Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 6/30/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that 3A and 3B belong in the same species. Applicant does not discuss 1A and 1B belonging to separate species. Therefore the election/restriction requirement is amended to include Figure 3B but not Figure 1B. Claims 1-23 read on the elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blachut et al. WO 2021/046572.
Claim 1: Blachut teaches (Claim 1, [0002, 0033]) a method comprising: providing a substrate with an SRP film thereon, wherein the SRP film comprises a stimulus responsive polymer (SRP), the SRP characterized by a ceiling temperature (Tc) at which the SRP is in thermal equilibrium with its monomers, the Tc being between -80°C and 400°C [0029]; and baking the SRP film at a baking temperature, wherein the baking temperature is below a degradation temperature of the SRP and above a glass transition temperature of the SRP film. Blachut teaches the same materials as those mentioned in the instant application and therefore would have the same characteristics [0032].
Claim 2: Blachut teaches the SRP is amorphous. Blachut teaches the same materials as those mentioned in the instant application and therefore would have the same characteristics [0032].
Claim 3: Blachut teaches the SRP is semi-crystalline or crystalline and the baking temperature is above a melting temperature of the SRP film. Blachut teaches the same materials as those mentioned in the instant application and therefore would have the same characteristics [0032].
Claim 4: Blachut teaches [0023-0024] the substrate has a high aspect ratio (HAR) structure having gaps formed between features and wherein the SRP film is provided in the gaps.
Claim 5: Blachut teaches [0023-0024] baking the SRP film straightens the HAR structure.
Claim 6: Blachut teaches [0043] providing the substrate with the SRP film comprises spin coating an SRP formulation on the substrate.
Claim 7: Blachut teaches [0023-0024, 0043] the substrate has a high aspect ratio (HAR) structure, the HAR structure comprising gaps between features, and wherein spin coating the SRP formulation on the substrate comprises filling the gaps with the SRP film and bending the features of the HAR structure.
Claim 8: Blachut teaches [0023-0024, 0043] baking the SRP film straightens the features of the HAR structure.
Claim 9: Blachut teaches [0045] the SRP film comprises a plasticizer.
Claim 10: Blachut teaches [0050] the (mass of plasticizer/mass of SRP)* 100 is between 1 and 35.
Claim 11: Blachut teaches [0032] the SRP comprises a poly(phthalaldehyde) or a derivative thereof as a homopolymer or as one of the constituent polymers of a copolymer.
Claim 12: Blachut teaches [0050] the SRP film comprises a phthalate plasticizer.
Claim 13: Blachut teaches [0027] comprising removing the SRP film.
Claim 14. The method of claim 13, wherein removing the SRP film comprises exposing the SRP film to a stimulus depolymerize the SRP.
Claim 15: Blachut teaches [0027, 0077] wherein the stimulus comprises heat.
Claim 16: Blachut teaches [0027, 0077] the stimulus comprises UV radiation.
Claim 17. (Original) The method of claim 14, wherein the stimulus comprises acidic vapor.
Claim 18: Blachut teaches [0027, 0077] the stimulus comprises a noble gas plasma.
Claim 19: Blachut teaches [0048] the SRP film comprises an organic weak acid.
Claim 20: Blachut teaches [0083] providing a substrate with an SRP film thereon comprises depositing the SRP film by chemical vapor deposition.
Claim 21: Blachut teaches [0050] the SRP film does not comprise a plasticizer.
Claim 22: Blachut teaches (Claim 1, [0002, 0023-0024, 0027, 0033]) an apparatus comprising: a chamber for housing a substrate with an SRP film thereon, wherein the SRP film comprises a stimulus responsive polymer (SRP), the SRP characterized by a ceiling temperature (Tc) at which the SRP is in thermal equilibrium with its monomers, the Tc being between -800C and 4000C; and a controller comprising instructions for baking the SRP film at a baking temperature, wherein the baking temperature is below a degradation temperature of the SRP and above a glass transition temperature of the SRP film.
Claim 23: Blachut teaches (Claim 1, [0002, 0023-0024, 0027, 0033]) the instructions further comprise instructions for depositing the SRP film.
Conclusion
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814