DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26-27, 29, 31, 40-41, 43, 46-47, 50-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (JP 2006/216934 A) (for purpose of compact prosecution, a machine translation has been used and will be referred to as Lee).
Regarding claim 26, Lee teaches an epitaxial wafer production method (method in Figs. 1-6 of Lee), comprising forming a gettering epitaxial film (30 in Fig. 4-5) containing silicon and carbon (as described in Best Mode section, paragraph #5) on a silicon substrate (10) under reduced pressure using a reduced pressure CVD apparatus (as described in Best Mode section, paragraph #3), and forming a silicon epitaxial film (40) on the gettering epitaxial film.
Regarding claim 27, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer production method according to claim 26, and also teaches wherein the gettering epitaxial film is formed under a pressure of 133 Pa to 10666 Pa (as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6, the gettering layer 30 is formed under pressure of 10 to 40 Torr, or 1333 to 5332 Pa).
Regarding claim 29, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer production method according to claim 26, and also teaches wherein the gettering epitaxial film is formed into a film thickness of 0.025 µm to 1 µm (as described in Best Mode section paragraph #4, the gettering layer 30 is formed with thickness in the range of 0.1µm to 1 µm).
Regarding claim 31, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer production method according to claim 26, and also teaches wherein the gettering epitaxial film is formed with a carbon atomic concentration of 1.0 x 1017 atoms/cm3 or more and 5.0 x 1021 atoms/cm3 or less (as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6, the gettering layer 30 is formed with carbon concentration in the range of 1018 atoms/cm3 or more and 1021 atoms/cm3).
Regarding claim 40, Lee teaches an epitaxial wafer (1 in Figs. 1-5 of Lee), comprising a silicon substrate (10), a gettering epitaxial film (30 in Figs. 4-5) formed of silicon uniformly gas-doped (the phrase “uniformly gas-doped’ is product-by-process language, which does not carry patentable weight and only requires that the film is doped) with carbon on the silicon substrate (as described in Best Mode section, paragraph #3), and a silicon epitaxial film (40) on the gettering epitaxial film.
Regarding claim 41, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer according to claim 40, and also teaches wherein the gettering epitaxial film has a film thickness of 0.025 µm to 1 µm (as described in Best Mode section paragraph #4, the gettering layer 30 is formed with thickness in the range of 0.1µm to 1 µm).
Regarding claim 43, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer according to claim 40, and also teaches wherein the gettering epitaxial film has a carbon atomic concentration of 1.0 x 1017 atoms/cm3 or more and 5.0 x 1021 atoms/cm3 or less (as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6, the gettering layer 30 is formed with carbon concentration in the range of 1018 atoms/cm3 or more and 1021 atoms/cm3).
Regarding claim 46, Lee teaches an epitaxial wafer (1 in Fig. 5 of Lee), comprising a silicon substrate (10), and a gettering epitaxial film (30) formed of silicon uniformly gas-doped with carbon on the silicon substrate (the phrase “uniformly gas-doped’ is product-by-process language, which does not carry patentable weight and only requires that the film is doped), wherein the gettering epitaxial film has an insulation property and a high-frequency property (insulation property and high-frequency property are material properties. Since the material of gettering layer 30 is the same as those of the claim, the material properties are presume to be the same).
Regarding claim 47, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer according to claim 46, and further comprising a silicon epitaxial film (40 in Fig. 5 of Lee) on the gettering epitaxial film.
Regarding claim 50, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer according to claim 46, and also teaches wherein the gettering epitaxial film has a film thickness of 0.025 µm to 3 µm (as described in Best Mode section paragraph #4, the gettering layer 30 is formed with thickness in the range of 0.1µm to 1 µm).
Regarding claim 51, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer according to claim 46, and also teaches wherein the gettering epitaxial film has a film thickness of 0.025 µm to 1 µm (as described in Best Mode section paragraph #4, the gettering layer 30 is formed with thickness in the range of 0.1µm to 1 µm).
