DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Device embodiment 4 of figs. 16,18, mod A1, Mod B2, Mod C1, Mod D6 (claims 1, 3-13 readable thereon, claims 2, 14-20 withdrawn) in the reply filed on 7/6/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura et al. (US PGPub 2017/0117337; hereinafter “Kimura”).
Re claim 1: Kimura teaches (e.g. figs. 6 and 3) a display device comprising a pixel electrode (119), a first organic layer (organic layer 142 not under 150; hereinafter “1OL”), a second organic layer (organic layer 142 under 150; hereinafter “2OL”), a first insulating layer (136a, 136b), a second insulating layer (148a), and a common electrode (130; e.g. paragraph 70), wherein the first insulating layer (136a, 136b) comprises a first portion in contact with a part of a top surface of the pixel electrode (119), a second portion in contact with a side surface of the pixel electrode (119), and a third portion not in contact with the pixel electrode (119), wherein the first organic layer (1OL) comprises a fourth portion in contact with another part of the top surface of the pixel electrode (119) and a fifth portion in contact with the first portion of the first insulating layer (136a, 136b), wherein the second organic layer (2OL) is in contact with the third portion of the first insulating layer (136a, 136b) and isolated from the first organic layer (1OL), wherein the second insulating layer (148a) covers the fifth portion of the first organic layer (1OL) and the second organic layer (2OL) and is in contact with the first insulating layer (136a, 136b) between the first organic layer (1OL) and the second organic layer (2OL), wherein the common electrode (130) comprises a portion overlapping with the fourth portion of the first organic layer (1OL) and a portion overlapping with the second organic layer (2OL) with the second insulating layer (148a) therebetween, and wherein the first organic layer (1OL) and the second organic layer (2OL) comprise the same material (light emitting layer 142 is provided in the display region 106 as well as in the bottom pat of the recess part 144; e.g. paragraph 69).
Re claim 5: Kimura teaches the display device according to claim 1, further comprising a first coloring layer (color filter for G21 as shown in fig. 3 which is a green filter; e.g. paragraph 91; hereinafter “1CL”) and a second coloring layer (color filter for R11 as shown in fig. 3 which is a red filter; e.g. paragraph 91; hereinafter “2CL”), wherein a plurality of the pixel electrodes (119) are included, wherein one of the pixel electrodes (119 for the green pixel G21) overlaps with the first coloring layer (1CL), and wherein another one of the pixel electrodes (119 for the red pixel R11) overlaps with the second coloring layer (2CL).
Re claim 6: Kimura teaches the display device according to claim 1, further comprising a color conversion layer (color filter for G21 as shown in fig. 3 which is a green filter; e.g. paragraph 91; hereinafter “CCL”), wherein a plurality of the pixel electrodes (119) are included, wherein one of the pixel electrodes (119 for G21) overlaps with the color conversion layer (CCL), and wherein another one of the pixel electrodes (119 for B11 which is a blue pixel) does not overlap with the color conversion layer (light emitting layers for organic displays are known to use blue emitting layers for all pixels and green or red phosphors are used to convert light for the green and red pixels and no phosphors are required for the blue pixels).
Re claim 7: Kimura teaches the display device according to claim 6, further comprising a first coloring layer (for pixel G21 light emitting layers for organic displays are known to use blue emitting layers for all pixels and green phosphors are used to convert light for the green pixels; hereinafter “1CL”) and a second coloring layer (for pixel R11 light emitting layers for organic displays are known to use blue emitting layers for all pixels and red phosphors are used to convert light for the red pixels; hereinafter “2CL”), wherein the first coloring layer (1CL) overlaps with the one of the pixel electrodes (119 for G21) with the color conversion layer therebetween, and wherein the second coloring layer (2CL) overlaps with another one of the pixel electrodes (119 for R11).
Re claim 8: Kimura teaches the display device according to claim 6, wherein the color conversion layer comprises a quantum dot (phosphor color conversion layers require the use of quantum dots).
Re claim 9: Kimura teaches the display device according to claim 1, further comprising a first color conversion layer (for pixel G21 light emitting layers for organic displays are known to use blue emitting layers for all pixels and green phosphors are used to convert light for the white light emitted by layer 142 and would use yellow phosphors; hereinafter “1CCL”) and a second color conversion layer (for pixel R11 light emitting layers for organic displays are known to use blue emitting layers for all pixels and green phosphors are used to convert light for the white light emitted by layer 142 and would use yellow phosphors; hereinafter “2CCL”), wherein a plurality of the pixel electrodes (119) are included, wherein one of the pixel electrodes (119 for G21) overlaps with the first color conversion layer (1CL), and wherein another one of the pixel electrodes (119 for R11) overlaps with the second color conversion layer (2CL).
Re claim 10: Kimura teaches the display device according to claim 9, further comprising a first coloring layer (color filter which would be used to convert the white light to green for green pixel G21; e.g. paragraph 91) and a second coloring layer (color filter which would be used to convert the white light to red for red pixel R11; e.g. paragraph 91), wherein the first coloring layer (color filter for green pixel G21) overlaps with the one of the pixel electrodes (119 for G21) with the first color conversion layer (1CCL) therebetween, and wherein the second coloring layer (color filter for red pixel R11) overlaps with another one of the pixel electrodes (119 for R11) with the second color conversion layer (2CCL) therebetween.
Re claim 11: Kimura teaches the display device according to claim 1, further comprising a transistor (transistor 124; e.g. paragraph 44) in which a channel is formed in silicon (silicon and IGZO based materials are used in TFTs for displays), wherein the pixel electrode (119) is positioned above the transistor (124).
Re claim 12: Kimura teaches the display device according to claim 1, further comprising a transistor (transistor 124; e.g. paragraph 44) in which a channel is formed in a layer comprising one or both of indium and zinc (silicon and IGZO based materials are used in TFTs for displays), wherein the pixel electrode (119) is positioned above the transistor (124).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (US PGPub 2010/0176395; hereinafter “Choi”).
Re claim 13: Kimura teaches substantially the entire device of claim 1 except explicitly teaching the display device according to claim 1, further comprising a first transistor in which a channel is formed in silicon and a second transistor in which a channel is formed in a layer comprising one or both of indium and zinc, wherein the second transistor is positioned above the first transistor, and wherein the pixel electrode is positioned above the second transistor.
Choi teaches (fig. 2) the display device according to claim 1, further comprising a first transistor (transistor formed from poly-silicon layer 10; e.g. paragraph 27; hereinafter “1T”) in which a channel is formed in silicon and a second transistor (transistor formed from IGZO material 35; e.g. paragraph 30; hereinafter “2T”) in which a channel is formed in a layer comprising one or both of indium and zinc, wherein the second transistor (2T) is positioned above the first transistor (1T), and wherein the pixel electrode (119 of Kimura) is positioned above the second transistor (2T).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, absent unexpected results, to use the two different material based transistor used in OLED displays as taught by Choi in the device of Kimura in order to have the predictable result of using two different material based TFTs to obtain improved performance and yield in the scan driving and data driving unit (see paragraph 47 of Choi).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references shows similar structures to that shown in Kimura.
/JESSE Y MIYOSHI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898