DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6,9-10,12,14-16,18-19,21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0058022 A1 to BAIK et al., “Baik”, in view of US 2008/0081105 A1 to Suh et al., “Suh”, and further in view of US 9,159,948 B2 to Sugisawa et al., “Sugisawa”.
Regarding claim 1, Baik discloses a display device (FIG. 2) comprising:
a first light-emitting device (pixel including 130 to left of T);
a second light-emitting device (pixel including 130 to right of T);
an insulating layer (117, ¶ [0077]);
a first sidewall insulating layer (150 to left of T, ¶ [0057]);
a second sidewall insulating layer (150 to right of T);
a first color conversion layer (171, ¶ [0069]); and
wherein the first light-emitting device (left of T) comprises
a first pixel electrode (121 on left, ¶ [0044],[0053]) over the insulating layer (117),
a first layer (130, ¶ [0048],[0059]-[0060]) over the first pixel electrode (121), and
a common electrode (140, ¶ [0066],[0067]) over the first layer (130),
wherein the second light-emitting device (right of T) comprises
a second pixel electrode (121 on right) over the insulating layer (117),
the first layer (130) over the second pixel electrode (121), and
the common electrode (140) over the first layer (130),
wherein the first sidewall insulating layer (150 to left of T) is in contact with a side surface of the first pixel electrode (121), wherein the second sidewall insulating layer is in contact with a side surface of the second pixel electrode,
wherein the first color conversion layer (171) overlaps with the first light-emitting device (left),
wherein the first layer (130) comprises a portion (in trench T) in contact with a top surface of the insulating layer (117) between the first sidewall insulating layer (150 on left) and the second sidewall insulating layer (150 on right).
Baik fails to clearly teach additionally a first coloring layer, wherein the first coloring layer overlaps with the first light-emitting device with the first color conversion layer therebetween, wherein the first coloring layer transmits light with a longer wavelength than blue.
Suh teaches (e.g. FIG. 2) a first coloring layer (710R, ¶ [0036],[0037]), wherein the first coloring layer (710R) overlaps with a first light-emitting device (“R”) with a first color conversion layer (700R) therebetween, wherein the first coloring layer (710R) transmits light with a longer wavelength than blue (red wavelength is longer than blue).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the display device of Baik by forming the color modulation layer of both a color filter (CF) and color conversion medium (CCM) as taught by Suh in order to achieve white balance (Suh ¶ [0004],[0008],[0025],[0104]) and/or achieve reduced fabrication process time and high resolution (Suh ¶ [0008],[0028],[0104]).
Baik fails to clearly teach in sufficient detail for anticipation wherein the first layer (130) contains a first light-emitting material emitting blue light. Baik teaches wherein the first layer (130) may emit white-colored light (¶ [0089]) and may include a stack of multiple layers (¶ [0090]).
Sugisawa teaches wherein white light emission may be obtained by at least two layers containing light emitting substances such as blue and yellow (column 21 line 56 to column 22 line 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Baik in view of Suh with the emission layer containing blue light-emitting material as taught by Sugisawa in order to achieve excellent color rendering property (Sugisawa column 21 line 65 to column 22 line 2).
Regarding claim 2, Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa yields the display device according to claim 1, and Suh further teaches (FIG. 2) a second coloring layer (710G), wherein the second coloring layer (710G) overlaps with the second light-emitting device (“G”), and wherein the second coloring layer and (710G) the first coloring layer (710R) transmit light of different colors.
Regarding claim 3, Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa yields the display device according to claim 1, and Sugisawa as applied to Baik further yields wherein the first layer (Baik 130, ¶ [0046]) further contains a second light-emitting material (Sugisawa teaches e.g. blue and yellow column 21 line 56 to column 22 line 2) emitting light with a longer wavelength than blue.
Regarding claim 4, Baik discloses a display device (e.g. FIG. 3A,3B as applied to FIG. 2) comprising:
a first light-emitting device (pixel including 130 to left of T);
a second light-emitting device (pixel including 130 to right of T);
a material layer (FIG. 3A or 3B material 130a, ¶ [0048],[0064]) ;
an insulating layer (117, ¶ [0077]);
a first sidewall insulating layer (150 to left of T, ¶ [0057]);
a second sidewall insulating layer (150 to right of T);
a first color conversion layer (171, ¶ [0069]); and
wherein the first light-emitting device (left of T) comprises
a first pixel electrode (121 on left, ¶ [0044],[0053]) over the insulating layer (117),
a first layer (130, ¶ [0048],[0059]-[0060]) over the first pixel electrode (121), and
a common electrode (140, ¶ [0066],[0067]) over the first layer (130),
wherein the second light-emitting device (right of T) comprises
a second pixel electrode (121 on right) over the insulating layer (117),
a second layer (130) over the second pixel electrode (121), and
the common electrode (140) over the second layer (130),
wherein the first sidewall insulating layer (150 to left of T) is in contact with a side surface of the first pixel electrode (121 on left),
wherein the second sidewall insulating layer (150 to right of T) is in contact with a side surface of the second pixel electrode (121 on right),
wherein (FIG. 3A,3B) the material layer (130a within trench) is in contact with a top surface of the insulating layer (117) and positioned between the first sidewall insulating layer (150 on left of T) and the second sidewall insulating layer (150 on right of T),
wherein the first color conversion layer (171) overlaps with the first light-emitting device (on left), and
wherein the first layer (130 on left), the second layer (130 on right), and the material layer (130a in trench) contain a same light-emitting material (formed from 130) and are apart from each other (discontinuous in FIG. 3A,3B, ¶ [0064],[0065],[0098]).
