DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshizaki et al (JP 2020-025066 A).
As to claim 7, Yoshizaki discloses polishing composition (abstract) comprising an abrasive [0019], a basic compound [0051], and water [0044], wherein the polishing composition comprises a globular abrasive as the abrasive (“spherical” abrasives are globular, [0021]), and further comprises an alkali metal salt [0033], [0037].
As to amended claim 7, in one example, Yoshizaki teaches abrasive grains at 1.5% by weight [0083] and the alkali metal salt at 0.19% by mass [0083], which is expected to provide a ratio of about 0.19/1.5 = 0.12, which is within the cited range.
As to claim 8, Yoshizaki discloses that the globular abrasive has an average aspect ratio 1.0 or more, or preferably 1.5 or less, which encompasses the cited range. The method of determining the average aspect ratio is not expected to materially affect the aspect ratio and is treated as providing little patentable weight because the ratio will be the same no matter the technique used to calculate the two lengths that provide the ratio value.
As to claim 9, Yoshizaki discloses that the globular abrasive is silica particles [0019].
As to claim 10, Yoshizaki discloses that the average primary particle diameter of the globular abrasive is 20 nm or more and 300 nm or less [0026], which overlaps with the cited range. Prior art which teaches a range overlapping, approaching or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity, see MPEP 2131.03. The (i) largely overlapping ranges, (ii) Yoshizaki and the instant invention both use the abrasive for the same purpose of a polishing composition, and (iii) lack of criticality of the size, together show that the full range is taught with sufficient specificity.
As to claims 11-12, Yoshizaki discloses that the polishing composition further comprises an inorganic acid salt as the alkali metal salt, such as a sulfate [0037].
As to claim 14, Yoshizaki teaches that the polishing composition may further comprise a quaternary ammonium [0051] as the basic compound.
As to claim 15, Yoshizaki teaches that the polishing composition is used in a polishing step for an object to be polished, the object containing a silicon material [0082]. This limitation is given little patentable weight because the composition is defined by its structure, not by its intended use. The composition of Yoshizaki is capable of polishing silicon material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizaki et al (JP 2020-025066 A).
As to claim 16, Yoshizaki discloses an alkali metal content of 0.19% by mass [0083], but fails to disclose the content of the basic compound [0051]. Rather, Yoshizaki teaches that the content of the basic compound is not particularly limited and may be adjusted so that the polishing composition has a desired pH [0052]. A comparative example provides basic compound tetramethylammonium hydroxide, TMAH, at 0.075% ([0093], Table 1, comparative example 1), which suggests a ratio of 2.5, which is within the cited range. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cited ratio in the composition of Yoshizaki because the composition can be optimized for best results, and Yoshizaki suggests a point within the cited range as a starting point. MPEP 2144.05, II, A.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed May 14, 2026, with respect to the rejection over Mae and the double patenting rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of the claims have been withdrawn.
The claims remain rejected over Yoshizaki et al (JP 2020-025066 A). New claim 16 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over Yoshizaki.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, to the extent they still apply.
The rejection has been rewritten to omit the reference to the alkali metal salt as a basic compound because Yoshizaki discloses that the alkali metal salt is separate from the basic compound. New claim 16 is obvious as explained above in the rejection, and because applicant has failed to show unexpected results. Compositions are routinely optimized for best results, which may be optimized for different purposes compared to the applicant’s reasons, and Yoshizaki suggests the cited range.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANITA K ALANKO/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1713