DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 06/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/02/2024, 03/08/2024 are filed after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim objection
Amend claims 1 and 11 to fix the grammar error as following:
“an second structure disposed over a first structure” should be changed to --- a second structure disposed over a first structure ---
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-12, 14, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choung et al., U.S. Patent No. 11,456,345.
Regarding claim 1, Choung discloses:
A device comprising (Figs. 1A-1B, 4H):
a substrate 102,
overhang structures 110 disposed over the substrate, each overhang structure having a second structure 110B, disposed over a first structure 110A (further include another portion 110C in Fig. 1B), the second structure 110B having an overhang extension extending laterally past the first structure (the overhang 110B, Fig. 1B), the first structure comprising:
a first sidewall opposing a second sidewall, the first sidewall and the second sidewall connected to each other (sidewalls on side of first structure 110A (and 110C), and
a plurality of sub-pixels 106, each sub-pixel comprising:
an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material 112, 114, and
a cathode 116 disposed over the OLED material and extending under the overhang extension such that the cathode contacts the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the first structure under the overhang extension (the cathode 116 contacting the sidewalls of the first structure which is the lower supporting portion beneath the overhang, Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 2, Choung discloses at least two sidewalls connecting a first end of the first sidewall to the first end of the second sidewall, and at least two more sidewalls connecting a second end of the first sidewall to the second end of the second sidewall (Fig. 4H; the overhand structure 110 and cathode 116 conforms around the sidewalls beneath the overhang, the sidewalls connecting together).
Regarding claim 3, Choung discloses wherein a cathode thickness at a midpoint between a cathode endpoint and an OLED endpoint on the first sidewall and the second sidewall is greater than the cathode thickness on the at least two sidewalls (Fig. 4H: cathode 116 is thick along the two long vertical sidewalls while the cathode 116 is thinner at the two sidewalls).
Regarding claims 7, 9, Choung discloses further comprising pixel-defining layer (PDL) structures or pixel isolation structure (PIS) disposed on the substrate and wherein the overhang structures are disposed over the PDL structures (Fig. 1B, layer PDL 126).
Regarding claims 8, 10, Choung discloses wherein the PDL or PIS comprises silicon oxide (lines 1-10, Col. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Choung discloses:
A device comprising (Figs. 1A-1B, 4H):
a substrate 102,
overhang structures 110 disposed over the substrate, each overhang structure having a second structure 110B, disposed over a first structure 110A (further include another portion 110C in Fig. 1B), the second structure 110B having an overhang extension extending laterally past the first structure (the overhang 110B, Fig. 1B), the first structure comprising:
a first sidewall (the left vertical sidewall of 110a/110c) opposing a second sidewall (right vertical sidewall 110a/110c), the first sidewall and the second sidewall connected to each other (sidewalls on side of first structure 110A and 110C), and at least four angled sidewalls, wherein at least two of the four angled sidewalls (the upper left and upper right) connecting a first end of the first sidewall to the first end of the second sidewall and at least two more of the four angled sidewalls (the lower left and lower right) connecting a second end of the first sidewall and a second end of the second sidewall (that cathode 116 extends beneath the overhang and contacts each of these sidewall portions), and
a plurality of sub-pixels 106, each sub-pixel comprising:
an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material 112, 114, and
a cathode 116 disposed over the OLED material and extending under the overhang extension such that the cathode contacts the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the first structure under the overhang extension (the cathode 116 contacting the sidewalls of the first structure which is the lower supporting portion beneath the overhang, Fig. 1B).
Regarding claims 12, 14, Choung discloses further comprising pixel-defining layer (PDL) structures or pixel isolation structure (PIS) disposed on the substrate and wherein the overhang structures are disposed over the PDL structures (Fig. 1B, layer PDL 126).
Regarding claim 16, Choung discloses depositing the OLED material at a first angle and the cathode at a second angle (it doesn’t specify if the first angle and second angle are the same or different, however, in Fig. 4H, part of cathode layer 116 is at a different angle than the OLED).
Regarding claim 17, Choung discloses wherein the OLED and cathode are deposited as the substrate (lines 20-35, Col. 2, formed as evaporation deposition).
Regarding claim 18, Choung discloses wherein a cathode thickness at a midpoint between a cathode endpoint and an OLED endpoint on the first sidewall and the second sidewall is greater than the cathode thickness on the at least two sidewalls (Fig. 4H: cathode 116 is thick along the two long vertical sidewalls while the cathode 116 is thinner at the two sidewalls).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung et al., U.S. Patent No. 11,456,345, in view of Kim et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0085342.
Regarding claim 6, Choung fails to disclose a via hole disposed through the sub-pixel. Kim discloses a via hole disposed through the sub-pixels (Fig. 12A, via hole contact plug TT, via hole within the sub-pixel regions PX, AR1, AR2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the OLED device of Choung by incorporating the via hole disclosed by Kim in the sub-pixel, because via holes are conventionally used to provide electrical interconnection between conductive layers within a sub-pixel.
Regarding claim 20, Choung discloses an anode but fails to disclose a via hole disposed through the anode. Kim discloses a via hole disposed through the sub-pixels/ the anode (Fig. 12A, via hole contact plug TT, via hole within the sub-pixel regions PX, AR1, AR2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the OLED device of Choung by incorporating the via hole disclosed by Kim in the anode, because via holes are conventionally used to provide electrical interconnection between conductive layers within a sub-pixel.
Claims 4-5, 13, 15, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung et al., U.S. Patent No. 11,456,345.
Regarding claims 4-5, 13, 15, 19, Choung fails to disclose the thickness ratio and if the sub-pixels are hexagonal. However, the selection of such parameters such as energy, concentration, temperature, time, molar fraction, depth, thickness, etc., would have been obvious and involve routine optimization which has been held to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. "Normally, it is to be expected that a change in energy, concentration, temperature, time, molar fraction, depth, thickness, etc., or in conbination of the parameters would be an unpatentable modification. Under some circumstances, however, changes such as these may impart patentability to a process if the particular ranges claimed produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely degree from the results of the prior art ... such ranges are termed "critical ranges and the applicant has the burden of proving such criticality.... More particularly, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller 105 USPQ233, 255 (CCPA 1955). See also In re Waite 77 USPQ 586 (CCPA 1948); In re Scherl 70 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1946); In re Irmscher 66 USPQ 314 (CCPA 1945); In re Norman 66 USPQ 308 (CCPA 1945); In re Swenson 56 USPQ 372 (CCPA 1942); In re Sola 25 USPQ 433 (CCPA 1935); In re Dreyfus 24 USPQ 52 (CCPA 1934).
Conclusion
/THAO P LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818