Baik fails to clearly teach additionally a first coloring layer, wherein the first coloring layer overlaps with the first light-emitting device with the first color conversion layer therebetween, wherein the first coloring layer transmits light with a longer wavelength than blue.
Suh teaches (e.g. FIG. 2) a first coloring layer (710R, ¶ [0036],[0037]), wherein the first coloring layer (710R) overlaps with a first light-emitting device (“R”) with a first color conversion layer (700R) therebetween, wherein the first coloring layer (710R) transmits light with a longer wavelength than blue (red wavelength is longer than blue).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the display device of Baik by forming the color modulation layer of both a color filter (CF) and color conversion medium (CCM) as taught by Suh in order to achieve white balance (Suh ¶ [0004],[0008],[0025],[0104]) and/or with reduced fabrication process time and high resolution (Suh ¶ [0008],[0028],[0104]).
Baik fails to clearly teach wherein the first layer contains a first light-emitting material emitting blue light. Baik teaches wherein the first layer (130) may emit white-colored light (¶ [0089]) and may include a stack of multiple layers (¶ [0090]).
Sugisawa teaches wherein white light emission may be obtained by at least two layers containing light emitting substances such as blue and yellow (column 21 line 56 to column 22 line 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Baik in view of Suh with the emission layer containing blue light-emitting material as taught by Sugisawa in order to achieve excellent color rendering property (Sugisawa column 21 line 65 to column 22 line 2).
Regarding claim 5, Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa yields the display device according to claim 4, and Suh further teaches (FIG. 2) a second coloring layer (710G), wherein the second coloring layer (710G) overlaps with the second light-emitting device (“G”), and wherein the second coloring layer (710G) and the first coloring layer (710R) transmit light of different colors.
Regarding claim 6, Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa yields the display device according to claim 4, and Sugisawa as applied to Baik further yields wherein the first layer (Baik 130, ¶ [0046]) further contains a second light-emitting material (Sugisawa teaches e.g. blue and yellow column 21 line 56 to column 22 line 2) emitting light with a longer wavelength than blue.
Regarding claim 9, although Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa yields the display device according to claim 1, Baik fails to clearly state in sufficient specificity for anticipation wherein the shortest distance between the first sidewall insulating layer (150 on left of T) and the second sidewall insulating layer (150 on right of T) is less than 10 µm.
However, Baik teaches wherein the width of the trench T separating the sidewall insulating layers may be equal to or less than 0.17 μm (¶ [0054]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa with the shortest distance within the claimed range as suggested by the dimensions of Baik since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969), wherein in the instant case the spacing determines the pixel pitch and leakage currents making it a result effective variable, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), and MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Ranges II. OPTIMIZATION OF RANGES A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation B. Only Result-Effective Variables Can Be Optimized.
Regarding claim 10, although Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa yields the display device according to claim 1, Baik fails to clearly state in sufficient specificity for anticipation wherein the shortest distance between the first sidewall insulating layer and the second sidewall insulating layer is less than or equal to 1 µm.
However, Baik teaches wherein the width of the trench T separating the sidewall insulating layers may be equal to or less than 0.17 μm (¶ [0054]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa with the shortest distance within the claimed range as suggested by the dimensions of Baik since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969), wherein in the instant case the spacing determines the pixel pitch and leakage currents making it a result effective variable, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), and MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Ranges II. OPTIMIZATION OF RANGES A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation B. Only Result-Effective Variables Can Be Optimized.
Regarding claim 12, Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa yields a display module comprising: the display device according to claim 1, and at least one of a connector (e.g. via 116, ¶ [0053]) and an integrated circuit (transistor 111, ¶ [0072]).
