DETAILED ACTION
A response, presenting arguments but not amendments, was entered on 4/8/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the cited art fails to teach a “deposition material” because the cited art teaches a coating rather than a material which can be used to form a coating. This is not persuasive. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. MPEP § 2112.01(I). In this case, the recitation of a “deposition material” is directed to the intended use of the composition. The cited art teaches each claim limitation about the material and therefore anticipates claim 1 regardless of whether the cited art teaches the same intended use of the composition.
Additionally, applicant’s argument that “deposition material” requires that the composition is capable of being deposited is a narrow interpretation of this term. A deposition material could also refer to a material after it has been deposited and would include a coating formed from the deposition material. This term does not appear to be defined in the specification in the narrower manner that applicant is arguing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 2020/0024194).
Claims 1 and 2: Wu et al. (US 2020/0024194) teaches a composition for depositing a corrosion resistant coating which protects from plasma (Abst.; ¶ 0002), the composition comprising: a solid solution including Y2O3 (¶ 0038) and ZrO2, wherein the ZrO2 is present at 10 mol% (¶¶ 0039-0040) and wherein the solid solution has a hexagonal (i.e. claimed hexahedral) crystal structure (¶ 0039).
Claim 3: Wu also teaches the inclusion of other materials, such as hafnium oxide which is present at an amount of 10-20 mol% (¶ 0032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in light of Wu et al. (US 2018/0240648, hereinafter Wu II).
Claim 4: Wu teaches that other metal oxides can be included (¶ 0032), but fails to teach Nb2O3. Wu II teaches a composition for forming a plasma corrosion resistant film (Abst.) comprising a solid solution of Y2O3 and explains that the solid solution can also include Nb2O3 (¶¶ 0034-0037). The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected Nb2O3 as the additional metal oxide in Wu with the predictable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art on record, taken individually or in combination, fairly teaches or suggests all the limitations of claims 5 or 6. Furthermore, the specification evidences the unexpected results associated with these claimed features.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712