DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 34-50) in the reply filed on 03/11/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 51-53 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II (method), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/11/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the sinusoidal voltage waveform matching network must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 44 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 44 recites “coupled wi 15th the filter;” should be “coupled with the filter.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
RF generator (sinusoidal voltage waveform generator, para. [0050]) in at least claims 34-50.
non-sinusoidal voltage waveform generator (DC-like voltage, para. [0032]) in at least claims 35-36, 44-47, 49.
sinusoidal voltage waveform generator (RF voltage generator, para. [0032, 0050]) in at least claims 34-50.
sinusoidal voltage waveform generating system in claim (RF matching network, sinusoidal voltage waveform generator, para. [0037]).
Non-sinusoidal voltage waveform generating system in claim (filter, non-sinusoidal voltage waveform generator, para. [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 34-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 34, 40 recites the limitation " sinusoidal voltage waveform matching network " in the claim. It is unclear what the term is. Examiner interprets as “sinusoidal voltage waveform generator.” Appropriate clarification is requested in every instance.
Claims 44-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 44 recites the limitation " sinusoidal voltage waveform matching network " in the claim. It is unclear what the term is. Examiner interprets as “sinusoidal voltage waveform generator.” Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20190393017 to Kang.
Claim 48: Kang discloses a system comprising: a plasma etch chamber (processing chamber [110], Fig. 1A) configured to produce and contain a plasma (para. [0025]); an RF generator (142b [sinusoidal wave generator]) coupled with the plasma etch chamber (110); an electrostatic chuck (E2 [second electrode]) at a base portion of the plasma etch chamber (110), the electrostatic chuck (E2) electrically coupled to a node (at 148 [mixer]), wherein the electrostatic chuck (E2) is configured to mechanically support a substrate (S [substrate]);
The apparatus of Kang discloses a non-sinusoidal voltage waveform generating system (144b [non-sinusoidal wave generator], Fig. 7, para. [0069], Kang) system electrically coupled to the node (148), wherein the non-sinusoidal voltage waveform generating system is configured to produce a first pulsed voltage waveform at the electrostatic chuck (E2 [second electrode/susceptor], para. [0034]), wherein the filter (144a1) is in series between the non- sinusoidal voltage waveform generator (144b) and the node (148); and
a sinusoidal voltage waveform generating system (142b [sinusoidal wave generator], Fig. 1A) electrically coupled to the node (at 148), wherein the RF generator (interpreted as the RF generator is part of the sinusoidal voltage waveform generating system) is configured to produce a second pulsed voltage waveform at the electrostatic chuck (E2, para. [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34, 37-38, 40, 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190393017 to Kang in view of US 20160064194 to Tokashiki.
Claim 34: Kang discloses an apparatus comprising: a filter (144a [second filter], Fig. 1); the filter (144a) at a node (148 [mixer]); and an electrostatic chuck (E2 [second electrode]) coupled with the filter (144a) and a sinusoidal voltage waveform generator (142b [sinusoidal wave generator]) at the node (148).
However Kang does not disclose an RF matching network coupled with filter at the node.
Tokashiki discloses an RF matching network (555 [high-frequency matching unit], Fig. 1) coupled with the filter (563 [filter]) at the node (node at BCA), for the purpose of improving transmission efficiency of the high-frequency power (para. [0062]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RF matching network and configuration as taught by Tokashiki with motivation to improve transmission efficiency of the high-frequency power.
Claim 37: The apparatus of Kang in view of Tokashiki discloses wherein the filter (144a, Fig. 1, Kang) is a low pass filter (144a1 [low pass filter], Fig. 7, similar embodiment), wherein the low pass filter (144a1) is coupled to a DC source (144b [non-sinusoidal wave generator], para. [0069]).
Claim 38: The apparatus of Kang in view of Tokashiki discloses wherein the low pass filter (144a1, Fig. 7, Kang) comprises a cutoff frequency of less than 5MHz (para. [0069]).
Claim 40: The apparatus of Kang in view of Tokashiki discloses wherein the sinusoidal voltage waveform generator (142b, Fig. 1, Kang) is a sinusoidal voltage waveform generator (142b).
Claim 42: The apparatus of Kang in view of Tokashiki discloses wherein the RF matching network (555, Fig. 1, Tokashiki) facilitates power delivery at a range between 13.56 MHz and 100 MHz (para. [0024]).