Regarding claim 14, Baik discloses a method (FIG. 4) for fabricating a display device (FIG. 2), comprising:
forming (FIG. 5B) a conductive film (121a, ¶ [0080]) over an insulating surface (117);
processing (FIG. 5C) the conductive film to form a first pixel electrode (121 on left) and a second pixel electrode (121 on right);
forming (FIG. 5D) an insulating film (150a, ¶ [0083]) covering the first pixel electrode (121 on left) and the second pixel electrode (121 on right);
processing (to FIG. 5F, ¶ [0084]) the insulating film to form a first sidewall insulating layer (150 on left side of trench) in contact with a side surface of the first pixel electrode (121 on left) and a second sidewall insulating layer (150 on right of trench) in contact with a side surface of the second pixel electrode (121 on right) and to expose a top surface of the first pixel electrode and a top surface of the second pixel electrode;
forming (FIG. 5H) a first layer (130, ¶ [0087],[0088]) in contact with the top surface of the first pixel electrode (121 on left), the top surface of the second pixel electrode (121 on right), and the insulating surface (117);
forming (FIG. 5H) a common electrode (140, ¶ [0095]) in contact with the first layer (130);
providing (FIG. 5H) a first color conversion layer (171, ¶ [0097]) overlapping with the first pixel electrode over the common electrode.
Baik fails to clearly each providing a first coloring layer overlapping with the first pixel electrode over the first color conversion layer.
Suh teaches (e.g. FIG. 2) a first coloring layer (710R, ¶ [0036],[0037]), wherein the first coloring layer (710R) overlaps with a first light-emitting device (“R”) with a first color conversion layer (700R) therebetween, wherein the first coloring layer (710R) transmits light with a longer wavelength than blue (red wavelength is longer than blue).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the display device of Baik by forming the color modulation layer of both a color filter (CF) and color conversion medium (CCM) as taught by Suh in order to achieve white balance (Suh ¶ [0004],[0008],[0025],[0104]) and/or with reduced fabrication process time and high resolution (Suh ¶ [0008],[0028],[0104]).
Baik fails to clearly teach wherein the first layer contains a first light-emitting material emitting blue light. Baik teaches wherein the first layer (130) may emit white-colored light (¶ [0089]) and may include a stack of multiple layers (¶ [0090]).
Sugisawa teaches wherein white light emission may be obtained by at least two layers containing light emitting substances such as blue and yellow (column 21 line 56 to column 22 line 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the method of Baik in view of Suh with the emission layer containing blue light-emitting material as taught by Sugisawa in order to achieve excellent color rendering property (Sugisawa column 21 line 65 to column 22 line 2).
Regarding claim 15, Baik discloses a method (FIG. 4) for fabricating a display device (FIG. 2), comprising:
forming (FIG. 5B) a conductive film (121a, ¶ [0080]) over an insulating surface (117);
processing (FIG. 5C) the conductive film to form a first pixel electrode (121 on left) and a second pixel electrode (121 on right);
forming (FIG. 5D) an insulating film (150a, ¶ [0083]) covering the first pixel electrode (121 on left) and the second pixel electrode (121 on right);
processing (to FIG. 5F, ¶ [0084]) the insulating film to form a first sidewall insulating layer (150 on left side of trench) in contact with a side surface of the first pixel electrode (121 on left) and a second sidewall insulating layer (150 on right of trench) in contact with a side surface of the second pixel electrode (121 on right) and to expose a top surface of the first pixel electrode and a top surface of the second pixel electrode;
forming (FIG. 5H) a first layer (130, ¶ [0087],[0088]) in contact with the top surface of the first pixel electrode (121 on left), a second layer (also 130) in contact with the top surface of the second pixel electrode (121 on right), and a material layer (e.g. FIG. 3A,3B material 130a in trench) in contact with the insulating surface (117) in a same step;
forming (FIG. 5H) a common electrode (140, ¶ [0095]) in contact with the first layer and the second layer (130);
providing (FIG. 5H) a first color conversion layer (171, ¶ [0097]) overlapping with the first pixel electrode over the common electrode.
Baik fails to clearly each providing a first coloring layer overlapping with the first pixel electrode over the first color conversion layer.
Suh teaches (e.g. FIG. 2) a first coloring layer (710R, ¶ [0036],[0037]), wherein the first coloring layer (710R) overlaps with a first light-emitting device (“R”) with a first color conversion layer (700R) therebetween, wherein the first coloring layer (710R) transmits light with a longer wavelength than blue (red wavelength is longer than blue).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the display device of Baik by forming the color modulation layer of both a color filter (CF) and color conversion medium (CCM) as taught by Suh in order to achieve white balance (Suh ¶ [0004],[0008],[0025],[0104]) and/or with reduced fabrication process time and high resolution (Suh ¶ [0008],[0028],[0104]).
