Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it’s too short. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not supported by either a known asserted utility or a well-established utility.
The recitation of a “ use” is not a statutory category of invention.
Claims 1-11 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Specifically, because the claimed invention is not supported by either a known asserted utility or a well-established utility for the reasons set forth above, one skilled in the art clearly would not know how to use the claimed invention.
A recitation of a “ use” within defining any processing parameter is not enabling.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,2,11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1 , the limitation “ food texture improver” is vague and indefinite because it’s unclear what is encompassed in texture improver. It’s not clear what texture alluded to; thus, it’s unclear what is being improved or what improver indicates.
In claim 2, the phrase “ more preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 11 is vague and indefinite because it’s not clear what is intended. The claim recites “ wherein the amount of leguminous native starch or cross-linked starch in the meat product or the meat-free product represent between 1 to 25%”. However, claim 1 does not recite a meat product or meat free product. The recitation of “ for meat or meat-free products” in claim 1 is an intended use. It’s not a positive limitation of meat product. Thus, it’s unclear what the amount represent. The recitation of “ preferably 3-12” and “ for example 5%” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Also, A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation 1-25%, and the claim also recites “ 3 to 12% and 5%” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,6,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Pietrasik et al “ Use of native pea starches as an alternative to modified corn starch in low-fat bologna”.
For prior art application, the “ use” claims are interpreted just as using the starch . The claims are not treated as composition. The language of “ as food texture improver for meat or meat-free products” is treated as an intended use.
For claims 1,2,3,4,6, Pietrasik discloses use of native pea starch in bologna. The pea starch contributes to higher chewiness and hardness. ( see abstract). Pietrasik discloses the use of pea starch. The recitation of “ as food texture improver for meat or meat-free products” is an intended use which does not determine the patentability of the product. In any event, Pietrasik also discloses meat product and chewiness and hardness which are considered as texture.
For claim 11, the claim is vague and indefinite as explained in the 112 rejection above. For prior art application, it’s interpreted as an intended use which does not determine the patentability of the product. Nevertheless, Pietrasik discloses to use 3% of the starch in the meat product. ( see table 1)
Claim(s) 1-4, 6,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Pietrasik et al “ Utilization of pea starch and fiber fractions for replacement of wheat crumb in beef burgers”.
For claims 1-4, Pietrasik discloses the use of pea starch in beef burger. For claim 6, Pietrasik does not disclose modifying the pea starch. Thus, the starch is a native starch. ( see abstract). Pietrasik discloses the use of pea starch. The recitation of “ as food texture improver for meat or meat-free products” is an intended use which does not determine the patentability of the product. In any event, Pietrasik also discloses meat product. Pietrasik also discloses the pea starch gives more cohesive and chewy which are considered texture.
For claim 11, the claim is vague and indefinite as explained in the 112 rejection above. For prior art application, it’s interpreted as an intended use which does not determine the patentability of the product. Nevertheless, Pietrasik discloses to use 5% of the starch in the meat product. ( see abstract)
Claim(s) 1-5,7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Fumihiko ( WO 2019240267).
For claims 1,7, Fumihiko the use of crosslinked leguminous starch in food product. ( see page 3). The limitation “ as food texture improver for meat or meat-free product” is an intended use which does not determine the patentability of the product.
For claims 2-5, Fumihiko discloses the starch is selected from mung bean starch, pea starch. ( see page 3)
For claims 8-9, Fumihiko discloses the crosslinked starch is a high phosphate cross-linked starch. Since the starch is a cross-linked phosphate starch, it’s a distarch phosphate. ( see page 8)
For claim 10, Fumihiko discloses the phosphate-crosslinked starch has a phosphorus content of .5% or less which encompasses the claimed range because 130-150mg/kg is .013-.015%. ( see page 8)
Claim(s) 1-4,7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Takahiro ( WO 2020218055).
For claim 1, Takahiro discloses a cross-linked leguminous starch as food texture improver ( see page 4) The limitation “ as food texture improver for meat or meat-free product” is an intended use which does not determine the patentability of the product.
For claims 2-4, Takahiro discloses pea starch. ( see page 4)
For claim 7, Takahiro discloses cross-linked starch. ( see page 5)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fumihiko ( WO 2019240267).
Fumihiko does not disclose the amount as in claim 11.
The claim is vague and indefinite as explained in the 112 rejection above. The amount is interpreted as an intended use. Fumihiko discloses using the starch as additive in foods ( see page 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the starch in any amount depending on the food and the property such as fiber content desired because the high phosphate cross-linked starch functions as dietary fiber.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahiro ( WO 2020218055).
Takahiro does not disclose the amount as in claim 11.
The claim is vague and indefinite as explained in the 112 rejection above. The amount is interpreted as an intended use. Takahiro discloses using the starch texture improver in different foods ( see page 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the starch in any amount depending on the food and the texture desired. Such parameter can readily be determined through routine experimentation.
Conclusion
January 22, 2026
/LIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793