DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, in at least
claims 1 and 7
“a first terminal electrode and a second terminal electrode …, formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the first metal layer”
“the terminal unit including a plurality of terminals formed of a same material as, and arranged in a same layer as, the first metal layer,” and
claim 7
“each of the plurality of terminals includes a terminal lower portion provided toward the base substrate, formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the third metal layer”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. While 21f and 21g are shown in Fig. 2, they are not shown in the same metal layers as the terminal electrodes 21a-21d, the terminals 21t or 26t, the relay electrodes 23a or 28a, or the gate electrodes 11a or 17a. Also, a terminal unit having “a plurality of terminals” is not shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In paragraphs [0023] and [0084] of the published specification, both source lines 21f and power supply lines 21g are both described as serving as the first metal layer and the third metal layer. Further, the drawings fail to support “a thin-film transistor layer provided on the base substrate and having a first metal layer containing a copper film” and “the thin-film transistor layer includes a third metal layer containing a copper film and provided to the first metal layer toward the base substrate” as recited in claim 7.
In paragraph [0090] of the published specification, each terminal 26t includes a terminal lower portion 21tb, but there is no description of an upper portion nor a terminal being in the same layer as the third metal layer. Further, at least Figure 8 fails to support “each of the plurality of terminals includes a terminal lower portion …, formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the third metal layer,..” as recited in claim 7.
Therefore, claims 1 and 7 lack adequate written description support in the specification. The other claims are rejected as being dependent on one of claims 1 or 7.
Claims 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In at least claims 1 and 7, it is unclear what is meant by the terminology “formed of a same material as”. The question becomes: identical composition? same metal stack? same conductive layer? substantially same?
In claims 1 and 7, it is unclear what is meant by the terminology “provided to…toward the base”. Possible meanings: below the first metal layer? adjacent the first metal layer? between the metal layer and the substrate?
In claims 1 and 7, the terminology “across from the base substrate” is a term of relative position that lacks a reasonably certain boundary because it does not specify: directly opposite? merely farther away than another layer? located on the opposite side of an intervening layer? vertically aligned with the base substrate? disposed above the base substrate?
The other claims are rejected as being dependent on one of claims 1 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 12-15 is/are, to the extent taught and understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0365604 (Murashige) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0395428 (Baek).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Murashige discloses
Claim 1 (Currently Amended) A display device, comprising:
a base substrate 10;
a thin-film transistor layer 30a provided on the base substrate 10 and having a first metal layer 22f / 22g / 22i containing a copper film (well-known, See MPEP 2144.03); and
a light-emitting element layer 40 provided on the thin-film transistor layer 30a, and including a plurality of pixel electrodes 31a, a plurality of light-emitting functional layers 33, and a common electrode 34, all of which are sequentially stacked on top of another and corresponding to a plurality of subpixels P included in a display region D,
the display region D being surrounded with a picture-frame region F,
the picture-frame region F having an end portion provided with a terminal unit T,
the terminal unit T including a plurality of terminals formed of a same material as, and arranged in a same layer as, the first metal layer 22f / 22g / 22i, and
each of the plurality of pixel electrodes 31a being formed of a second metal layer containing a silver film ([0059]),
the thin-film transistor layer 30a includes a first thin-film transistor 9A having a first semiconductor layer 17a provided for each of the plurality of subpixels P and formed of an oxide semiconductor ([0036]), and
the first thin-film transistor 9A includes: the first semiconductor layer 17a including a first conductor region 17aa and a second conductor region 17bb defined to be spaced apart from each other; a first gate electrode 19a provided to the first semiconductor layer 17a toward the base substrate 10 through a first gate insulating film 18a; a second gate electrode 14a provided to the first semiconductor layer 17a across from the base substrate 10 through a second gate insulating film 13 and a third gate insulating film 15 sequentially stacked from toward the base substrate 10 an interlayer insulating film 20 / 21 provided to cover the second gate electrode 14a; and a first terminal electrode 22a / 22c and a second terminal electrode 22b / 22d provided on the interlayer insulating film 20 / 21 and spaced apart from each other, formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the first metal layer 22f / 22g / 22i, and respectively and electrically connected to the first conductor region 17aa and the second conductor region 17bb.
Murashige fails to disclose
the terminal unit T including a plurality of terminals formed of a same material as, and arranged in a same layer as, the first metal layer, and
wherein, on each of the terminals, a terminal protective layer formed of a transparent conductive film is provided.
Baek teaches
A display device, comprising:
the terminal unit 400 including a plurality of terminals 404 / 403 formed of a same material as, and arranged in a same layer as, the first metal layer 420 / 430, and
wherein, on each of the terminals 404 / 403, a terminal protective layer 402 formed of a transparent conductive film is provided ([0072]).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a protective layer over the terminals in Murashige. The motivation would be to solve the pad reliability and process-compatibility problem by using a multi-layer pad stack that includes a conductive protective layer and a very thin metal film over a thicker metal layer [0005], [0066]. The thin top metal film speeds etching of the protective layer and helps the sidewall form a forward-tapered shape rather than a sharp tip [0073], [00117]-[00118]. Because the upper metal film is very thin, even if its top surface oxidizes, conductivity remains substantially preserved [0084]-[0085]. The pad can be formed together with TFT/capacitor electrodes, lowering process count [00115], [00156] as taught by Baek.
