DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/14/2014 is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 26-28, 30, 37, 54, 56, 58, 61-62, 66 and 69 in the reply filed on 01/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kajino (US 20090314525 A1).
Pertaining to claim 26, Kajino et al. discloses A component carrier (see paragraph [0002]), comprising: at least one layer structure comprising at least one carrier layer (support 32, which could be a copper foil, (see paragraph [0169] to [0173] and see fig. 3(a)), wherein the at least one layer structure comprises an imprint resist layer (resin layer 33’, see paragraph [0030], [0172] and see fig. 3(a)), wherein the imprint resist layer comprises predefined stamped structures wherein the predefined stamped structures being in contact with the at last one carrier layer, wherein the predefined stamped structures comprise at least one recess defining a filling structure in or on the carrier layer (see paragraph [0174] to [0179] and see figs. 3a-3b), in which a filling structure is filled by at least one of an electrically insulating material or an electrically conductive material (see paragraph [0185], [0186] and see fig. 3e).
Pertaining to claim 27, Kajino et al. discloses wherein the filling structures are of different depth or different length in the imprint resist layer or the carrier layer (see fig. 3f).
Pertaining to claim 28, Kajino et al. discloses wherein the carrier layer is an electrically conductive layer (see paragraph [0185], [0186] and see fig. 3e), wherein the filling structure forms electrically insulated patterns in the electrically conductive layer (see paragraph [0185], [0186] and see fig. 3e) for defining borders of electrically conductive traces formed by the electrically conductive layer; or wherein the filling structure (see paragraph [0187]) forms electrically conductive trace- type or a via hole forming a via and a via-type sub-structures, respectively, (see paragraph [0185], [0186] and see fig. 3e).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30, 54, 56, 58, 61-62, 66 and 69 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajino et al. (US 20090314525 A1) in view of Jow et al. (US 2017/0170138 A1).
Pertaining to claim 30, Kajino et al. discloses wherein the filling structure (see paragraph [0174] to [0179] and see figs. 3a-3b) forms at least one electrically conductive sub-structure having a depth-to-diameter ratio of larger than 1 (see paragraph [0273]); wherein the at least one recess forming part of the filling structure (see paragraph [0174] to [0179] and see figs. 3a-3b) comprises tapering sidewalls;; wherein the at least one recess forms a through hole such that at least one surface portion of the electrically conductive layer is exposed at the recess (see paragraph [0174] to [0179] and see figs. 3a-3b); wherein a further conductive filling material is formed onto the electrically conductive material filled in the respective recess forming the filling structure; further comprising an electrically conductive seed layer selectively lining the filling structure of the imprint resist layer (resin layer 33’, see paragraph [0030], [0172] and see fig. 3(a)); wherein at least one of the electrically conductive material and the further conductive filling material are plated layers, wherein the electrically conductive material and the further conductive filling material are connected in a landless way (see paragraph [0174] to [0179] and see figs. 3a-3b).
But, Kajino et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a roughness Ra of a surface of the imprint resist layer delimiting the surface profile is not more than 100 nm.
However, Jow et al. teaches wherein a roughness Ra of a surface of the imprint resist layer delimiting the surface profile is not more than 100 nm (see paragraph [0035] and [0036]).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide wherein a roughness Ra of a surface of the imprint resist layer delimiting the surface profile is not more than 100 nm in the device of Kajino et al. based on the teachings of Jow et al. in order to improving release performance, and minimizing defects in nanoimprint lithography
Kajino et al fail to explicitly teach. wherein a roughness Ra of a surface of the imprint resist layer delimiting the surface profile is not more than 100 nm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make a roughness Ra of a surface of the imprint resist layer delimiting the surface profile is not more than 100 nm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Pertaining to claim 54, Kajino et al. discloses all claimed limitations except wherein the imprint resist layer has a thermal expansion coefficient below a glass- transition temperature of 10 ppm/K to 40 ppm/K; or wherein the imprint resist layer has a thermal expansion coefficient above a glass- transition temperature of 50 ppm/K to 100 ppm/K.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make wherein the imprint resist layer has a thermal expansion coefficient below a glass- transition temperature of 10 ppm/K to 40 ppm/K; or wherein the imprint resist layer has a thermal expansion coefficient above a glass- transition temperature of 50 ppm/K to 100 ppm/K., since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Pertaining to claim 56, Kajino et al. discloses wherein the imprint resist layer is formed with at least one of the following properties: wherein the imprint resist layer comprises a fully cured polymer based on at least one of the following group comprising epoxies, acrylates, polyphenylenether, polyimide, (see paragraph [0140]).