Baik fails to clearly teach wherein the first layer contains a first light-emitting material emitting blue light. Baik teaches wherein the first layer (130) may emit white-colored light (¶ [0089]) and may include a stack of multiple layers (¶ [0090]).
Sugisawa teaches wherein white light emission may be obtained by at least two layers containing light emitting substances such as blue and yellow (column 21 line 56 to column 22 line 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the method of Baik in view of Suh with the emission layer containing blue light-emitting material as taught by Sugisawa in order to achieve excellent color rendering property (Sugisawa column 21 line 65 to column 22 line 2).
Regarding claim 16, Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa yields the method for fabricating the display device according to claim 15, and Baik further teaches wherein the common electrode (140) is in contact with the material layer (130).
Regarding claim 18, although Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa yields the display device according to claim 4, Baik fails to clearly state in sufficient specificity for anticipation wherein the shortest distance between the first sidewall insulating layer (150 on left of T) and the second sidewall insulating layer (150 on right of T) is less than 10 µm.
However, Baik teaches wherein the width of the trench T separating the sidewall insulating layers may be equal to or less than 0.17 μm (¶ [0054]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa with the shortest distance within the claimed range as suggested by the dimensions of Baik since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969), wherein in the instant case the spacing determines the pixel pitch and leakage currents making it a result effective variable, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), and MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Ranges II. OPTIMIZATION OF RANGES A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation B. Only Result-Effective Variables Can Be Optimized.
Regarding claim 19, although Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa yields the display device according to claim 4, Baik fails to clearly state in sufficient specificity for anticipation wherein the shortest distance between the first sidewall insulating layer and the second sidewall insulating layer is less than or equal to 1 µm.
However, Baik teaches wherein the width of the trench T separating the sidewall insulating layers may be equal to or less than 0.17 μm (¶ [0054]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa with the shortest distance within the claimed range as suggested by the dimensions of Baik since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969), wherein in the instant case the spacing determines the pixel pitch and leakage currents making it a result effective variable, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), and MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Ranges II. OPTIMIZATION OF RANGES A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation B. Only Result-Effective Variables Can Be Optimized.
Regarding claim 21, Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa yields a display module comprising: the display device according to claim 4, and at least one of a connector (e.g. via 116, ¶ [0053]) and an integrated circuit (transistor 111, ¶ [0072]).
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of US 2021/0202610 A1 to Ryu, “Ryu”.
Although Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa yields the display device according to claims 1 and 4, Baik fails to clearly teach wherein the first sidewall insulating layer (150) contains an inorganic insulating material.
Ryu teaches (e.g. FIG. 5) wherein a first insulating sidewall (150 formed from FIG. 6D layer 157) contains an inorganic insulating material (silicon oxide or nitride formed by atomic layer deposition ¶ [0100]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa with the insulating sidewalls formed from an inorganic insulating material as taught by Ryu in order to achieve excellent step coverage characteristics (Ryu ¶ [0100]) and since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), and MPEP 2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose.
Claims 13 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa as applied to claims 12 and 21 above, and further in view of US 2012/0273804 A1 to Hatano, “Hatano”.
Although Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa yields an electronic device comprising: the display module according to claim 21, Baik fails to clearly teach wherein the display includes at least one of a housing, a battery, a camera, a speaker, and a microphone.
Hatano teaches wherein a display further includes a housing (FIG. 6A), a camera (e.g. FIG. 6D), a speaker (FIG. 6C,6D), and a microphone (FIG. 6D).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Baik in view of Suh and Sugisawa as applied to one of the claimed devices as exemplified by Hatano in order to benefit from the improved resolution of Baik (Baik ¶ [0004],[0006]-[0007]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8,17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art e.g. Baik teaches forming the sidewall insulating layers as discussed above and teaches (FIG. 5F-5G) using the sidewall insulating layers as a mask in forming the trench (T). Therefore, Baik fails to reasonably teach or suggest wherein the first sidewall insulating layer is further in contact with a side surface and a top surface of the insulating layer, and wherein the second sidewall insulating layer is further in contact with a side surface and a top surface of the insulating layer, as claimed in claim 8 together with all of the limitations of claim 1, or similarly in claim 17 together with all of the limitations of claim 4. Similarly, since Baik uses the sidewall insulating layers as a mask during etching of the trench and Baik teaches (FIG. 3A,3B) wherein the material layer (130a in trench) is recessed in the trench for satisfying the limitation of being “apart from each other” claim 4 as discussed above, Baik fails to clearly teach wherein the material layer is in contact with at least one of a side surface of the first sidewall insulating layer and a side surface of the second sidewall insulating layer, together with all of the limitations of claim 4.
Conclusion
/Eric A. Ward/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891