Regarding claim 52, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer according to claim 46, and also teaches wherein the gettering epitaxial film is doped with the carbon at a silicon substitution site (as described in Best Mode section paragraph #7 of Lee).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28, 30, 32-39, 42, 44-45, 48-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding claim 28, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer production method according to claim 26, but does not explicitly teaches wherein the gettering epitaxial film is formed under a pressure of 667 Pa to 2666 Pa.
However, as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6, the gettering layer 30 is formed under pressure of 10 to 40 Torr, or 1333 to 5332 Pa, which overlaps with the claimed range of 667 Pa to 2666 Pa, hence, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have made the gettering epitaxial film under a pressure of 667 to 2666 Pa. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 30, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer production method according to claim 26, but does not teach wherein the gettering epitaxial film is formed into a film thickness of 0.025 µm to 0.3 µm.
However, as described in Best Mode section paragraph #4, the gettering layer 30 is formed with thickness in the range of 0.1nm to 1 µm, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.025 µm to 0.3 µm, hence, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have made the gettering epitaxial film with a film thickness of 0.025 µm to 0.3 µm. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 32, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer production method according to claim 26, but does not teach explicitly wherein the gettering epitaxial film is formed with a carbon atomic concentration of 1.0 x 1019 atoms/cm3 or more and 1.0 x 1021 atoms/cm3 or less.
However, as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6, the gettering layer 30 is formed with carbon concentration in the range of 1.0 x 1018 atoms/cm3 to 1.0 x 1021 atoms/cm3 or less, which overlaps with the claimed range of 1.0 x 1019 atoms/cm3 or more and 1.0 x 1021 atoms/cm3 or less, hence a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have made the gettering epitaxial film with a carbon concentration in the range of 1019 atoms/cm3 or more and 1021 atoms/cm3. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 33, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer production method according to claim 26, but does not teach wherein the gettering epitaxial film is formed with a carbon atomic concentration of 1.0 x 1019 atoms/cm3 or more and 5.0 x 1020 atoms/cm3 or less.
However, as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6, the gettering layer 30 is formed with carbon concentration in the range of 1018 atoms/cm3 to 1021 atoms/cm3, which overlaps with the claimed range of 1.0 x 1019 atoms/cm3 or more and 5.0 x 1020 atoms/cm3 or less. Hence a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have made the gettering epitaxial film with a carbon atomic concentration of 1.0 x 1019 atoms/cm3 or more and 5.0 x 1020 atoms/cm3. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 34, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer production method according to claim 26, and also teaches wherein the gettering epitaxial film is formed in a mixed gas atmosphere containing silicon and carbon (as described in Best Mode section paragraph #5 of Lee) but does not teach wherein the gettering epitaxial film is formed at 550⁰C to 1150⁰C.
However, as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6 of Lee, the gettering layer 30 is formed by a CVD method at temperature ranging from 500⁰C to 750⁰C, which overlaps with claimed range of 550⁰C to 1150⁰C. Hence a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have made the gettering epitaxial film in temperature ranging from 550 to 1150⁰C . See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 35, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer production method according to claim 26, but does not teach wherein the gettering epitaxial film is formed at 550⁰C to 800⁰C.
However, as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6 of Lee, the gettering layer 30 is formed by a CVD method at temperature ranging from 500 to 750⁰C, which overlaps with claimed range of 550⁰C to 800⁰C. Hence a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have made the gettering epitaxial film in temperature ranging from 550 to 800⁰C . See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 36, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer production method according to claim 34, and also teaches wherein at least one of SiH4 (as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6 of Lee), SiH2Cl2, and SiHCl3 is used as a silicon source of the mixed gas atmosphere containing silicon and carbon.
Regarding claim 37, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer production method according to claim 35, and also teaches wherein at least one of SiH4 (as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6 of Lee), SiH2Cl2, and SiHCl3 is used as a silicon source of the mixed gas atmosphere containing silicon and carbon.
