DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9-10 cite that the polishing compositing is used for polishing a material of a certain Vickers hardness or for polishing silicon carbide. It is not clear how these limitations further limit the base claim because the solution is already a polishing composition capable of polishing as cited. A composition is defined by its chemical composition, not by how it is used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al (WO 2018/174008 A1).
For purposes of the rejection, reference is made to the English language equivalent, US 2020/0109313 A1.
As to claim 1, Ito ’913 discloses a polishing composition comprising sodium permanganate [0027] and does not contain an abrasive (abstract).
As to claims 4-5, Ito ’913 discloses that the polishing composition comprises a first metal salt selected from alkaline earth metal salts [0019], such as strontium nitrate [0021].
As to claim 8, Ito ’913 discloses a pH range of more than 5.5 [0009], Table 1, which overlaps with the cited range. Ito ’913 discloses a pH range of 2-12, or a range of pH 3 or higher [0037], which encompasses or overlaps with the cited range. Ito ’913 discloses in a comparative example a pH of 2 [0077]. Ito ’913 thus provides ranges and examples in the cited range and discloses the cited range with sufficient specificity.
As to claims 9-10, the composition of Ito ’913 is capable of being used as cited. Further, Ito ’913 discloses to polish a material having a Vickers hardness of 1500 Hv or more, such as silicon carbide [0017].
As to claim 11, Ito ’913 discloses to polish an object to be polished using the polishing composition according to claim 1 [0044]-[0045].
Claims 1-3 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ward et al (US 10,655,035 B2).
As to claim 1, Ward discloses a polishing composition comprising sodium permanganate (col.3, line 17) and an abrasive, such as silica (col.6, line 62), ], which is the same in the instant invention. MPEP 2112.01, II (If the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties). Because the abrasive is the same as in the instant invention, it is expected to have the same properties of Mohs hardness.
As to claim 2, Ward discloses that the content of the abrasive is less than about 10 wt% (col.6, line 66).
As to claim 3, see the rejection of claim 1.
As to claims 6-7, Ward discloses that the polishing composition comprises a second metal salt such as an aluminum salt (col. 4, line 7).
As to claim 8, Ward discloses an example pH of 2.0 (col.8, line 17), which is within the cited range. A specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range, see MPEP 2131.03.
As to claims 9-10, the composition of Ward is capable of being used as cited. Further, Ward discloses to polish silicon carbide (col.7, line 19), which is a material having a Vickers hardness of 1500 Hv or more.
As to claim 11, Ward discloses to polish an object to be polished using the polishing composition according to claim 1 (col.2, lines 56-63).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-5, 9-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,319,460 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As to claim 1, Ito et al (US 11,319,460 B2) discloses a polishing composition comprising sodium permanganate (claim 7, line 17) and does not contain an abrasive (claim 7, line 9).
As to claims 4-5, Ito ’913 discloses that the polishing composition comprises a first metal salt selected from alkaline earth metal salts (claim 7), such as a nitrate (claim 8).
As to claim 8, Ito ’913 discloses a pH range of more than 5.5 (claim 10), which overlaps with the cited range.
As to claims 9-10, the composition of Ito ’913 is capable of being used as cited. Further, Ito ’913 discloses to polish a material having a Vickers hardness of 1500 Hv or more (claim 7), such as silicon carbide (claim 11).
As to claim 11, Ito ’913 discloses to polish an object to be polished using the polishing composition according to claim 1 (claim 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Alety et al (US 2022/0306902 A1) also anticipates the invention (NaMnO4 [0056], Mohs hardness less than 6 [0060], [0069], [0072], [0147].)
/ANITA K ALANKO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713