But, Kajino et al. does not explicitly teach a fracture strain below a glass-transition temperature is at least 2%,a chemical shrinkage below 3 %,a moisture absorption below 0.1 %, and a desmear rate of more than 0.006 g/min.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make a fracture strain below a glass-transition temperature is at least 2%,a chemical shrinkage below 3 %,a moisture absorption below 0.1 %, and a desmear rate of more than 0.006 g/min, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Pertaining to claim 58, Kajino et al. discloses wherein the imprint resist layer (see paragraph [0174] to [0179] and see figs. 3a-3b) comprises polymer- or oligomer-based building blocks (see paragraph [0140]), wherein at least one of the building blocks is based on one of the above-mentioned polymers(see paragraph [0140]);
But, Kajino does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the building blocks has at least one functional group covalently bond to another one of the least one building blocks; wherein the at least one functional group is selected from one of the group comprising a thiol group selected from the group of 3-mercaptopropionates, 3-mercaptoacetates, thioglycolates and alkylthiols, a double bond selected from the group of acrylates, methyl acrylates, vinyl ethers, allyl ethers, propenyl ethers, alkenes, dienes, unsaturated esters and allyl triazines, allyl isocyanates and N-vinyl amides.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the at least one of the building blocks has at least one functional group covalently bond to another one of the least one building blocks; wherein the at least one functional group is selected from one of the group comprising a thiol group selected from the group of 3-mercaptopropionates, 3-mercaptoacetates, thioglycolates and alkylthiols, a double bond selected from the group of acrylates, methyl acrylates, vinyl ethers, allyl ethers, propenyl ethers, alkenes, dienes, unsaturated esters and allyl triazines, allyl isocyanates and N-vinyl amides, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for intended use for the purpose of significant advantages in high-precision and advanced packaging. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Pertaining to claim 61, Kajino et al. discloses all claimed limitations except wherein the imprint resist layer comprises a prepolymer having at least one photoinitiator contained in an amount of 0.1 wt.% to 10 wt.%.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the imprint resist layer comprises a prepolymer having at least one photoinitiator contained in an amount of 0.1 wt.% to 10 wt.%., since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for intended use for the purpose of significant advantages in high-precision and advanced packaging. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Pertaining to claim 62, Kajino et al. discloses all claimed limitations except wherein the imprint resist layer is a fully cured resin, wherein the imprint resist layer further comprises filler particles such as in an amount of 1 wt.% to 10 wt.%, wherein the chloride content of the resin is below 30 ppm; wherein the filler particles comprise inorganic fillers; wherein the inorganic fillers are in a crystalline state; wherein the filler particles comprise a size of less than 0.1 pm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make wherein the imprint resist layer is a fully cured resin, wherein the imprint resist layer further comprises filler particles such as in an amount of 1 wt.% to 10 wt.%, wherein the chloride content of the resin is below 30 ppm; wherein the filler particles comprise inorganic fillers; wherein the inorganic fillers are in a crystalline state; wherein the filler particles comprise a size of less than 0.1 pm, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for intended use for the purpose of superior mechanical reinforcement, enhanced thermal stability. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Pertaining to claim 66, Kajino et al. discloses all claimed limitations except wherein the filler particles comprise Talcum, Zeolite or fused SiO2;wherein the filler particles are of plasma etchable material; wherein the imprint resist layer comprises less than 95% filler particles.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the filler particles comprise Talcum, Zeolite or fused SiO2;wherein the filler particles are of plasma etchable material; wherein the imprint resist layer comprises less than 95% filler particles, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for intended use for the purpose the ability to create high-surface-area, porous, or micromechanically interlocking structures after fabrication, which significantly improves interfacial bonding and reinforcement. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Pertaining to claim 69, Kajino et al. discloses all claimed limitation except wherein the imprint resist layer comprises a viscosity of 0.01 Pas to 1 Pas.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the imprint resist layer comprises a viscosity of 0.01 Pas to 1 Pas, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for intended use for the purpose of low-pressure mold filling and ensures high-resolution pattern replication. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 37 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 37, the specific limitations of " wherein at least one of the two components comprises pads having different pitch sizes being electrically coupled with the electrically conductive connection structures having different pitch sizes by connection structures having different dimensions; wherein at least one first pad of the pads has a smaller pitch size than at least one second pad of the pads having a larger pitch size; wherein the at least one first pad is electrically coupled with at least one first of the electrically conductive connection structures on the imprint resist layers; and wherein the at least one second pad is electrically coupled with at least one second of the electrically conductive connection structures on a laminated printed circuit board layer stack apart from the imprint resist layers; wherein the filling structure comprises three-dimensionally curved substructures; wherein the filling structures of the stamped imprint resist layer are at least partially filled with at least one wiring structure of the group consisting of: a wiring structure having a bottom portion constituted by a bottom-sided portion of the electrically conductive material, wherein a top-sided portion of the electrically conductive material is formed directly on the bottom-sided portion, wherein a remaining volume of the wiring structure is lined with a portion of a seed layer covering a top surface of the electrically conductive material as well as an exposed sidewall of the imprint resist layer, and wherein a remaining volume of the wiring structure delimited by the portion of the seed layer is filled with at least a portion of a further electrically conductive material; a wiring structure having a portion of a seed layer lining exposed sidewalls and an exposed bottom surface of the imprint resist layer, wherein a remaining volume of the wiring structure is filled with at least a portion of the further electrically conductive material; a wiring structure having a bottom portion constituted by a bottom-sided portion of the electrically conductive material, wherein a top-sided portion of the electrically conductive material is formed directly on the bottom-sided portion, wherein a remaining volume of the wiring structure is lined with a portion of a seed layer covering a top surface of the electrically conductive material as well as an exposed sidewall and an exposed horizontal wall of the imprint resist layer, wherein a remaining volume of the wiring structure delimited by the portion of the seed layer is filled with at least a portion of the further electrically conductive material, and wherein the assigned filling structure has a step; wherein at least a portion of the via protrudes beyond the imprint resist layer and thereby forms at least one via protrusion for electric connection with an electronic periphery; wherein the imprint resist layer comprises an electrically insulating material; wherein the imprint resist layer comprises an adhesion of more than 600 N/m; wherein the imprint resist layer comprises temperature resistance between 200 0C and 3000C; wherein the imprint resist layer comprises material of a flame retardancy class 4; wherein the imprint resist layer comprises material having a glass-transition temperature between 120 0C and 200 0C; wherein the imprint resist layer has a Modulus below a glass-transition temperature of 1000 MPa to 14000 MPa; wherein the imprint resist layer has a Modulus above a glass-transition temperature of 60 MPa to 800," in combination with the remaining elements, are not taught or adequately suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wilson (US-20060261518-A1) and Wu (US-20200205300-A1).
/ANDARGIE M AYCHILLHUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847