Murashige discloses
Claim 7 (Currently Amended) A display device, comprising:
a base substrate 10;
a thin-film transistor layer 30a provided on the base substrate 10 and having a first metal layer 22f / 22g / 22i containing a copper film (well-known, See MPEP 2144.03); and
a light-emitting element layer 40 provided on the thin-film transistor layer 30a, and including a plurality of pixel electrodes 31a, a plurality of light-emitting functional layers 33, and a common electrode 34, all of which are sequentially stacked on top of another and corresponding to a plurality of subpixels P included in a display region D,
the display region D being surrounded with a picture-frame region F,
the picture-frame region F having an end portion provided with a terminal unit T,
the terminal unit T including a plurality of terminals formed of a same material as, and arranged in a same layer as, the first metal layer 22f / 22g / 22i, and
each of the plurality of pixel electrodes 31a being formed of a second metal layer containing a silver film ([0059]),
the thin-film transistor layer 30a includes a first thin-film transistor 9A having a first semiconductor layer 17a provided for each of the plurality of subpixels P and formed of an oxide semiconductor ([0036]),
the thin-film transistor layer 9A includes a third metal layer 22f / 22g / 22i containing a copper film (well-known, See MPEP 2144.03) and provided to the first metal layer (well-known, See MPEP 2144.03) toward the base substrate 10, and
the first thin-film transistor 30a includes: the first semiconductor layer 17a including a first conductor region 17aa and a second conductor region 17bb defined to be spaced apart from each other; a first gate electrode 19a provided to the first semiconductor layer 17a toward the base substrate 10 through a first gate insulating film 18a; a second gate electrode 14a provided to the first semiconductor layer 17a across from the base substrate 10 through a second gate insulating film 13 and a third gate insulating film 15 sequentially stacked from toward the base substrate 10; an interlayer insulating film 20 / 21 provided to cover the second gate electrode 14a; and a first terminal electrode 22a / 22c and a second terminal electrode 22b / 22d provided on the interlayer insulating film 20 / 21 and spaced apart from each other, formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the third metal layer 22f / 22g / 22i, and respectively and electrically connected to the first conductor region 17aa and the second conductor region 17bb.
Murashige fails to disclose
wherein, on each of the terminals, a terminal protective layer formed of a transparent conductive film is provided, and
each of the plurality of terminals includes a terminal lower portion provided toward the base substrate, formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the third metal layer, and electrically connected to the terminal.
Baek teaches
A display device, comprising:
wherein, on each of the terminals 404 / 403, a terminal protective layer 402 formed of a transparent conductive film is provided ([0072]), and
each of the plurality of terminals 404 / 403 / 401 includes a lower terminal portion 404 provided toward the base substrate 100, formed of a same material as, the third metal layer 401.
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a protective layer over the terminals in Murashige. The motivation would be to solve the pad reliability and process-compatibility problem by using a multi-layer pad stack that includes a conductive protective layer and a very thin metal film over a thicker metal layer [0005], [0066]. The thin top metal film speeds etching of the protective layer and helps the sidewall form a forward-tapered shape rather than a sharp tip [0073], [00117]-[00118]. Because the upper metal film is very thin, even if its top surface oxidizes, conductivity remains substantially preserved [0084]-[0085]. The pad can be formed together with TFT/capacitor electrodes, lowering process count [00115], [00156] as taught by Baek.
Murashige discloses
Claim 12 (Currently Amended) The display device according to claim 1, further comprising a sealing film 45 provided to cover the light-emitting element layer 40.
Murashige discloses
Claim 13 (Currently Amended) The display device according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting functional layers 33 is an organic electroluminescence layer ([0029]).
Murashige discloses
Claim 14 (New) The display device according to claim 7, further comprising A sealing film 45 provided to cover the light-emitting element layer 40.
Murashige discloses
Claim 15 (New) The display device according to claim 7, wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting functional layers 33 is an organic electroluminescence layer ([0029]).
Claim(s) 4, 5, 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murashige in view of Baek as applied to claim 1 / 7 above, and further in view of KR Publication No. 2013-0139935 (Hara).
Murashige discloses
Claim 4 (Currently Amended) The display device according to claim 1,wherein the thin-film transistor layer 30A includes a second thin-film transistor 9B
The combination of references fails to teach
having a second semiconductor layer provided for each of the plurality of subpixels and formed of an oxide semiconductor.
Murashige discloses
Claim 9 (Currently Amended) The display device according to claim 7,
wherein the thin-film transistor layer 30a includes a second thin-film transistor 9B
The combination of references fails to teach
having a second semiconductor layer provided for each of the plurality of subpixels and formed of an oxide semiconductor.
