Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinquin et al (wo 2021/019137) in view of Jp 2012146695
The Sinquin et al reference teaches a method of creating a composite substrate of silicon carbide, note entire reference. The method comprises a step of providing an initial substrate of monocrystalline silicon carbide, a first deposition at a temperature greater than 1000°C to form an intermediate layer of polycrystalline silicon carbide on the initial substrate, note abs. The intermediate layer having a thickness greater than or equal to 1.5 micrometers, page 10. Then a step of ion implantation of hydrogen (ionic species) through the intermediate layer to form a fragile plane embedded in the single crystal substrate. This forms a boundary of the thin layer between the embedded plane and the intermediate layer. Then second deposition step at a temperature greater than 1000°C to form an additional layer of polycrystalline silicon carbide on the intermediate layer, the intermediate layer and the additional layer forming the carrier substrate, a separation along the embedded fragile plane being carried out during the second deposition step, note fig 2a to 2f. The sole difference between the instant claim and the prior art is the bonding of a polycrystalline substrate. However, the Jp 2012146695 reference teaches bonding a polycrystalline silicon carbide substrate to the implanted single crystal silicon carbide substrate by means of an intermediate layer, note translation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Sinquin et al process by the teachings of the Jp 2012146695 reference to use a substrate in order to have a steadier base on which to use in further processing.
With regards to claim 3, the Sinquin et al reference teaches depositing the polycrystalline SiC layer, note abs.
With regards to claim 4, the Sinquin et al reference teaches the deposition by chemical vapor deposition, note abs.
With regards to claim 7, the Sinquin et al reference teaches growing the polycrystalline layer in the claimed thickness range, note abs.
Claim(s) 2, and 14 to 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinquin et al (wo 2021/019137) in view of Jp 2012146695
The Sinquin et al and Jp 2012146695 references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the specific polytype of the SiC. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable polytype of both substrate of silicon carbide in the combined references in order to have a lattice matched composite substrate.
With regards to claim 15, the Sinquin et al reference teaches depositing the polycrystalline SiC layer, note abs.
With regards to claim 16, the Sinquin et al reference teaches the deposition by chemical vapor deposition, note abs.
With regards to claim 14, the Sinquin et al reference teaches growing the polycrystalline layer in the claimed thickness range, note abs.
Claim(s) 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinquin et al (wo 2021/019137) in view of Jp 2012146695
The Sinquin et al and Jp 2012146695 references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the deposition temperature. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable deposition temperature in the combined references in order to deposit a uniform polycrystalline layer, preventing further crystallization.
Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinquin et al (wo 2021/019137) in view of Jp 2012146695
The Sinquin et al and Jp 2012146695 references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the deposition of an amorphous SiC and then annealing. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable means of growing a polycrystalline SiC layer in the combined references in order to increase control over the crystallization.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinquin et al (wo 2021/019137) in view of Jp 2012146695 and Jp2015119062
The Sinquin et al and Jp 2012146695 references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the polishing step. However, the Jp2015119062 reference teaches polishing the two substrates prior art bonding, note translation page 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Sinquin et al reference by the teachings of the Jp2015119062 reference to polish the surfaces in order to increase the strength of the bonding of the substrates.
Claims 9 to 13 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not teach nor render obvious the instant claims with regards to the additional bonding layer added to both silicon carbide substrates.
Response to Applicants’ Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants’ argument concerning the Jp 2012146695 reference has been considered and not deemed persuasive. The reference does in fact teach and is admitted too in the response that an intermediate layer can be used to aid in attaching a polycrystalline substrate to a single crystal substrate both of silicon carbide. The fact that the reference goes on to teach another embodiment does not remove such teachings from the knowledge and skill of one in the art. The teaching is found in the art of record and clearly known.
Applicants’ argument concerning the combination of references is noted. However, the combination of reference does in fact teach the claimed invention of claim 1. The art does teach the implantion of an ionic specifics into a single crystal silicon carbide substrate and attaching a polycrystalline silicon carbide substrate. With an intermediate layer in between. Claim 1 is not as limited in scope as to the figured set forth in the response on page 9.
Since the rejection of claim 1 is maintain, the rejections over the other claims are also maintained as applicants argue that the claims stand and fall with claim 1.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714