Claim(s) 35, 36, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Tokashiki as applied to claims 34, 37-38, 40, 42 above, and further in view of US 20150002018 to Lill.
Claims 35-36, 39: The apparatus of Kang in view of Tokashiki does not disclose discloses (claim 35) wherein the filter is a notch filter, wherein the notch filter is coupled to a non-sinusoidal voltage waveform source; (claim 36) wherein the notch filter comprises a stopband frequency between 12 MHz and 100 MHz; (claim 39) wherein the non-sinusoidal voltage waveform source outputs a voltage signal in a range between 400 kHz and 4000 kHz.
Lill discloses (claim 35) wherein the filter (116 [filter], Fig. 1A) is a notch filter (116, para. [0052]), wherein the notch filter (116) is coupled to a non-sinusoidal voltage waveform source (120 [nonsinusoidal RF generator); (claim 36) wherein the notch filter (116) comprises a stopband frequency between 12 MHz and 100 MHz (para. [0067]); (claim 39) wherein the non-sinusoidal voltage waveform source (120) outputs a voltage signal in a range between 400 kHz and 4000 kHz (para. [0067], where multiple options are given) for the purpose of controlling ion energy within a plasma chamber (para. [0007-0008]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above and optimization of voltage as taught by Lill with motivation to control ion energy within a plasma chamber.
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Tokashiki as applied to claims 34, 37-38, 40, 42 above, and further in view of US 20220093363 to Romanus.
Claim 41: The apparatus of Kang in view of Tokashiki does not disclose wherein the RF matching network facilitates power delivery of up to 100 kV.
Regarding the power range, Romanus teaches an RF generator (108, Fig. 1), with matching network (106), config facilitates power delivery of up to 100 kV (para. [0021]), for the purpose of regulating the applied power based upon a power setpoint received from an operator of the system (para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the range options above, as taught by Romanus with motivation to regulate the applied power based upon a power setpoint received from an operator of the system.
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Tokashiki as applied to claims 34, 37-38, 40, 42 above, and further in view of US 20220037121 to Dorf.
Claim 43: The apparatus of Kang in view of Tokashiki does not disclose wherein the electrostatic chuck comprises a conductive plate and an insulative layer on the conductive plate.
Dorf discloses wherein the electrostatic chuck (136 [substrate support assembly], Fig. 1B) comprises a conductive plate (107 [para. [0045]) and an insulative layer (105, para. [0047]) on the conductive plate (107), for the purpose of regulating the substrate support via thermal coupling (para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the material requirements as taught by Dorf with motivation to regulate the substrate support via thermal coupling.
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190393017 to Kang in view of US 20160064194 to Tokashiki.
Claim 44: Kang discloses an apparatus comprising: a filter (144a [second filter], Fig. 1); the filter (144a) at a node (148 [mixer]); and an electrostatic chuck (E2 [second electrode]) coupled with the filter (144a) and a sinusoidal voltage waveform generator (142b [sinusoidal wave generator]) at the node (148).
However Kang does not disclose an RF matching network coupled with filter at the node.
Tokashiki discloses an RF matching network (555 [high-frequency matching unit], Fig. 1) coupled with the filter (563 [filter]) at the node (node at BCA), for the purpose of improving transmission efficiency of the high-frequency power (para. [0062]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RF matching network and configuration as taught by Tokashiki with motivation to improve transmission efficiency of the high-frequency power.
The apparatus of Kang in view of Tokashiki discloses a non-sinusoidal voltage waveform generator (144b [non-sinusoidal wave generator], Fig. 7, para. [0069], Kang) configured to produce a first pulsed voltage waveform at the electrostatic chuck (E2 [second electrode/susceptor]), wherein the filter (144a1) is in series between the non- sinusoidal voltage waveform generator (144b) and the node (148); and
a sinusoidal voltage waveform generator (142b [sinusoidal wave generator]) configured to produce a second pulsed voltage waveform at the electrostatic chuck (E2, para. [0035]), wherein the RF matching network (555, Fig. 1, Tokashiki) is in series between the sinusoidal voltage waveform generator (550) and the node (node at BCA, Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Tokashiki as applied to claims 44 above, and further in view of US 20190287766 to Jeon, US 20220093363 to Romanus.
Claim 45: The apparatus of Kang in view of Tokashiki does not disclose wherein the sinusoidal voltage waveform generator produces power at 13.56 MHz to 100 MHz, at a power range between 0-100 kW.