Regarding claim 38, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer production method according to claim 34, and also teaches wherein at least one of SiH3(CH3) (as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6 of Lee), SiH2(CH3)2, SiH(CH3)3, CH4, C2H6, and C3H8 is used as a carbon source of the mixed gas atmosphere containing silicon and carbon.
Regarding claim 39, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer production method according to claim 35, and also teaches wherein at least one of SiH3(CH3) (as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6 of Lee), SiH2(CH3)2, SiH(CH3)3, CH4, C2H6, and C38 is used as a carbon source of the mixed gas atmosphere containing silicon and carbon.
Regarding claim 42, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer according to claim 40, but does not explicitly teaches wherein the gettering epitaxial film has a film thickness of 0.025 µm to 0.3 µm.
However, as described in Best Mode section paragraph #4, the gettering layer 30 is formed with thickness in the range of 0.1nm to 1 µm, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.025 µm to 0.3 µm, hence, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have made the gettering epitaxial film with a film thickness of 0.025 µm to 0.3 µm. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 44, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer according to claim 40, but does not explicitly teaches wherein the gettering epitaxial film has a carbon atomic concentration of 1.0 x 1019 atoms/cm3 or more and 1.0 x 1021 atoms/cm3 or less.
However, as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6, the gettering layer 30 is formed with carbon concentration in the range of 1.0 x 1018 atoms/cm3 to 1.0 x 1021 atoms/cm3 or less, which overlaps with the claimed range of 1.0 x 1019 atoms/cm3 or more and 1.0 x 1021 atoms/cm3 or less, hence a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have made the gettering epitaxial film with a carbon concentration in the range of 1019 atoms/cm3 or more and 1021 atoms/cm3. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 45, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer according to claim 40, but does not explicitly teaches wherein the gettering epitaxial film has a carbon atomic concentration of 1.0 x 1019 atoms/cm3 or more and 5.0 x 1020 atoms/cm3 or less.
However, as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6, the gettering layer 30 is formed with carbon concentration in the range of 1018 atoms/cm3 to 1021 atoms/cm3, which overlaps with the claimed range of 1.0 x 1019 atoms/cm3 or more and 5.0 x 1020 atoms/cm3 or less. Hence a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have made the gettering epitaxial film with a carbon atomic concentration of 1.0 x 1019 atoms/cm3 or more and 5.0 x 1020 atoms/cm3. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 48, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer according to claim 46, but does not teach wherein the gettering epitaxial film has a carbon atomic concentration of 1.0 x 1020 atoms/cm3 or more and 5.0 x 1021 atoms/cm3 or less.
However, as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6, the gettering layer 30 is formed with carbon concentration in the range of 1018 atoms/cm3 to 1021 atoms/cm3, which overlaps with the claimed range of 1.0 x 1020 atoms/cm3 or more and 5.0 x 1021 atoms/cm3 or less. Hence a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have made the gettering epitaxial film with a carbon atomic concentration of 1.0 x 1020 atoms/cm3 or more and 5.0 x 1021 atoms/cm3. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 49, Lee teaches all limitations of the epitaxial wafer according to claim 46, but does not teach wherein the gettering epitaxial film has a carbon atomic concentration of 3.0 x 1020 atoms/cm3 or more and 1.0 x 1021 atoms/cm3 or less.
However, as described in Best Mode section paragraph #6, the gettering layer 30 is formed with carbon concentration in the range of 1018 atoms/cm3 to 1021 atoms/cm3, which overlaps with the claimed range of 3.0 x 1020 atoms/cm3 or more and 1.0 x 1021 atoms/cm3 or less. Hence a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have made the gettering epitaxial film with a carbon atomic concentration of 3.0 x 1020 atoms/cm3 or more and 1.0 x 1021 atoms/cm3. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Conclusion
/Tuan A Hoang/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898