DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. It is suggested that the title include the phrase “comprising a high reflectance.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10-17 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Japanese. Pat. Pub. No. JP 2020113570 A to Watabe et al. (hereinafter “Watabe”).
Regarding claim 10, Watabe teaches a laminated structure (example 1) [0067]-[0074] having at least a base substrate (110; fig. 2) [0071] and a crystalline oxide film containing gallium oxide as a main component [0067],wherein an average value of reflectance of light having a wavelength of 400 to 800 nm is 16% or greater [0078] on a surface on a side of the crystalline oxide film of the laminated structure.
Regarding claim 11, Watabe teaches the laminated structure according to claim 10, wherein the base substrate is a single crystal [0053], and the crystalline oxide film is a single crystal (α-gallium oxide) [0002] or a uniaxially oriented film.
Regarding claim 12, Watabe teaches the laminated structure according to claim 10, wherein the base substrate (110) is any of a sapphire substrate [0053], a lithium tantalate substrate, or a lithium niobate substrate.
Regarding claim 13, Watabe teaches the laminated structure according to claim 11 wherein the base substrate is any of a sapphire substrate [0053], a lithium tantalate substrate, or a lithium niobate substrate.
Regarding claim 14, Watabe teaches the laminated structure according to claim 10, wherein the crystalline oxide film has a corundum structure [0067].
Regarding claim 15, Watabe teaches the laminated structure according to claim 11, wherein the crystalline oxide film has a corundum structure [0067].
Regarding claim 16, Watabe teaches the laminated structure according to claim 12, wherein the crystalline oxide film has a corundum structure [0067].
Regarding claim 17, Watabe teaches the laminated structure according to claim 13, wherein the crystalline oxide film has a corundum structure [0067].
Regarding claim 22, Watabe teaches the laminated structure according to claim 10, wherein the base substrate (110) has a surface area of 100 mm2 or more having the crystalline oxide film, or a diameter of 2 inches (50 mm) or more [0068].
Regarding claim 23, Watabe teaches a method of forming a crystalline oxide film containing gallium oxide as a main component [0067] by Mist CVD [0002], comprising supplying a carrier gas containing mist [0057] from a nozzle to a base substrate (110; fig. 2) [0071] placed in a deposition chamber (107; fig. 2) [0083], wherein the film is formed with temperature of the nozzle or an inner wall of the deposition chamber higher than a room temperature [0059].
Regarding claim 24, Watabe teaches the method of forming a crystalline oxide film according to claim 23, wherein the temperature of the nozzle is 50 to 250°C [0059].
Regarding claim 25, Watabe teaches a semiconductor device (example 1) [0067]-[0074] comprising a crystalline oxide film as an insulating thin film or a conductive thin film (film) [0067], the crystalline oxide film containing gallium oxide as a main component [0067],wherein an average value of reflectance of light having a wavelength of 400 to 800 nm is 16% or greater [0078] on a surface on a side of the crystalline oxide film (film).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watabe in view of Japanese Pat. Pub. No. JP 2021125676 A to Watabe et al. (hereinafter “Watabe 676”).
Regarding claim 18, Watabe teaches the laminated structure according to claim 14, wherein the crystalline oxide film having the corundum structure has a half width of an x-ray rocking curve of a (006) plane of 5 to 20 seconds.
Watabe 676, however, teaches a laminated structure wherein the crystalline oxide film having the corundum structure [0046] has a half width of an x-ray rocking curve of a (006) plane of 5 to 20 seconds [0078].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the structure of Watabe to comprise a half width of an x-ray rocking curve of a (006) plane of 5 to 20 seconds to allow for the structure to be lifted off as taught by Watabe 676 [0078].
Regarding claim 19, Watabe teaches the laminated structure according to claim 15, wherein the crystalline oxide film having the corundum structure has a half width of an x-ray rocking curve of a (006) plane of 5 to 20 seconds.
Watabe 676, however, teaches a laminated structure wherein the crystalline oxide film having the corundum structure [0046] has a half width of an x-ray rocking curve of a (006) plane of 5 to 20 seconds [0078].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the structure of Watabe to comprise a half width of an x-ray rocking curve of a (006) plane of 5 to 20 seconds to allow for the structure to be lifted off as taught by Watabe 676 [0078].
Regarding claim 20, Watabe does not teach the laminated structure according to claim 16, wherein the crystalline oxide film having the corundum structure has a half width of an x-ray rocking curve of a (006) plane of 5 to 20 seconds.
Watabe 676, however, teaches a laminated structure wherein the crystalline oxide film having the corundum structure [0046] has a half width of an x-ray rocking curve of a (006) plane of 5 to 20 seconds [0078].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the structure of Watabe to comprise a half width of an x-ray rocking curve of a (006) plane of 5 to 20 seconds to allow for the structure to be lifted off as taught by Watabe 676 [0078].
Regarding claim 21, Watabe does not teache the laminated structure according to claim 17, wherein the crystalline oxide film having the corundum structure has a half width of an x-ray rocking curve of a (006) plane of 5 to 20 seconds.
Watabe 676, however, teaches a laminated structure wherein the crystalline oxide film having the corundum structure [0046] has a half width of an x-ray rocking curve of a (006) plane of 5 to 20 seconds [0078].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the structure of Watabe to comprise a half width of an x-ray rocking curve of a (006) plane of 5 to 20 seconds to allow for the structure to be lifted off as taught by Watabe 676 [0078].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190214248 A1 to Nagaoka teaches a film forming method.
US 20210143251 A1 to Matsuda et al. teaches a film forming method.
US 20200263290 A1 to Raab et al. teaches a film forming method.
US 20210272805 A1 to Takahashi et al. teaches a film forming method.
US 20210296511 A1 to Sugimto et al. teaches a film forming method.
US 20070164117 A1 to Swiler et al. teaches a film forming method.
US 20210013311 A1 to Sugimoto et al. teaches a film forming method.
US 20210013035 A1 to Fujita et al. teaches a film forming method.
US 20200385884 A1 to Nagaoka et al. teaches a film forming method.
/ETHAN EDWARD CUTLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892