0052]; instant claim 14), and examples use the composition in a method of forming a mutli-layered printed wiring board (instant claim 15; claims 14-16, [0035]-[0037]).
With respect to instant claim 11, the instant specification teaches that the compound (C) as set forth by the instant specification ([0055]) allows for curing without generating a hydroxy group unlike an epoxy group which provides the dielectric dissipation factor as claimed, and given the bismaleimide compound preferred by the reference which uses BMI-4000 in examples ( 2,2-bis[4-(3-maleimidophenoxy)phenyl]propane), the reference material employs a compound taught by the instant specification for achieving the dielectric dissipation factor property, one of skill in the art would have expected the material of the reference to inherently possess the claimed property absent evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagoshi et al (JP2006-323089 and its machine translation).
Nagoshi et al disclose a photosensitive resin composition comprising
Bismaleimide (instant (C); instant claims 1-3)
A polymer having two or more allyl groups (instant (C); instant claims 1, 2, and 4)
An organic peroxide (instant (E))
A polyfunctional photopolymerizable ethylenically unsaturated (instant (B))
An initiator (instant (D))
An inorganic filler (instant (F); instant claim 8; reference claim 2)
A photosensitive prepolymer having a carboxyl group having an acid value of 20 to 150 mg KOH/g encompassing acid value of the compound in the instant examples (acidic groups; instant (A); reference claim 4).
The composition is preferably used as an insulating resin layer (instant claims 10, 11) in a printed wiring board (instant claims 14 and 15; [0002]). The thickness of the layer is preferably 5 to 100 microns, 30 in examples (instant claim 13; [0064], [0083]).
With respect to instant claim 11, the instant specification teaches that the compound (C) as set forth by the instant specification ([0055]) allows for curing without generating a hydroxy group unlike an epoxy group which provides the dielectric dissipation factor as claimed, and given the bismaleimide compound preferred by the reference which uses BMI-4000 in examples ( 2,2-bis[4-(3-maleimidophenoxy)phenyl]propane, [0081]), the reference material employs a compound taught by the instant specification for achieving the dielectric dissipation factor property, one of skill in the art would have expected the material of the reference to inherently possess the claimed property absent evidence to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaguchi et al in view of Kumazawa et al (WO 2020/153246 and its English language equivalent 12,133,339 as a translation.
Kaguchi et al has been disclosed above. The reference teaches that more than one initiator may be used in combination, and that the composition does not exclude modifications and additional additives.
Kumazawa et al disclose a resin composition similar to that of the Kaguchi et al reference and further teach that known and suitable compounds for inclusion are ethylene glycol divinyl ether, divinylbenzene, trimethylallyl isocyanurate, and bisallylnadic imide, meeting the limitations of the instant claims 4-6, and teaching these compounds are interchangeable with other allyl compounds and suitable for use in combination with maleimides. The reference further teaches known thiol photoinitiators 2-methyl-1-[4-(methylthio)phenyl]-2-morpholinopropan-1-one (Omnirad 907), ana thiol coupling agents 3-mercaptopropyltrimethoxysilane and 3-mercaptopropyldimethoxymethylsilane are contemplated for use.
Therefore, given the teachings of the references it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Kagushi et al, choosing as the compound in combination with a maleimide or in the place of the allyl compound, those having multiple unsaturated groups as taught by Kumazawa et al, or choosing to include a thiol compound as an additional initiator or as a coupling agent as taught to be known by Kumazawa et al.
Claim(s) 4-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagoshi et al in view of Kumazawa et al.
Both references have been discussed above. Nagoshi et al disclose maleimide and allyl compunds, and teach that additional components and known additives may be included in the composition.
Kumazawa et al disclose a resin composition similar to that of the Kaguchi et al reference and further teach that known and suitable compounds for inclusion are ethylene glycol divinyl ether, divinylbenzene, trimethylallyl isocyanurate, and bisallylnadic imide, meeting the limitations of the instant claims 4-6, and teaching these compounds are interchangeable with other allyl compounds and suitable for use in combination with maleimides. The reference further teaches known thiol photoinitiators 2-methyl-1-[4-(methylthio)phenyl]-2-morpholinopropan-1-one (Omnirad 907), ana thiol coupling agents 3-mercaptopropyltrimethoxysilane and 3-mercaptopropyldimethoxymethylsilane are contemplated for use.
Therefore, given the teachings of the references it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Nagoshi et al, choosing as the compound in combination with a maleimide or in the place of the allyl compound, those having multiple unsaturated groups as taught by Kumazawa et al, or choosing to include a thiol compound as an additional initiator or as a coupling agent as taught to be known by Kumazawa et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references as cited by applicant and on the foreign search report, JP -66791, JP 2019-066510, WO 2007/117915, are cumulative to the rejections above.
Tashiro et al (2008/0268374) and Kawai et al (JP 2018-207132) are cited for their teachings of similar materials and compounds falling within the scope of (C).
/AMANDA C. WALKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722