DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
This office action is examining the amended claims filed on 3/8/24 rather than the claims submitted on 8/15/25 because the claims submitted on 3/8/24 are clearly marked as amended while the claims submitted on 8/15/25 are a duplicate of the originally filed and unamended claims. In response to this action, applicant should present the correct claims from 3/8/24 (or an amended version of those claims).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 10/28/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-12 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/28/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 2020/0024194).
Claims 1 and 2: Wu et al. (US 2020/0024194) teaches a composition for depositing a corrosion resistant coating which protects from plasma (Abst.; ¶ 0002), the composition comprising: a solid solution including Y2O3 (¶ 0038) and ZrO2, wherein the ZrO2 is present at 10 mol% (¶¶ 0039-0040) and wherein the solid solution has a hexagonal (i.e. claimed hexahedral) crystal structure (¶ 0039).
Claim 3: Wu also teaches the inclusion of other materials, such as hafnium oxide which is present at an amount of 10-20 mol% (¶ 0032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in light of Wu et al. (US 2018/0240648, hereinafter Wu II).
Claim 4: Wu teaches that other metal oxides can be included (¶ 0032), but fails to teach Nb2O3. Wu II teaches a composition for forming a plasma corrosion resistant film (Abst.) comprising a solid solution of Y2O3 and explains that the solid solution can also include Nb2O3 (¶¶ 0034-0037). The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected Nb2O3 as the additional metal oxide in Wu with the predictable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art on record, taken individually or in combination, fairly teaches or suggests all the limitations of claims 5 or 6. Furthermore, the specification evidences the unexpected results associated with these claimed features.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712