Jeon discloses wherein the sinusoidal voltage waveform generator (40 [RF power source]) produces power at 13.56 MHz to 100 MHz (para. [0029]) for the purpose of generating power over the substrate (para. [0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Jeon with motivation to generate power over the substrate.
Regarding the power range, Romanus teaches an RF generator (108, Fig. 1), with matching network (106), configured to produce power at a power range between 0-100 kW (para. [0021]), for the purpose of regulating the applied power based upon a power setpoint received from an operator of the system (para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the range options above, as taught by Romanus with motivation to regulate the applied power based upon a power setpoint received from an operator of the system.
Claim(s) 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Tokashiki as applied to claims 44 above, and further in view of US 20150002018 to Lill.
Claims 46: The apparatus of Kang in view of Tokashiki does not disclose wherein the non-sinusoidal voltage waveform source outputs a voltage signal in a range between 400 kHz and 4000 kHz with a voltage output between 5-10 kV.
Lill discloses wherein the non-sinusoidal voltage waveform source (120) outputs a voltage signal in a range between 400 kHz and 4000 kHz at various voltage outputs (para. [0067] [0174-0176], where multiple options are given) for the purpose of controlling ion energy within a plasma chamber (para. [0007-0008]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above and optimization of voltage as taught by Lill with motivation to control ion energy within a plasma chamber.
Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Tokashiki as applied to claim 44 above, and further in view of US 20220037121 to Dorf.
Claim 47: The apparatus of Kang in view of Tokashiki does not disclose wherein the electrostatic chuck comprises a conductive plate and an insulative layer on the conductive plate.
Dorf discloses wherein the electrostatic chuck (136 [substrate support assembly], Fig. 1B) comprises a conductive plate (107 [para. [0045]) and an insulative layer (105, para. [0047]) on the conductive plate (107), for the purpose of regulating the substrate support via thermal coupling (para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the material requirements as taught by Dorf with motivation to regulate the substrate support via thermal coupling.
Claim(s) 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang as applied to claim 48 above, and in view of US 20150002018 to Lill.
Claims 49: The apparatus of Kang discloses wherein the non-sinusoidal voltage waveform generating system (144b, Fig. 1A, Kang) further comprises a non-sinusoidal voltage waveform generator (144b).
The apparatus of Kang does not disclose wherein the non-sinusoidal voltage waveform generator configured to operate between 400 kHz and 4000 kHz with a voltage output between 5-10 kV, and a filter in series.
Lill discloses wherein the non-sinusoidal voltage waveform generator (120) configured to operate between 400 kHz and 4000 kHz at various voltage outputs (para. [0067] [0174-0176], where multiple options are given), and a filter (116 [filter]) in series (para. [0052]), for the purpose of controlling ion energy within a plasma chamber (para. [0007-0008]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above and optimization of voltage as taught by Lill with motivation to control ion energy within a plasma chamber.
Claim(s) 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang as applied to claim 48 above, and in view of US 20160064194 to Tokashiki, and further in view of US 20220093363 to Romanus.
Claim 50: The apparatus of Kang discloses wherein the sinusoidal voltage waveform generating system (142b, Fig. 1A, Kang) further comprises a sinusoidal voltage waveform generator (142b).
However Kang does not disclose the sinusoidal voltage waveform generator configured to produce power at 13.56 MHz to 100 MHz, at a power range between 0-100 kW and an RF matching network.
Tokashiki discloses disclose the sinusoidal voltage waveform generator configured to produce power at 13.56 MHz to 100 MHz (para. [0024], [0059]), and a RF matching network (555, Fig. 1), for the purpose of improving transmission efficiency of the high-frequency power (para. [0062]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RF matching network and ranges as taught by Tokashiki with motivation to improve transmission efficiency of the high-frequency power.
Regarding the power range, Romanus teaches an RF generator (108, Fig. 1), with matching network (106), configured to produce power at a power range between 0-100 kW (para. [0021]), for the purpose of regulating the applied power based upon a power setpoint received from an operator of the system (para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the range options above, as taught by Romanus with motivation to regulate the applied power based upon a power setpoint received from an operator of the system.
Claims 51-53: (Withdrawn).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220367158 discloses configured to detect an RF waveform (181, Fig. 1B) established at different points within the RF source assembly (163) during plasma processing (para. [0059]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718