Hara teaches
A display device, comprising:
a thin-film transistor layer 66a / 66d having a second semiconductor layer 66d provided for each of the plurality of subpixels and formed of an oxide semiconductor (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second semiconductor layer formed of oxides in the modified device of Murashige. The motivation would be based on its suitability for the intended purpose as taught by Hara. See MPEP 2144.07.
Murashige discloses
Claim 5 (Original) The display device according to claim 4,
wherein the second thin-film transistor 9B includes: the second semiconductor layer 12a including a third conductor region 12aa and a fourth conductor region 12ab defined to be spaced apart from each other and provided on the second gate interlayer insulating film 21; a third gate electrode (for TFT 9C) provided to the second semiconductor layer toward the base substrate 10 through the first gate insulating film 18a and the second gate insulating film 13; a fourth gate electrode (for TFT 9D) provided to the second semiconductor layer 12a across from the base substrate 10 through the third gate insulating film; the interlayer insulating film 20 provided to cover the fourth gate electrode (for TFT 9D); and a third terminal electrode and a fourth terminal electrode provided on the interlayer insulating film and spaced apart from each other, formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the first metal layer, and respectively and electrically connected to the third conductor region and the fourth conductor region.
Murashige discloses
Claim 10 (Original) The display device according to claim 9,
wherein the second thin-film 9B transistor includes: the second semiconductor layer 12a including a third conductor region 12aa and a fourth conductor region 12ab defined to be spaced apart from each other and provided on the second gate interlayer insulating film 21; a third gate electrode (for TFT 9C) provided to the second semiconductor layer toward the base substrate 10 through the first gate insulating film 18a and the second gate insulating film 13; a fourth gate electrode (for TFT 9D) provided to the second semiconductor layer 12a across from the base substrate 10 through the third gate insulating film; the interlayer insulating film 20 provided to cover the fourth gate electrode; and a third terminal electrode and a fourth terminal electrode provided on the interlayer insulating film and spaced apart from each other, formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the third metal layer, and respectively and electrically connected to the third conductor region and the fourth conductor region.
Murashige does not expressly teach all of the additional elements. It would have been obvious to duplicate parts of the device in the prior art unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 6, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murashige in view of Baek and Hara as applied to claim 5 / 10 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0207326 (Saitoh).
The combination of references teaches
Claim 6 (Original) The display device according to claim 5,
wherein the thin-film transistor layer 30a includes: a protective insulating film 402 provided on the first terminal electrode 22a, the second terminal electrode 22b, the third terminal electrode 22c, and the fourth terminal electrode 22d.
The combination of references fails to teach
a planarization film provided on the protective insulating film, and
the third terminal electrode and the fourth terminal electrode are electrically connected to a corresponding pixel electrode included in the plurality of pixel electrodes, through: a contact hole formed in the protective insulating film; a relay electrode provided between the protective insulating film and the planarization film, and formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the terminal protective layer; and a contact hole formed in the planarization film.
The combination of references teaches
Claim 11 (Original) The display device according to claim 10,
wherein the thin-film transistor layer 30a includes: a first protective insulating film 402 provided on the first terminal electrode 22a, the second terminal electrode 22b, the third terminal electrode 22c, and the fourth terminal electrode 22d;
The combination of references fails to teach
a first planarization film provided on the first protective insulating film; the third metal layer provided on the first planarization film; a second protective insulating film provided on the third metal layer; and a second planarization film provided on the second protective insulating film, and
the third terminal electrode and the fourth terminal electrode are electrically connected to a corresponding pixel electrode included in the plurality of pixel electrodes, through: a contact hole formed in the first protective insulating film and the first planarization film; a first relay electrode provided between the first planarization film and the second protective insulating film, and formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the first metal layer; a contact hole formed in the second protective insulating film; a second relay electrode provided between the second protective insulating film and the second planarization film, and formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the terminal protective layer; and a contact hole formed in the second planarization film.
Saitoh teaches
A display device, comprising:
wherein a planarization film ([0045], [0040]) provided on the protective insulating film 6, and
the third terminal electrode and the fourth terminal electrode are electrically connected to a corresponding pixel electrode included in the plurality of pixel electrodes, through: a contact hole formed in the protective insulating film 6 ([0051], [0073], [0074], [0091], [0092]); a relay electrode ([0051]) provided between the protective insulating film 6 and the planarization film, and formed of a same material as, and in a same layer as, the terminal protective layer; and a contact hole formed in the planarization film 6 ([0051], [0073], [0074], [0091], [0092]).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a planarization film, contact holes, and a relay electrode in the modified device of Murashige. The motivation would be to cover the oxide TFTs, to allow the substrate to keep the benefits of low-resistance copper wiring while avoiding defect-causing copper protrusions, and based on their suitability for the intended purpose as taught by Saitoh. See MPEP 2144.07.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2011/0032209 (Kim), 2012/0200546 (Miyamato), 2017/0222184 (Park), JP Publication No. 2008-270216 (Kim) teach a display device having a protective layer.
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893